We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shut this place down !!”
Review of Hotel Can Pastilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Can Pastilla
Ranked #1 of 2 Can Pastilla B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a first for me as ive stayed at many good hotels throughout the medditeranean.

Please do not book this hostel, yes hostel, not hotel .

It is a flea infested . cockroach haven with NO swimming pool or eating and drinking facilities, evening entertainment on site.
We booked this hovel online and arrived in the middle of the night. the transfer bus set us off at the main road and we wheeled our suitcases to a locked gate, and eventually walkes round the side street os the outer apartments to find the main building.
There we found the reception desk in a reception which looked like it was from the 1970's sitcom faulty towers.
once given our key, room 212, we proceeded to the back stairwell and up the stairs to
the second floor, lift had broken down, along a unlit hallway. on opening the door we were hit by a smell which i can only describe as the bottom of a goldfish tank. i found the bed light and looked around at the room. first impressions, oh dear, the wardrobe doors were missing although the hinges were still present? the sink and bath was so old the enamel had been scrubbed off giving a matt unhygenic finish.
we had booked self catering but there was no kitchen in the room, no fridge, no airconditioning, no tv remote control,although if you wanted the last two then you would need to pay for the privelige.
the bathroom had no ventilation apart from an old filthy rotten window at the bath end,which had a stiff rusty catch and opened onto a brick internal wall?
on the balcony which looked onto the neighbours across the street, who also could have full view of your entire room, and wardrobe ,we found the air con unit which took up much of the small space.
there are no smoke alarms in the room or outside in the hallways so tough luck if someone decides to drop their ciggarette in their bedroom onto the non fire retardant foam furnishings.
the fire door was inadequate and was wedged open so you could find your room along the dark hallway. i didnt see any extinguishers for electrical fires.
the so called safe room for your luggage should you be leaving later, had no lock and the reception and room keys were left open to the general public on occasion of a toilet visit by the assistant.
On occasion i was sitting on my balcony and had a cockroach run across at my feet, on the second floor, i also have returned home with lots of flea bites and in reception had a flea jump on my arm from the dirty upholstered seats.
To sum up, i paid £56 per night for self catering apartment, with no facilities and have returned home never to return to can pastilla.
This place is being mis-sold as a hotel and whould be renamed as a "room only hostel"

Dont waste your money there are far better but none worse than this doss house !!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! An american tourist popped by and asked to view the room before booking, he returned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horizonte, Director de Recepción at Hotel Can Pastilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Alexander F from Edinburg

Thanks very much for your satiric comments , for sure other readers will understand the value of your opinion based in a very bad choice according to your expectatives .

Let me apologize first for any inconveniences caused in our LOW COST HOTEL in Mallorca just 70 mts of the beach where you can buy superior rooms with air condictioning , fridge , hair drier and TV in the room or just the basic low cost room as you did . Our wish is to mantain always a perfect value for money of our clients.

We aim to all our guests to read the descriptions and asure about what exactly is included in your travel agency packages , and if once you,ve bougth a package it always can be upgraded .

Once told that i Remark you that Hotel Can Pastilla is not a new hotel , but it has been refurbished a couple of years ago .

The Hotel Can Pastilla is not appartment so if you read well what you,re going to buy you don´t get further surprises and don´t need to make such a disgusting reviews .

We are a respetable family and in Hotel Can PAstilla We DON´T HAVE a Super design boutique 5 stars reception , neither kitchen and appartment staff , neither a perfect service .

We are quite dissapointed with these comments because you in stead of complaning about us would have read better what YOU bought or just asked us for help in changing to an apartment, you would enjoyed much your holidays .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 162 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed here with my partner for 3 nights.Took an early flight in and late flight back to make the most of 4 days.Arrived 11.30am after taking taxi from the Airport costing 14 euros.Receptionist was extremely helpful.The room was not ready due to early arrival There was a room opp reception where we left our bags,changed and could shower if required.We were told we could take a parosol to use which we did every day.On the beach within 5 mins.When we checked in the room did not have a balcony which they changed immediately once we informed them.Room was clean,We were in the building opp reception room 334. Air con great and welcome after a hot day on the beach.This was 9 euros a night.Bathroom was clean and shower very good.Broke the WC handle which we reported and was repaired during the day whilst out.Breakfast was 5 min walk to Hotel Gala which was really good and continental.Ate too much.Dont pinch any rolls for the fish as we got caught!Last day left bags in luggage room had all day out and had nice shower before leaving.Really enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again. Nice Bistro nearby for San Miguel and olives!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul138G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here with my 21 yr old daughter and 17 yr old son, we all agreed that this hotel was great.

The room was clean, enough space for 3 of us, we were lucky our room was on the top (5th) floor so our balcony was also very spacious. There was a normal size fridge so plenty of cold drinks, food etc, no kettle but we brought a travel kettle. We didn't bother paying for the tv, we weren't in the room enough to need it. It got very, very warm at night so next time we will probably invest in air con for a night to find out if it is quiet enough to sleep with it on. Free wifi, just ask at reception for the password, we were able to use it even on the top floor.

The staff were all very helpful and happy (our housekeeping lady was a gem), we arrived at nearly midnight and had no problems checking in.

The hotel is two minutes walk from the beach, there is a well stocked supermarket five minutes walk away (find Burger King, stand outside with your back to it, look to your right, small street with lots of little tourist shops, supermarket half way up on the left).

As a guest at the Can Pastilla you are also allowed to use the pools at the Hotels Gala and Miraflores, the Gala is small but less used, sunspot till about midday, shaded after, Miraflores larger and gets busy, both spotless with adequate sunbeds.

All in all, this was a wonderful place to stay, budget, yes, but I have stayed in far worse travelodge hotels! I would absolutely recommend the Can Pastilla and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Room 506, (3 person room), fantastic views and the housekeeping lady assigned to it is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I think other reviews are unfair. This is a budget hotel. The hotel is perfectly located near to the beach. We were not expecting a great deal as we paid a lot less than half the cost of any other hotel in the area and other reviews did not paint a good picture. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, maid service and towel change every day, all the staff were friendly and helpful. My only criticism is that there were no room fans and as it was July it was very hot. The room did contain a mini fridge which was much appreciated and a safe which was reasonably charged. For what we paid I cannot fault this hotel. I don't know if it would suitable for families as when we stayed there was a lot of young people, resulting in the occasional noise ie doors slamming and people talking on their balconies in the early hours, however, this is not the hotels fault and in no way spoiled our stay. The rooms in my opinion are only big enough for 2 people maximum, plus, as there are no lifts if you are on the third floor, as we were, carrying a buggy would be too much. This was an excellent value budget hotel. We paid around £200 for the both of us for 6 nights mid July therefore an absolute bargain. Be aware that there is a minimum taxi charge for the 5 minutes drive from the airport of €15.00

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with air conditioning if travelling in the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meandmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I love this site and always pay a lot of attetion to it ,so after reading the reviews we thought for the money hey it cant be bad !!!WRONG we had travelled from tenerife to catch a cruise from palma so we thought this hotel was ideally suited to palma airport to rest over for 1 night.
It was that bad the taxi driver could not find it 2.5 miles from airport was 18 euro on the meter???? when we arrived the guy on reception told us we were in the other block where the front door was lying wide open to the world at 2am, can i get a bottle of water NO Machine broke will get in Britsh petrol station 200 yds away!!! when we entered we just could not believe what we saw i kid you not this place had not seen a paint brush pre 1960 the fridge which did not work when opened smelt of a dead corpse there was not 1 glass in the cupboard and then when i tried to open the bathroom window it fell out of the frame the door we had to jam shut with the chair with our suitcases loaded on top -- next morning went to look for acup of tea no possibility so got on bus and went straight to palma never ever ever again worst nightmare ever. Do not dream of this place its adirt hole and a major safety hazard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NICouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

From reading other reviews, I feel I should try to defend this hotel a little bit. My fiancé and I spent 7 nights in C'an Pastilla in July and were moved to a nice room, overlooking a quiet street in this hotel after the hotel we had originally booked with, the Hotel Miraflores, had only one room available that was apparently one of their less desirable ones. The receptionists at both Miraflores and Can Pastilla were very friendly and amiable in sorting this out for us. The room was clean, tidy and basic but for the price we paid it was fine. Our balcony was nice situated and was a very nice place to sit for the first cigarette of the morning in the lovely heat! It appears to me that people writing reviews for this hotel spent a lot of time in their room, which I cannot understand. The resort is so beautiful, with so many nice things to do, alcohol to drink and food to eat that we spent less than 10% of our holiday in our room. It was just a place to sleep, shower and get ready before going out. You are not paying 5* prices, so do not expect a 5* hotel. But the reception staff are friendly and can help out with any issues you may have. There are more plush hotels along the playa but you will be spending double the price and the location will not be as nice. As for the food, we did not eat at the neighbouring hotel because many of the little cafes in town did delicious coffee and pastries and breakfast for the two of us was averaging out at about 4 euros each time. No complaints there!
My point is - You get what you pay for and if you go to C'an Pastilla and expect to spend most of your time in your hotel room, you have completely wasted an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank whoishannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

People do not realize they get what they pay for. Hotel is very good for a two star hotel. Breakfast in a nearby hotel is quite good, there is something for everyone. It is very close to the beach and airport, the hotel is clean, just a sincere recommendation that you take the safe. We had some trouble with the electricity, but it was quickly repaired. It is only important not to expect five-star hotel and all it will be ok. My recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SerbianGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amic Miraflores
Hotel Amic Miraflores
#17 of 24 in Can Pastilla
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amic Gala
Hotel Amic Gala
#23 of 24 in Can Pastilla
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balear
Balear
#16 of 24 in Can Pastilla
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Linda
Hotel Roc Linda
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#2 of 24 in Can Pastilla
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Can Pastilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Can Pastilla

Address: Calle Oratge 4, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Can Pastilla
Price Range: $47 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Can Pastilla 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low Cost Hotel, simple, family atmosphere, just 100 meters away of 'Playa de Palma' beach, and very close to Gala and Miraflores Hotels (hotels of the same group) that complete with bars, lounges, swimming pools, solarium etc. where you will have free access.Located a few meters of the bus stop to Palma Airport (is only 3 bus stops away) and city center. And also from the shops, bars, restaurants of Can Pastilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Can Pastilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Can Pastilla Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing