We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In between good and very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Ranked #5 of 182 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
SW Wales. UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“In between good and very good”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
I stayed here with my mum for a few days during May. I felt safe at this resort, and would recommend for lone and more mature travellers.
We enjoyed our stay for a few nights.
The hotel decor was pleasant and clean; the outdoor pool was small with sufficient sun loungers, and pool service. The indoor spa area had a small pool, with a nice spa area.
The rooms were of a good size and cleaned daily, nothing special but really missed a kettle that I would expect from a 4 star hotel. All rooms look over the sea, the view is lovely.
I am sensitive to noise so always travel with ear plugs; I would not have been able to sleep without them as you could hear noise from other hotel guests.
There were daily activities going on every afternoon, we did not join in as I wanted to relax and read but I noted that bowls, table tennis, archery, tennis were the kinds of activities going on.
We ate breakfast at busy times but always found a clean table, and plenty of fresh food available.
For our evening meal (we booked half board) we sat at the 6.30pm sitting that suited us. Staff were attentive and friendly and tried really hard to speak English (my Spanish is not great!). I would strongly recommend you order your main course from the menu, the starter is buffet (lots of choice) it will then be served at the table; we found the quality is much better than the main course at the buffet. I like a good quality wine only available by the bottle, I could not drink a whole bottle (mum doesn’t drink wine); your wine can be labelled and kept in the restaurant cold for the next evening. I did feel there was a lack of fresh vegetables, but this was not a problem as there was plenty of salad and fruit available.
We visited Palma by bus (number 3) it was very easy as it stops directly outside the hotel, it cost 6 euros return a taxi is approx. 11 euros.
I booked with a German company saving over £150 with expedia etc. . Overall a nice hotel for a few nights stay with my mum , but my children would not enjoy it here.

Room Tip: They have all be refurbished and Im sure they all have sea views, rooms under and around the restura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tam6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thanks for you positive review, im sure this will help us to improve day by day.
we hope to see you again here.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    350
    77
    26
    16
See reviews for
231
567
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

good hotel with very good friendly staff,good location,food fairly good,parking 8 euros per night and access to the underground parking a bit tricky.sea veiw rooms good if a bit ordinary,showers only.if you prefer a bath,you may need to consider a suite

Room Tip: sea veiws very good;the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest.
thanks for your review, all our sea views room hasnt a shower but in stead of that we provide all room with Rain dance shower, is more ecologic and save water.
we offer more than 7 differents parkings, next time we can offer another parking.
best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location ; half hour to airport ; half hour to mountains if you want to walk. No beach.Supermarket nearby.
Rooms ok but not super. Good bed.
Easy parking 8 €/day. Breakfast very good ; diner ok.
We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest.
Thanks for your review.
There is a small beach just 15 minutes walking from the hotel.
Hotel offer acces to the sea in our private pier.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just come back from a lovely week's break at this hotel near Illetas Mallorca

The only negative aspect of this break was the weather was shocking - it rained every day, something that's not normal in April for the region. We were therefore confined into the hotel more than we would have hoped for and couldn't have enjoyed sunbathing by the pool etc

The hotel staff are fantastic, we were personally welcomed by Paquita the manager on arrival and she was on hand thoughout the stay and welcomed us to dinner each night.

Our chambermaid was lovely too and serviced the room to a very high standard. Bar staff and reception staff were also very helpful, friendly and spoke fluent English.

The food was fantastic, plenty of choice and a lovely setting overlooking the sea.

Lots and lots of German tourists so beware of their queue barging!

Otherwise my one feedback to the hotel would be its nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms as early risers would appreciate a cuppa before breakfast!

We would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest
thanks for your positive review.
We hope to see you again in the hotel.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel but our room was east facing with no sun all day long so if you like a glass of wine on your balcony be careful what room you accept, also hotel couldn't supply me with a cork screw, we had a hire car which we needed to park the hotel charged 8€ a day which is more than palmer airport, where we being ripped off ? I think so. Location very quite but a good selection of restaurants in portal nous one I would recommend is Chameli's excellent .

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sun in the early evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ploughman805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thanks for your review.
The hotel is located in first line sea and some of the rooms can enjoy sun at first time of the day and the other room after mid day.
The Hotel offer Parking service and the guarantee to have its own parking the whole stay.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We found some of the staff brusque, bordering on rude. The food at the poolside restaurant was of poor quality. My paella consisted of a plate of cool rice and rabbit bones. On complaining to the hotel manager, a toing and froing ensued culminating with an argument between the manager and receptionist and a refund to us of less than a third of the cost of the meal. Very poor service for such a hotel. The best part of the experience was the art work and the oriental rugs. The view is also very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest.
At first, thanks for your visit.
For us is really important what our guests think about their holidays and that’s why we read all the comments and talk about it.
The Hotel has 2 directors and 2 reception managers for the daily duty and give the best service during their stay.
We couldn’t made our best because all the complaint was on the last minute. 5 minutes before you leave noone from the staff knew about you were disappointed about the paella.
We highly recommend to all our guest to talk with our directors to enhance the service day by day.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the minute you arrive in reception you are greeted with a stunning panoramic view across Palma Bay. The staff are friendly and efficient, all rooms very well appointed (all have stunning sea views) and the restaurant staff are great. There really is only good to say about this hotel ! I stay at many hotels throughout Europe and this one really is exceptional. Both the breakfast buffet and the evening buffet meal are outstanding with so many choices that there is something for all tastes.
The bus stop is right outside the hotel and takes you into the heart of Palma in about 15 mins. They run every 10 mins and its 1.50E each way
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel
Top marks Riu Hotels - keep up the good work !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nissanessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your review.
We do like to see you again on our hotel.
Best regards from the sunny Mallorca
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
#26 of 182 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#19 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing