We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The better side of Mallorca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Presteigne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The better side of Mallorca”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked the Iberostar Cala Barca at short notice through the Thomas Cook Website. We wanted a short recuperative break in the sun within a couple of hours flying time and this seemed the best option. This was to be our third trip to the Island, the first being our honeymoon over 40 years ago and the second a visit with our young children more than 25 years ago. It is a very good location for a family holiday, and I would love to bring my own children and grandchildren here. The facilities are excellent, and all the staff seem to have a genuine concern that you are having a good time.
Although originally booked on half board, I contacted the hotel and upgraded to fully inclusive and requested a room with easy access to the central complex, which was arranged easily ( though at extra cost) and proved to be a wise choice. I would suggest that the only option here is fully inclusive, since the hotel is on its own away from other accommodation or bars.
The food choice is excellent, and the quality easily to restaurant standard. As many others have stated, booking the Medittaraneo restaurant is worthwhile if you want a more peaceful dining experience. I was not anticipating the numbers of children when I booked, but it really was no problem. The majority of families were German and Spanish, but I see this a good thing. It tends to mean the food is better. We travelled around the South andEast of the Island by car and did not see a better place.
This is the first Iberostar hotel we have been to and from this experience, they seem to be getting it right. Not the best choice for a romantic week here if you want personal service, but for a family, or for a couple like us who actually like children around, it is perfect.,

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank keithhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    872
    289
    94
    50
See reviews for
1,650
353
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel location is nice, although the beach with direct access from the Hotel is ugly. All is very clean, staff is friendly. Food is regular, far from being good or according to its "4 Stars".
If you are looking for a Hotel of good quality and service, don't go here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank UrsulaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Ursula,

First of all we thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca for your holidays in Majorca and for the time you spent to share a few lines with your personal impressions so we can take your vision into consideration to enhance our guests’ experiences among us.

We lament reading your comment on our gastronomy offer as it is one of the prime pillars of our company, being fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guest’s holidays; our professional chefs do their utmost to prepare a wide variety of local and international delights in order to please all palates, we are sorry to hear that we couldn’t conquer yours.

Moreover, we lament reading that the beach with direct access form the hotel wasn’t of your liking, however our location, within a walking distance to the Mondragò Natural Park, offers the possibility to enjoy its beautiful coves of turquoise water.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our installations.

Once again, thank you for your visit; we hope that your stay in Majorca was as pleasant as it could possibly be.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday with my daughter. Lovely clean hotel, and wonderful staff who cannot do enough to please you. The food is varied and delicious. Wonderful hotel for families but not if you want a nice quiet holiday. When we went for our meals the restaurant was very busy with the amount of people there. It would have been nice to have had a dining room for couples with no children as I for one like to enjoy my meals in a calm and quiet area, or staggered meal times as at peak times it was extremely busy. The beach is very small and nice and quiet but no chairs to sit on so was never very busy. A few chairs/sunbeds would have made such a difference as not everyone likes to lay on sunbeds around the pools. I would recommend for families but definitely not for older couples as many steps to and from accommodation to the restaurant, and people with walking problems would not cope. The best part of the holiday was definitely the staff and they should congratulate themselves on their customer service, and their wonderful catering staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had a lovely short stay at this hotel with my Husband & my 8 year old daughter. Clean ,with fantastic staff and great food. Quite a choice to eat just wish my belly was big enough to sample everything. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her time in the pool which was large enough for all, no fighting over space or sun loungers. Entertainment team were excellent and very professional, just as well as you are pretty isolated with this hotel. Nothing outside to wander to unless you walk a mile or two on a very rocky coastal path in the National Park - not advised during the night. Although a lovely hotel I don't think we'll be going back, its a hotel for the sun worshipers and kids who like to spend all day in the pool. The beach was a little disappointing for me. You could take a walk to Cala Mondrago over rough terrain not recommended for little ones in the heat, where there are peddle boats to hire. Even though I'm not a season traveller We did enjoy our time there, I know my daughter did and the holiday was more for her. Glad I bought a large inflatable for the pool, this added to her enjoyment. The onsite shops are well stocked and with quality products - food, gifts toys etc. I suppose there was no need to leave the hotel as everything you could want you could find or buy its just I'm a doer rather than a sun worshipper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Never done an all inclusive trip before, we usually do the opposite and do our own villa, so we were a bit wary to say the least. Didn't need to be the hotel lived up to all of its claims, the food was excellent, the staff especially the Kids reps were amazing and worked so hard. The place was spotless with cleaners constantly going round. Could not fault the variety of food on offer, one small complaint would of been if we could of had one restaurant that wasn't buffet service, it would of been nice to be waited on just one night of the week, but thats just being picky. The beach at the hotel is lovely we did visit other beaches but the one we had on the doorstep was just as nice if not nicer, we went snorkeling a couple of times and there are lots of fish to see in the cove. Happy to recommend and would definitely re-visit!

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the noise of the evening entertainment then ask for a sea view room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel with my brother we had gone away for a long chilling weekend, and read reviews before we left and looked at pictures, and we were very pleased with our break.
The hotel was very clean, i have never seen people work so hard as the staff in the hotel, and they dont complain, they were all very friendly, polite & happy.
We stayed all inclusive and the food was fabulous, a huge selection of hot, cold food 3 times a day, the variety was amazing.
The all inclusive drinks were great too, including cocktails!
I would recommend this hotel more for families as there were lots of young children although there were young/old couples etc there were more families!
Our room was perfect, cleaned daily, with a balcony.
The pools were great, with a pool side bar, the beach was very close to the hotel, although very small it was a perfect size for the hotel guests.
We took a taxi drive to cal a dor which cost €10 it was a lovely little town with lots of bars, our favourite was los amigos which offered great food & drink and the staff were so friendly!
There is a bus straight from the hotel too!
We also used the hotels spa, we treated ourselves to a full body massage each which was fabulous, would definately recommend!
All in all we had a fabulous break thanks iberostar!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natillypooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice hotel great location if you want a quiet holiday, just the hotel there nothing else. Can recommend walk through country park to next cala. Well worth the effort. Book the smaller restaurant its much better than the canteen though choice is restricted. Had a flood whilst there,room under several cm of rain water. Staff were fantastic in very difficult circumstances. Cleaned the room and made it safe and secure, we're very concerned about our welfare. Next day box of chocolates, nice touch. Not too many Brits there didn't find this a problem. Entertainment good. In fact good all round holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnbarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
37.2 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.7 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
35.7 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
No photo provided
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,313 reviews
32.0 mi away
No photo provided
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,536 reviews
30.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Address: Sa Barca Trencada, s/n, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congratulations, you have just found the Official Friendship Creator for your children: the hotel IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca. They will play and make inseparable friends here during their stay. And best of all? You will enjoy some free time while they have amazing experiences. Discover more reasons to choose our family hotel, just one minute’s walk from the beach and designed totally with children in mind. Fun for your children. Whatever their age, they will have a great time in the Miniclub, Maxiclub and Teenclub. Painting workshops, water games, handicrafts, minidisco…. They’re guaranteed to make friends! There are also dozens of shows for the whole family to enjoy, like musicals, magic shows and live music. The most comprehensive All Inclusive. This family hotel is so big and has so many facilities and restaurants that you’ll feel like you are in a small summer holiday village. Can you smell it? There is Mexican, Italian, Spanish and international cuisine. There are even food trucks and ice cream stands! And, of course, Mallorca’s most typical dishes. A thousand and one sports. At this All Inclusive hotel, you can take tennis and diving classes. You can also take part in dozens of other sporting activities such as hiking, Pilates, swimming, Zumba and archery. Holidays are the best time to do what you enjoy most! Ready, steady…, dive in! We have 8 swimming pools for all ages and a fun pool in which youngsters can enjoy a world of adventures. They can invade the castle, hide in the tunnels, slide down the water chutes or drench themselves under the big waterfall. Take a break. Try a massage with aromatherapy oils containing natural plant extracts in the SPA Sensations or enjoy a dip in the whirlpool bath with your partner while your children enjoy their activities. Just what you need! Idyllic beaches. Not only are you right on the sea front in Porto Petro, but you can also find other coves nearby in the Mondrago Natural Park. The green of the pine groves contrasting with the turquoise sea and the golden sands are sure to amaze you. Pure nature. There’s no better place than the Mondrago Natural Park to pack your rucksack and go on an excursion with your children. The kids will have the time of their lives watching the birds or seeing the waves crash against the cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca Cala Mondrago, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing