We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday*****”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roc Portonova Apartments
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Calvia
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday*****”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our second visit to the Roc Portanova, 6 years apart but it is a great place to stop!
Yes i agree that it does need updating but for the amount of time spent in the apartment it is nothing to worry about. Cleaned and towels changed regular, enough appliances in kicthen to make breakfast and snacks, freezer and fridge great. Balcony on the back of the kitchen with sink and washing line , great for drying any washing and storing inflatables out of the way. We were on the 2nd floor over looking the sea and pool, balcony had table, 4 chairs, drying rack, loads of space lovley to sit and watch the boats on the sea. We had a two bedroom apartment, loads of wardrobe space. Pool was great, could get a bit busy but it was school holidays, kids section very good, kids were in everyday pool was open 9am - 8pm. Staff were very polite and helpful. The location of this hotel is perfect, beach is a 2 minute walk away just over the road, kids play area is in front of the beach steps. A lovely walk down the seafront to loads of good resturants to please any tastes, with shops to browse in on the way. Plenty to keep kids of any age entertained. Taxi from airport to hotel takes 30mins at tops and cost us 36 euros. We spent a day at the Western Water Park a 6 euro taxi ride. This is a great day out but very expensive especially if you have young children who might not want to use a lot of the slides, can get very busy aswell, but still fun!
All in all a great place for a great holiday, this is 3* so dont expect the Hilton, but all you need is clean, spacious, friendliy staff, great location, great pool then this is a great place to visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    176
    78
    32
    30
See reviews for
218
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penistone Uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had booked to stay in another hotel but there had been a mix up and we were put here for the first night. Lobby is fine and staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful. However, the corridors are grotty and the room we were put in was extremely depressing with the view of the back of a restaurant kitchen, complete with the sound of washing up and chip smells at night. Although we were serenaded by a Mariachi band at one point which was fun. The apartment was a good size but grotty, the shower was cockeyed and the drains a bit smelly. It was OK for one night but I would have been very disappointed if I had to stay here all week. I appreciate we were probably put in the worst room as it was only for one night and maybe the other rooms are better. Large pool area seemed very busy with a really annoying entertainer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FabDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calvia hotels

Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in an apartment in Portonovo for 3 weeks...Apt 22..Owned by Donna and tended to by Mandi..The apt has EVERYTHING one could possible need,home from home,Washing machine,cooker with oven,fridge freezer and not only had it a double bed it also had a memory foam matress!!PURE HEAVEN!!Mandi had the apt gleaming and called to clean,change bed and towels once a week..Well done Mandi.
Pool bar is run by Mags and John,a very friendly,helpful,accomadating couple.
Pool area clean,tidy and lovely athmosphere..this could be due to the fact that majority of apts are privately owned and people just gathered in pool bar each evening and bonded and chatted.
Overall a lovely place to holiday.

Room Tip: Although apt 22 where i stayed for 3 weeks did not have a view it was home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayOgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I returned to the Roc Portanova because I enjoyed it so much last time (about 3 years ago). I say mixed feelings as I would agree with many of the reviews here that the apartments are definitely overdue for a redecoration. What I experienced as 'retro' last time I would now describe as shabby!! The other thing I really wasn't happy about is the fact we paid 5 euros for a day's use of wireless internet and the signal was so weak it simply didn't work.

Having said all this, I still have a soft spot for the Roc - it's located in a quiet, beautiful corner of Palma Nova and is literally ten steps away from the beach. The other thing I would say is that the staff - without exception - from the housekeeping to the reception were some of the friendliest and most helpful I have experienced.

Room Tip: West facing rooms get more sun in the afternoon, but you will not get a sea view if you book a one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busnsandpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

we spent two wks july/aug 2012 in the roc portanova,with our two young kids.on arrival we were a little dissapointed with the "look" of the hotel and room,there is no doubt that this hotel could do with being updated and have some money spent on it!,however we soon reolised that the staff make up for this shortcoming, dave at reception couldnt have been more friendly and helpfull, a smashing guy, the cleaners were great,fresh towels and sheets every other day,and the kids entertainer" elitsa" was fantastic,so much so my son was in tears on our departure!!!she has been missed and is a credit to the hotel.The location is perfect! 100 yards fron the beach,plenty of aminities nearby.if u get put in room 101(overlooking the wall) speak to dave ,he will move you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We left the booking of this years holiday later than normal and were a little apprehensive that this accommodation may have remained available for a reason - especially as some of the reviews were quite harsh. As it turned out, we were pleasantly surprised.
We knew we couldn't be guaranteed a sea-view in spite of asking for one in the comments, but were initially disappointed to find we had been put on the first floor looking at the back of the 'Tex-Mex' restaurant that sits in front of the building. Working on the principle 'if you don't ask; you don't get', we asked to be moved to a room with a better view. The staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful. Although there were no rooms available at that moment, within 48 hours we were in a second floor room with great views of the sea and the pool.

Having now been in two rooms, we could see a patten in the accommodation. It was clean (very pleasant, helpful maids) but also a bit 'tired'. A proper redecorate would be more than a lick of paint as there were some chips in the floor tiles, staining of the grouting and the carpets, particular on the stairs, were quite worn. However, everything worked, the fridge was large, silent and spacious and the air conditioner was one of the most powerful we have ever had. Another pleasant surprise was there was no additional charge for the air con (although there was for the safe).

The pool was smaller than we expected, probably explaining why it did not feature in the advertising. It was stated that reserving of the pool loungers was not allowed, but this rule was not enforced, so unless you were willing to go down early (we were), you stood a chance of not getting one. Having said that, the pool itself was clean and despite its size, not too crowded.

The advertising did mention the building overlooked a harbour. 'Harbour' may have been an exaggeration as it is quite tiny, but giving the benefit of the doubt, that claim may have just been to manage the customers' expectation, as it did not overlook the beach.

During our two week stay we spoke to many of the reception staff and they were always cheerful and helpful. However, we probably spoke most to David, who was also extremely helpful and provided lots of good advice, such as when to use taxis instead of buses.

The building was situated at the Palma (North East) end of the PalmaNova resort. The walk along the beach promenade was very typical of many Spanish resorts with many tourist shops and restaurants. It is a very British resort - more so than we are used to; English was the default language almost everywhere. It has three distinct beaches, all of them fine white sand and very clean; as were the streets. The rental sun-beds and parasols were quite expensive. so we bought some cheap lilos and parasols that we gave away at the end of our holiday.

Although Magaluf (with its 'lively' reputation) was the next bay along the coast, PalmaNova was a peaceful resort with relaxing days and quite evenings.

We travelled out to the Aqualand Water-park, the Marine-land park (good Sea-lion and Dolphin show), the Karting and the 'Pirates Adventure' dinner show, which although expensive, was very, very impressive,- superb acrobatics. Our son also made two dives with the 'Big Blue Dive Centre' situated on the opposite side of the bay to us (a 20 minute walk). Again, very helpful staff.

Room Tip: If unhappy with what you are allocated, don't be shy to ask about swapping rooms when you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arthur_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Roc Portanova with my partner and her 3 kids aged 10 12 16.
The apartments may be a little on the old side and over due some modenisation but you dont live in your hotel room 24/7.
The rooms are very clean and roomy for a family of 5 to stay in. Although we had requested a sea-view room we were advised that they were all taken on arrival but were offered one for the following day and to make up for the inconvenience we were given internet conection free for the week ( this pleased the kids).
Both David and Bilyanna on reception were helpful and accommodating in providing us with information for various trips.
Bilyanna's suggestion of a restaurant (Mesion Son Caliu)for our last night was a complete success and enjoyed by all as the best eating place we had tried all week.
Overall I would certainly recommend the Roc Portanova to anyone as long as you dont expect the Ritz but a friendly staffed establishment that is functional and clean in a good position within the resort.

Room Tip: as there are no nightclubs near sleep is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrell1962uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvia hotels
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#13 of 39 in Palmanova
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roc Portonova Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Portonova Apartments

Property: Roc Portonova Apartments
Address: Paseo Mar 2 | Palmanova, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Portonova Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roc Portonova Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Portanova Apartments Calvia
Roc Portanova Apartments Hotel Calvia
Roc Portonova Apartments Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing