We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunprime Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed one week at Sunprime Waterfront in september 2013 and had the most relaxing vacation for a really long time. I asked for a room relatively high in the hotel, since I'm afraid of finding insects or other bugs in the room, and got a room on 3rd floor - facing towards the airport.

The expectations were fulfilled, no bugs of any kind were in sight in the room. Not even a mosquito. However, I'm glad I'd read the map and packed one set of earplugs because the noise from planes during take off and landing could not be totally ignored. Nor could the snoring neighbour in one of the neighbouring rooms be ignored. The room was not very well protected from sounds from the corridor or other rooms.

On the other hand, the bed was very comfortable. Hotel beds often seem to have hard mattresses, this was nearly perfect for my back. Cleanliness of room and bathroom was good. On the other hand - I never quite understood the system for changing towels. Some days I got a new one, other days I didn't even though i placed the used ones in the bin in the bathroom, indicating that I wanted a new one. Air condition in the room was good. I had the possibility of chosing both fan speed and switching it totally off, the latter being an advantage in september. AC often give me a cold. This time I switched off the AC during night, and avoided catching a cold.

I used the restaurant (buffet) a lot, and even though the food may not satisfy a real gourmet, it was more than good enough for me. The breakfast buffet was good (and thanks a lot for the fresh fruit that was available for all meals, I have not been eating so much fruit for a long time as I did during my stay at Waterfront). For lunch and dinner the fish or meat served was fried immediately before serving, so it really was fresh made. My only negative experience was that during the 2 first days of my stay the waiters appeared to forget serving me something to drink in time so twice I'd almost finished my meal before the softdrink came. On the other hand, the rest of the week it worked perfect so maybe I just was there at extremely busy periods the first 2 days...

Staff was helpful and even when I managed to lock myself out of the safety box in the room, a technician came and fixed the problem in less than 10 minutes after I'd asked for help in the reception.

The pool area was also really good. There were enough sunbeds and for me it was perfect to find that a minor part of the area had shadow during the mid day sun. Perfect when you just want to relax with a book without staing non-stop in the sun all day.

I also "tested" the SPA. It's quite small and the relax area related to the SPA was not so impressive even though it was comfortable enough. However, the two treatments I tried in the spa were very good. The therapist giving "classical massage" really knew how to untangle the tense muscles in my back and shoulders.

All in all a very nice and relaxing stay. The most negative thing observed was something which I believe was a rather big cockroach that walked around in the reception area one day... However, I never saw any of it's relatives so it may have been an accidental cockroach passing by.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise from the airport it's recommended to choose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CillaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    116
    62
    30
    16
See reviews for
56
168
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed in Aug 2013 for seven nights. Fifth time at hotel and always had a good room and sea view. We paid considerably more this time and got a very sub standard room. Low floor at the back of the hotel smaller than the other rooms on that floor, very little storage. small wet room area meant water all over the bathroom floor. Complained at reception and was told it was impossible to move us. Complained to bookings manager next day and was told sea view rooms were now more expensive but they would move us anyway. (we were never advised of a new pricing structure when booking with Thomas Cook so there's obviously a communication breakdown) Although they gave us a sea view it was on a low floor and in a corner so the balcony railing was very small and looked directly into next doors, not very private ! There was also a very bad smell coming from the shower drain. We decided not to complain again but had to complain about the smell, it was really bad. We complained about it twice and twice they said they would have a technician check it out. Don't know if this ever happened as we were never told but the smell was still there.We gave up in the end and had to run the shower frequently and use aerosols to try to keep the smell down. Not what you'd expect from a four star hotel really. The other down side for us this year was the food, especially our evening meal. There was a lot less choice than before and what was there was never marked to tell you what it was. On the plus side the hotel looks smart, facilities in the rooms were good and the staff all seemed to be a bit friendlier this year apart from the the two older guys that work in the dining room who came across as quite stand offish and grumpy. They should take a leaf out of the girls books who work in the restaurant, they were really nice and helpful. The other plus point which will always sell this hotel is the prime location in a lovely resort. Definitely a few steps backwards from the old Alexandra Hotel but considerably more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baxter642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Can Pastilla hotels

stockholm, sweden
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed one week 02-09August 2013 at the hotel. We stayed in a prime room on 4th floor, we were lucky enough to get a room on the corner (outer) so we had an excellent view. Room was to our satisfaction, bright, comfy beds, well working bathroom etc. I was happy to find a decent number of hangers in wardrobe (in most hotels there are too few hangers). Did not like that there were only 3 "English speaking" TV channels (and those were news channels) and no Scandinavian at all ( all guests summertime are scandinavians), no entertainment in room for those who do not speak spanish, italian or german. The elevators were awful, very small, slow and no aircon. Poolarea was great, big pool, plenty of chairs. Hotel is located close to beach and there are lots of restaurants close by.
It is an adults only hotel and this was our first time at such a hotel and for sure will not be the last ..Overall I would recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annahelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Alexandra with two kids, for 7 nights, back in 2012, end of April.
The hotel is beatiful and the food was ok.The kids loved the hotel, especially the big hallway.
But the service is a disappointment.There was an awful smell from the AC/heating unit and they didn't care to move us to another room or fix it. Untill someone from our travel agency talked to them.
They didn't clean the room floor every day. Also the restaurant wasn't quite clean. We even saw a huge cockroach just outside the restaurant.
The location is good and there is a shortcut passage to the beach.
The resort is small and quiet off season.
The island is wonderfull for exploring by car and there are a lot of places to see even with small kids (Marineland, Aquarium,Naturapark,Soler train,caves etc).Not to mention the beaches.For kids activities we got our plans from digame site.
We got back to Mallorca this July but rented an apartment in Alcudia,for beach time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Crina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NordNorge
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel used to be "visit hotel alexandra", now it's Sunprime Waterfront.
It's beautifully renovated.
Clean, spacious, nice hotel with friendly staff in a very quiet location.
Great rooms, great pool area and right next to the beach!
Are you looking for a relaxing holiday with you partner or friends, this is a good choice. The atmosphere is quiet and calm.
It's true that the hotel is close to the airport, but this isn't a problem at all. If I didn't know the airport was close, I wouldn't even have noticed.
There are PLENTY of sunbeds, you could sleep til noon and still get good beds :-)

Room Tip: Rooms in the very front of the hotel with full seaview is worth the extra cost. The rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelExplorePassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I know hotel reviews can be sometimes overrated. but this Hotel is truely great. me & my fiancee went there last year and the hotel was very clean, rooms were recently revovated, good food with lots to choose from, and most importantly great staff.

i proposed to my fiancee in that trip & the staff went above & beyond to fulfill every expectation we had - they upgraded us to a suite room. it felt like we were the first guests in that room. they staff also treated us with a bottle of champagne.

Ask for Antonio alfambre in the reception - he will take GOOD care of you.

I would definetly come back to mallorca & hotel alexandra

Room Tip: ever floor has a suite. ask or try to get upgrade. it's worth it. the suite rooms are HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itay v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a quiet hotel away from it all, although very near the airport, but we did't hear much noise from the planes.
The hotel is clean and a good size, a nice pool area and quiet location near to the beach.
Not many British when we were their, and guests were mainly elderly, ( nothing wrong in that ). Food was ok, normal hotel stuff. Rooms were a decent size and always cleaned. Staff helpful and polite.
Area is quiet with some nice bars and restaurants around, met some nice people here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.1 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
BQ Apolo Hotel
BQ Apolo Hotel
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#2 of 24 in Can Pastilla
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#11 of 24 in Can Pastilla
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Waterfront

Property: Sunprime Waterfront
Address: Calle Pins 15, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Visit Hotel Alexandra)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Can Pastilla
#4 Spa Hotel in Can Pastilla
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunprime Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Waterfront is situated directly on the beach in the small town of Can Pastilla which has a picturesque harbour and numerous nice little restaurants, bars and shops. From the hotel's pool area you can enjoy a stunning view of the sea while relaxing on a comfortable sun lounger. Whether you want an active or relaxing holiday, the hotel offers facilities such as bike rental, gym, fitness classes and a spa with luxurious treatments. Sunprime Waterfront also has a restaurant serving well-prepared dishes and fine wines in a tranquil setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunprime Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra d Or Hotel
Hotel Alexandra d Or
Sunprime Waterfront Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing