We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Illetas Albatros(Calvia)(Great Value!)
$148
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ME Mallorca by Melia(Magaluf)
$146
$139
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sol Beach House Mallorca(Palmanova)
$160
$152
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salles Hotel Marina Portals(Portals Nous)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort(Magaluf)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Guadalupe by Melia(Magaluf)(Great Value!)
$66
$63
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$131
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveler rating
698
393
87
28
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
393
87
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrystal restaurantbonanza playapresidential suitepool barbus stop outside the hotelsea viewsliding doordirect access to the seapalma baybreakfast and dinnerlovely hotelhalf boardtoilet and showerwelcome drinknumber busrooms are comfortablespa area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Cannot believe some of the recent drivel re this hotel. From walking through the door we were met with smiles and courtesy at all times. The manager, Mrs. Tania Dvornikova met us on arrival and gave us her personal card. God only knows how many hours she worked as she seemed to be on call at all times.
The accommodation was lovely with fantastic views over the pool area and the bay. The food was excellent and the staff are so friendly and clearly aim to please. Special thanks to De Le Cruz for his efforts too.
The bus service to Palma is great but can get a bit busy, we preferred to get a cab back.
Illetas is a quiet place but this suited us fine. The bars that are there are very friendly and good fun, ( Try Sloans about 70 yards down hill to the right )
as for a previous comment re noise, we could not believe how quiet and peaceful it was.
In conclusion we had a great holiday and cannot thank all the staff enough for their efforts.
PS The Russian's comments re noisy Brits is absolute nonsense. The truth is there are a tiny percentage of Brits and they kept themselves to themselves.
The Russians are the only downside to this hotel as they appear to hate everyone and everything ! Please please will someone tell them that speedo's went out with the fall of the Berlin wall. Especially with their giant fat belly's.

Room Tip: Don't miss the cathedral in Palma.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest.
thanks for your review. Tania is our best assets following with our hotel.
Thanks and hope to see you on the future.
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights and in general I liked the hotel. The hotel was a base for exporing the island but we had chance to check much of the hotel facilities. First of al, the list of what I like about the hotel:
1.the overall design of the hotel is good, it has an art-touch with impressionist style paintings all over the hotel and there is even Miro exhibition;
2. the breakfast is very good with plenty of fruits, fresh juices and sparkling wine;
3. the design of the room is good, bed and pilllows are comfortable and everything is new, there is a balcony and the view from the balcony is amazing (we had sea-view room);
4. the parking is availble just for 8 Euro in the hotel grounds
5. the swimming pool is quite big with warm water. There are enough sun-beds but if you are sunbathing further from the swimming pool you will have problems with bar service, they neglect that part. But then you will enjoy sea-view.
6. we also appreciate that people from the reception helped us every day to book restaurants for dinner in Palma. And the service for the courtesy room was very helpful as our flight back was late at night.
What I do not like:
1. terrible smell in the hall, it smels like cheap air freshener for bathroo;
2. the beach is small though the colours are beautiful
3. bad cocktails in the swimming-pool bar (they are cutting costs by putting sugar instead of syrups but cocktails are not cheap). Then we figured out that it is much more pleasant to go to neighbouring Beach club for better cocktails and beach.
4. Extremely noisy Brits. One night we were not able to sleep as British couple in the next room was trying to sort out their relashionship in the middle of the night and they were shouting at each other for hours! The next morning another british woman was discussing some problems with her mobile provider the way everyone in 500 m. distance had to listen to her discussion.
5. Every morning we were waked up by either mini-bar service or cleaning service
These all are details but in general we enjoyed our stay. May be the reason is that we didnt spend much time inside the hotel and were travelling around the island otherwise the stay will be boring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arabella80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guest.
thanks for your review. we will check all your details with our responsables.
Best regards.

Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A fabulously well-managed hotel - excellent food, nice service, friendly staff, professional but relaxed ambience. The pool area is nice, although parts could be further improved and the adjacent seaside is excellent for snorkelling and diving; my 9 yo son did the PADI Bubble Maker trial and I had a nice easy scuba dive from the small harbour area. Lots of fish and sea life. The pool itself was warm and great for a swim and the sun bed/ towel bandits, whilst active, aren't such a problem. In fact, apart from the dour, crass and rather glum Russians the guests were a truly lovely bunch; very much so. The interior decor of the hotel is interesting with some nice wall art, but the exterior is still glazed dark wooden facia, which along with the Russian's nipple-high Speedos, gives the place a 1970s feel - but this is only a facade and not a true representation of a refurbished hotel. In fact the establishment is run along very modern customer centric lines and I would strongly recommend it to both families and older folk alike. A great, relaxing holiday made all the better by easy transfers, quick check-ins and simple flight arrangements from our local airport, all courtesy of Thomsons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thanks so much for your positive review.
We hope to see you again!
team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked our room directly with the hotel at Bonaza Playa on July 19. We could have chosen a double room, but we had only 4 days holidays this summer, so we booked a Junior Suite.
We inform in advance the hotel that we wish to be in a quiet room, and Mrs. Tania Dvornikova confirmed us in written the fourth or fifth floor, she was saying are the most quiet JS.

We arrived at the hotel, and a very unfriendly (Russian) receptionist checked us in, we went to the room and we noted that the JS (7 floor) had nothing to do with the picture they published in the website or Booking.com !!! The room was old; the furniture was old, nothing like we originally booked. In top of this was just next to the restaurant!

We went back to the reception, we were told that they don’t have any JS, like in the published pictures, we have to stay one night in this room, and they will give us a new room next day.
It is the “dream” of all travelers who has only 4 days holiday, to unpack and pack again for 2 days the suitcases. So we did not accept this option, and we asked for a Manager.

For one hour no one came to talk to us, the Russian receptionist became arrogant when we asked questions, and we started to feel that we have to deal with very unprofessional staff.

We asked for the hotel manager, instead one hour later arrived the Reservation manager, Mrs. Tania Dvornikova, who had excuses like it is “high season”, “can happen,” “I did not confirmed you a room number”, the truth is that in each floor is only one JS, so Mrs. Tania, Yes you confirmed us a room in the 4th or fifth floor.

Only because is high season, you don’t have to make a nightmare someone’s holidays for 320 Euro / night!!!
We insisted to talk to the hotel manager, but she/or he never show up in our 4 days stay.

After one extra hour of discussion, Tania offered us a double room for the first night, free of charge, but this is not what we wanted; we just wished to have the JS what we originally booked.

Never ever any nobody apologized for what happened, no one follow up call, on top of this Mrs. Tania was passing next to us each day, but she even dared to ignore us – not even to say Hi!!
Avoid the JS 718, is the only one not renovated!! And all the guest eating at the restaurant have a full “panoramic” view to your balcony and room!

I did mention to Tania that we will share our experience with other travelers, I was told, she doesn’t care because the rest or the reviews are good! 

At check out the Russian receptionist redirected me to somebody else, she did not wish to make my check out.

I do have to say that the staff in the Restaurant is very friendly, but the food is really a budget food.
In full season the tomatoes are not tasty, the presentation looks good, but simply nothing has taste!!

To conclude, I believe in tourism industry you can’t sell with fake pictures an old, not newly furnished, not renovated, room as would be one because may have serious consequences.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank SalomonBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

At first, thanks for choosing us to spend your holidays, we are sorry that your stay at the hotel did not liked.
The receptionist that you mentioned is coming from Bulgaria and she speak 6 languages, she suffered a panic attack due your abuse of your behavior, we are not used of that kind of behave from our guest.
The room you got since the beginning is the same category and price that room you have reserved, As soon you went to reception to ask for another kind of room we gave you our best room available.
Mrs. Tania Dvornikova is our Sales manager and she was on duty during your stay, no one can do it better than she, she tried to explain and solve the best option for you and the rest of the guests.
As you could check we are a hotel has a lot of variety of nationalities and we try to have a variety of nationalities working with us to do the best service.
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just home from fabulous week holiday at the riu palace bonanza super location brilliant staff lovely room and facilities can't wait to return . Pool very clean access to beach from. Hotel scuba
Diving on site stayed on half board package food excellent

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view so not much difference
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Fear guest,.

Thanks so much for your review.
team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews