We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not very good hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Would not stay again rooms to far away rooms not that big for 2 adults an 2 children to far out from any where also to exspensive to many steps also kids running about in dinning area when hot foods being carried about

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank susieq00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are unhappy not to have been able on this occasion.

We do appreciate your commentaries, as they help us to improve.
We hope that your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be, and we hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again and cause an excellent and lasting impression, through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our Iberostar hotel standards.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    873
    289
    94
    50
See reviews for
1,652
353
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Club Cala Barca with my husband for a long weekend in September.

Arrived late on Friday evening and were told we were in block 12. Following previously reviews we complained and were very reluctant to go to the room. The guy checking us in said they may be able to move us in the morning. I begrudgingly agreed and actually felt a bit silly when we got to the room. I think I was imagining a prison cell based on what I had read but the room was large, clean and right by a pool.

The following day we were upgraded to a more modern room closer to the reception. However, we still choose to go back to the pool by block 11 & 12 each day as it was a lot quieter.

We did pay for premium all inclusive which entitled you to a spa treatment, premium drinks and use of the a la carte restaurant. This made our trip to be honest. The food, service and drinks were superb and well worth the additional £20 a day.

Location is lovely. I would recommend a walk around the mondrago national park to the stunning beaches.

Overall great hotel, food, staff and location. Thanks for a nice, long weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed during October school week, this was our 2nd visit to Club Barca this year and were not disappointed, by far this is the friendliest hotel that i have came across and cannot praise the staff highly enough, big thanks, to the Iberostar animation staff, Cristina, Marko, Pana, Marina, Louisa & Alex, for ensuring that our 4 yr old had a fantastic time, amazing people & genuinely friendly. The bar/restaurant & reception are also super friendly and efficient. The complex is always kept in immaculate condition, the food is of a very good standard & the entertainment for children & adults is not only funny but very professional. It is a fantastic complex, for chilling or keeping fit, the gym is excellent, and big thumbs up to Sabrina for keeping us fit at the spin fit classes (outside) while our daughter was in the kids club. There are also numerous tennis courts (free if you take your own rackets) and bike hire available. The rooms were cleaned every day and well layed out. I personally think this hotel has something for everyone, you can get involved as much or as little as you want during the day in terms of sports or chilling by the pool and excellent entertainment at night time. As we enjoyed our holiday's so much we never left the complex , although I believe the night life was about 7km away.

Finally i would like to give a big thanks to Kay from reception when after leaving jewellery at the hotel, she went out of her way to return it, in her own time & expense as the hotel has just closed for the season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Iberostar Cala Barca from August 23 to September 2nd 2012 and that was our worst family holiday to say the least! The management seem to be posting very lengthy reply to the reviews by Tripadvisor members and describing it as ‘ haven on earth; and ‘ paradise for families ‘ – what a lot of rubbish! I lodged a complaint about the issues we had had throughout our 10 day stay on our departure and kept a copy which was meant to be forwarded to the Quality and Customer Services Relationship Department of Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for a response. It’s now been almost 2 months since we returned home but we haven’t heard from Iberostar. They are very quick to post replies on this board though. But at the end of the day what difference does it make to you when your holiday is over and you feel you’ve been totally ripped off ?

I can only confirm that all recent reviews are totally true, i.e.
• All the British/ Irish families are put in Blocks 11/12 which are not even on the map of the resort!!! They give you a black and white photocopy to help you find it! We felt that the management either had a problem with the British or knew that they just wouldn’t complain and stay put. We’ve met quite a few people who actually did complain, after a day or a couple of days were moved to the room where they should have been by right from the start and all that time was wasted packing/ unpacking which meant we didn’t actually feel we were on holiday, it was all very stressful with 3 young children.
• Cattle market / meal times- absolutely horrific! On the first night we had to queue outside the main restaurant to get a table, the noise, the queue, the crowds can only be compared to a football match- three times a day!!! Breakfast was a joke. Do you normally have lots of biscuits or peas and carrots from the night before? That’s what was on offer most mornings.
• Bars- never got a drink without queuing for good 10 minutes. Snack bars by the pool- they either close at 5 pm or are infested with wasps so can’t eat or drink there anyway.
• Beaches- the one on site is so dirty and has big sharp rocks in the sea, kids can’t use it. The other beach which you have to walk to is much nicer but is not accessible with a pushchair.
• Traffic and cars parked on both sides of the road going through the complex.

To top it all off, two of our children had their toes cut in the BABY pool near Blocks 11/12 and were treated by a lovely pool guard as the cuts were quite deep and there was a substantial blood loss. This happened on two separate occasions. The pool had broken tiles at the bottom and a sharp drop on one side making it very unsafe for young children.

Then on the last day of our holiday, there was a different lifeguard by our pool and as she was obviously desperate to finish for the day and had to stack all the sun loungers , she was moving people’s towels off them and also butting in my husband’s conversation with another British holiday maker and said ’ You, help me’ – unbelievable!!

To sum up, the whole experience was so bad I wanted to go home after 3 days. What a waste of a holiday and hard-earned cash! Please view the pictures we took whilst there and DO NOT GO!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank GlossopDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Madame,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully and during November we have been carrying out a thorough follow up of your particular case together with the hotel and our Quality and Customer Services Relationship Department and we are very sorry to must inform you that we have no record of your claim. Therefore we kindly invite you to resend the copy of the complaint you lodged in order to clarify the matter.

The opinion of our guests is very important and valuable to us and we are convinced that taking your feedback seriously is the best way to regain your trust for Iberostar and ensure that our standards are maintained and developed. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and reading that on this occasion we weren´t successful, saddens us deeply.

We would be delighted to may serve you again and offer you an ideal and splendid holiday through the accomplishment of our demanding quality standards designed to guarantee a satisfying stay regardless of your origin, background or nationality.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First impressions were good. Lovely setting (although very isolated), spacious reception, check in quick and efficient. However, I was overcharged by 10 euro on deposit for a towel and he room safe, and when I questioned it the receptionist slapped an additional 10 euro change onto the counter rather reluctantly.

Room in Block 45 was spacious and clean but had to wait an hour for luggage to be brought. Microwave supplied (for heating baby food?) but would rather have had tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of storage.

The first couple of days were fine but then there was a sudden influx of guests and after that it was mayhem. 90% of guests were of a certain nationality, but it only takes a handful to ruin a holiday which is what happened to me. Whilst queuing for a plate for an evening meal, I was pushed to one side, elbowed in the face resulting in a bruised cheek, bruised nose and bent glasses. There was really no need for this. I was constantly jostled to the extent that I could hardly get to the food to see what was available and this continued for the rest of my holiday. It was like a cattle market. I only had breakfast and a snack for the last couple of days. To add insult to injury, after every initial greeting in Spanish by the staff, I was spoken to in German!!

The food seemed ok, and there were areas in the restaurant where you could help yourself to tea/coffee/wine etc depending on time of day. The terrace overlooking the main pool was lovely for a drink (if you could get a table) at any time of day or night.

By the pool that I used (by block 45/46) there was a 'snack' bar. Unfortunately there were no snacks and no bar. You could help yourself however to pepsi, coke, lemonade etc.

Pool beds are locked every night (rightly so in my view) and on the few occasions they weren't it was due to a planned 'photoshoot' in the morning.

In summary, it should have been a good holiday but the hotel didn't seem to be able to cope with the number of guests it had which made my stay quite unpleasant.

Room Tip: Block 45 seemed ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimkeohane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

We would like to apologize that you perceived the mealtimes less relaxing than you expected, we do our best to offer quality cuisine in an unsurpassed setting. We took good note about the difficulty you experienced to enjoy the restaurant or terrace at rush hours and we will do our best find solutions to expedite this matters. We are awfully sorry about your injuries and bent glasses. Hopefully you are completely recovered by now. Nevertheless, we would like to point out that normally the coexistence of different nationalities is not an issue in Iberostar Cala Barca. We receive many locals, Europeans and foreigners from over the whole world and usually this isn´t provoking any difficulty as we try to make all of them live an unforgettable holiday on the island of Mallorca.

During high season when our hotel is fully booked, we try our very best to guarantee that the quality of all our services remains at the demanding level of our standards and that all guests feel comfortable and well attended. To achieve this we increase the number of employees to handle quick and efficient in all areas. Additionally, we lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training to provide the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for.

As it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation, we enjoyed reading your description of the lovely setting In the pine woods next to the small cove of Barca Trencada and the spacious, clean rooms that are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all delighted to have you at the Iberostar Cala Barca. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, in the meantime, remain at your entire disposal for any further enquiry you may have.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for a week in September 2012 on an all inclusive package, with two children aged four and one. We found the Hotel to be excellent, good facilities,nice room (Block 40 something)Ask for ground floor if your kids will be using the bedroom. Access to the room is through the bedroom, so if they're in bed you're a prinsoner on the balcony for the evening!!!! The resturants were spotless, good service the food is nice but a bit samey as most all inclusive set ups are. We found snacks and coffees etc to be good, ask for a coffee from the balcony area bar rather than using the machines, much nicer. The grounds are lovely, plenty of locations to choose from but the space around the main pool area is a bit tight. A beatuiful and peaceful if remote location, but plenty to do. We didnt leave all week.

The only niggles we had were that check in was a bit slow, go for dinner early as the resturants get really busy and with having two young kids we went back to the room early and found the bar staff pulled a face if you asked for more than two drinks. No chance of taking a bottle back : (

The other reviews are right about the 'demographics', 5% British, but didnt find this a problem at all. The kids were a bit confused initially when approached by foreign kids but quite amusing to watch them get over the language barrier.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you've got kids in bed early. Enables easy access to the bar!!!!! Some blocks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BingleBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel I was told we wasn't booked In!!! They then admitted theyd double booked so at 3 am in the morning decided to move us to a different hotel for a night! The next morning we arrived back to still have no room!!!! We finally got a room which was poor but at least we ad a place to stay! The hob in the room was a death trap & no kettle in the room was a surprise! I asked for a kettle to be sent to the room & the response was we have none! I complained & magically 1 appeared! The TV sound was adhoc & again reported this but nothing was done! Speaking to other holiday makers many had, had problems! On my departure I was given a bill for 200 euros which I ended gettin down to 30 euros due to incompetence once again by hotel staff!!! The plus side of this place are the pools and the beach. If you want to be away from civilisation this is the place to be if not stay away! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone & will certainly never return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnnyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

We are awfully sorry that neither the accommodation nor the service could fulfill your expectations. We do our utmost to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as possible. In order to achieve total client satisfaction we undertook a complete renovation which elevated it to a new level of elegance with attention to every detail. Guestrooms have been refurbished to maximize comfort. Other hotel features that have undergone refurbishments include the buffet, lobby bar, and pizzeria, while new innovations have been implemented as well such as new common and sporting areas, terraces, and furniture. Further, we lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training to provide the close and personalized service is famous for.

On the other hand, we rejoice that you enjoyed our pool areas and the amazing beaches of our surroundings. It is very important to us that our guests take some unforgettable holiday memories back home.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration and we kindly invite you to visit us again to find a very enjoyable experience at the Iberostar Club Cala Barca.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
37.2 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.7 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
35.7 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,314 reviews
32.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,536 reviews
30.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Address: Sa Barca Trencada, s/n, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congratulations, you have just found the Official Friendship Creator for your children: the hotel IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca. They will play and make inseparable friends here during their stay. And best of all? You will enjoy some free time while they have amazing experiences. Discover more reasons to choose our family hotel, just one minute’s walk from the beach and designed totally with children in mind. Fun for your children. Whatever their age, they will have a great time in the Miniclub, Maxiclub and Teenclub. Painting workshops, water games, handicrafts, minidisco…. They’re guaranteed to make friends! There are also dozens of shows for the whole family to enjoy, like musicals, magic shows and live music. The most comprehensive All Inclusive. This family hotel is so big and has so many facilities and restaurants that you’ll feel like you are in a small summer holiday village. Can you smell it? There is Mexican, Italian, Spanish and international cuisine. There are even food trucks and ice cream stands! And, of course, Mallorca’s most typical dishes. A thousand and one sports. At this All Inclusive hotel, you can take tennis and diving classes. You can also take part in dozens of other sporting activities such as hiking, Pilates, swimming, Zumba and archery. Holidays are the best time to do what you enjoy most! Ready, steady…, dive in! We have 8 swimming pools for all ages and a fun pool in which youngsters can enjoy a world of adventures. They can invade the castle, hide in the tunnels, slide down the water chutes or drench themselves under the big waterfall. Take a break. Try a massage with aromatherapy oils containing natural plant extracts in the SPA Sensations or enjoy a dip in the whirlpool bath with your partner while your children enjoy their activities. Just what you need! Idyllic beaches. Not only are you right on the sea front in Porto Petro, but you can also find other coves nearby in the Mondrago Natural Park. The green of the pine groves contrasting with the turquoise sea and the golden sands are sure to amaze you. Pure nature. There’s no better place than the Mondrago Natural Park to pack your rucksack and go on an excursion with your children. The kids will have the time of their lives watching the birds or seeing the waves crash against the cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca Cala Mondrago, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing