We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, fun, friendly Ferrera Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferrera Beach Apartments
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab, fun, friendly Ferrera Beach”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in Ferrera Beach apartments for 10 days and had an excellent holiday. We were in Block A which is next to the adults only swimming pool. This was an excellent recent addition and made our holiday. The main pool is nice but there were lots of children and not a huge amount of sunloungers. The adults only pool was a great place to relax and read a book. No morning rush for sunloungers. Went down to the pool around 10am each day and there were plenty of sunloungers. The charge for using the adults only pool was 5 Euros per person for the duration of your stay (not 5 Euros per day as some reviews have stated). My only criticism was that there was no information stating that the pool was adults only or that there was a small charge. The gate was locked so we just asked at reception.

The reception and cleaning staff are all very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was basic but clean. We did not have enough cooking equipment so we asked for extra pots and there arrived promptly.

The main town is about a 15 minute walk from the apartment but there are plenty of bars and restaurants along the way. The main town is excellent. It is full of restaurants and bars and is very lively. Our favourite bar was Bar Diferent which was always busy, played up to date music and was open until the early hours.

The marina is well worth a visit. There is a cheap bus that takes you there but this seemed to stop at 8pm. A taxi cost approx 6 Euros. There are loads of very nice restaurants and bars to choose from. We felt that the standard of restaurants at the marina was higher that in the town but also slightly more expensive.

The weather was also fantastic. There was barely a cloud in the sky and the temperature around low 30's during the day and high 20's in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    153
    79
    31
    30
See reviews for
205
123
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

room ok, dirty cushions on settee. room not cleaned for four days but when i complained they came straight away then every other day. food ok. The infinity pool was amazing and this made the holiday, we paid 5 euro's each per stay but well worth it, had four poster beds and jacuzzi and plenty of sunloungers. No showers if you have a late checkout though, lucky for us we made friends with people in neighbouring hotel and used their . facilities, having said this i would return. town centre within walking distance.Go Carabels pub, happy hour 8 till 12 every night, great atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiescoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just returned from Ferrera Beach - initially disappointed with the apartment as the view was straight into the restaurant. I did ask if there were any others available but they never came back to me! We did get used to it and it did mean we had a large terrace.The apartments are small and don't expect to be able to cook much as they are equiped with only the basics (no wine glasses!) Air con only in lounge area. The maid service was very good, frequently changed sheets and clean towels. Although no washing up liquid or tea towels etc. There was absolutely no information in the apartment. Reception/restaurant/pool opening times etc would have been useful. Agree with previous comments re lack of sunloungers, be prepared to queue for one at 9.00am when they are unlocked. Having said all this - staff very friendly and helpful, great location (just quiet enough but plenty of restaurants etc in walking distance)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cognata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and expected the hotel on the web site, not one of 6 blocks they own within the local area! We were in a block that contain 8 basic apartments over 4 floors with a small swimming pool. The main hotel looked just like it does on the web but i think they should not market the 2 bedrooms this way.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Other than that we enjoyed the holiday and the area. Cala d'Or is 15 minutes walk away up and down steep hills so anyone with walking issues should not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Having read the reviews before I went I was a little worried. We arrived in the middle of the night and the general area of our apartment was pointed out to us. I quickly realised that all the requests i had asked for were all ignored even though I had booked 10 months in advance. They hadn't tried to acommodate my needs at all! The apartment was small even though it was superior the balcony was also tiny, there was a big shower which was powerful (so powerful infact that the head would fly off! but the bathroom itself was tiny, you couldn't get to the toilet unless you shut the door. The room is cleaned every other day but there is no brush for the floor for in between cleans which is difficult if you have 3 small children to clean up after. The pool is a good size and mainly clean although some days it was cloudy and there was a lot of hair in the pool (oiff putting!) The main problem was that you had to queue for a bed from about 8.15/ 8.30 this was a nightmare. There really isn't enough beds for the size of the hotel!!! One day we saw a fight about to happen! Yes there is an adult pool but what they fail to tell you is that you have to pay to use it! €5 a day each! We were half board (thank goodness as you couldn't cook for 5 people in the apartment) and the food in the Aqua was OK but some days it was terrible but it was cheap so that was a godsend,( i wouldn't pay for the food off the menu) but the restaurant was very hot no air con and the staff here were miserable! The pool bar staff were lovely, friendly and fun! Overall the place was OK but I wouldn't rush back to stay there, there are many other places in Cala d'Or that I would like to try out!!!

Room Tip: Don't ask for anything as they won't try to acommodate your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I just came back from Spain and I can say that I am satisfied. Rooms are very clean, maybe not big as it looks on web site, but I can recommend Ferrara beach apartments even for families with small children.

Room Tip: Find BIP supermarket near hotel, it's cheaper than Spar supermarket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cimbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We came back on the 10th June from 10 nights stay at the Ferrera Beach Apartments with our 11 month old baby. We stayed in a superior room and glad we did. We could not fault the apartments themselves, they were modern, nice balconies, great bathrooms with lovely big shower and very clean. The rooms were serviced every other day which was great! We had no problem sleeping, the rooms had brilliant black out curtains. Our main issue was that there were lots of steps and we had to go up 4 flights of steps with the puschair but we soon got used to it! We could see the end of the beach from our balcony but it was down a very steep hill as was the Al Aqua restaurant which was amazing! We were not half board so cannot comment on the buffet food but we went for a meal and it was beautiful. The pool is fabulous though a little cold as the weather wasn't too good when we were there. There was also a new adult only pool due to open soon which looked fabulous. We really recommend the apartments if you can deal with the steps and steep hill to the beach so do not rule it out if you are taking young children but just be warned you may have to do some lifting of pushchairs! We definately do not recommend it if you have mobility problems. The beach was very busy and sunbeds 11 euro a day which was outrageous so best to buy you own parasol or go to the nearby beach Cala Serena which is beautiful but no facilities so not very busy. Again there are lots of steps to the beach so we had to carry the pushchair but it is worth it as the sand and sea are lovely. Baby products are expensive in the local shops so we recommend take your own unless you can get to a big supermarket. We found all local restaurants were very baby friendly and highchairs lovely and clean. Cala D'or istelf is very commercial but it was lovely where the apartments were so you don't have to go into it. The marina was amazing (5/6 euro each way in a taxi) and restaurant prices not too bad either (in the scheme of things) as we did find things quite expensive compared to the UK. We also went to Palma for the day which is definately worth a visit and the beautiful Cala Mondrago. All in all good time just wish we had had better weather!

Room Tip: Book a superior room - they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthwichKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
0.5 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Hotel Cala Ferrera
#29 of 46 in Cala d'Or
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrera Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrera Beach Apartments

Property: Ferrera Beach Apartments
Address: Calle Forn 76 | Cala Ferrera, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferrera Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferrera Beach is an Apartment complex located in southeast Mallorca, next to Cala Ferrera beach, in Cala d’Or. Being modern, functional and eco-friendly in its design, the complex blends in harmoniously with the natural beauty of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ferrera Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrera Beach Apartments Hotel Cala d`Or
Ferrera Beach Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing