We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday at a beautiful and relaxing hotel”
Review of Gran Melia de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia de Mar
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Melia. We spent most of our days at the pool, which was always quiet and I rarely saw more than 2 other people there swimming, which was lovely because it didnt have that crowded feel you get at some "5*" hotels. Its adults only which is a blessing; no kids running around, screaming and bombing in the pool. There are loads of sunbeds and never had a problem getting one (we were there for nearly 2 weeks during August!). There is a private beach as well which was nice, and we hired a four poster bed to be put on the beach, which was a nice romantic touch (although, it wasnt cheap!).

There are a few great places to visit within a short taxi ride. Porta Portals is a very impressive harbour with fantastic restaurants which is a must visit. Also, going to Palma itself is a lot of fun as there are loads of really nice tapas restaurants and cocktail bars.

I would definitely recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mr. ashman00,

I'm Tona Pou, community manager of Meliá de Mar. Thank you very much for your kind words, we will work harder in order to improve our guest experience trying to surprise them within our facilities. The quiet in house is other of our goals.

And also thank you to comment about activities and restaurants around Meliá de Mar!

We look forward to see you soon,
Best regards,

Tona Pou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia de Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 988 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Melia for a week in September for our honeymoon and it was fantastic. Every staff member (especially Sylvia) went out of their way to help us make our honeymoon so wonderful. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful ocean view and private jacuzzi. The room was immaculate and lovely to be in. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept on. Breakfasts were good and had a good choice. The restaurants in the hotel have lovely food and dinner on the private beach is highly recommended. We made use of the Yhi spa as well and this just added a relaxing element to a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pranam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Mr. Pranm P,

Thank you very much for your kind words. They help us to keep on working hard in order to reach excellence.

We will translate to all staff and specially to Silvia.

Best regards,
Tona Pou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at Melia for a work related conference in October 2012. The hotel and surroundings are beautiful to look at. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have great views out over the gardens and sea. Reception staff are friendly.

I can imagine this place being great to take a partner on a special trip as it's a child free hotel and obviously designed, at its heart, to be a hotel for couples. It's close to Palma and within easy reach of lots of nice restaurants and beach clubs.

I can't comment on price of rooms or services/food/bar as my company was paying for everything.

The thing that lets this place down a little bit is the service in the restaurant and bar areas - it was pretty bad. If you need help with anything don't expect that you'll find anyone particularly useful - they make an effort but ultimately you get passed around a lot and nothing really gets resolved. For instance, I misplaced a bag and got directed to a succession of people until eventually I was directed back to the person I originally approached! But at least they try to help!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Mr. DomGuitar,

Thank you very much for your words.
We are now closed, and we are working hard to improve our bar and restaurant services in order to solve all the comments you've made.

Kind regards and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Tona Pou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

ok,here we go!!.went to this hotel last week for a long weekend.it was chosen as it was on the beach,near puerto portals,and had a couples only policy.We booked a package through Lastminute.com and including British Airways flights and a sea view double,total cost for 3 nights was £750.The flights on their own were £550 so in effect we were paying £68 per night!!!!
The hotel is listed as 5 star( however i do believe, very much so that nowadays, a 6 star or grand luxe/relais et chateau exists ,so it can be a little misleading etc etc.
I suppose i would call it a good 4 star!!!
I base that on a few things.The sheets were not egyptian cotton, of the standard say at Claridges or similar,the fittings in the hotel ie the quality of workmanship around the hotel,also was not of the league you would find at a 6 star,and the turndown and cleaning of the room was just a quick tidy up.Service by the beach was literally 1 man ,and generally you could see there were staff cuts all around the resort.the spa was clean and functional however little things like no shower gel in the shower at the spa was an example of the 5 star vs 6 star argument.
That said it was all clean and very functional, and on check in, we upgraded to a Grand suite for an extra 200 euros per night (which gave u a 80 euro a day credit for room service or in the restaurants).If u include that the total spend on the suite was £170 aprox per night.To be honest with you,this suite could cost at least £750 per night as it had an amazing bathroom ,and lounge.It was extremely spacious and certainly had the wow feature when u walked in.
Because of the pricing we made allowances for the understaffing and generally a 4 star level of attention.
That does not mean to say that all the hotel staff were not friendly.They were!.Overall was well worth staying there and if i went there next time would just take my own sheeets lol !

Room Tip: go for a room above 5 th floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mono551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear mono551,

Thank you very much to comment about your holidays in Meliá de Mar. We will take into account all your comments and will study them in order to improve our services.

Kind regards,
Tona Pou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently stayed in this hotel again and it has become a favourite of my wife and I. There is no single thing that makes it a great place to be but all in all it just delivers as a really relaxing spot to go for a few days away in comfort and with a great spa. Bits of it are little tired (better pool beds) but most is very good. Major negative is sometimes at the weekend you can struggle for pool space as non guests hog the pool. Major positive, one of our friends had a minor medical emergency and the staff were outstanding. drinks may take a minute longer than you would like, major problems are sorted immediately. Some great restaurants nearby but I suspect it would be stretch for more than 5 days as it is a bite remote.. Not a flashy hotel so avoids the gold Rolex and Burberry set which is areal positive in this area.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a room on the Level
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Mr. fedupguest,

Thank you very much to expend your time sharing your second visit to our hotel! We're glad to know that you found everything right, and your experience is specially valuable because you were here last year and you can realize if we're really working better.

We will consider all comments to further improve our services, and hope to see you next year!

Kind regards,
Tona Pou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having stayed at this Melia hotel before its extensive renovations I was a little unsure before this latest visit. But it has kept most of its charm, particularly outside where you will enjoy a really lovely view of the bay leading towards Palma, which is a real gem of a city and easy to get to on the No.3 bus outside the hotel - 1.50 euros one-way. The service was excellent, from check-in with Rafa to the bar staff who were courteous and knowledgeable and on hand to introduce you to new wines - delicious. The hotel restaurant did lack a little atmosphere if you were inside, mainly due to the brightness of the lighting. The main restaurant is broken down into four concepts, but only one seemed to be available and it wasn't really obvious what our options were. The food was of a high standard, and we enjoyed some tapas outside late one evening too. The gardens and beack area are lovely and lunch with the views is hard to beat. There are a few restaurants and bars scattered near the hotel, but nothing of real note, although we did enjoy two trips to Es Parrel which is a 20 min walk, turning left out of the hotel and left and down the hill at the junction. Three courses for 20 euros is excellent value. We requested a room on a higher level so as to enjoy the views and the hotel duley organised for us. Reading on the balcony was a pleasure with the aspect to enjoy too. The hotel is definitely cool, and with no kids offers a real chill-out - the only thing with some of the 'cool' seats in the bar is they look great but aren't that comfortable. Overall, a fantastic hotel well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Roy Y,

Thank you very much to share with us your experience in Meliá de Mar.

we have passed the compliments to the whole team, especially Rafa. Your words help us to keep working hard in order to satisfy our guest whatever they need.

We will take note of your comments about the suggestions for improvement and we will consider in the new season.

Thanks again for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

At first glance this modern looking hotel disappoints, however once you go through the modern glass doors you walk into an oasis of calm, relaxation and luxury. The grounds are truely amazing, with their own private beach, as well as a pool and jacuzzi. When we were there the hotel was practically full, but there was never a feeling of being crowded, as there are so many areas to sit, by the pool, the beach, overlooking another bay, as well as a tranquility area. The bedrooms are very well appointed, and for views a higher room is ideal. We were woken by the sun rising everyday, a truely romantic start to the day. The restaurant serves excellent food, and there are other choices as well. The hotel itself is situated in IIletas, and it is easy to get the bus into Palma, if you wish, as the stop is outside the hotel. The main issue with the hotel, is that it is so peaceful and relaxing, it is hard to tear oneself away, to explore the lovely beaches nearby, or go into Palma. This is a lovely place, I would certainly recommend, and would love to return to, and maybe do a bit more sightseeing next time.

Room Tip: A higher floor room, gives a better sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Mrs JDTRAVELBrighton,

Thank you very much to share your experience in Meliá de Mar hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. But, regret to say, we will not apologize that you were so happy that you did not want to leave! =)

We will work in order to ensure that the next time you visit us, your stay will be even better

Kind regards,
Tona Pou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
3.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,304 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
851 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#17 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia de Mar

Address: Paseo de las Illetas, 7, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range: $244 - $1,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia de Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Melia de Mar, a contemporary beachfront hotel Enjoying a tranquil setting in the residential area of Illetas, yet only ten minutes from Palma’s city centre, the newly-refurbished, adults-only Gran Melia de Mar, exclusive member of Leading Hotels International, has a privileged location directly facing the sea and offering a small, sandy beach. The hotel has been architecturally designed to make the most of the spectacular views Built / renovated date: 1964 / winter 2015/2016 – Rooms number: 142 – from airport Son Sant Joan - hotel: 17 km with 142 Rooms including Suites. All with Terrace with spectacular front sea view, Bathroom with hair-dryer, magnifying mirror, bathtub and shower stall, Air-conditioning. Heating. Satellite TV. Direct dial telephone. Mini-bar, Nespresso, and Safe. Room Service. 6 Meeting rooms. WIFI free of charge. The spacious ‘RedLevel Experience’ rooms and suites offer special VIP amenities. 2 outdoor pools with a delightful pool surrounded by Balinese beds with concierge service. Magnificent breakfast buffet served in the “PERSEO” restaurant and terrace overlooking the sea , the new ARRELS by Marga Coll – fine dining restaurant with a terrace providing an extraordinary range of modern Mallorcan cuisine. Big variety of F&B offers, service in outdoor spaces or indoors. In summer months enjoy the BARDOT Pool Bar & Restaurant. AMARO Lobby Bar & Lounge. Spa by CLARINS. Valet Parking. The hotel opens from April to October and is strictly adults only. Minimum age 15 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia De Mar Hotel Calvia
Melia Hotel De Mar
Sol Melia Calvia
Gran Melia De Mar Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing