We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous resort for a family holiday with children.
The hotel is built around a cove with a small beach called Cala Barca.
The hotel is spotless clean.
There are 3 breakfast restaurants, 2 dinner restaurants plus beach restaurant but if you are All inc you still have to pay to eat at this one. Entertainment is provided every night for kids, a short stage show and mini disco, plus about an hours stage show for adults either singing dancing or comedy.
The food here is brilliant. There is a show kitchen in the main restaurant where chefs cook both meat and fish on a grill, plus there will be a main show dish. On our last night the show dish was huge salmon like I have never seen before and tasted sensationally. Plus there will be at least 5 other main course choices plus every side dish or salad you can think of. Amazing desserts and fresh fruit! Fortunately there are loads of activities included I joined in Zumba and aqua aerobics plus did a few other classes needed to due to my addiction to chocolate pancakes! There is a kids play area various kids clubs, diving, tennis, football volleyball an on site spa! I love this resort and have been here 3 out of the last 4 years. Cala mondrago about 20 mins away has 2 beautiful beaches, and there's a Star Fish catamaran that picks up in Cala Barca which is a great day trip. The staff are so friendly and always have a smile. The management team have an eye for detail and make sure everything is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,529)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day all inclusive holiday. We found the Hotel spotless, staff very friendly and helpful. Also a good choice of food, something for everyone.
As a couple we chose to eat in the Mediterranean restaurant each evening as it was quieter.
We would recommend the hotel for families as there is plenty to do. Some activities you may have to pay extra.
We hired a car for a few days, which was easy to do, and found Majorca a lovely island.
We have put it on our list for next year !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We chose a quiet room, a short walk from the main complex
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having read reviews asked not to be in block 11 or 12 but more central. Had to wait couple of hours for room in block 55 to be ready but no problem. Good central location but very noisy at night. Staff were all excellent, food great but not enough for vegetarians. Pools too cold to swim in. Good outdoor spin class though bikes need maintenance. People up at 730 to put towels on beds very annoying! Good childrens entertainment and hotel kids club was very good, well done paco and Ashley,
Would stay here again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank carol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently holidayed there. I was with my wife and 3 year old child. It was worth paying extra for a nice view. We had a stunning view of the sea from our room. Complex is very large and in a pretty remote location expect to walk a bit on site. It wasn't a problem for us as the facilities on site and near by are fine.

Pro's - Food & drink is of a decent quality all spirits were branded not local rubbish, there are 4 pools so plenty of choice, bars where in the main not too bad for queuing and staff are friendly and accommodating. Worthwhile pre-booking the Med Restaurant to avoid the madness of the buffet.

Con's - We came towards the end of half term and it was manic once the majority of older kids went home it was fine, the beach on site is pretty poor but you have a decent one about 20 mins walk away, walls are paper thin so you wouldn't want to be next to a 'noisy' couple who like to move furniture at various unsociable hours and various other activities! Wish the beach bar was part of the all inclusive as I would have liked to have relaxed there rather than listen to the 'entertainment'. There was plenty for kids to do on site such as a park, pool, kids club & evening entertainment although the latter was a bit repetitive.

Overall though I enjoyed it for a week not sure I could have stayed there for 14 days as been in one location with very similar food for each meal would have been too much,

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view and pre-book the restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JC_123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Iberostar Club Cala Barca, Cala D’Or

Pros
Spotlessly clean.
Pristine appearance.
Good entertainment, restaurant and bar staff.
Safe in room.
Towel rental was a great service.
Pros of Blocks 11 & 12.
Proximity to sandy beaches.
Proximity to Mondrago park - it’s literally behind block 11.
Quieter pool with good kids pool.
Less busy atmosphere - more relaxing.
Hotel transfer service.
Apartment cleaned every day and towels provided.
Lifeguard and burger bar until most of the day.

Cons
Hotel kids club - we didn’t even get one hour child free.
Customer service and reception staff attitudes.
Neighbours bag being taken from the poolside didn’t seem to warrant much attention.
We could not upgrade our accommodation.
Without a car the location leaves you dependent on the hotel.
Shortage of english speaking kids leaving ours fairly lonely and clingy.
The food is repetitive while murdered with salt and sauces.
Having to pay rental for the safe.
Cons of blocks 11 & 12.
Swimming pool broken and dangerous. Our son cut his foot very badly and we found tiles coming away from the pool floor.
Access is difficult for someone in bad health, especially 2 bed apartments of which there are none on the ground floor.
A good distance from the entertainment and activities.
Having to plan and pack for the day to avoid returning.
Self catering is very basic - cooker and fridge - kettles to hire.
All inclusive is difficult given it’s proximity to the restaurants while the pool bar only serves basic burger bar food, basic soft drinks and beer until 5pm.
Hotel transfer service being dependent on someone in reception answering the phone! Caller ID helps their screening I reckon.
Despite being all inclusive you can’t get a cup of coffee anywhere near your room or a drink of water unless the pool bar is open.

Scratching beneath the surface -

Our main challenge on this holiday was communication. It started with the communicating of our needs not being heeded. We have one person with health issues so requested close to centre. Neither Low-Cost holidays or Iberostar took the initiative to let us know this would not be possible with our booking despite numerous emails reiterating this.

The kids club. My willing and confident 9, 7 & 4 yr olds could not settle. Welcoming a 4 yr old with a tap on the head with a book while speaking a foreign language is not going to encourage them to join. The 7yr old did his best and lasted an hour - sitting on his own doing art while the others yapped away in different languages. The maxi club was a little better - but not much. We got one half day out of that.

The mini disco in Trabolgan is 100% better.

The hotels entertainment team shows were best. The Lion King was very good.

From early on I felt an attitude towards us, as guests staying in block 11 - a second class citizen attitude. On check in we were dismissively reassured that block 11 was fine - there’s a free transfer car and a bar by the pool. Note to Catherine - not all Irish people need a bar! The reception staff often came across as condescending. Our calls were not always answered - caller ID, block 11 perhaps?! This was all verified when out son cut his foot on the floor of the swimming pool. He bypassed the life guard who was busy, didn’t take it well when his Dad looked at it and came straight to me in our apartment. There was a trail of blood from the pool, the whole 4 flights of stairs to our apartment. We had to request a doctor, through reception. We were notified that we would have to pay the doctor - which we accepted with the intention of disputing it later on. This left us with the last two days of our holidays. one third of our stay, nursing a wounded 7 yr old, identifying the cause of the wound and debating whose responsibility it was. Instead of the hotel being concerned that someone had cut themselves in their pool they wanted us to pay for it and did not close the pool or warn people despite us identifying the problem. I removed a row of 4 tiles from the floor of the pool, identified and exposed dangerous edging but they did nothing to prevent it happening to someone else. They eventually paid the doctors bill - eventually being the emphasis here!

I’m sure if you are a family from Germany, Russia, Austrians, Spain, Poland or any other targeted countries, not Lowcost holidays and were staying in the hotel it is heaven. I’m sure if you know what the facilities are and you have a plan, blocks 11 & 12 are ideal. Lowcost holidays and online bookings do not afford you that insight.

Thank you to Marta for taking on our incident and treating it with as much seriousness as you could. Also Kay for following up on Martas concern. The family say thank you to Oscar and Mia at our pool.

To the other staff who could not understand why we would not expect to pay for a doctor ourselves I propose a trip to Ireland where we take responsibility for our customers care. We also treat everyone equally and have the courtesy to take their concerns seriously. I would hope that we would also reply to emails and take people’s needs into consideration prior to their stay.

Room Tip: Be prepared for blocks 11 & 12. Not the worst place in the world but plenty of walking and plann...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca hotel for your family holidays and for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.


Related to your booking and the request for a different accommodation we would like to point out that the reservation we received from your Tour Operator was for a family apartment including a kitchen and this kind of accommodation is only available on Block 11, we are sorry we couldn’t offer you an alternative and more central accommodation but our resort was fully booked at the time of your stay. Further, the information given by our receptionist at time of check in concerning the existence of a pool bar in your area was simple information that we give to all our guests independently of their nationality, we are sorry to hear that you took this personally. We strongly encourage you for any upcoming holidays planning, to contact our call center where we can offer a personalized booking guidance for you to choose the kind of hotel and accommodation in accordance to your needs and wishes.

Most importantly, related to your son being injured during your stay, we sincerely hope that his wound is completely healed at this time and we would like to point out that we have strict regular internal and external controls on quality and standards and that the tiles in the swimming pool have rounded corners in order to guarantee our guests safety, so we are very surprised about your comment regarding tiles coming out from the swimming pool. Moreover, it resulted that your son cut himself with a piece of glass and not a broken tile.

We took good note of your comments related to your disappointment on part of our staff. Nevertheless we would like to point out that in IBEROSTAR the service orientation and personalized attention towards our clients are of prime importance. We do all the possible to school our personnel so that they surpass guest expectation and work accordingly to our demanding quality standards. We find it very sad to read that you felt uncared for, most of all because we make no distinction between customers and have no targeted nationalities but are happy to be welcoming and friendly with every guest staying among us.

On the other hand we would like to thank you for highlighting how well maintained our hotel is, and how much you enjoyed the efforts of our housekeeping staff in charge of the cleaning of the rooms and our extensive grounds. We will certainly congratulate them as these kind of supporting comments help them to stay motivated and to keep up with the good work in the future.

Further, we thank you for your nice words towards our waiters and bar staff, as all of them work very hard to achieve complete guest satisfaction, we will pass on your comment as they will be delighted to be mentioned so positively in your review and to have contributed to your well-being whilst among us.

Last but not least we thank you for highlighting the beautiful location of our hotel, overlooking romantic coves and within a walking distance to the Mondrago’ Natural Park with its beautiful beach and its noteworthy ecological value, being one of the most picturesque corners of Majorca.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and to have the opportunity to may welcome you back among us to positively surprise you and cause an excellent and lasting impression through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our IBEROSTAR hotel standards.

Warmest regards to you and your family,

Online Reputation Manager
IBERSOTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel (Village).
Our first impression was not good as we were dispatched from the reception by car to our rooms (1170-1171). We had booked superior doubles, which this certainly was not. Back to reception and without any resistance at all yes we will upgrade you but not till Monday the Hotel is full. They then offered us rooms 5675 & 5671, which we looked at from the outside. They were in a much more central position and did not have the half mile walk to the restaurants and Bars. We moved on the Monday morning and the new accommodation was much better than the ones we left. I haven’t seen as many buggies and weans since I was last at Disneyland so if you are looking for a quiet relaxing week then this is not for you.
On the plus side the place is spotless. The dining is not really 4**** but it’s ok. Usual buffet and nothing is hot unless you get your omelette cooked in the morning and get something, fish or meat from the chef at dinner. Water, Juices and the drinks machine with coke, lemonade and fanta, water and beer on tap in the restaurants. The pool bars have the same but no spirits in any of the pool bars. There was 1500 in this hotel and 500 of them were under 5 years old. 65% German with Russians, French and Pols but not many English voices. Once settled in we did have a good holiday. 8 Euros in a taxi takes you into Cala d’Or and it’s nice to get away for the night. We ate at the Marina there and it was excellent and had a couple of drinks and listened to a singer in one of the bars in town. The Beach at Mandrago (10 min walk) is very nice and the sea is so clear and great for a swim. It has bars and restaurants, which are reasonably priced. Entertainment at the Hotel is done nightly by the Animation team and is geared for the kids. The team work very hard all day long and have to be given credit for what they do but we booked dinner for 9pm each evening in the Mediterraneo Restaurant which was smaller and quieter than the BHS Canteen which had 50 or more Buggies parked outside it every evening from 6pm – 8.30.

Final note…on checking out we handed in our safe key and the Asst Manager told us to email the next time and he would make sure we were allocated a proper room. I replied that I had emailed on the Tuesday before we arrived. But I had only asked to have rooms together “not for a refurbished room”. Didn’t think they would allocate a depressing old room to a “Superior Double Booking”. If you are going email them and ask for Block 55 or 56, very central for all amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Blocks 55 & 56 are in a great position for all amenities. Great plac...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Family of 5 Back from a weeks hol at cala barca, had a great week. Hotel is spotlessly clean and very friendly. Food is very good with a large choice, can be really busy at peak times. We found it better to book a table at the Mediterranean restaurant each evening. Most of the pools are super cold and it put the kids off going in them, but they were fine in the heated pool. You need to be out early to get a sun bed in a good spot. Beach is ok but not great for young kids who want to make sandcastles. Great calm water for swimming/snorkelling. We found the beach at cala mondrago better for us, it takes about 40mins pushing a double buggy and a slow walking 4yr old, could easily be done in 20mins with no young kids. Evening entertainment is ok the kids loved following smiley round after the kids show. Our only complaint was that we were put in block 48 on the 2nd floor with no lifts. It's a little walk over the road and up the hill from the main resort. The room is great, and has 2 pools very near but just impossible with 3 young children. Spoke to reception straight away and they offered to move us but couldn't give us a room on the ground floor for 2 days! I ended up paying for one of their superior rooms and moved the next day it is 26euro a night supplement,it was on the ground floor and in the best position for bars, restaurants , park, pools , shops but well worth the money. Overall a great time and would go back. Thanks to all the staff there who work super hard to make it what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mattac0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
0.7 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
31.7 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
33.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#8 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,413 reviews
32.0 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Address: Sa Barca Trencada, s/n, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price Range: $179 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca hotel is located in the amazing Sa Barca Trencada enclave, on the edge of the Mediterranean Sea and close to the Mondrago Natural Park in Mallorca. This 4-star hotel is a paradise for families with children due to its services and facilities, as it features large family rooms with excellent installations, eight pools for guests of all ages and a fun pool, tennis classes, diving classes, night-time shows, Miniclub, Maxiclub, and Teenieclub... a bit of everything so that your family holiday is just perfect. Plus, the Club Cala Barca hotel invites you to enjoy an all inclusive stay complete with five restaurants serving international cuisine, four bars, food trucks, ice cream stands, Sea Soul Beach Club, as well as SPA Sensations, free Wi-Fi, night-time shows and direct access to a lovely beach with pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca Cala Mondrago, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing