We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”
Review of AluaSoul Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AluaSoul Palma
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night on business just before Christmas (clearly low season then).

Extremely convenient for the airport (hardly a 10 mins taxi ride - you should not be charged more than 10-12 euros, otherwise you are being ripped off by the driver). The surroundings are calm and quiet and far away from the rest of this charming island.

Entrance is alright, check-in was efficient and fast. The place shows its age but it is spotless clean and bright. The views (outside pool, sun deck and a small cornering beach) give you the impression you are staying in a more upmarket place.

The rooms are standard but the beds were uncomfortable (my spring mattress was past beyond its useful life). Other than that, the terrace was nice, the views too.

Breakfast was included and varied enough. Service kindly let me in at 7.30am even though their opening time was 8.00am.

At this price, I could not complain about the hotel. OK, Can Pastilla is not the top destination in Mallorca and the hotel is not a five star but that´s why you pay a fraction of the price too.

Overall, a good budget option if you need to be close to the airport and are looking for a no-frills option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boxy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    270
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
46
406
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Brilliant hotel for short or longer holidays. Would recommend to all travellers, having stayed a number of times. Food is great always a good choice at breakfast and dinner and a bar menu for B&Bers.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Savochef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in the Marina Luz years ago (before it was refurbished) and decided to return for one night when were back in Mallorca this year. We had an early flight to catch and the proximity to the airport made this an ideal choice.

Despite booking 11 months in advance, when we arrived a friendly receptionist delivered the bad news that they were overbooked and we were being sent to another hotel nearby. I was really disappointed as I had been looking forward to seeing the changes that had been made to the hotel. We were moved to the Palma Stay, which was nice - but didn't quite meet the expectations I had from the Luz.

For reference though, the location of the Luz is lovely. It's on the edge od the resort but a pleasant 5 minute walk brings you to a small selection of bars, shops and restaurants - with a wider selection just a bit further along the seafront.

We're going back to Mallorca again in June and had we had the chance of trying to Luz this year, might have considered it for our main holiday - but decided to go elsewhere. That said, we do need one night back again before our flight home - but I'm not sure I want to take the chance of being bumped again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is our second time at the Marina Luz Hotel and we weren't disappointed. One of the draws to this hotel is the closeness to the airport, only 5 minute in a taxi costing 10 euro's. We had a standard room but as it was on a high floor we had a lovely view over the bay of Palma. The only complaint about the rooms was that there was no heating and at night the rooms were quite cold, there was a switch for the heating on the air con but it obviously had to be switched on elsewhere first and when I asked at reception I was offered another blanket.
The food was very good with plenty of choice for everyone both at breakfast and the evening meal. They had entertainment on several times during our stay which seemed wasted on most of the guest's and I thought was a waste of time.
They are putting a Solarium on the upper sun deck so that should be a welcome addition to the hotel.
Another draw to this hotel is the staff, from reception to the restaurant to the bar staff and cleaners ALL without exception were so friendly and have been there for a number of years and could not do enough for you.
We are already looking to go again next year and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chickalaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed two weeks at this adult only hotel. The accommodation was first class; it was quiet, had a great pool and was close to transport stops. The food was ok - edible. The staff very friendly and helpful. All in all, a great stay and we will visit again.

Room Tip: The higher up he better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have only positive comments about this hotel.
We only had one night here but would have loved to spend more time at this resort.

The rooms are clean and modern.
Buffet has plenty of choices and the service was excellent.
Internet was free and worked well. Towels for pool were free too.

We stay in 30-40 hotels per year and this property impressed us.
Robert at the front desk was especially helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flintstonemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this lovely hotel nine times in the last three years and having just returned a week ago have already booked out Christmas with them. The hotel is in a lovely quiet location but an easy walk to bars and restaurants. It is spotlessly clean and the choice of buffet breakfast and dinner is always excellent. This hotel has the nicest and most helpful staff that I have ever met after many years of hotel stays. Particularly Maite on reception and restaurant and bar staff Juani and Eloisa. These ladies make our holiday every time.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and sea are obviously better and a bit more expensive. But the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenniWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaHotels, Online Marketing at AluaSoul Palma, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mrs J. Woolf

Thank you for your review following your most recent stay at the Hotel Marina Luz. The Manageress of the Hotel Marina Luz and the General Manager of Marina Hotels always read customer reviews with great interest, as we do with our Social Media sites.

It is very rewarding to know that you continue to enjoy your stay with us and we trust that you will celebrate many Christmases at our hotel. Our staff try very hard to deliver good customer service and we will make sure that Maite, on Reception, and Juani, in the Restaurant, are aware that you have mentioned them in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a few week's time at the Hotel Marina Luz.

Yours sincerely,

Daniella Burley
Online Marketing of Marina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
6.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
928 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
486 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#25 of 77 in Playa de Palma
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,166 reviews
4.0 mi away
UR Palacio Avenida
UR Palacio Avenida
#45 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
527 reviews
30.8 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSoul Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSoul Palma

Property: AluaSoul Palma
Address: Maestro Ekitai Ahn, 40 | Cala Estancia, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Luz)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
#3 Spa Hotel in Can Pastilla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSoul Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Luz is located in a privileged setting of the Bay of Palma, just a few minutes away from the city of Palma de Mallorca and very close to the Son Sant Joan airport.All in all, the location and the facilities of the Hotel Marina Luz make it the perfect combination for business or pleasure: "Adults only" The Hotel Marina Luz has recently been refurbished and this stylish hotel offers modern day comforts, personalised service and a team of professionals at your disposal.Open all year round, the Hotel Marina Luz boasts a privileged sea front position. The hotel’s business facilities will enable you to conduct your business meetings or incentives in the perfect setting.The Hotel Marina Luz has two fully-equipped conference rooms, which will allow you to carry out your business meetings. The hotel also offers various coffee breaks and other necessities, which the MICE segment may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AluaSoul Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Luz Hotel
Marina Luz Can Pastilla
Hotel Marina Luz
AluaSoul Palma Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing