We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Globales America
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Decent value for money”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here on an all inc for a week in May. We booked through Jet2com and therefore our transfer to the hotel, which took about an hour and twenty mins was by minibus , which wasn't very classy! However the transfer was fine and check-in was quick and efficient. Our room was on the fifth floor of eight, room 530. When we opened the curtains we were treated to a fantastic view of the bay. The view couldn't be bettered therefore I would recommend this room to anyone. Ours was a win bedded room with an additional single bed in it. A coloured tv, not flat screen and an en-suite with a fairly basic shower. The only issue with the shower was that at best we got look warm water. We reported this to reception and within minutes a technician came up to try and resolve the problem as by this time the water was stone cold. The next few days however, the problem was more or less resolved as the temeratutnof the water slightly improved. The standard of all the meals was pretty decent and although I've seen a bit more choice ie at Riu Hotels, the food quality was good. Wine is available in the restaurants at meal times but you have to go to the bar if you want beer. Terms of the all inclusive drinks require to queue at the bars to be served, even the beer and you are restricted to three drinks at any visit. You can obviously return to the bar as often as you want. San Miguel is served on draft. Meals are served up until9pm, but there is also a pizza restaurant that is open until midnight! There are two pools which are decent and plenty of loungers available, no queuing required. Pool towels are not supplied. There is also a very nice beach at the rear of the hotel which is only two mins walk away. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel that can take you to most of the nearby tourist attractions and towns of interest. Been to many better standard of hotels in the past, but for the money, it is pretty good value

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    813
    359
    126
    72
See reviews for
931
832
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited this hotel quite a few times and still have an enjoyable time with each visit, the entertainment this time had improved since our last visit and the staff were there usual jolly and efficient selves, the hotel is currently being modified and the rooms on the upper two floors have been modified will definitely be returning here again in the near future.

Room Tip: If you can get floors seven and eight these rooms have just been modified and the views from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

i stayed in this hotel on the 2nd May 2013 - 12 May 2013. On arrival the first thoughts of the hotel was WOW it was lovely. The lady at reception was also very nice. There was just me and my partner on this holiday i am 19 years old and my partner is 22. We were put into the most amazing part of the hotel. They called it the Annex which was just to the side of the hotel but was almost luxury. We opened the balcony doors to the sea washing on the rocks. We had a massive king size bed with also a single bed. The cleaning people where friendly and did a very good job. All the staff where lovely and tried to get you involved in all activities and the food changed everyday which was lovely. The area was quiet but the town is very close by and we visited a bar in town a few times aswell. I would recommened this to anyone who fancies a quiet holiday away with partners or familys.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from spending a week here. Rooms very clean and wonderful sea view. Only downside our rooms were right above the entertainment area and not recommended if you want an early night. All aspects of the hotel are really good. Friendly staff from reception, bar, restaurant and housekeeping. Entertainment was excellent and the animation team do a wonderful job. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Dont have a room on the first floor because these are above the bar area where the entertainment goe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 with my boyfriend and upon arrival we where a little disappointed as it was 12:03 and couldnt get any food, as the pizzeria closed at 12:00. Yet we where shown to a few vending machines with drinks and crisps in it! When we went to our rooms our key didnt work but the porter was really helpful and went back to reception and got us another key for the room next door. We where in the small building next to the main hotel, and at first I was abit reluctant about it but as the week went on we both prefered it than to the main hotel, as the kids were running riot at times and as myself and my boyfriend dont have kids, we wanted a quiet holiday.

The room when we got in there could have been cleaner, the room had hairs round the bath tub and on the bed sheets, and the floor never seemed to be cleaned as my feet were always dirty of an evening after walking round the room of a night. But it was nice, a few tears in the bed sheet on two occasions, yet we had a great sea view, the rooms were quiet and had plenty of space for our belongings, and the tv had bbc 2 so morning tv wasnt too bad! In the bathroom there was shampoo and soap dispensers on the wall and if I knew it would have saved me some luggage allowance.

The food was good and never a repeat dish on the menu in the week we was there. Towards the end of the week my stomach was a bit off but my other half was fine. There was always plenty available and they always put freshly cooked food out throughout the service. The only disappointment was that the bread was always hard and not fresh.

The hotel itself was really nice and the staff are cery welcomming and despite picking on a few points above we would both definitely go back, as the resort was ideal for us. Its about a 5 minute walk to the beach, there are buses to all over the island. We took a trip to Caka d'Or, theres not much there but good if you want a nosey in the shops and theres the best ice cream shop over the road and just up a small hill in Cala d'Or. Also we hired a car for the day for €35 and went to Cala Millor, a market inland and went into Palma all on the same day.

Our last day at the hotel was amazing the weather improved as it was abit windy all week, and we spent our kast hoyrs pkaying in tge waves on a lilo on the beach, and the staff let us keep our all inclusive wristbands till we left despite checking out at 12 in the afternoon.

The best advice I coukd give is to hire a car to and fron the airport as with dropping everyone off in a shared transfer takes about 2 hours and we wouldn't have missed food if we where abit earlier.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned with a party of 45. All our rooms located on the newly refurbished 8th floor with stunning sea views. This a first class hotel, great location, good food, helpful reception and friendly restaurant & bar staff. Bus stop outside to all parts of the island. Sandy beach steps away with boat services to the north. Transfer time direct from airport 50 minutes

Room Tip: The 7th and 8th floors have been refurbished to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just got back from a week in Hotel Americas. We had a lovely time.
Before we went we were worried by some of the bad reviews but actually it was quite nice. People who moan about it make me wonder where they get their lofty expectations. Its a 3 star hotel at 3 star prices so how can anyone expect more that 3 star standards. Bearing in mind it generally costs less for a week there all inclusive that a nice hotel in England for one night room only!
Good bits.
View - Its right on the tip of the island so great views to the sea from most aspects of the hotel.
Beach - Right on the beach, a 2 min walk down some steps and your there.
All Inclusive food and drink till midnight. And they serve beer in pint glasses rather than the usual shot size glasses you get at AI.
Staff - all speak English, and they have some English staff on hand too so language berrier is not a problem.
Average Bits.
Food - The food was quite nice, just not always to my taste. As an island they use a lot of Pork which Im not mad on. Thats not necessarily hotel specific. There was usually a good variety of meat, fish, pasta and saled. Refreshed often. Desserts were not to my taste at all but they had fresh fruit too.
Entertainment - Adult entertainment was suprisingly funny, but its kind of what you make it. A few people sat around looking grumpy and rolling their eyes, but for those that joined in and made an effort it was a laugh. $ tops and Jackson 3 were good. You Bet is very funny!
Kids entertainment - Caters for all nationalities so some songs and bits for the kids are in German. The staff really make an effort though and they keep the kids engaged. Snake show and bird show are good.
Rooms - Basic but ok. No kettle or tea bits. TV only had 2 English channels.
Bad Bits.
Location - about 60 km from airport. If you transfer its about 2 hours, We hired a car and was about an hours drive. There is a little town there but at this time of year its not exactly buzzing but apparently gets better about June - July time. Because the hotel is on the very edge jutting out it gets battered by wind from all angles. Made it feel a bit chillier but this might be a god send in the really hot months.
Pools - They were freeeeeezing! The adult pool is 2.7m deep and is not heated so takes some serious sun t warm up.
No DO NOT DISTURB signs - Sounds stupid but we slept in til late most mornings and got woken a few times by the maids knocking. Would have liked to have a sign to get left alone.
Tips
Take towels for the beach. We didnt. I thought most hotels gave them out but this one doesnt. Although we just took the room ones and no one noticed.
Go to Porto Cristo. Its about 15 mins drive away ( I think they have a bus ) Its got a beautiful harbour and a sheltered beach with low winds and crystal clear waters.
Palma Aquarium - AMAZING!!!!! 23 Euros per adult under 4s free. Coaches take cost up a lot but if your driving its defo worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
5.9 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
#4 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globales America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales America

Property: Hotel Globales America
Address: Carrer Formentor, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales America 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Mallorca, Calas de Mallorca.Its privileged location in Cala Domingos, theree swimming pools on the sea surrounded. The Hotel has a total of 351 rooms, distributed as follows: 66 single rooms, 138 doubles, 113 triples and 35 quadruple or families rooms. Sea view, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Satellite TV, SAfe (with charge), Telephone, Hairdryer, mini-bar, Disabled facilities, the hotel has WI-FI zoen and Internet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Globales America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Majorca
America Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel America Mallorca
Hotel America Calas De Mallorca
America Calas De Majorca
Hotel Globales America Majorca/Calas De Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing