We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better be hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Blau

Port Blau
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better be hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We popped in for a lunch time snack. 1/2 portions seemed right as we were having a big meal in the evening. Whitebait (called Sardinas) squid (called Andaluza) and chips. Wow! the 1/2 portions were as big as full portions anywhere else. Washed down with wine, beer and water we struggled to have our evening meal. The restaurant overlooks the harbour and beach. Great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    95
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, food just not really good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely spot, lovely waiters although the service overall wasn't that brilliant - took over 15 minutes to get someone to do our bill and it wasn't busy at all - they just weren't good at looking out for people trying to attract their attention

Fish of the day Sea Bass grilled - very big fish, bit dry though and not much veg or salad to go with it

Crayfish Curry - tasted nice, but probably large prawns not crayfish, portion a bit disappointing, especially that there was no veg or salad at all, just a ramekin of rice

Padron's peppers - BE WARNED THESE ARE HOT CHILLIS NOT PEPPERS - bad translation here - they were inedible - not just our opinion - the chap in the Gents with his head under the cold tap for 10 minutes couldn't express his opinion verbally, but we understood his problem! I came close to vomiting because of the "peppers" and this really ruined our whole meal as I'm sure you can imagine

Bread and olives - simply never turned up so can't comment

Wouldn't recommend this place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a great meal here and the service was exceptional. Both my wife and I had the Dorada (sea bream) fish of the day and it was excellent. The waiter was so kind and attentive, the meal was by the port and very relaxed. We would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone who comes to Colonia Sant Jordi. Full marks all round!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Perfect Lunch in a Perfect Setting"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I ate here last year whilst touring in Majorca, and being reccomended to visit this restaurant in our guide book.
The restaurant was packed, but the waiter did not keep us waiting and promptly found us a small table overlooking the sea.
We shared a selection of beautifully cooked shellfish and crusty bread, accompanied by a glass of wine then a complimentarty liquer.
I think we were the only English people there, but that just added to the charm as we tried to chat to the four friendly Germans who had broken English on the next table

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandralily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lenguado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great food, lovely location nice staff and reasonably priced, try the lenguado"hake" i had it twice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Blau also viewed

Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca
 
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca
 
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca
Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca
 

Been to Port Blau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing