We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising little gem......”
Review of Isla del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isla del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my boyfriend visitied this hotel end of September.
The hotel is only 10 minutes ( if that ) from the airport so the taxi cost each way is about 12 euros.
The room was ready on our arrival and was spotlessly clean. All the utilities you would expect, kettle, toaster, microwave, pots and pans, utensils ( including bottle opener which is always useful ) Balcony was a lovely size too for the fact we were in a Studio room. If you paid extra and had a Bed apartment the balconies are HUGE !! FREE air con which is brilliant.
The only issue is the walls are really really thin, not too bad because the age range for the hotel is aimed more for the older traveller so are generally quieter........ but we did have a couple of young girls next to us and they were loud. Maybe because we were at the end of the corridor and had an interconnecting door, if this was not there it may have been a bit quieter. You learn though and next time we will request a non interconnecting room or pay for a 1 bed apartment instead.

The pool area was lovely and one day we were the only people by the pool !! As the hotel didn't have too many British people there the pool area tended to get a bit busier from about 3pm. Sun loungers were lovely and comfortable and there were Parasols too, they were free of charge which we did need a couple of days as the pool area at this hotel is a sun trap. Pool is not heated so is cold but after the sun has been on it for a while its fine.
The managers in this hotel work all the hours under the sun and are on reception one minute and making food the next. The food was lovely on site and cheap and I got a proper Spanish Sangria served which was lovely.
The seating area outside on the terrace was beautiful and feels really homely.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families with young children looking for entertainment or family friendly pool area as there was a slightly more shallow pool but there is no entertainment and no kids club. ( This is not a bad thing against the hotel and we loved the fact we could have a nice quiet drink without the forced entertainment in our faces )

The hotel is about 5 minutes from the town centre and there are an array of bars and restaurants and all types of food that you could want. The resort was bigger than we thought so even for a 2 or 3 week holiday you could eat somewhere different every night.
For people looking for English bars there is Mel's bar and Poppys..... both serving english food and drink if you are homesick.
It was nice but personally I liked the fact there were really local restaurants with Spanish people in them serving fresh fish, meats, paella's etc etc and they were amazing !!

In all we had a fantastic time and hope that C'an Pastilla stays the way it is as its a beautiful part of the island and you really feel that its a lovely traditionally spanish resort with a mix of nationalities going there.
We will definately be back !!

Room Tip: Only chose poor for sleep quality as the pillows a little thin and the noisy girls next door! This h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Laura-Naomi0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this complex in September 2012 it is a very clean compact apartment complex, we had a studio for 2 weeks, the room was very clean with new towels every other day, and the bed linen changed twice a week. The cooking facilities are a bit basic with 2 electric rings, microwave and toaster, the only downside is that they do not provide a kettle. Complex has a very nice pool area also has bar and food area, on the whole a very peaceful and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: make sure you take a travel kettle with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff_ingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just back from 10 day stay. Yes studio small but very clean. As long as you are organised and tidy cooking no problem. Wardrobe large enough. Only ate inside twice as always warm enough to eat on balcony.

Staff fantastic and couldn't be more helpful any time we asked.

Pool/bar area lovely with cactus and Bougainvillea made for a peaceful and relaxing area, whether enjoying the sun or relaxing in the evening with a drink.

Location good as well. Buses to Palma stop 2 minutes from hotel. Beach and nice bars only 5 minutes stroll. It is also located in a quiet more residential end of Can Pastilla but a few minutes from supermarket & village shops & square where Market held on Thursdays.

Usually stay in Playa de Palma but will now go back to Can Pastilla & Isla del Sol.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingstudent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visited Can Pastilla for several years always in hotels. This is our first time self catering based on the many good reviews for these apartments. What we found to be true was excellent cleanliness and good value, but you only get what you pay for! The photos can be very deceiving? In order to accommodate a fridge and kitchenette the wardrobe space is limited for a couple staying more than a couple of days and very difficult if three sharing. The beds are pushed up against the window allowing only one bedside cabinet and making it difficult for one person. No space for suitcases and difficult to sit at the small dining table. There is only one power socket which means that the fridge has to be disconnected to use the microwave or toaster and there is no kettle. There was no hot water between 6 & 8 just when it was needed on 5 out of seven nights. Also sometimes in the morning and during the day. When mentioned to the staff it was denied and treated with indifference. Every sound and most conversations can be heard from the adjoining rooms which becomes more disturbing at night. So if you want cheap accommodation for a short stay and are prepared to accept the short comings, then this will meet your expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandDloughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really lovely hotel, apartment was very clean and contained everything we needed for our holiday. It's in a quiet peaceful location, only 5 min walk to the beach and shops. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The bus stops are at the end of the road where you can get buses to Palma, the airport and other local towns. There is a good selection of bars and restaurants near by and a couple of supermarkets if you want to cook your own meals. Would definitely consider returning here for another holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nevardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend have just got back from a week at the Isla del Sol. We were looking for a cheap break away and were not disappointed, the hotel was spotlessly clean and had a suitably furnished apartment. The staff couldn't be more helpful and were extremely knowledgable on the local ammenitites. If you want excellent value for money in this quiet resort of Mallorca then you could do a lot worse than booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

As we arrived we were greeted by the staff who made us feel most welcom .the food was lovely and not expensive. we have stayed 4 times and will return soon the beach is is near by and very clean also there are many fast food outlets such as KFC..BURGER KING and many more

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyann51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amic Miraflores
Hotel Amic Miraflores
#17 of 24 in Can Pastilla
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balear
Balear
#16 of 24 in Can Pastilla
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roc Linda
Hotel Roc Linda
#14 of 24 in Can Pastilla
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Apolo Hotel
BQ Apolo Hotel
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla del Sol

Address: Calle Pins 5, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Can Pastilla
Price Range: $56 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isla del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Del Sol Hotel Can Pastilla
Isla Del Sol Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing