We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Ranked #5 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had a lovely relaxing week here. The food is excellent, and I am a fussy eater, and the views from the restaurant are beautiful.it is a tradition of Riu hotels to allocate a table for your stay but I much prefer to choose my own which is the norm in all other hotels.We upgraded the room which was very contemporary with great views and on the same floor as the restaurant. The pool area is very nice and there is a bus stop outside the hotel which is very convenient for trips to Palma. a lovely relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mrs Sandra.
Thanks for your review. we appreciate your comments this help us to keep improving.
Thanks
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    340
    74
    24
    16
See reviews for
226
550
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Djursholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It has a nice location and the breakfast is good with everything to expect from à 4-star hotel, not 5-star. I dont like that you cant have your breakfast or dinner outside, it would be better if they had the main restaurant on the ground floor, with a outside seating. Ok, not the same view but today does it feel like being in an older cruising ship in the mainrestarant.

We stayed in the senior suite for a week, great value and nice refurbished.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swe-connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thanks for your feedback. we really appreciate what our guest want. we take note of that.
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay for a week from 23 August. The manager introduced herself and we felt very supported and welcomed. Excellent reception staff . This is our seconded visit and the quality of the hotel attracts us , it's classic and elegant. We recognised some guests from our visit two years ago and so this made us feel almost at home. In addition recognising staff was nice too. This hotel is in a great position to explore Palma and neighbouring puerto portals . The new updated rooms are lovely but the shower and sink arrangements a bit strange, I don't really like my husband hearing my toilet habits!? The bedding although very soft and clean kept falling out the duvet cover but all these things are very minor . It's a lovely hotel but hope they bear in mind it's timeless classic we want not change for change sake. The sun bed situation is a problem , who wants to reserve it by getting up early to put your towel on a sun bed? Not sure how to resolve that. A lovely holiday, love piano in lobby too. Son and husband enjoyed shooting and marco a great personality and nice person , enthusiastic but not pushy, really is asset to hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guests.

thanks for your comentary and your visit to our hotel, we feel happy for that and knowing that most of our guests are the second or third time that they visit us.
its really forbiden to reserve sun beds on the pool side although we know some of the guests do it , we try to do our best.
We will refurbish the rest of the rooms this year so next year we will change our design. keeping the same category.
once more, thanks
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Booked this at late notice and wasn't very enthusiastic about the holiday. That all changed the moment we walked into the hotel. The greeting and view were absolutely awesome! The Manager introduced herself and gave us her business card so we had her personal e mail address and telephone incase we had any problems. We didn't need to use it though as everything was outstanding. The cleanliness of the hotel and variety of buffet were particular highlights. It was our wedding anniversary whilst we were there and the hotel really supported our teenage son in arranging a few wonderful surprises! My son and husband also learnt to dive at the on site dive school. They had a brilliant time ... Thank you Rafa!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coomster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests.

At first, thank for your time to write the review.
we apreciate what our guest think about us. we recomend next time to do your reservation in advance to have the best available rate.
best regards
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at this hotel and had a lovely time.

Tip number 1. If going to the hotel by taxi make sure you do not pay more than around 30 euros. There are some rogue drivers who are hiking up the fare by adding suppliments We got caught out and were charged 35 euros 85 cents. It was a lady driver who drove like a bat out of hell and upped the price whilst Hubby was helping her by getting our cases out of the car as he felt guilty letting a 'lady' heave them about. It was fractionally over 30 euros when he got out, but by the time I got my money out to pay the meter had shot up. Not knowing any different I paid her and gave a tip. We only realised when Hubby checked with me how much it was. Several other drivers have confirmed that this was blatant overcharging.

Arrived about about 9.30 am to be greeted at the door by a member of staff who took our bags, and smiling reception staff who immediately arranged Cava and orange juice at a table overlooking the sea whilst they dealt with our paperwork. A member of reception then ran through the Hotel info. Minor problem when she insisted that our 14 year old would have to wear long trousers at dinner. We pointed out that we had not brought any for him, and were told that we would have to buy some?. We advised her that our Dr, had advised him not to wear long pants as was just getting over an alergic reaction. and had left his legs in particular very easily irrited by long pants. She said she would have to leave a message for the manager. Was not very happy as we consider in any case that a 14year old does not qualify under the 'gentlemen are required to wear long trousers at dinner' rule. However when I checked again when collecting our room key another member of staff immediately confirmed that of course he did not have to wear trousers as he was still considered a child. However it sort of soured the welcome a little.

As we arrived so early our room was not ready until 2.00 pm ish. This hotel does not have proper courtesy rooms so I ended up rummaging in our cases for beach gear in the middle of the reception area. I thought I had packed it on top, but it seemed to migrate during the plane ride, so I felt as if I had half unpacked. We then had to change in the shower room/toilet of the 3rd floor wellness centre, which is very nice, but not air conditioned and about 100 degrees. Just getting our cossies on was a feat as they stuck to you straight away. Then I had to take our outdoor clothes back up to reception on the 8th floor and repack the case. Somewhere along the way I mislaid my son's boxers and one sock, but the staff reunited them with our cases by the time I got the room key.
We then spent the morning by the beautiful pool, and even managed, even though it was around 10.00am by them, to secure beds for all of us, and some shade under a tree. . Reserving beds is routine. Best beds gone by 6.00am, although on last day notices were put on beds not occupied but towels not removed.- What use is that? lunch was at the poolside bar.

Tip no. 2. They have a staple menu with the usual pizzas, burgers toasted sandwiches, salads etc. Supplimented each day by items from barbeque. Sunday is when they do paella. Do try - it looked and smelled fab, but as it was our first day we did not realise they only did it once a week. Pizzas are very overpriced, small and tasted frozen so think before ordering. Most other dishes are better value.
Tip no. 3. If you are not bothered about the barbeque or the restraunt is very busy then just trot across the road to the Bonanza Park. They have exactly the same menu for up to 3 euros less for each item. Drinks cost the same but if there are a few of you it will add up. Also their pool bar is a lot quieter and being higher up it gets the breeze.

Our room was 809, one of the refurbed rooms and was great, with fab views over the pool and sea. The beds, linen and pillows were first rate.The one thing you have to get used to is the toilet and shower arrangements as you are seperated from the main bedroom only by opaque glass which allows the people in the bedroom to see the feet of the ones using the facilities, and like a one way mirror, allows the people using the loo etc. to watch their loved one cleaning their teeth at the sink positioned on the opposite wall of the bedroom. Of soundproofing there is none so those of you more shy you may like to take turns on the balcony. The air conditioning was exceptional, powerful and very quiet. Storage space is limited and the wardrobe is really just a cupboard with a chain screen.
Tip 4 - the wardrobe has a light in it that triggers automatically with movement. If you need to use the facilities at night you either have to turn on the main light (which wakes everyone else up), or tiptoe in front of the cupboard and wave until the light goes on. This gives you chance to have a quick wee and get back to bed before it turns itself off again .

For the first night you are allocated a table at the 6.30 sitting, but you can change later. Make sure you vacate your table by 8.30 or they will chuck you out.

Entertainment/animation OK - really enjoyed the shooting with Marco, pity about the archery, but you can't do a lot without a bow.

Thanks especially to our waiter Leon. He seemed to be everywhere and his service was brilliant. We really missed him on his day off. The food in the restraunt is first class and we all had no problem being overwhelmed with the choice and quality.

Was on a late flight on last day. Had requested to extend our room at cost of 40 euros, but by Friday the Russians had arrived. - We knew this as they were serving vodka at breakfast and everyone else at shooting was called Igor, Yuri or Victor, and we were told we would have to vacate by 12.00. As we had already experienced the heat in the spa we requested another room across the road at the other hotel. We then moved in there and spent the afternoon using their faclities (cost 40 euros), and eating a cheaper meal. However if you consider doing this do NOT accept bungalow 771 as the air conditioning is not up to much and the room was still too hot for comfort. But at least we did not get on the plane reeking of either sea or chlorine.

We really enjoyed this hotel and would not hesitate to go back another time.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have been refurbished and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akkerdoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had 11 night stay at Bonanza Playa with my wife at the beginning of August 2012. Initially had newly refurbished room on sixth floor which was very comfortable. Sadly it looked over the outside entertainment area which was very noisy on an evening up until 11pm. By the third night we had moved to an identical sea view room on the other side of the Hotel. That was the only problem we had. The Hotel provided excellent service and all the staff we met were polite and totally dedicated. The food was more than adequate with a wide variety of choice. The pool area was small and therefore there was sometimes a difficulty in getting sun beds. We met several people who had returned to the Hotel because of the standards set.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are on the top floors. Quieter rooms on the opposite side to the swimming pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests.

At first thanks for your visit and your time for the comment.
Yes we have two hotel sides, both with sea view. On the right side is over the pool area and probably you can hear a bit from the entertaiment. on the other side is just garden and sea views.
We recomend you for your next time contact us to order a room on the left side.
best regards
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I went to this hotel all alone for two nights and I really enjoyed it. I got a very nice newly renovated room at the 8th floor (the same floor as the reception and main entrance). The room was very nice with an interesting layout with the toilet integrated with the entrance hallway. The room was very clean and fresh and the beds are very hard as Spanish beds are. A balcony towards the sea with beautiful views.

The reception staff was very helpful, easy to talk to and helped out in many ways.

At floor 0 there is a pool restaurant and the pool and access to the sea. This area is really nice and there is plenty of sun beds. It's not permitted to reserve sun beds and at a few times I saw personnel go around and take towels from reserved beds so I never had problems finding one for me.

The breakfast is good. I did not use the restaurant during dinner but the pool restaurant for lunch. It's quite expensive (I find the entire hotel a bit expensive for what it is) and not that good food. The staff is was one day very nice and attentive and the next they were stressed, missed orders and not that friendly.

The area is very quiet and not many restaurants close by. If you go just 5-10 minutes to Playa Illetas you can find very nice restaurants just by the sea or you can take bus 3 just outside the hotel for € 1.50 to Palma center. (in just a little over an hour you can take the bus from outside the hotel restaurant all the way to the airport with city buses (line 3 and 1)).

What annoyed me a bit was that the hotel is kind of expensive and still you have to pay for the safe in the room. The hotel also says it has wifi that's free but I really don't think that they can say that The wifi is next to useless and for some times it did not work at all. The staff said it was due to too much usage but that just says that they have a good enough wifi. So don't go there thinking you should do a lot of work using wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your coments, your words help us to improve!
hope to see you again in our hotel

Team Riu Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
#28 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#19 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing