We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

After a three hour flight delay from Luton we eventually arrived at the (Grupotel) Playa Camp De Mar in less than high spirits. We dragged our travel weary bodies and maxed out suitcases to the reception desk and were quickly furnished with room key and information pack.
Following directions I heaved the luggage into the lift and off we whisked to the fourth floor.
Half way along the corridor there is a short staircase of about eight steps. It’s no big deal I suppose, descending so few steps with a couple of twenty Kilo bags but perhaps I should of asked for a bit of assistance as this is not a thing Memsahib is into.
Anyway the excellent electronic key access let us into our room and we shuffled inside.
ROOM
The room upon first inspection does not really lift one’s spirits as it is furnished in a glossy brown wood and the bedspreads are a sort of miserable mustard colour. It is pointed out to me by my controller that there is no mirror above the dressing table which I am informed by definition makes it the “ROOM FROM HELL” I later asked for and received a free standing mirror for the table and the room lost it’s “ROOM FROM Hell” rating so that was all right.
A couple of chairs and a small round table complete the furnishings. The floor is tiled. Closer examination shows that all the furnishings are in fact new. I am puzzled that a room can be refurbished but made to look the same as it did before. Wardrobe and shelf space is adequate with enough room for two people’s clothes. An electric kettle two cups and two glasses are provided but no tea-bags or coffee sachets.
In contrast to the room the Bathroom is a really smart affair. A long shower cubicle in which you could fit three people (should you have the opportunity) fitted with a fixed overhead rose as well as a movable hose type. Both shower heads are adjustable for different shower patterns so you can blast the sand from between you toes or any other sand trap areas of your anatomy on the jet setting. There is a glass double wash basin which looks really swish when freshly cleaned by the maid. After you have used it it will look less brilliant when the hard water and your toothpaste splashes have dried. I personally hate that look so bought a couple of kitchen towel rolls from the local supermarket to buff it up after each morning’s ablutions. The bathroom includes a hair dryer and a magnifying shaving mirror of such power that after a few days of Majorcan sun blasting, your head looks like the surface of Mars. If you’ve had enough mind-altering refreshments then you can see the occasional Mars Rover lurking in your follicles. All in all very good.
The balcony overlooking the sea has two comfortable upholstered chairs, a table and clothes airier, all fine.
Food
The dining room is buffet service and you simply turn up and sit anywhere you like, breakfast or dinner. A large range of foods is available for breakfast from fruits to cereal to eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans etc. I found the basic quality of the ingredients quite high, more so than many other gold hotels I’ve stayed in. Dinner (Long trousers gents and no England/Man U shirts) also has a wide range of options and I was particularly impressed by the salads and soups. As has been mentioned by other contributors the food combinations for the main course can be a bit odd. The carvery section for instance will have roast beef but no roast potatoes, (micro-waved jackets?) I am nit picking though because many people have a bit of everything on offer. A bit more adventurous than me I guess.
Entertainment.
Through the day the Thomson animation team, Deano and his lovely assistant Lottie organise things like beach boules and water polo etc. All Gold hotel veterans will know what I’m on about. Much the same people enter each day so obviously the same people with their comedy names are paraded before the audience to collect their prizes each night before the main Entertainment starts. Don’t worry you’ll get used to it.
The evening entertainment starts off with maybe a quiz (popular) and a wife and husband duet singing to the assembled throng. These two are capable enough but the guy on guitar and keyboards constantly interrupts his good lady with incomprehensible mutterings whilst she tries to break the world record for saying the most “Ladies and Gentlemen’s” in her announcements. I’m surprised she hasn’t put his head through his guitar. When not playing, singing and interrupting the said gem is sometimes asked to man the sound desk if Lottie or her lovely assistant Deano is otherwise engaged. It seems that he finds this somewhat less than stimulating so he proceeds to sabotage the other two by playing music stings late/wrong/truncated, you name it. You can imagine the others look less than amused by his antics. Next comes a brief bingo session and then the main act. The professional act is usually much appreciated by the audience and can be a comic a dance troupe, tribute band or a singing duo. One thing they have in common is that most of them look as if they have just come back from Tesco’s. (except for the Rod Stewart tribute chap and the dance troupe)The only person who seems to make an effort in the sartorial stakes is luscious Lottie, assistant to the lovely Deano.
Last remark re entertainment is that the stage should be twice the size and someone should sort out the lighting. There are no fewer than twenty four lamps suspended in the rig and yet no-one is actually lit. When the lamps are switched on the backlights bore straight into the audience’s eyes and the front light miss the entertainer completely. Imagine the prince of darkness with a black follow spot and you will get the picture. The regular duo stands so far back from the lights they almost disappear into the black background.
Pool/beach.
Camp de Mar is a small resort comprising four hotels and a few shops. Club city it’s not. The “prime spot” pool area is just about sewn up by the pre dawn towel on bed brigade. This area is roasting anyway so you might consider going down to the beach where the front row sea breeze is great. Best time is early morning when you can take a dip in the sea and watch the cormorant dive for fish.
Also, if you stand in the sea and throw small pieces of bread you will quickly be surrounded by fish, sometimes they will actually take the bread from your fingers.
The outlook from the beach is most pleasant as there are attractive hillside villas to be seen from the beach. You will stop noticing the tower cranes serving the low rise apartment blocks in no time. Work progress is virtually non existent so there is no noise from the small development. In fact if you see a crane move you are witnessing a rare event. Remember that you have a cheerful view from the beach of the bay and its island restaurant, the owners of the mega-euro villas look at the hotels. I know which view I prefer.
July weekends see stacks of local people hit the beach and it gets extremely crowded. Folks are so close together they come close to taking each others eyes out with their cigarettes with every turn of the head. The Germans and Spanish smoke like chimneys. If you have taken a sun- bed (E10 .50 two beds and a sunshade) you have a bit of guaranteed space. It follows that the average age of people on the beach is about a third of the (Gold) hotel guests, gentlemen can cut eye holes in their Daily Mirror to view the local attractions and the ladies can flutter their eyelashes at athletic young men. There are no young Brit guys on the beach so you aren’t going to get your nose flattened by a high velocity football or offended by an expletive loaded exchange of views. After the weekend a beach cleaning machine sifts the countless cigarette butts and bits of litter from the sand, which is nice.
There’s not much else to say really but to summarise I would say that the Grupotel Playa de Mar is good value for money hotel with an attentive and friendly staff and management in an attractive quiet resort. If you want high jinks then this is not for you, teens would generally go mad I think.
Oh, I should mention, book a sea view room, any complaints I heard were from people with the street view rooms. Enjoy your holiday, lots of people do and re-book year after year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bronzedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    372
    113
    22
    17
See reviews for
209
1,303
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had a relaxing holiday here, I was shocked at the time people got up to save a sun bed, found this dissapointing, as it is clear there are enough sun beds to go round, the problem appears to be people want the same spot everyday and want more than one sun brolley. Because of this we paid for two weeks for beds on the beach, as could not bring myself to play the towel dash. I did tell the reps about this where I was told there is a video on you tube showing the towel dash. Dont let this put you off this lovely hotel, its just so you are aware. I think at the height of session they will get this sorted.
The client group does tend to be on the older side and at 50 felt young at times, however everyone friendly and all out for a good holiday. Our second week was better as slightly younger music was played. from the stage team.

Bar staff very good, restaurant staff quick to set a table when they spotted you looking for a spot, food always enough, great to be able to try spanish dishes, a well run and very clean hotel.

I do understand people dont like smoking on balancies but it is not a no smoking hotel.
Initially I did not think we would return as a little to quiet in the evenings, but after two relaxing weeks we will be back.

Room Tip: the only reason not excellent for the room was bed a little hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crispstaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Have recently returned from a 12 day stay at this fabulous hotel, this being our second visit here. Everything was, yet again, first class - food delicious and the variety just tremendous! Gorgeous views from our room, which overlooked the beautiful Camp de Mar bay. Pool and pool area excellent and very clean. Deano from the Thomson Entertainment Team was fantastic - very hardworking and such a pleasant young man! Stayed in some evenings to watch the entertainment and was very impressed with the Rod Stewart tribute act! Just like watching Rod himself! Also enjoyed Chris Gee the impressionist act and Uno Acora the operatic duo! Top class entertainment at a top class hotel! Jose, the hotel manager, always on the scene ensuring things are running tip-top. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Keep up the good work Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar.........till the next time - we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have to say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, very friendly and plenty to do, you can be involved with as many activities as you want or like us just enjoyed watching without any pressure from Deano or Lottie ( the reps) to join in. The room we had was excellent full seaveiw, and what a view, no complaints it was spotless thanks to Ani everyday, we also like another reviewer thought there should have been a mirror over the dressing table but after filling a questionaire in at breakfast one morning we put this in the comments by the afternoon there was a knock on the door and the mirror we asked for ( plus we also suggested it would be a good idea for a stool in the bathroom to put your clothes on whilst in the shower) arrived which proved not only did they read the comments we made, but took them on board. The food was excellent, always hot and plenty to choose from, in fact I don't think there was really anything we could complain about. We had an excellent holiday and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank caz11Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I booked and stayed here for a week to chill out and relax and it was a great venue to do just that.
A quiet location with very little to do except stay in the hotel and enjoy the facilities or walk along the short front and pop into one of the few restaurants that grace this resort. If you want to do anything else, you need to get the local bus or a taxi to take you elsewhere - we did'nt.
The Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar is very nice, clean and comfortable with a great view from the balconies over the pool and the resort of Camp de Mar. It was a shame that the kettle and tea cups in the room were not accompanied by tea bags, coffee sachets, sugar sachets and individual milk cartons, but this is soon remedied when you go for your breakfast next morning (if you see what I mean)!!
The food - well if anybody has any complaints about the variety and quality, they really need something to complain about. Be prepared to put on weight!
I agree with another reviewer about the smoking on balconies, this should be banned as it is unreasonable and takes the enjoyment away from those of us who enjoy fresh air.
The Thomson team are enthusistic and attentive and look after you well. Deano in particular, should receive a bonus as he worked his socks off from dawn till dusk and beyond. He is certainly an ambassador for Thomson.
All in all, very good, but one thing to be very aware of;
If you are going for a chill out and a relaxing break, this will be completely frustrated by 'Dad's Army and the battle of the sun bed! These guy's (and sometimes girls) put our German friends in the shade when it comes to assaults on the sun beds. They queue from the early hours and then charge with full vigour when the night porter opens the doors to the pool terrace. You need to be strong, dedicated and focussed to reserve your bed and able to take a dig in the ribs or deliberate trip if you are to achieve your goal. If you are able to negotiate this hostile environment, good luck and I hope you can return to your bed uninjured to enjoy a holiday lie in, safe in the knowledge you have staked your claim.
Please be aware though of the 'Commandoes' who have sneaked out under the cover of darkness to reserve their beds - oh the disappointment when you get up at the crack of dawn, queue up and run the gauntlet only to find the SAS (Sunbed Assault Seniors) have mounted a covert operation as you slept!
Simple solution Thomson and Grupotel - enforce the 'no sunbed reservation' rule and open the doors at 0800 when the pool is officially open. Be strong!
Overall a great break. Thanks all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WyrreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

just returned after a week ,the weather very hot,hotel immaculate,first impressions from checking in you know that this hotel is managed well.
the room we stayed in excellent just been refurbished and a great sea view,walk in shower and soft closing toilet [nice touch}.
Hotel very clean and air con lovely and cool,food was good,breakfast the best you will get, and bar area good service and very professionally run.
location could not be better right on the beach.
the manager had his finger on the pulse and he inspected the food and presentation of it most nights which kept the staff on their toes.
entertainment excellent , we were very impressed with the tribute act to Rod Stuart and The One fine day musical .
Drink prices fair ,but beware of the chill out bar in the resort the drinks there are expensive,The restaurant on the island in the bay is expensive and not a relaxing place to eat.You are better eating at the hotel beach bar which has the views but not the high prices
Overall a good place to stay.......the only moan I would have would be the swimming pool area unless you were prepared to queue at 6.45 every morning you would not get a bed with a sea view .You then had the option of trying to find a spot to put your bed and you would not be guaranteed a parasol. the area is large enough but the hotel could do with moving the chairs from the stage area in the daytime to maximise the sunbathing area or shade in the day.
We would return again overall very impressed!

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank picasso05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Have been to this resort on a number of occasions and the upgrades in bathroom and pool area only add to make this an enjoyable holiday. A holiday is what you make of it and whilst we were there, there was a cross section of ages and everyone was there to have an enjoyable holiday. Deano and Lottie worked very hard to make sure that everyone was having a good time and the banter between everyone was very jovial and everyone seemed to be having a wonderful time. Many staff members are the same as before and everyone from the pool cleaner to Jose the manager are very approachable and eager to make your holiday enjoyable and always speak to you. This is a place to go if you do not want hustle and bustle but just relax and enjoy yourself. If you want more then it is just a short bus or taxi ride away. I must commend all the staff at the hotel for making it such a nice place to holiday in.

Room Tip: ask for room 111, 211 great views and large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HappyTourist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
6.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing