We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class service - an excellent hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Bonanza Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Ranked #26 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First class service - an excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at the Riu Bonanza Park, where we celebrated our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we received nothing but exemplary service. Whilst checking in we were given a glass of lovely Cava. The manager proceeded to tell us there had been a mix up with our booking which meant there was no room in the hotel for us that night. By way of compensation and to apologise they'd booked us in to the 5 star sister hotel in a sea view room. The following morning after breakfast the hotel arranged for our bags to moved back to the Bonanza park where we found that we had been upgraded again - to a garden bungalow. This was a lovely suite set in the gardens near the pool - stunning. We went out ofr the day and when we returned a bottle of Cava had been left on ice for us from the manager to say sorry for the inconvenience, then a couple of staff delivered a bowl of fruit to us again from the manager. we really felt like we had been given some special treatment and how wonderful on our wedding anniversary. In terms of the hotel itself, I could find no fault with it, the food ws wonderful, the pools are lovely and no problem getting a sun bed. The staff really make this a great hotel though, each and every one of them deliver excellent service which is a credit to the hotel and its manager (who also made sure she spoke to everyone at dinner!). All in all a wonderful experience and I would return to this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmonty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Bonanza Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest.
First of all, thanks for choosing us to spend your holidays.
once more we apologize for the inconvenience we might caused.
we hope to see you again on the future.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    126
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
96
230
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Riu Bonanza Park on our third visit. We like the location as it's next to the sea but only a short taxi or bus ride to Palma or Puerto Portals. We have stayed in the Bonanza Playa across the road a few times as well but prefer the quieter and smaller Bonanza Park. We requested a room on a higher floor with a better sea view this time but unfortunately the hotel didn't take this request into account. This wasn't really a problem though as we were on the third floor with views over the gardens and mini golf as well as the sea through the trees. There have been a few refurbishments since last year including wooden floors in the bedrooms and new, very comfortable beds. The bathroom (with a bath) is fine. The gardens at the Bonanza Park are very well kept as are the swimming pool areas (there are two pools) although the decking around the upper pool did have some bird poo on it in certain places. We enjoyed the breakfasts and there was plenty of choice - we particularly liked the fresh fruit juices and ensaimadas. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening. Food in the pool bar at lunchtime is a limited selection but reasonable for the cost. There's a nice mix of nationalities around the pool and people are reasonably quiet and friendly although one German did go slightly mad when someone dived in the pool and splashed him a little bit! All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.The free wifi is an added bonus - you have to pay to hire the safe and leave a deposit for pool towels (refunded on return.) I would recommend this hotel to people who want to be near the sea/beach but also have easy access to Palma. It's not really for people who want a lively time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel and as I've headed my piece we have nothing to complain about. The staff efficiency and friendliness is a joy and to be greeted on arrival in the dining room in the evening by the manageress is a lovely touch as she is so pleasant to all the guests. Breakfast is excellent
Evening meal (2 sittings) excellent choice ... NO SHORTS RULE IS A BIT DATED swimming shorts I can understand but NO SHORTS ? It's 2014 and not a silver service restaurant.
Pool area is great and very clean can get a bit busy though.
The rooms are great and are kept immaculate by the excellent maid service on offer.
Reception staff - excellent, so courteous.
Overall a great hotel which is well worth a visit and worth noting it's not the same hotel as the Bonanza Palace which is across the road.



Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank messica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for two weeks. Standard of service and friendliness by everyone from maid, through restaurant and bar staff, reception to managers was excellent. The food in the self-service restaurant in both the morning and evening, was of good quality and the largest choice I have ever seen, covering many nationalities and food allergies. The a la carte restaurant was also very good. Pool-side sunbed saving was actively discouraged.
There was no bathroom. There were two semi-opaque glass cubicles which had a toilet and a shower, the latter which by design, leaked onto the main area when used. A sink was just inside the room next to the door to the corridor.
The badly lit musical entertainment in the evening varied each night but rarely achieved mediocrity.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view and an unlit balcony. Reception is at level 8 and some of the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our relaxing family (couple plus adult son) holiday. It is set in attractive gardens with distant sea views, and offers two pools, pool bar, two tennis courts, crazy golf, table tennis etc, and is both very friendly and efficient. We were greeted with complimentary champagne and some dinner had been plated up for us even though we arrived around 11 pm. Buffet dinner and breakfast were excellent throughout - huge range, varied from day to day and always good quality. The hotel layout was very well thought out. There were no extra charges - for example, just borrow tennis equipment and key to court and return an hour later (no charge, no deposit). Beach towels can be borrowed for the duration of your stay for a Euro 10 deposit. The use of a courtesy room to shower before we left was a nice touch and it was adjacent to the gardens so we could enjoy the views too. The bus service to / from Palma stops right outside the door, is very frequent (we never waited more than 5 mins) and only cost Euro 1.5 each way; you can jog into Palma in 30-45 mins and take the bus back if you fancy some exercise before breakfast... The only negatives I can think of - no nearby beach (10 mins plus walk gives you a choice of small beaches - nice sand / swimming when you get there), there were a few blips (a short power cut when a circuit tripped, some people lost hot water briefly - but that could happen anywhere). Overall very good and we'd love to go back - we visited other areas and hotels and didn't see anywhere we'd rather stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I have just returned from a short break in Palma and spent 4 nights at this hotel. The location is perfect; situated in lovely Illetas, close to 2 pretty beaches, taxi rank close by, and a bus stop; €3 return to Palma City.
We had a corner room on the second floor, with a balcony and sea view. It was basic, but clean and comfortable and serviced every day by friendly staff.
Although we only had bed and breakfast, the food was good; great variety, lovely outside seating area, and a large airy restaurant.
There are two pools, clean, well maintained and very pleasant to spend time around and in!
We would certainly stay again, and probably will; beautiful Palma is becoming a regular destination for us!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bennetthelen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent a brilliant week at this hotel. Illetas is a good location to explore the south west of the island,There are regular bus links to Palma @1.50euros each way. Car hire for the rest worked out really well.Fabulous scenery with spectacular mountain and coastal views all easily accessed.
The hotel itself was first class. I think the staff made the difference. Everyone could not have been more helpful and worked so hard to make sure we had a great stay. Our room was lovely, good house keeping ongoing, good food with lots of choice,maitre d' who kept everything as it should be in the dining room and reception staff who did a great job in making you very welcome. Brilliant management. Well done and thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Corner suite was airy and light,garden views beautiful with sea view beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.1 mi away
Europe Playa Marina
Europe Playa Marina
#3 of 3 in Illetes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Illetas
Roc Illetas
#2 of 3 in Illetes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Bonanza Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Bonanza Park

Property: Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Address: Passeig Illetes S/N | Illetas - Mallorca, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#21 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Bonanza Park 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majorca Park Hotel located in the residential area of Iletas, very near to Palma, this comfortable hotel has extraordanary views over the bay. With its carefully designed facilities and attentive service, this is the perfect vantage point for you holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Bonanza Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bonanza Park Hotel
Riu Bonanza Park Calvia
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing