We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good. Basic, spotlessly clean with very helpful staff.”
Review of Balear

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balear
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good. Basic, spotlessly clean with very helpful staff.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Balear in Ca'n Pastilla. The people were delightful - from receptionists to dining room staff and cleaners. Their warmth and friendliness made the visit a very enjoyable experience. I've stayed at many luxury hotels, all fine and dandy but invariably impersonal. The Hotel Balear is well-managed, good basic hotel. Ours was very much a last minute booking, we arrived shortly after 11.00pm by taxi from the airport (15 Euros). Having booked a double room we were initially a bit disappointed when the room smelt of cigarette smoke. (I hadn't specified this on booking!) However the friendly German guy on reception asked us to bear with it and request another room in the morning. We did and were given a non-smoking room which was spotlessly clean with efficient air-conditioning. This was our base for the rest of the week. I've not been on a resort holiday for over 30 years thus first impressions were a bit alarming but on the advice of the hotel receptionist we found fabulous fish restaurants by the harbour and were mesmerised by the sunsets. Ca'n Pastilla has a character of its own attracting a lot of Spanish tourists as well as Scandinavians, Dutch, French, Austrians and Germans, all of whom were absolutely lovely. The street life below our room entertained us while we had pre-evening drinks on the balcony. The place is vibrant, noisy and down to earth i.e. Spanish, unlike the middle-class Brit-enclave of Pollenca. The Hotel Balear makes a great base whether you relax on the lovely beach 2 minutes away or hire a car and explore the island. The Hotel Balear was a low-cost, highly-enjoyable treat.

Room Tip: When booking request a room at the front overlooking the plaza to watch great Spanish street life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senorflores50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    121
    65
    32
    23
See reviews for
74
118
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice, friendly hotel with EXCELLENT LOCATION just 2minutes walk from the nice sandy beach. The bus from the airport(€3) and from Palma(€1.5) just stops next to the hotel while to the other way is 150meter walk from the hotel door. Shops, Supermarkets, Restaurants, Bars, Bicycle hire everything you need is around the hotel or in a few minutes walk.
The hotel STAFF is very friendly and helpful. BREAKFAST is good.
ROOM is a little bit dated but clean. Cleaner is coming everyday who also changes the towels if needed.
The only downside in our room was the bed which was very uncomfortable and the FREE WIFI which was very slow or sometimes we could not even connect to it. Downstairs in the hall was working fine..
In summary, we would stay in this hotel again if you do not expect luxury you are not gonna be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had booked through easytobook.com short berfore 2 days before arriving and we received a booking confirmation. When arriving we where told that ouer booking was cancelled du to non valid credit card. and the hotell was fully booked the firrst night. They told us we where lucky because the managed to book us on other hotel in the area. ( I cheked later with the bank, nothing was wrong with the card). To make longe story short, we strongly suspect them ta arrange the whole scam so they could sell our room for a better price the first night. The staff was allso rude and raised their voice when we had other inquieries. The rooms are ok, but poor cleaning. Brakfast not enouhg tables in small noisy room. Food is poor.

Room Tip: Simply just find a better Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBalear, Gerente at Balear, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time in giving your opinion about our hotel. I believe that you did not understand the procedure of the reservations. Your reservation was not made with the hotel directly. We try the credit card number and it was not working, therefore we inform our client of this problem and they send you an email. When you arrived to the hotel and you looked in your email you told us that you had received that email at 6:00 that morning and you had not look at it yet, but you had it.
Because we had understood the horrible inconvenience of that we did you make a reservation on the closes hotel available, they had respect the same price, although the price was a lot more expensive. You did not pay any more money.
I can assure you that the price in our hotel two days before was exactly the same that the same day. There is not scam. If the credit card doesn’t work we can not take a risk, there is a lot of people that make a reservation not valid…they need a hotel reservation to enter in the country, they reserve in two hotels and they decide later…is normal that we cannot accept a reservation that is fraudulent, I understand that this was not your case, but we did not know that until you had arrive, that is the reason why we had looked for another hotel and we respect the reservation and the price for the next night when we had the room.
Again sorry for the inconveniences, I know it is not agreeable that you had to go to another hotel for one night, but please try to understand that it was not our fault.
Regards
C.Amengual
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Can Pastilla hotels

Te Anau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from C’an Pastilla having stayed for three weeks in Balear Hotel. What a fabulous experience it was for us. We had a nice sized air conditioned, en suited queen room, with balcony that overlooked the market square. Every single member of staff that we encountered ensured that our stay was perfect and all were courteous and helpful. The floor staff kept us neat and tidy with daily clean ups and regular linen changes, the kitchen and dining room staff ensured that we were well nourished throughout our stay with an amazing array of breakfast foods and the front of house staff were very welcoming and helpful. Everything you could possibly need - beach, bank, shops, beautician, church, medical centre is within a short five minute stroll from the Balear Hotel and the open air market happens about twice a week which is just outside the door. We would not hesitate for a moment in recommending Balear Hotel as the perfect place to stay in Majorca to make your holiday complete.

Room Tip: Rooms West & South have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Located very close to the beach, shops, supermarket, restaurants, discos and even a laundromat. The bus line stops right in front of the hotel, and we used it (#15 bus, 1.50€ each trip) to travel into the city center. The free WiFi worked pretty well. Towels and shower gel are supplied but no washcloths. Also no iron in the rooms, but the hotel does have one that you can use in the lobby. We were greeted by the elderly Antonio at the front desk, who was very sweet and helpful. On weekends, there is a neighborhood flea market, bingo, and concert DIRECTLY in front of the hotel. I thought it was awesome, but if you want peace and quiet and will be in Mallorca on a Saturday and Sunday, you might want to look elsewhere. Visited the first week of July: there were very many people, children and adults all around. Casual atmosphere, beautiful weather in the first week of July. Taxi ride from the airport cost about 15€ for two people, one way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank insanaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It was a terrible experience for us. The rooms are very very old. The matresses were like from the 70s and very uncomfortable. Bathrooms smell weird and also very old. I would not recommend this hotel at all. It really doesnt worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A clean and friendly hotel in central location,several good bars and restaurants nearby. I recommend El Foque restaurant which is just behind Kentucky Fried Chicken on the prom.Excellent food and reasonable prices.Evelyn will make you very welcome.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roc Linda
Hotel Roc Linda
#11 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amic Miraflores
Hotel Amic Miraflores
#15 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balear

Property: Balear
Address: Avinguda Bartomeu Riutort 18, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balear 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balear is located in Ca’n Pastilla, in the heart of Playa de Palma, with an unbeatable location that facilitates access to the other main cities of the island. Our location, only 100 meters from the beach, with public transport to downtown Palma every 10 minutes and only 5 minutes from the airport, makes our hotel the perfect choice for both business travelers and tourists.The Hotel Balear is a family-run establishment, open all year round, allowing us to give personalized attention to our clients.The Hotel Balear was recently remodeled in 2009 to enhance the comfort of our guests. Our rooms are equipped with both Wi-Fi and cable Internet, a free service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Balear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balear Can Pastilla, Majorca
Balear Hotel Can Pastilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing