We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel Shame About the Entertainment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Shame About the Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I agree with all the great comments about this hotel. We booked rather late & so we could only have a room with a small balcony. It was not suitable for people with mobility problems as it had steps in the middle of the corridor & then more steps down into the room itself. This hotel is so popular that some people book a year in advance. The only downside for us was the Thomson entertainment in the evenings. The acts they brought over from the UK were fine but the resident group “Face to Face” was dire. It was a grandfather granddaughter act whose only repertoire consisted of songs by The Carpenters,& The Everley Brothers” Bye Bye Love” repeated night after night. It got so bad that people in the pool in the afternoon were betting on what song she was likely to sing in the evening. All the hotel staff are really friendly & I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    372
    113
    22
    17
See reviews for
209
1,303
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Recently back from our first visit to this hotel - overall a first class hotel, location and food. Wonderful weather and staff helpful and pleasant,with very good English. Many holiday makers had been before and returned which speaks for itself.
Taxi's outside hotel very useful -hired a car online prior to holiday but found could have used "special offers" from hotel just as cheap. Buses fun from about 200 or so meters from hotel.
The entertainment from the Thomson team did not appeal to us but seemed to please many guests.
One minor hitch was the day we were shut out of our room on our balcony! As the maid was cleaning our room on our return from shopping we went onto the balcony and shut the door - only to later discover no handle on the outside! A few loud shouts from the 7th floor to the pool area solved the problem with a spare key from the porter.
However, overall one of the best holidays of its type we have had and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Top floor good for views and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

What can we add that hasn't already been said so many times before. This really is a lovely hotel in a wonderful setting, it gave us our perfect holiday and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, wonderful view over the beautiful bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

booked a week here with thomson and so glad we did,what a fabulous hotel,beautifully laid out,the view from our room 508 was lovely looked straight out to the sea,food was excellent and the staff were awesome nothing was too much trouble,the nightly entertainment was good with a special mention for a 4 piece group "a la" el divo truly memorable,all in all a trully wonderful holiday,we are going back again end of september

Room Tip: any seaview room ours was 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here from 16th June 2012 for a week.
We got a top floor room with a view to gladden your heart.
The hotel has great staff and is very comfortable, if I was being picky I would say the corridor carpets could do with replacing they look a bit dated.
However the dining room is lovely with such cheerful and helpful staff.
The food is good with lots of choice and plenty of it.
The rooms are a good size our bathroom had a great big double shower and nice his and her sinks in green glass, lovely.
The pool is also good and around it plenty of loungers and parasols, we needed them it is a great sun trap, and on one day it got to 36 c.
The bar staff are also so friendly, bar prices not too bad either, we were pleasantly surprised at our bar bill at the end of the week.
Entertainment is a good standard, as you would expect of a Thomson Gold hotel, not all to our taste, but good resident duo 'Face to Face', finishes dead on 11.20pm to respect the local neighbours.
The reps offer day time activities if you wish, nice walks, thanks Chris, fun in the pool and quiz's etc. with Lottie and her side kick, sorry can't remember your name.
This is in a very quiet resort.
The average age is around 60/65 in the hotel although there were some younger people, not many though.
Only gripe, we were taken to the airport at 7am which meant we were there by 7.20 for a flight that did not take off till 11.45.
However that is down to the tour operator.
In all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 738 is a lovely room with fabulous view of the bay. There are a few steps up from the lift on 6th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank conabdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have just returned from my first visit to the Grupotel Playa and will definitely be going back again next June.

It was the quickest and friendliest check-in i've ever had. The hotel is spotlessly clean with fabulous views and even though I only had a side sea view room, which usually means you need a pair of binoculars to see the sea, I had a fantastic sea view. The restaurant was large and I never had any difficulty finding a table and the food was brilliant - so good that I am scared to get on the scales because I know i've put on a lot of weight! All the staff were really friendly and helpful and Jose was always around making sure that everything ran smoothly. It has a nice pool from which there are just a few steps down to the lovely sandy beach.

The Thomson evening entertainment could be better. Ancora, an Il Divo tribute band, and the Beatles tribute band were both excellent and there was one new show by the Thomson Entertainment team but the other shows they did were the same ones they've been doing for years and should be updated.

This is a beautiful resort with a turquoise sea and ideal if you want a nice relaxing holiday but, as others have said, there are only a few shops and bars (none with entertainment). However, if you want more action you can catch a bus into Paguera for only 1.50 Euros. I was more than happy to go on one of the many walks around between coiming off the beach and having dinner.

This is not only the best Gold hotel i've stopped at, it s the best hotel i've ever stopped at and in my honest opinion deserves to be 5 Star.

Room Tip: When you book check that you have a balcony as there are a number of rooms overlook ing the tennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Majorca, also our first visit to the Grupotel Camp de Mar.

we were not disappointed. The Hotel was spotlessly clean, the Rooms were superb, the food was excellent and the Staff could not do enough to help and assist you, and yes there are plenty of staff it is noticeable that the usual problem of staff shortage definitely does not apply at this Hotel.
This is also the first Hotel I have ever stayed it where I had a problem finding how to turn the "Aircon" up to make it warmer!!!!!!
All rooms also appear to be equip't with an electric kettle/cups and a fridge.
The views from the rooms with a sea view are spectacular

The Manager is always present at every meal and every welcome and farewell meeting
he is genuinely interested in the opinions of everyone and wants your opinions about any improvements you think could be made on anything and everything.

The Thompson Team are excellent and are not hidden away like at some Hotels they are there with their own reception area they are in my opinion though rely professional and extremely enthusiastic.

The professional entertainment provided is first class and the enthusiasm and effort if not always the expertise of the Thompson teams entertainment still has to be admired (after-all they are not professional entertainers)

Believe me when I say I am if anything over critical of Hotels but this Thompson Gold Hotel is just about a perfect as you could possibly get.

Sunbeds, not a problem there are so many that there are more sunbeds than space, in fact my only Criticism of the Hotel itself is that because of the amount of sunbeds available there is really not enough space to comfortably fit them all in hence the sunbed culture still exists,

But this may only effect those with that highly infectious physiological mental sunbed disease that appears to force them to run around before its light to satisfy some need to compulsorily jockey for what they consider are the best spots or shade, sad people really, it almost brings me to tears (of laughter)
(At least their not laying the towels in a line by the door at this hotel and will never need to)
( My wife and I stopped going to a Thompson Gold Hotel in Ibiza because they allowed this)

being normal and sane this highly infectious sunbed culture does not effect my wife and myself hence we had no problem at anytime finding the ideal spot for our sunbeds nor will any other normal person at this Hotel

The Hotel is unfortunately somewhat isolated and outside the Hotel there is not much to do, so without some means of transport to take you around you may feel somewhat confined.
Also if your are elderly, it is quite hilly so those with any breathing problems like myself please be aware.
However there is a good Taxi service and car rental nearby
Overall I can't find anything I would change or any criticism I would make about the quality or service of this Hotel.
Its just about in my opinion "as good as it gets"
But book early folks I'm not as you can see the only person that thinks that way
people go back year after year sez it all!!!!!!!!
Good luck
Pete

Room Tip: Any room with a sea View is excellent try to get above the 3rd floor If you go to bed early all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GI4VIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
6.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing