We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Globales America
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
DURHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and great location!”
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I've never written a review before but felt I had to about the fab holiday we had here. First of all the location was perfect, it is on top of a hill with a small, stunning beach just down some steps. it's like the hotel has it's own beach. you can go for miles with the water just coming to your waist too My husband doesn't normally enjoy the beach, but he loved it here and even went in the water. The hotel also had 2 large pools and a childrens pool, so we tended to spend half the day on the beach and half the day by the pool.

The hotel itself was very clean and the maids came every day to make the beds and provide fresh clean towels. The room was very spacious, plenty of room for the 4 of us - 2 adults and 2 children (aged 5 & 3). It also had a beautiful view overlooking the sea.

The entertainment was great for the kids, the had games on all day every couple of hours - archery, bowling, watersports etc. They had a disco every night and then bingo.
The food was very nice too, not brilliant but what you expect from an all inclusive restaurant. We never went hungry, there was always something on the menu that we liked. The restaurant was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the pool bar was open all day for snacks such as burgers & hot dogs. The children enjoyed the food too, which is surprising as they are very fussy eaters. As always with all inclusive the only disappointing thing is seeing the english pile their plates with the free food and most of it going to waste. The restaurant staff were very friendly and always made a fuss of the children.

Calles de Mallorca is a pretty quiet resort but a very nice one. It was ideal for what we wanted, a few shops to wander around, a few bars and restaurants. it's no good if you want to go and party every night though, which we couldn't with having the kids anyway.

All in all this was a fab holiday and i would definitely recomend it to anyone who was thinking about going.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The greedy English people
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KMAC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    830
    367
    128
    76
See reviews for
940
852
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Returned on 23/10/08 from Hotel America and except for problem shared by lots of others being put in a room on the 1st floor on the first night a great holiday. For what you pay for this hotel it is really difficult to find a fault. The food and service etc. is excellent even the pool bar at daytime serving burgers, hot dogs toasties etc. was really good. Anyone who dislikes this hotel have not been to too many 3 star all inclusive hotels around Europe. Would book again anytime and reccomend to any one especially if they have children.
P.S. Avoid the Hotel Somoa which is a feww hundred yards behind the America !!!!!!


R.Thomas (South Wales)

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank rtbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

This hotel is ranked as number 1 out of 14 hotels in this resort of Cales de Majorca, well, I would hate to know what the others are like if America is the best!!

The entertainment program during the day was decent but the evening entertainment left a lot to be desired!

The food was rubbish, hardly ever warm, chips either undercooked or overcooked, and the sweets were very boring and the same day in day out. Did not try the out of hours pizza restaurant so cannot comment! The drinks however, were good and tasted of better quality than some all-inclusive joints.

Also the class of people at this hotel seemed a little higher than that of usual all inclusive hotels, very few chavs and met some lovely friendly people!

Our room was fine and clean and we had a sea view, the only downside was the ANTS!! Yes ants on the 3rd floor I have no idea how they got in there but they were crawling on the floor and in my drawer so had to swiftly move my smalls back into my case!

Something that really put us off ever coming back to this hotel was, our shower fixture broke twice and we informed the reception, who sent up a maintenance guy to repair. On the last day as we packed up our cases my dad noticed that his best jacket from Italy had been stolen out of the wardrobe!!!!!!! We assumed it could have only been the mechanic technician. We reported it to the guy on reception as we left but his face did not take any expression at all. Blatantly did not care and we assumed that no action would be taken. Oh well!

  • Liked — View, near to beach which had gorgeous blue sea v clean
  • Disliked — Terrible food, theft !!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 8.00pm, were booked in really quickly and were given rooms on the 7th floor, with fantastic views.
we are a family of 3, our son is 12. we took my sister and her family for their first foreign holiday. This hotel was that good by day 2 of the holiday she was already planning on returning here next year.
The weather was fantastic, we chose the best week.
The children were in the pool all the time, they didn't feel the cold, i went as far as my knees.
The hotel was really clean. We have stayed in a hotel just along the coastal path the past 3 years but Hotel America beats it hands down!! The rooms were immaculate, cleaned daily and left tidy, the maids did a fantastic job.
The hotel staff were friendly and polite so were the bar staff.
The children loved getting their own drinks.
The food was really good and hot, you did have to que for it but was well worth it. I can't really say much about the entertainment because i didn't go to see any shows, my son and husband said it was ok.
Please don't read the bad reviews on here, they are just people moaning for the sake of it.
Book this hotel and see for yourself, you will really enjoy your holiday.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There was nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashllew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Just come back from a 2 week stay at the Hotel America. We had a brill time the hotel was exellent. The views were lovely , but the first room they gave us was on the first floor room 169.not a good view at all ,over the restaurant roof . So we asked if we could go onto an higher floor no problem and we moved up to the fourth floor with a lovely sea view. The food was exellent and the Hotel very clean no complaints at all. I would recomended this Hotel to anyone. So if anyone has booked to go there next year you will not be disapointed Enjoy your stay.

Jennifer (South Wales)

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank katansouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

This is definatly at the the top end of a 3 star hotel - wouldn't go mad and say 4 star but for what we paid worth every penny and more. Was intended to be a cheeky week for just me and my partner leaving the kids at home and thats exactly what we got - no kids shouting, screaming and bawling around the pool and every brit we met there was a true credit to our country - not so as i have found at many other 3 star hotels!!! We went into porta cristo one day and really didn't enjoy that but then went upto the caves of dracs and that was good (if not a little rushed). The food in the hotel is above average for a 3 star, plentiful and varied and the drinks are all inclusive until 12pm (unless you get friendly with the bar staff he he he) It was getting close to the end of the season when we went so the hotel was only at 50% capacity which was great. The beach is very nice but please be careful on the next cove along in a 2 week period 3 people aged 16, 20 and 70 had unfortunatly been washed out and drowned - so really do take care its great for surfing so I think that says a lot. All in all a good weeks relaxing break and we would recommened it to anyone.

  • Liked — Clean and very spacious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaWLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bromwich england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Oh My God, what can i say, just came back from a weeks holiday,
18th 25th oct 08 2 adults 2 children aged 12 and 4
fantastic holiday, friendly staff, fantastic room for 4, very, very clean, wide choice of food.
kid's loved the pool, one downfall the water was freezing, didn't bother the kids, but being a bit of a wimp myself, was too cold for me,
shop's very close by and all friendly, all could speak english,
we were only on our second day and had decided to go back next year,
the weather was fantasic we slept with the patio doors open and was soothed to sleep by the sound of the ocean,
why this hotel is a three star i dont know, i would definately give it a four or even five,

take no notice of bad review's they just want somthing to moan about,
i can't fault anything it was fantastic, i wouldn't be booking again if it was rubbish,

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,035 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#8 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
24 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
1,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Globales Samoa
Hotel Globales Samoa
#6 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globales America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales America

Property: Hotel Globales America
Address: Carrer Formentor, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales America 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Mallorca, Calas de Mallorca.Its privileged location in Cala Domingos, theree swimming pools on the sea surrounded. The Hotel has a total of 351 rooms, distributed as follows: 66 single rooms, 138 doubles, 113 triples and 35 quadruple or families rooms. Sea view, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Satellite TV, SAfe (with charge), Telephone, Hairdryer, mini-bar, Disabled facilities, the hotel has WI-FI zoen and Internet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globales America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Majorca
America Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel America Mallorca
Hotel America Calas De Mallorca
America Calas De Majorca
Hotel Globales America Majorca/Calas De Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing