We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Ranked #24 of 182 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality small hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great hotel, comfortable with superb food and location. Buffet restaurant faultless with lovely amenable staff. Bus stop outside for Palma and then on to other areas.
Pool and sea gorgeous, but poolside beds rather cramped.
Looses a mark for basic room standard. Be sure to ask for a balcony. Worth upgrading I feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

To begin with, thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to see that you have enjoyed our meals. The staff will be very happy to know your good comments about them and, also, I will congratulate the cooks.

It is true that we have a bus stop here and that it is very easy to go to the center of Palma.

For your next time here I should recommend a sea view room, these views are fantastic.

Finally, thank you so much for your good comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    464
    185
    53
    34
See reviews for
107
908
42
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited this hotel several years ago before it was refurbished and decided to come back based on the other reviews and we were not disappointed. The reception staff (in particular Pablo) were very helpful and it was a nice touch to have a glass of fizz at check in. We were on a high floor and the view from our balcony (superior room partial sea view) was great. The room was spacious and cleverly designed to maximise the space especially the area around the wardrobes/sink/shower area but you do need to be comfortable with your room guest as it involves a lot of opaque glass! The food in the Blue bar at lunch was lovely (a little expensive) but varied and a bit too convenient. There are cheaper options outside the hotel but the view will be no where near as scenic. We were half board and both breakfast and evening meal included a lot of choice and an abundance of healthy options. An especially nice touch was the Nespresso machine - nothing like a great coffee to kick start a day of relaxing by the pool. The pool area was great and the sunbathing deck was a great and had an uninterrupted view of the ocean, but beware of the sea urchins on the sea floor...The bus to Palma stops just outside the apartments next to the hotel and is 1.5euros and in about half an hour you are right into the centre. Portals Nous was 5-10 minutes by taxi and about 6-7euros. We ate at Wellies on a couple of nights and the food was delicious. A trip to Cappuccinos (posh coffee shop) was nice but again not cheap, but worth going for the almond cake!

Room Tip: Partial sea views on a higher the floor have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireAliBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very happy to see that you have had a good welcome at the hotel. I am going to congratulate the staff and specially Pablo for their great service.

Also, it is wonderful that you have enjoyed the room and the views. It is true that the hotel is located in a privileged area, so our views are so beautiful.

I will congratulate the cooks for your great comments about the food, they will be very glad to hear that.

It is true that it is very easy to go to Palma from here and that we are near to places like Portals Nous, Puerto Portals, etc.

Thank you very much for this great comment and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our double room had two twin beds pushed together. I checked with reception and was advised that this is "standard" with the exception of the sea facing suites. Rest of my comments would be similar, to others on here.....just a shame about the beds. Enough to put me off staying at a Barcelo hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

To begin with, thank you for your time writing this comment.

We must apologize about the beds, but the majority of our beds are twin ones. Our double beds are part of the frontal sea view rooms, but we can put the others as a double one on request.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcome you again, and for that time you can contact with us directly or send us an email to request the king size bed, and we will do our best to provide you this size and all the requests that you could need.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm provided this message as feedback for a very disappointing stay at your hotel. My husband and I travel all around the world and we tend to be budget travelers but once a year we splurge. I researched lodging in Mallorca for weeks before finally deciding on your facility. After booking I was beyond excitement we would be staying in a four star hotel. Unfortunately, I think we were doped by your clever marketing. When we first arrived I thought we hit the jack pot. The lobby is extremely nice and the receptionist was very friendly and pleasant. However, once we got to our room it went downhill. We ordered a welcome pack and gave specific instructions on our anticipated arrival, but it seemed the fruit and cava had been sitting there all day. The ice was completely melted and the wine was warm. There were tea packets available, but no coffee and we are avid coffee drinkers. I’m fairly certain the room description offered coffee. The room itself had lovely décor but it was the size of a shoe box. It should not have been described as a “superior double,” it is simply your basic double room and equivalent to something you would expect from a Best Western or Econo Lodge. The room was so cramped; there was nowhere to store our luggage. The closet could have been an option, but one of the doors was broken. Had it been functional, only one of our two suitcases would have fit anyway so we ended up having to live out of our suitcases blocking the small hall way. The shower did not drain and water leaked all over the vanity area. The shampoo and body wash was basically scented water; it had hardly any washing capacity. We specifically didn’t pack our own because I thought your products would have been of better quality. The bed was very uncomfortable as well. We like a stiff mattress, but this was hard as a rock and we did not sleep well the entire stay. We did not complain, but were extremely disappointed in our room.

The following morning we enjoyed a very lovely breakfast and then made our way to the “private cove.” We arrived first thing in the morning, but to our surprise there was no available seating because your cove only consists of 8 beds. Since your cove was one of my biggest selling points, I was beyond upset it was so small and unaccommodating. We did find chairs along the pool, but it was not what I expected.

Our second morning we did not want to miss the opportunity for cove access so we got up bright and early for breakfast and made our way to the cove right at opening, 9am. Unfortunately the chairs were still chained up and maintenance men were still spraying down the pool area. If your pool and cove hours begin at 9am, they should be available exactly at 9am or earlier. By 9:15 the chairs were still locked so I informed the front desk who assured me they would be prepared right away. By 9:25 still locked! It was after 9:30 before we were able to get access.

That morning we had massages scheduled at 11:00 and then plans to explore the island following lunch. I arrived 5 minutes early for my massage but the therapist didn’t show up until 11:24. Twenty-four minutes late for a massage appointment is completely unacceptable. Additionally, we had planned on using the spa facilities, but it smelt like bathroom sewage in the entire spa area, far too disgusting for enjoyment.

Our final compliant is regarding the roof top bar. There were signs posted with hours of operation and live entertainment, but once again we were disappointed. We arrived 1 hour before closing for the “House DJ” just to find a computer play list. It was also hard finding a comfortable seat. Not because the roof top was full, but because every single wicker couch was broken.

Needless to say, we did not enjoy our stay. We traveled for 12 days in Spain and this was our most expensive and least desirable hotel during the entire trip. I was sold on your cove, chic roof top bar and luxury accommodations just to find these were just words in your marketing materials and not as described. I would rate this hotel 3 star at best, but our experience was more along the lines of 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
6 Thank E-break
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time writing this comment.

We regret that your stay was not as pleasant as you expected and we apologize for all the inconvenience that you have had in your stay.

The problem with the welcome pack is that we leave the wine and the fruit at first hour because the check in hour is at 14 h, and we like that you found the present at your arrival. When a guest informs us about his arrival hour we prepare the present at the moment, so if your next time you inform us about the hour we will leave them at that moment, not before.

About the coffee, we are provided with Nesspreso machines in the frontal sea view rooms, junior suites, etc, but we can offer you our room service from 8 to 23 h.

On the other hand, our DJ sessions are every Wednesday and every Friday with the Pacha DJ. We are sure that you will enjoy it your next time with us.

Finally, we hope to have the opportunity of welcome you again to show you that you could enjoy your stay with us.

Best regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel exceeded our expectations. Very calm and peaceful Hotel staff very attentive. Very easy to make your way into Palma on the number 3 bus right outside the hotel. Overall lovely stay at this hotel, would recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shaunna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for your time writing this comment.

It is wonderful that we have exceeded your expectations and I will congratulate all the staff for your good comments about them.

It is true that the bus nº3 takes you to Palma very easy, only 30 min.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álavarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is situated in the most perfect position with a cooling sea breeze wafting as you drink delicious cocktails served by attentive staff as we relaxed on comfortable sun loungers and soaked up wall to wall sunshine by day and dined a la carte in the evenings. The fresh fish was delicious.
Breakfast was an extensive choice from the buffet and lunches were served in the Blue Restaurant either out doors or on the shaded veranda.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 732suzanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

To begin with, thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to see that you found the hotel in the most perfect position. The staff will be very happy to know your great comment about them.

Also, it is wonderful that you have enjoyed almost all the meals of the hotel and I will congratulate the cooks.

Finally, thank you so much for your good comment. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is our seconded year at this hotel & it gets better, one good thing we liked is that you cannot reserve sun beds around the pool area.
The pool is kept in excellent condition, a credit to the pool man.
Nothing is perfect in this world, but Barceló Illeates Albatros nearly has it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jarkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to know that you liked everything in the pool and I will congratulate the staff from the pool for your great comment.

Also, I am very happy to see that you think that this hotel is almost perfect, you are so kind.

Finally, thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europe Playa Marina
Europe Playa Marina
#3 of 3 in Illetes
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roc Illetas
Roc Illetas
#2 of 3 in Illetes
647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Illetas Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Illetas Albatros

Property: Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Address: Paseo de Illetas 15, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#27 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Illetas Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Illetas Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Albatros Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Hotel Albatros
Barcelo Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Illetas Albatros Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing