We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfest stay, lovely hotel!”
Review of Hotel whala!balmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel whala!balmes
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfest stay, lovely hotel!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just went to Hotel Balmes in august with my boyfriend. I had to write a review because before going I read some of the reviews of this page and now after going there myself I think many of the reviews don't do justice to the place.
First of all: the hotel is in excellent condition. The staff was very nice and helpful. They arranged tours for us, looked at train timetables for us and so on. And they were always interested to know if we were having a good time.
There was a review here about the doors that couldn't be locked from the inside. That's not true, I locked my door every night.
Food was great. I only had the breakfast buffet and that was fine with me because we went on trips almost every day so the full board would have been pointless.
Swimming pool was small but you could definitively swim in it! No problem. And with the beach so near, why complain?
There was no problem with the airport being near. There were no disturbing sounds. Ca'n Pastilla is very calm and safe.
The only little problem was that on the day we arrived, they didn't have a room for two persons. The first night we slept in small rooms for one. But they offered free full board on our first day! And the next day because the trading of rooms took longer than they had expected, they offered us free lunch. Which was nice...
Thank you Hotel Balmes! I enjoyed it a lot! I wish one day I can come back...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nordic_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    51
    28
    21
See reviews for
40
101
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located only 10 mins drive and 12 euro worth of taxi rate from Palma city. Located 20 meters from the beach and 5 mins drive from airport. Paid great rate for half board, but sign at recepetion also offers to upgrade to all inclusive for 11 euro per day, which must be great if you stay with kids!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoCHka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The reception staff at this hotel were brilliant.
The hotel is quite tired and dated but was really clean. The room we were given on arrival had a balcony but with a dreadful view. We would never have sat out on the balcony and looked onto a building roof and wall.We were upgraded after a couple of days and the room was much better and had a full size bath.
Housekeeping could have been a little better. Bathroom glasses and mirrors left dirty.
Food was mostly cold or lukewarm and restaurant staff were not friendly or helpful which was disappointing, but were very quick to prevent you having a glass of water or drinks of any kind if you were not full board whilst some clients piled their plates with food, much of which was wasted.
Location was really good and very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Read all the mixed reviews and was hoping for the best and it was not bad at all. Friendly staff and very clean rooms were what I was hoping for and it was all that. Maybe a bit jaded but for what I paid it was more than what I expected. Location is of course what made it all that much more special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, rooms were on the small side ( no hairdryer as advertised on one site !) but they were clean and bathroom adequate. However, We have NEVER been in a quieter dining room, even at a funeral !! Staff in dining room were miserable, no interaction with guests and any complaints ( cold food, on more than one occassion) were ignored. Choice on buffet was poor & limited too. Bar staff well past retirement age and still no personality ....thought Spanish loved kids ?The plus for this hotel, as the pool's too small also and NEVER gets the sun, is LOCATION for the wonderful, safe, clean beach, so just do B&B as they're are lots of bars/restaurants around to make up for this badly serviced hotel ! Phonix bar on the corner serves 2-4-1 cocktails every night from 9-11pm and staff are lovely, NEW frozen yoghurt diner opposite this also serves lovely fresh food. Nearer to Arenal itself is very German with all the noisy bars, if that's what you're looking for ? We only booked a quick 'cheap/cheerful' week @ end of school holidays we certainly didn't get cheer at this hotel BUT C'an Pastilla is FABULOUS :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Can Pastilla hotels

Maesteg, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just got back from Hotel Balmes and deff wont go there again, first room i was given had no balcony just a window and room was really small, we got there on a sunday and took until the wednesday to get moved.N0 entertainment there at all unless theres football on the tv then they will put it on if it was`nt for meetin some other welsh english and scots ppl staying at the hotel it would have been like a holiday from hell my advice is stay clear of this hotel

Room Tip: just make sure you ask for a balcony when you book or you will feel like your havin a holiday in cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just came back few days ago from Spain, where I stayed in Balmes hotel, Can Pastilla, Palma.My overall experience with this hotel was not so bad, but it was not really what I expected. Location is really perfect as it is literally 30 secs walk from the beach. Room was clean and new furniture in there. Was a shame that my room was facing back of the hotel and could hear noises from the kitchen and elevator. There is not many activities in the hotel so kids were bored. pool area is quite small and just partly in the sun during the day.I had a half board deal which was good for the money value, as food was not so good and more or less same every day, so all inclusive wouldn't work for me. There is plenty lovely restaurants nearby with a delicious freshly made dishes and extremely cheap. Bar did not have a big variety of drinks neither. The reception is friendly, even though hey are not very involved in booking excursions or any trips for you,they provide information and landline phone for you to book it. Hotel has a wifi which is expensive. Comparing to the hotel just around the corner is triple the price. Overall, I would say this hotel is good if you know you not going to be spending much time there.

Room Tip: Higher floors are definitely is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.0 mi away
HM Alma Beach
HM Alma Beach
#15 of 24 in Can Pastilla
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amic Miraflores
Hotel Amic Miraflores
#17 of 24 in Can Pastilla
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roc Leo Hotel
Roc Leo Hotel
#16 of 24 in Can Pastilla
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#10 of 24 in Can Pastilla
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel whala!balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel whala!balmes

Property: Hotel whala!balmes
Address: Calle Bellamar 7, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel whala!balmes is a 3 star hotel that offers its clients a pleasant stay by the sea thanks to its superb location on the beach front of the Playa de Can Pastilla, near Playa de Palma. Our restaurant offers breakfast and dinner to our clients. As well as its 120 fully equipped rooms, the hotel has 1 outdoor swimming pool, which includes an area for the children, loungers and umbrellas. At the hotel's restaurant the guests can enjoy a buffet style dining, and there is a snack bar for those who prefer something quick to eat by the pool. The hotel includes a bicycle rental service. WiFi Internet connection is available in all hotel areas. The hotel's proximity to the Palma de Mallorca Airport ( 5 minutes) and the beach, located just a few meters away, make it a perfect destination to enjoy the splendid climate of our island. The City of Palma, is only 10 minutes away from the hotel and it is easily accessed thanks to public transportation. for more information on bus lines and time schedules click here.A fun way to explore the island is doing a bicycle tour on the cycle route linking the Bay of Palma with the City of Palma. The tour offers a great variety of landscapes and environments where you will discover different beaches, restaurants, cultural attractions, etc. The route from Can Pastilla to the Parc de la Mar has a duration of 2.5 hours (round trip) and its approximately 26 km long. For a map of the route click here. We hope you have a nice virtual tour and we are at your disposal for any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel whala!balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmes Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Whala!Balmes Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing