We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Ranked #21 of 182 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic.......”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great place to stay without the kids.. Not your normal Mallorca hotel as the service was exceptional and the clientele was an international mix and very agreeable. The hotel itself is in an great location and the views from the terrace are just delightful. Breakfast was a reason to jump out of bed for and the staff couldn't do enough! Very central to Palma city (bus stops right outside the hotel) and the yacht haven of Puerto Portals.. Lots of dining options in the vicinity and little supermarkets and boutiques on the doorstep. Within walking distance to some beautiful public beaches if you wanted to leave the great pool and jacuzzi that the property offers... A very modern vibe was going on although the age of guests varied from the very young to middle aged! Check out the ground floor terrace for cocktails at sunset and the outdoor terrace for breakfast.. The only down side was the lack of a full length mirror in the room and poor lighting in the bathroom mirror...... Definitely going to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience in our Hotel.
It is inspiring to know that your stay has been unforgettable and we have met your expectations with our staff and facilities.

Thank you very much for taken the time to leave your comments and hope to see you soon enjoying another cocktail at the terrace of our Blue Restaurant & Lounge.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    479
    192
    53
    38
See reviews for
114
973
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What lets this hotel down badly is the bathroom or lack of it. I personally prefer my bathroom with a wall or failing that a toilet door that doesn't have a 3cm gap all round it and that opens straight into my bedroom! We mentioned the gap to reception, it seemed like the door seal was missing, that and the flashing blue night lights but nothing was done about it. Charging for the use of the room safe was another annoyance! Paper thin walls mean it is very noisy and our room overlooked a car park. Positives, good breakfast buffet and pool area. The staff are friendly and I would say helpful but nothing was done about the problems with our room so this lets their rating down. The hotel is about a 20 minute bus ride from Palma. The service is frequent and only costs 1.5€.

Room Tip: I would specify a sea view at least then you would avoid the car park and noisy bin emptying early i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we really appreciate your review about your experience in our Hotel.

We regret that we haven´t met your expectation with our integrated bathrooms, the Hotel was renovated in 2010 offering to our guest attractive an functional rooms.

We would like to clarify that the have available rooms with separated bathrooms for whose guest who request it.

We would like, to apologize that during your stay all these types of rooms were booked.

We are at your disposal for whatever you may need. We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again soon, and offer you a room adapted to your taste.

Yours sincerely,


Jacobo Álvarez

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

2nd time here. Love it... Rooms fab, clean , pools nice, staff good ... But no signage round pool to indicate you can't drink your own drinks. So staff approaching us and then others is embarrassing for all parties.. A simple sign would solve... Other than this, faultless..loved the daily blackboard signage in restaurant. Very entertaining.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really apreciate your review about your experience in our hotel.

We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will help us to improve the customer service and avoid any embarrassing situation as you describes above.

It is very flattering to read that we have made the difference with details like our daily blackboard. Encourages us to continue working to achieve that our guests’ experiences are enjoyable or entertaining, as in your personal case.

We hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Kindest regards

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a quite modern hotel in Illetas, about 1o mins in taxi from Palma. Rooms are small and a few have ocean view. I had a room facing the street. Early morning the garbage collection made an alarm clock unnecessary! The rooms are modern and reasonably clean, bed is ok. Breakfast is adequate, reasonable selection.
The pool is small, unheated. The acces to the sea is either a tiny stoney beach-piece or through a ladder on the cliff.Not ideal, but it is possible to have a swim if you are fit enough. Towels are only handed out against a deposit of 20 Euros, - a process which is a bit cumbersome since you have to get a token at the reception, pay, and then change for a towel.
Meeting room nice, but the large one with a lousy acoustic

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sending your opinions regarding our hotel.

Our guest´s satisfaction is surely our reason to be and what we work for every day. We regret, that we did not completely meet your expectations and that you were not entirely pleased with some aspects of your stay.
We would like to mention, that we put at the disposal of our guests, rooms superior, side or frontal side view. Always under request of reservation.

We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you had with the access to the sea, would like to indicate that we had been working to clean one of the beautiful places of our Hotel.

We really thank you for your review and we hope you come back soon in order to see all the improvements made in our services and facilities.

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is tough to review. The staff were fantastic. The buffet breakfast was solid. The common areas (lobby, lounge, restaurants and pool deck) were very nice.

But the rooms were a bit of a let down. There was really no "wow" factor to ours. Our shower had shampoo regularly supplied, but no conditioner. The drain drained slowly, so we pulled the cap off it and turned down the water pressure to ensure we didn't have a flood. No iron or coffee maker in room, and the hair drier was old and weak. But the biggest let down of the room was how much noise came through from outdoors and the hallway. When we first arrived, jet-lagged, we settled in for a late morning nap, only to hear doors from other rooms slamming down the hall and the sound of furniture being dragged around on the floor above. The hotel has an odd habit of fitting every room with two single beds which they push together for a larger one for couples. This has the housekeeping staff pulling the beds apart each morning to make them, and pushing them back together, and on tile floors this makes quite a racket!. Though a wonderfully large bed, it's a bit odd to have a crack down the centre between the two mattresses, and each bed's sheets and bedding tucked tightly down the crack! I'm afraid each night we destroyed the housekeeper's work by yanking the bedding up out from between the beds so we could cuddle!

One other comment about the beds is that they're quite hard. Uncomfortable firm, really, I saw this mentioned on previous reviews and it's true... fine for a night or two but by the end of our week we we ready to wave those mattresses goodbye!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camperdownfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel and for having decided to publish your opinions and feedback regarding your stay.

We appreciate your nice words about our Restaurant Mediterranean, specially our Breakfast service, and about our Staff.

We regret that we haven´t met your expectation with our rooms. We would like to inform you, that we will bear close in mind your comments in order to improve our service to the future guests.

We would like to clarify, that the Hotel offers king side beds depending of the room category. In our official website you can see all the room details.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any requirement or bookings; we will very happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is really beautiful and well located, nearly to Palma (just 15 minutes in a bus), well connected to the city
We enjoyed our stay there and we hope return soon...
The hotel is great, beautifult views, comfortable, lovely desing and amazing view of the sea. The room we stayed in was clean, the room was clean, but they forgot the shampoo and shower gel two days.
The food in the blue restaurant is really nice, and friendly helpful staff, specially Luis, he is a charming guy always with a smile (undoubtedly the best).

Thank you verry much!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you so much for your kinds words about your stay in our Hotel.
We appreciate your nice words about our Restaurant Blue, specially about Luis, we will transmit him your comments. Our goal is to offer the best the best service to our guests.

We are truly thankful that you have taken the time to leave your observations and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Mallorca and highly recommend the Barceló for a short break. We went with pretty low expectations (booked a cheap package deal through Expedia). However, we were pleasantly surprised and this hotel is great for a few days away.

Some tips... we booked half-board, which included breakfast and dinner. Don't bother. Dinner is a sad, small buffet in a very quiet dining room - food is very similar to a school canteen. There are many other choices in the immediate vicinity with better (and cheaper!) food.

There seem to be a lot of comments about the views on here... Really, only one side of the building looks out over the sea. The other sides look out over a car park, the adjacent building and the main road respectively. So if you're fussed about a view, only book the Sea View room. "Partial" sea view rooms is exactly what it means - you'll have to stick your neck out the window for a "full" view. (We had a Superior Room, which was perfectly adequate for 4 nights).

The pool can be a bit gusty, but there's a local beach about 10-15 minutes walk away - restaurants and bars on and overlooking the beach. Of course, there are kids at the beach, whereas the pool is very quiet and relaxing :-)

And finally, this isn't a five star hotel and there are some bumps (we ordered room service for breakfast and it was 20 minutes late, the staff aren't really that friendly, Wi-Fi is intermittent, the beds are hard). But overall a really pleasant weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in this website. We will take your opinions into account, because it will doubtless help us improve our guests’ experiences in the future.

We would like, to apologize for the problems you had during your stay with the Wi-Fi and inform you that it must have been due to a particular technical problem that we tried to solve as quickly as possible. We are sorry, in any case, for any problems caused by this inconvenience.

We are at your disposal for whatever you may need. We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again soon, and show you, our new Mediterranean Buffet, adapted to the taste of our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europe Playa Marina
Europe Playa Marina
#3 of 3 in Illetes
410 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,253 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#23 of 77 in Playa de Palma
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Illetas Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Illetas Albatros

Property: Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Address: Paseo de Illetas 15, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#27 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Illetas Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Illetas Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Albatros Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Hotel Albatros
Barcelo Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Illetas Albatros Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing