We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quite, relaxing holiday, but won't be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferrera Beach Apartments
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quite, relaxing holiday, but won't be going back”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just arrived back from a 10 day stay at Ferrera beach apartments on a half board basis. There was a problem with our original booking, so were told we were upgrading to a superior room. After looking at the 360 pictures on the website, we were quite suprised on how small the apartment was, when we arrived. However, it was clean and in a nice location. The beds are very hard and there are alot of sliding doors, which may be tricky with young children.
We were disapointed with the pool, as the was a small paddling pool that my kids (age 5 and 6) found too shallow to be intrested in. The large pool starts at over a meter deep with only a shakey step ladder to get in. So they had to be watched at all times, although they are both excellent swimmers.
The resteraunt, al aqua, was very nice. My only complaint would be lack of catering for children and not very good english speaking, as a couple of times we ended up with the wrong food or drink. The staff were friendly and as helpful as possible.
At the start of the holiday, it was quite, and therefore had a pick of the sunbeds, however as it got busier at the end of the stay, it seemed as though there was not enough to cope with all the guests.
I also would not take the flat screen t.v into account, as we could only find 2 english channels! You can also hear anyone above flushing there toilet, as it passes through.
The air con is free but the wi fi costs 1 euro per day to connect to their provider.
Be wary on arrival times, as the reception shuts at 12pm until 8am. As we found on our last day, while waiting for our transfer shuttle,a man had been waiting outside to check in from 6am!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0_sun_seeker_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    153
    79
    31
    30
See reviews for
205
123
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

These apartments were great as a cheap deal, although a little overpriced. The apartment was very basic, and the futons in the living room could do with replacing, but they are okay if you're on a short break - I wouldn't want to sleep on them for more than 1 or 2 nights. The beds however were great! First ten minutes was odd as they were very different from our own mattress at home, but were fabulous once you got comfy!

We arrived late at night and had to collect keys from the receptionist in the adjoining hotel, and he was great, clearly knew where he was going and so this appeared to be a regular arrangement for arrivals after 9pm.
Our kitchenette was missing a few items when we arrived, but as reception wa closed we had to wait til morning before we could report it, and by the time we'd eaten breakfast in the hotels restauarnt , our items had been replaced!
The breakfast in that hotel was amazing value. From what we could gather the hotel and apartments are either owned by the same people, or once upon a time they were, as they share the pool. The breakfast had everything you could imagine from a continental breakfast, cold meats and cheeses, patisserie, cereals, fruit, as well as hot food which varied slightly every day. There was also a coffee and juice machine, and this was all just €7.50 pp self service.

The area was very quiet with only a few hotels, and a small beach which had plenty of room and beds with parasols. There is also a couple of boat trips that run from the beach to other local bays, and to the local ports. If you don't fancy the beach but want to sunbathe, the apartments have a couple of balinese beds round by the outdoor jacuzzi (which unfortunately did not work when we were there) which get sun nearly all day.

The town was about 30 minutes walk with an array of restaurants, bars and shops (and even a market one evening) on the way, but the hotel were also great at ringing a taxi for you if you needed it, and as we were women without any men I think the guy that phoned asked for a female driver too as all 3 times we had a female take us into town!

The town is definately the best place for food, where you find almost any food you want, although we struggled to find many tapas bars until we'd already eaten on our last night!

Room Tip: Wake early to secure a spot on the balinese beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donkey391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Cala d or itself was brill, 3rd time their, but next time i will rebook for previous apartments that were not open this early...

rooms basic, crap shower, crap staff, no english. greeted by a spanish man, took us to wrong room at first, and had to walk with 3 bags and a 3year old to our room.

not near the pool at all, balcony very small, room towels etc cleaned daily which is good, rest the place hated. locals complained of us making noise one night.. with a 3yr old crying... what can you do, they put a notice on room door, and that got me going. stright to reception to let my view on the matter....

never again

Room Tip: book for what you know
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala d'Or hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at Ferrera Beach Apartments. Had booked the superior room but not quite sure what was superior about it!! It was spacious enough for three of us, beds hard and bedroom seemed damp (as did our clothes when we took them out of the wardrobe). Apartment was clean with maid service every day of our stay. Pool area nice with pool bar except you couldn't get any sunbeds if you turned up later than 11.00am! Short walk downhill to the beach which was lovely but we discovered a gem just around the corner in Cala Serena - absolutely picture perfect beach.

Resort was quiet but may have just been the time of year. 15 minute walk from the apartment takes you into Cala D'or town centre which was lovely. Lots of restaurants and things to see. A trip to the Marina is a must.

All in all, Ferrera Beach Apartments were perfect for our needs and having got our apartment cheaply, not much to complain about - apart from only getting news channels on the satellite tv!! Would definitely recommend though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank password1Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We arrived at about 1am and were greeted by a bloke that didn’t speak a word of English, who took us in "his own car" (a worrying start) round the corner to what he said was our apartment, it wasn’t! So not a good start.
Our room was tidy and there were some nice touches but needed a good clean there seemed to be alot of dust and bread crumbs on the floors and sides. The whole apartment was in desperate need of a revamp the door handles didn’t work so we were unable to close them. The bathroom was in a poor condition all the fittings were degrading. The shower was cheap and didn’t really shower you, mainly the floor.We had a kitchenette area with the bare minimum of cooking equiptment and i had to ask for a toaster. What is it with the hob kettle that takes an age to boil come on its the 21st century!
The pool area was nice and it appeared there’s another pool that would be opened soon. We stayed during the low season and could rarely get a sun bed by the pool not due to lack of space but lack of beds.
The beach is only a short walk away and is very nice but isn’t visible from any part of the hotel contrary to what the hotels website pictures would have you believe.
The location is good only a 800m walk into the centre however there is little to do mainly restaurants and bars so wouldn’t recommend the area if you wanted water parks shows etc as they are all miles away. When we left were we asked if we had a nice stay? No we’ve had your money now we don’t care.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmanus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We arrived on 16th October for a 7 day rest. We were greeted at reception and asked if we would like to upgrade for just €15 extra per night. We accepted, and I would highly recommend the upgrade.
A stunning beach (blue flag) is only a 2 minute walk away, and was clean and spacious. There are numerous beaches to explore, all within a 15 minute walk - althought some require a steep climb.
The local town is dotted with restaurants and bars, but I would recommend to keep walking, and your'll soon arrive at a more thriving town where the choice is over-whelming.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ferrera Beach Appartments, and would seriously consider visiting again.

My little niggles:
We had no Toaster or Coffee maker provided (which should be standard with a superior upgrade) despite notifying reception.
Avoid: 'Andy's Bar' - we tried the so called 'Tapas' but I could make better myself.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_Feathers_McGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I vacationed here in October, 2010. When we vacation, we either go all-inclusive or self-catering, depending on how much money we want to spend. We chose self-catering this time to save money on restaurants.

We had a superior apartment. Apparently, if you do not go superior, you do not get a microwave, coffee machine, or toaster and have to rent them. The superior apartment was decent. It was mostly clean, except for a few dust bunnies under the bed. The shower was lovely and we had no problems with hot water. The kitchen had basic supplies, but it had a wine opener and pots and pans so we were more then happy. The beds were incredibly hard.

The walls are very thin, but I am senstive to noise so it may not bother some. We could hear children playing from across the street, and every time someone above us flushed the toilet, we could very clearly hear the path it traveled.

It was close to beaches and to shops, which was nice. We didn't go to the pool, except once to see the hot tub, which did not work.

Overall, it was an enjoyable trip, but we would probably not go back, and instead try out a different hotel in the area. I'd recommend this hotel to someone who wants to save money all around, doesn't mind a few dust bunnies, and doesn't have a problem with noise.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Jo238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
0.5 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Hotel Cala Ferrera
#29 of 46 in Cala d'Or
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrera Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrera Beach Apartments

Property: Ferrera Beach Apartments
Address: Calle Forn 76 | Cala Ferrera, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferrera Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferrera Beach is an Apartment complex located in southeast Mallorca, next to Cala Ferrera beach, in Cala d’Or. Being modern, functional and eco-friendly in its design, the complex blends in harmoniously with the natural beauty of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ferrera Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrera Beach Apartments Hotel Cala d`Or
Ferrera Beach Apartments Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing