We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons... overall a lovely stay”
Review of AluaSoul Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AluaSoul Palma
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
North East England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pros and cons... overall a lovely stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

People complain about the views in their rooms. If you read the reviews it quite clearly says if you don't pay for a sea or pool view, you wont get a very good room. We paid the extra and boy it was worth it. The views were lovely, overlooking the sea. Rooms were just OK. Nothing special, but nonetheless ok.

The hotel is adult only, its was lovely and quiet, just what you want for a sneaky break away without the kids.

Because we had never been to the resort before, we chose teh half board option. To be honest, the meals were just OK. I wanted traditional spanish, there wasnt much of that, instead they had "themed nights" Itialian night, american night etc etc.... There are an array of restaurants about 10 minutes walk from the hotel around the seafront, I would go there.

There is a small "commercial resoirt" about 15 minutes away, not for me, a little bit tacky to be honest, however the closest cluster of restuarants around the seafront looked quite nice. I didnt spot any bars though, it seems to be orientated about restaurants,

In the evening the entertainment was as expected, average singers, nothing special, however, it wasnt overly bad.

I guess it depends what you want. We wanted a quiet break away, without the kids. If fulfilled our need. Quiet, exceptionally close to the airport, yes there was airport noise, it didnt really bother me.

You can walk into Palma, but it will take you AGES!!!

Not sure I could do more than a week though, unless I had a car.

In a nutshell, go B&B and go to the local restaurants. Make sure you apy the upgrade for a pool or seaview. Get to the pool before 10 if you want a sunlounger. Be prepared for airport noise.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a sea or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    271
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
46
407
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have never been to Majorca before went to this hotel from the 1.7.13-15.7.13
Great hotel Lovely staff Great food.
Very Close to the airport.(This was not a problem)
Great pool.
Lovely views
This was a really good holiday.
will be back.

Room Tip: High Floor Pool View Room 504.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the only positive thing to say is that the service staff is very friendly and helpful.

the hotel is super close to the airport - that means, you don't sleep from 6 a.m. on since every 2 or 3 minute there's a plane going directly over the hotel (see pictures). The planes go over the hotel so close, you nearly could see the pilot's face.

it was not well cleaned, the bed was horrible - usually I sleep very well, especially, when partying; I did not sleep a minute during my stay.

the view out of the window (see photo) basically says everything you need to know.

breakfast was ok, food in the hotel (I once had a Club Sandwich) as well.

never ever again.

Room Tip: another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danimallorca, Marketing Online at AluaSoul Palma, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Marina Luz. All comments are reviewed by the Head Office of Marina Hotels, together with the Management of the Hotel Marina Luz.

Regarding your comments about experiencing noise during your stay due to the hotel being located near to the airport, it is true that the hotel is very close to some of the flight-paths. In fact, many of our returning guests are avid plane-spotters and they book our hotel and request high-floors, because this way they can see the planes clearly. The flight-paths cross over other areas in Cala Estancia too, so in our experience, the intensity of the noise depends on atmospheric conditions as well as each individual guest and the flight-path of that day.

Room changes depend on availability and according to occupancy of the hotel, and the Reception Team will always offer a room change to guests who experience problems due to aircraft noise.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. Our Team take great pride in their work and the Housekeeper has been shown your ‘photographs and action will be taken regarding these. We would like to extend our apologies to you for having experienced problems with the cleanliness of the hotel.

Regarding the view from the rooms, we would like to clarify that this hotel has 8 different room types on sale (with different views or allocated in different parts of the hotel). Whilst we cannot check your booking from the details that you have given in your review, we would kindly ask for you to contact us directly so that we can check the room type that you booked and the room type that you were allocated.

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding the service of our team members, and we trust that despite your concerns regarding our hotel, that you enjoyed your stay in Mallorca.

Should you wish to contact us directly, you will find our contact details on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Not been to Majorca for a long time but had stayed in this hotel 20 years ago so knew the location. Close to the airport but not a problem with any noise. The room we had was a Side Sea View/ Pool View - this is the one you should book for you holiday. We had room 104 and our friends had 105 these came with a large (shared) decked area and I do mean large with two lounges, two chairs, table and side table for every room. This area was private for the rooms 101 - 110 and made you feel VIP in every aspect. The hotel is fantastic but a word of warning the drinks prices are not cheap - 50cl San Miguel 4 euros, Gordon's gin 6.50 + 1.0 for tonic. Best priced drink was the Sangria 3.50 for either the red of cava large glass. The food in the hotel was some of the best we have had for years and the breakfast was just great, sat out on the patio eating it and watching the world go by.
All in all one of the best 10 days holiday for a long long time.

Room Tip: pay the extra and try and get 101 - 110, or a Junior Suite. Hey it's your hoilday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTTO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading the previous reviews we were a bit concerned about the location due to the planes but this was not a problem once during our stay. This hotel is amazing, so clean, great service, great entertainment & food. Nice location just on the out skirts of the resort. Transfer time is quick as im not a fan of sitting on coaches. The hotel had a chilled relax vibe about it & the first time I have been away and people don't reserve sunbeds!! I will definitely be recommending and returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eneale1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel paid extra for sea view..... Make sure you ask for POOL side view... As the other side well lets say you can see the passengers through the aircraft windows. Ok when planes land from the sea but mostly take off over sea... Noisy however you get use to it.
Food excellent, pool good but as usual encountered the " German booking of loungers with towels"

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Matvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here from 6th July for a week. It was a very relaxing holiday. Hotel is very clean, staff are friendly and food is varied with plenty of choice. Because theres no children its very quiet round the pool. We went to Palma for the day its only one euro each way on the 15 bus.You can also walk round the bay for miles and end up in Arenal which is a bit run down. A great place for a week relaxing,

Room Tip: If your room faces the back it lookss onto residential houses but its nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
6.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
928 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
486 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#25 of 77 in Playa de Palma
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,167 reviews
4.0 mi away
UR Palacio Avenida
UR Palacio Avenida
#45 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
527 reviews
30.8 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSoul Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSoul Palma

Property: AluaSoul Palma
Address: Maestro Ekitai Ahn, 40 | Cala Estancia, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Luz)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
#3 Spa Hotel in Can Pastilla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSoul Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Luz is located in a privileged setting of the Bay of Palma, just a few minutes away from the city of Palma de Mallorca and very close to the Son Sant Joan airport.All in all, the location and the facilities of the Hotel Marina Luz make it the perfect combination for business or pleasure: "Adults only" The Hotel Marina Luz has recently been refurbished and this stylish hotel offers modern day comforts, personalised service and a team of professionals at your disposal.Open all year round, the Hotel Marina Luz boasts a privileged sea front position. The hotel’s business facilities will enable you to conduct your business meetings or incentives in the perfect setting.The Hotel Marina Luz has two fully-equipped conference rooms, which will allow you to carry out your business meetings. The hotel also offers various coffee breaks and other necessities, which the MICE segment may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AluaSoul Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Luz Hotel
Marina Luz Can Pastilla
Hotel Marina Luz
AluaSoul Palma Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing