We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family holiday with friendly staff and a great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A fantastic family holiday with friendly staff and a great atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am a bit late adding this review, as I travelled there last April, however it was a fantastic first family holiday abroad with my 18month year old daughter. The rooms were a little on the small side,however we were not in it for very long, just a quick siesta before dinner. The food was really well presentented and delicious. The entertainment was really good every night and the mini disco kept my duaghter entertained. I was really impressed with the table service we received in the bar in the evenings. The indoor pool was also lovely for myself and my daughter and a great addition to the hotel, as the outdoor pool was a bit chilly in April (however my partner braved it every day!) The staff were extremely friendly and were delightful to our little girl. I really wanted to go again next year, but unfortunately cannot afford it as I got a really good deal with First Choice. If you want an easy holiday with good entertainment and beautiful surroundings this is the perfect location. It is relatively quiet around the hotel, however the entertainment team are excellent and there are a variety of boat trips and a market that are easily accessible. Would love to go again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    356
    129
    36
    15
See reviews for
309
514
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed 10 days on an all inclusive deal in a family suite which consisted of two rooms. They were rather small but adequately equipped with tv and fridge. The air conditioning was turned off during the day which was surprising for a four star hotel and although we went mid/end October, it was still too warm in the rooms if you returned there in the day. We paid extra for a safe and a week's Wi-Fi.
The rooms were cleaned daily and the whole complex was spotless.
The meals were fantastic, with meat, fish and vegetarian options. There was a good selection of drinks included for AI residents and we mostly had cocktails. The service in the bar was brilliant with the waitresses bringing us drinks to our table all night without our even asking.
The evening entertainment was better than average for these places- we particularly enjoyed the Adele tribute singer and the martial artist performer who was amazing.
A very special thank you to all of the animation team who were superb. Our 8 year old spent most of his time with them which was a first for him on a family holiday (thanks Lucy) and adults were catered for with various activities including archery, table tennis and even dancing lessons (thanks Alan!)
The beach is on the doorstep and we regularly swam in the sea where the water is amazingly clear and it's absolutely teeming with fish -our son had a great time feeding them with bread from his hot dogs! We would definitely return. As others have mentioned, the place attracts a lot of German (and Spanish) people but this didn't bother us and there were plenty of sun loungers. However it definitely became much busier in our second week which coincided with the start of half- term.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel in October as the last part of our Golden Wedding anniversary celebrations. The hotel is first class - rooms are clean and tidy, staff most helpful and pleasant and food plentiful and varied. We were all inclusive and found there was no shortage of drinks at any time.
There are loads of sunbeds so no issue there - even allowing for the usual people of put towels on beds then disappear for half the day. The resort is very quiet but if you want a change from the hotel there are bars and restaurants within easy walking distance (even for us in out 70's)

We had read various reviews which mentioned the hotel catered mainly for a German clientele and it does. Did not cause us any problem or concern whatever - we were perfectly happy talking to each other!

And finally we get to the key question : Would you go to this hotel again? A resounding YES from both of us

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton coldfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great position with sunbeds literally on the edge of the sea. We had travelled all inclusive with Thomsons and as such we could use any of the sunbeds without paying but this was not the case for those on half board. There were plenty of sunbeds and comfy chairs in delightful positions and although we spent a great deal of time on the beach and swimming in the sea when we returned most afternoons we were able to get beds in the prime positions. As always there was a mad scramble by both the germans and british to bag a bed each morning we found it more amusing than irritating. As others have mentioned the hotels guests are predominantly German (in our second week I would estimate 80% were German) but we found most of the hotel staff spoke good English and were friendly and courteous at all times. The rooms were well cleaned and everyone gets at least a limited view of the sea. We were never disturbed by noise at night. The food was reasonably varied if not spectacular and there were no issues in getting drinks quickly and as many as you wanted. There is a nice outside area where you can take your meals but it is in great demand. You just go in and find yourself a table then place something on it like your sunglasses and room key so people know it is taken. The Germans couldn't grasp this which led to some interesting confrontations when they returned with their food to find someone else sat there. Certainly the best thing about the hotel was the attitude of the staff - pity the Thomsons rep wasn't as helpful. On the negative side. On arrival we got off the coach and had to wheel and carry luggage down a pedestrian road into the hotel grounds past the pool to get to the reception. We had to help two elderly passengers who struggled with their luggage. Thomsons have ceased to send reps with their coaches and you have to fend for yourselves. We asked our rep why the coach didn't reverse down to the hotel entrance and were told the police wouldn't allow it - It didn't stop Tui coaches doing so each day when dropping off and collecting German guests, even with a police car parked there. If you have walking difficulties this may effect your choice of this hotel.. The resort of Camp de Mar is very picturesque but very quiet; a few bars and a supermarket and chemist and a restricted promenade so very little entertainment apart from your hotel. Unfortunately the majority of the evening entertainment at this hotel is in German!! However you are only 5 minutes from Piguera and 10 minutes from Port Andrext with a very good local bus service running well into the evening and lots of taxi's It wouldn't break the bank if you went into one of these resorts most evenings. It is possible to walk to Piguera during the day on what can very loosly be described as a footpath through hilly wood area (in England it would be closed because of safety issues) You need to be good on your feet and wear sturdy trainers. In one small part you have to haul yourself up a hill by a rope We did it several times and really enjoyed it.but It is not possible at night because there is no lighting. Big tip - don't try to get a local bus on a Wednesday morning. It is market day at Andrext and you will never get on it. Remember as well only the british understand the concept of queuing so when the bus arrives don't stand back just go for it. One of the great things this hotel did was allow you to take ood out for a picnic if you were going out for the day. Just ask the waiter at breakfast for a picnic and he brings you bottled water a bag and tin foil for you to go and choose food from the breakfast table to make your own sandwiches. On a night time you can also ask for bottled water at the bar which they will give you to take to your room and put in your fridge - but you can't get it during the day. We found the hotel pretty accommodating but the resort a little too quiet. Great beach and simming
.

Room Tip: You don't have to worry about noise very late at night because the entertainment finishes 11 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuttonColdfieldCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your opinions about our hotel .
In September the hotel occupancy by countries was:
Austria 4.33% , 64.68 % Germany , Spain to 1.28% , UK 19.07% , 0.53% Poland , Russia 1.06 % , Switzerland 3.46% , so a total of 30 nationalities different .
The hotel has a special permit by the municipality for buses to go down the pedestrian street and leave customers in the door of the hotel. There is a road sign that says so .
The evening shows in September were:
Monday “Walmont” , international music duo . Tuesday show of our entertainers. Wednesday " Caporeira do Brasil” a Brazilian show . Thursday “Hit Factory” duo international music . Friday an international band singing in Spanish , English and German . Saturday Spanish Flamenco . Sunday a British singer imitating ADELE. Monday international magician . Tuesday show our animators . Wednesday Claudia an English lady singing in English . Thursday " Raks Sahara " a trio dancing belly dance (Arabic ) . Friday an international band singing in Spanish , English and German . Sunday Spanish Flamenco . Sunday, an Englishman imitating Rod Stewart .
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel, Its a camp for Germans. I wouldn't give it any star at ALL!
If you want to find yourself surrounded by mid-age to senior germans, unfriendly and rude you found the place to spend your vacation.
Staf is very rude, cold, unprofessional!
Where to start? The overall sensation is very clean, sanitized, hospital ambiance. Nothing is creative, warm nor welcoming.
Rooms are small, not soundproof, beds are cheap, pillows horrible. Very bad sleep.
The Restaurant has no reference to spanish food at all. You can eat pork every day, and you feel like being in Germany with a beach. Nobody welcomes you in the restaurant. They only tell you where you cannot seat! Really not friendly. Its all inclusive cheap food!

The beach loungers are busy all the time. You have to pay to get your beach towel changed.
Animation is for kids and alienated people!
Really disappointing compared to Caribbean All Inclusive this place is a joke.

The beach is beautiful and the location is excellent! too bad!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same! This is what they told me at the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
In our hotel are staying 25 or 30 guest of different nationalities but in the low season German customers are the majority.
We were very surprised that you say that our staff was not professional or rude, because 91% of customers on Holiday Check and 77% on Tripadvisor would recommend our hotel and what they value most is the friendliness and professionalism of our staff.
The buffet that the hotel offers is international, once a week there is a Asian buffet, once a week a buffet with specialties from Majorca and once a week a buffet with Mediterranean food.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

my wife and myself have now been to this hotel 3 times ,the hotel is very clean and well presented, the staff in all areas are always busy doing their work cleaning or serving
the rooms are slightly smaller than in most hotels but you only sleep in them.
the food is very very good a lovely selection of meats, fish, and salads, we always managed to get sunbeds around the pool,probably because we got down quite early.when in cyprus in december we played all the games at gold hotel,but not at the camp de mar unable to under stand them.i fully understand why most of it was in german as most of the guests were german.
i would certanly go back again ,my only concern with this holiday was PREMIER HOTEL
according to first choice first or second drop off,no 5th drop off going out,the excuse i got
from the rep was it just depends on the amount of flights coming in.On the way home our flight was to depart at 13.25pm we left the hotel at 09.15, 4hrs 10 mins before flight took off, 40 mins to the airport,that left us 3hrs 30 mins inthe airport,not really exceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having travelled on a self catering basis to the beautiful bay of Camp de Mar on numerous occasions, we decided to try one of the hotels on an all inclusive basis. The hotel itself, is extremely well presented and can be found in a perfect location right on the sea front. Camp de Mar itself being a mere 30 minutes from Palma airport.

Upon arrival, first impressions are very good, with a seamless check in process administered by very friendly staff. Rooms, although small are well appointed and clean, but not really 4*. Be warned also...if you like to return to a cold room then you are likely to be disappointed. For obvious reasons, the hotel turn off all air conditioning in the rooms in the morning.

Food is of a very high standard...not being a big fan of buffets morning noon and night, I was a little sceptical about having them all week but no complaints at all. Plenty of variety and all freshly cooked. The only thing to watch for are our German cousins of whom there are plenty at this hotel. They like to dominate in lots of areas and don't particularly like it when people stand up to them. We very nearly had a major diplomatic incident by the toaster one day...

Again, the pool and grounds are well maintained but be warned that the complex is quite small and if you're looking to lose yourself for a few hours then it's hard to do so. For those who have enjoyed all inclusive in the Caribbean, and the accompanying acres of space, this will be a little disappointing. There is additional sun bathing areas down by the sea which if without children would be perfect. The biggest problem that we encountered was again caused by other international guests...as others have mentioned, you really will have to be up early to bag a lounger or two. Fortunately for us, I was up early every morning with our young child so could reserve them but be warned, come 07.00 in the morning there will be very few left! The most galling thing about this is that the international customers who were bagging the loungers as early as 06.00 sometimes didn't appear until after lunchtime. This was the one area where the hotel management were lacking. Despite it being a written rule that loungers cannot be reserved, the hotel management failed to police the rule. Even worse, when complaining to the reception desk about the situation, the lady who had spoke fluent English only an hour earlier, all of a sudden could not understand me!

Others complained about the cost to use the wifi, but to me that wasn't a problem. As soon as hotels introduce wifi the kids start using mobile devices which then detracts from a good, family, summer holiday.

Would I go back? Camp de Mar yes but this hotel no. Nice enough but I think that all inclusive is best off left to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.2 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
580 reviews
41.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar

Property: Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Address: Avda Gabriel Covas Alemany, 2, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olimarotels offers you experiences of relaxation and comfort in a unique destination in the heart of the Mediterranean. With their friendly atmosphere, the philosophy of our Hotels revolves around the satisfaction of every guest. Our attention to detail, comfortable amenities and more than 25 years of experience allow us to achieve our goal: to provide a holiday experience you will treasure forever. The Olimarotels are certified according to ISO 9001 (quality management system) and 14001 (environmental compliance) standards, in addition to being the first European Hotel Chain to obtain the Global Hotel Security seal of approval. Fully renovated, the Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar offers you an ideal stay that will stay in your mind forever. Hotel Location Located in the municipality of Andratx, one of the most visited townships on the island of Mallorca, our Hotel enjoys a privileged location, right by the sea and yet very close to the Serra de Tramuntana, declared world heritage by UNESCO, or the island of Sa Dragonera. The Hotel is also close to the attractives sports marina in Andratx and Puerto Portals. The Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar is distinguished by its location right on the coast, in a heavenly setting and flanked by two beautiful beaches: Ses Dones and Camp de Mar. Thanks to its exceptional location, the Hotel has some special characteristics to perform various leisure activities. Only 25 km away from Palma de Mallorca and 3 km away from the towns of Paguera and Andratx. Service at the Hotel: The Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar offers you the following services and facilities: restaurant-buffet, 3 bars, chill-out area overlooking the sea, exclusive solarium area, outdoor and indoor-pools, spa & wellness centre, fitness room, tennis court, multi-purpose court, bike storage, garage, childrens' playroom and playground, "only adults" solarium-terrace with bar service, reading and TV rooms, conference rooms, WiFi throughout the Hotel. Gastronomy in the Hotel: The gastronomic offer at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar is based on quality, themed buffets and a touch of creativity that will delight all palates. We have three show-cooking stations and a restaurant service where guests can choose between half-board or all-inclusive options. Half board-plus: If you have booked this option, we offer you a rich and varied breakfast buffet, a dinner buffet with delicious dishes including a selection of national and international drinks with and without alcohol. Twice a week we invite you to a breakfast with sparkling wine and also several times a week we offer themed buffets. All inclusive: in addition to the half board services we offer you a selection of national and international drinks with and without alcohol, continental breakfast, hot snacks, lunch-buffet, coffee, tea and pastries and cold snacks. Pool Snack-bar: here you will find all kind of drinks and cold or hot snacks. Bar-salon: at the end of the day we offer you all kind of drinks including delicious cocktails and the chance to enjoy the shows or to dance with live music. Sports, entertainment and pool in the Hotel: Some of the sports that you can practice are: table tennis, bowls, sjoelen, darts, tenis, mini-football, basketball, beach-volley (high-season), several kinds of gymnastics, water-gymnastic, dance classes, hiking (except july and august), canoes or kayaks (high season). In addition to all of this the animation team offers you many other activities. The Hotel offers repair station and storage for bicycles. The Andratx Golf Course is located just 350 metres from the Hotel. This is a chance of getting near to this amazing sport Daytime entertainment for children from age 4 onwards. Several times a week, crafts, games and other (kids playground and playroom in the Hotel). In the evening children can enjoy the mini disco. Babysitting upon availability. Spa center with indoor pool and relaxation activities, ice fountain, whirlpool, changing rooms, relaxation area, sauna, turkish bath, "Kneipp" corridor, and showers. Wellness: beauty treatments, massages (4 individual cabins for treatments) and a hairdresser that can be combined with health, relaxation and beauty. Outdoor and indoor pools, we also have 2 outdoors whirlpools Several times per week, magic and dance shows, tributes or dance with live music. Hotel rooms/accommodation: the Hotel offers you its 412 comfortable rooms, most with views of the sea, balcony, Wi-Fi connection, refrigerator, air conditioning, central heating, plasma TV with international channels, telephone, safe, or laundry service. The bathroom is fully equipped, with hairdryer and makeup mirror. The Hotel is also well suited to the needs of families and offers double rooms with connecting door. Double room with lounge (Suite): For the most demanding guests, our suites offer the best views to the Mediterranean and the finest decoration. The rooms have all the comforts of the double rooms, but are distinguished by their lounge, a second bathroom and a large terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimarotel Gran Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing