We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've been in!”
Review of Sol Jamaica

Sol Jamaica
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Jamaica
Ranked #165 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Myself and my friend (both female, 23) stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of July, beginning of August. It was a last minute booking through flyglobespan and we really didn't get a good deal so I think that made the hotel seem even worse. When you first enter the hotel it seems ok if a bit aged but the second you hit the lift you know it's ancient. Our room was 243 and it faced the back of the hotel ie, a dirty old sandpit and the dumping ground for the staff. We only had 2 plug sockets in the whole room, one of them was in the bathroom and the other one was nowhere near the mirror so that was a major pain. There is also no TV in the room and I'm a bit of a telly addict so I missed that. The room was also very dirty and could do with a good hoover. The cleaner missed loads sand and dirt every time she came in. We ate in the hotel 2 nights and the food was really nice but we just fancied a change the other nights so we tried the mexican behind the hotel, a chinese buffet and mostly Tom Browns just along the street. All were good too.

The hotel was very very noisy and on the one night we were actually in bed before 5am we found it very difficult to get to sleep for people banging doors, moving furniture and shouting.

Magaluf as a resort was absolutely amazing and I would definitely go back. The beach is lovely and there are always sun loungers available for €4 each. Watch out for the gypsies who try to sell you fruit and cans. A heavily pregnant girl conned the guys beside us by offering them a can of fanta and when he looked interested she opened it and gave it to him. She then said it was €10 and as she had opened it the guy who sells the sunbeds said he had to take it. He was gutted.

BCM is really the place to go. It costs €25 to get in but is then free drink throughout and if you pay in before midnight or buy a ticket from one of the street venders, you get loads of free gifts like hats, lilos, bags, glow sticks, hula skirts and even a beach umbrella!! You really need to leave stuff behind to fit it all in your case. The 1st floor has all the big acts like DJ Sammy, Judge Jules, Gatecrasher and Westwood and downstairs has the famous foam/water/popcorn parties which are the best laugh ever.

We ventured up the strip one night but there were sooooooo many PRs badgering you and physically grabbing you that it was too much and we just went back to BCM.

Overall we had a great holiday but the hotel really put a dampner on the whole thing.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank KLICK365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2007

just come back from 10 days of hell at the sol jamica
went there 3 years ago and had a great time, this time
the hotel and the resort is full of hen and stag partys
who have no regard for there fellow holiday makers.
there is a turn round about every 3 days.
food at the hotel is good but not as good as 3 years ago
a lot of the bars and shops have closed down.
if you are over 30 with a family i would choose a different
resont on the island , this is one family that won't be going
back there

Stayed: July 2007
Thank BirminghamUkSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed in this hotel 2 young females in July 2007, I looked at the rewiews and was scared of what i might find. When we checked in we found there was nothing wrong with the accomodation, it was lovely. We got a safe although it wasnt needed. The food was a bit repetative on occasions but there is always Tom Browns not far away. One thing i would say is it needs air con. Reception staff were lovely and trust me young girls the entertainment staff are even better!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank x0x0x0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

if you have familys or looking for a quiet stay, forget this place. Like most oyher reviews if you want to drink/sleep 24 hrs it is ok. You needed to drink loads just to get a few hours kip. We were on a stag w/end. Full of scousers & barcodes while we were there. Hotel VERY basic. Food was adequate not great but reasonable. Staff were ok Pool was full of people like us, not recommended for youngsters. Be wary of getting into trouble, got talking to some teenagers on there second day & one of there friends got into a fight & was arrested & sent to prison until someone paid 10,000 euros bail money. Also lads if you meet a nice girl & she wants to take you to the beach, dont go, one of our party did & ended up losing all his clothes/money. Apart from that a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oysterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

god? where do i start... firstly we arrived and were told we werent on the list for a room so had 2 w8 till they organised all tht. rooms were very basic. staff were pleasant enough to begin with anyway.

We were stayin on the fourth floor, we had 2 rooms as there were 5 of us. 2nd nyt we wer ther and we all went down for dinner to our disbelief we came bk up 2 our rooms to find the security guards and everyone out in the corridors. 3 rooms had been burgled and the guys had only bn there for 2 hours and were coincidentially at dinner at the same time as us. Our room seemed to be fine but our friends rooms which was 3 guys, had money, travellers cheques and expensive clothes stolen. But to my amazement was 4 rooms on the same floor were broken in2 and they managed to miss our room, the girls room out. What also amazed me was that there were no signs of forced entry and the balcony doors were locked.....very suspicious indeed. It was definately an inside job.

The security guards were arrogant and cheeky, infact 1 of them sed to my friend if she could understand spanish she was 2 go bk to skool. after tht fiasco we had problems with the security guards and they actually slapped 1 of our male friends on the face n kicked him. I was appauled at the way they treated you.

i would recommend everyone to get a safe!! Dnt be fooled by the friendly faces.

I am definately returning to magaluf next year but never to this hotel, i will go to another sol hotel but definately not sol Jamaicas!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vzsoul59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Me and my boyfriend have just recently returned from this hotel. We stayed there for seven nights. We stayed in a room on the third floor at the bottom end of the corridor. We thought that this would mean that it would be quiet, but however it was the opposite. It was very loud at night with people returning to their rooms at 6 in the morning shouting and having conversations in the corridor. This means we hardly slept throughout the whole holiday.
The room we stayed in was very dated with the bed covers and curtains being very faded and holey, whoever it was a very clean room which was cleaned everyday.
There was a very wide range of foods in this hotel, ranging from salads to meats and pasta and chips. There was a big choice of food but it wasn't very nice, if you like pizza and chips then you will be fine.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discodolly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

I found the jamica to be very clean and tidy however it was showing its age a little. I would'nt recommend this hotel for a family holiday. I traveled there as part of a stag party and found most of the guests to be youger groups there where hardly any couples or families. If you are thinking of going for a family or couple holiday i would recommend the sol gaudelupe which is located just accross the road from the jamaica. The guadelupe is more modern and is better suited to families and couples also the rooms in the guadelupe have air conditioning which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ALTEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvia hotels
0.0 mi away
Sol House Mallorca by Melia
0.1 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Pax
FERGUS Pax
#23 of 28 in Magaluf
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
0.1 mi away
Sol y Vera Apartments
Sol y Vera Apartments
#14 of 28 in Magaluf
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Jamaica

Address: Avenida Magaluf S/N, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Jamaica 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Calvia
Sol Jamaica Calvia
Sol Jamaica Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing