We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Sea Es Bolero
Nearby Hotels
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$69
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cala d'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$153
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sentido Tucan(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel(Cala d'Or)
$171
$162
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Ponent Playa(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$87
$83
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sea Club Martha's(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hostal Leo D'or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
$100
$63
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
40
50
28
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
50
28
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub marthacala egosevery other dayminute walkself cateringeroski supermarkethotel entertainment isfootball pitcha ground floor apartmenton arrivalgreat holidaycleaned timesapartment was very cleanone bedroom apartmentliving roomwestern steakhousekettle toaster
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 132 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This accomodation is NOT in Cala D'Or, it is in Cala Egos. Cala D'Or is about 15 minutes walk for an able bodied person, otherwise a 5 minute taxi ride (5.5 euros) or 20 land train ride (2 euros single/3.50 euros return).

We stayed in room 406 at the Es Bolero apartments on a B & B basis, purely because when booking through lowcostholidays.com B & B was the same price as self catering.

When checking in the main area (in Club Martha's Reception), the Reception area was lovely, modern and clean. We were given a map to point us in the direction of our room but it was difficult to find. We had to get a security guard to help us find it.

In contrast to Reception, the room itself was very small and dated. The double room was made up of 2 single beds, the mattresses were of differening heights. The separate sleeping facility in the living area was a single sofa with a pull out bed underneath. The pull out bed underneath was very used and should have been replaced a long time ago, when laying on it, the springs sank to the floor and didn't provide any support at all. There was also a frosted window which let the outside light into the room and could not be covered due to the lack of curtains or facility to hang some kind of garment over it at night.

In the kitchen area, the front of the cutlery drawer was coming off on one side, there was a sink but no draining board and the cooking facilities consisted of a 2 ring electric hob. There isn't a kettle, toaster, microwave or oven (as we were B&B a toaster wasn't required but anyone staying self catering may want to bear this in mind).

The bathroom was much more up to date with marble and chrome finishings.

The cleaners visited every other day and left fresh towels and bed linen. The room smelt lovely and clean afterwards but I'm not sure if the tiled floors were vacuumed or mopped during our stay of 10 days.

There is air conditioning included in the living area/kitchen/additional sleeping area, and a second unit in the main bedroom. The units are relatively quiet, can be timed and have a remote control.

The TV supplied is a small, old style TV which must be rented, 14 euros per week plus an additional charge for the remote. (I would suggest taking a portable DVD player or equivalent instead). If you prefer to have TV for the evenings etc, perhaps buy a remote from a pound shop to take with you before you arrive.

The food for breakfast consisted of various pastries, cold meats and cereals. There is a tea/coffee machine and a fruit juice machine. Chefs are on site who prepare the hot breakfast food, some of which was nice but other options e.g. boiled potatoes and green beans, didn't seem appropriate to us but may have been suitable for other nationalites staying there.

There are 3 swimming pools, the 2 main ones can be found easily behind Reception with the 3rd located behind the furthest apartment block - this one seemed quieter.

There is also a small childrens/babies pool which could accomodate about 6-8 children at the most.

The complex itself is kept very clean, we saw maintence staff every morning cleaning the common areas, pools, pruning palm trees. Appearance of the outside of the complex is high priority here.

Towards the end of our holiday, we found the indoor play area for children (located behind the main entertainment stage, next to the buffet room). It was ok for about 1/2 and hour but needs to be updated. Some protective foam around the climing frame had been damaged, the room needed a good clean, no staff are on hand to monitor children using it.

The resort of Cala Egos is nice but very quite. Not much happening other than the hourly arrival of the land train. It is great for couples wanting a relaxing holiday but not much fun for children. We found a small quiet playground just 2 mins walk away but found a much better one about 5 minutes walk at the top of the main shopping street.

We walked to the Marina in Cala D'Or which is very scenic and has a lovely collection of yachts moored, SunSeekers, Fairlines etc. The walk itself is down a hilly pathway which was ok for us with our son in his buggy but would be too far for him to walk the whole distance.

If you stay on a self catering basis, we'd recommend taking as much food with you when you travel. The 2 local Spar shops are expensive and eating out is also costly. A curry at "Indiana Johns" could set you back approx. 16 euros each. A bottle of drinking water in most restaurants is about 3 euros per bottle, some beers are cheaper.

There is a larger supermarket just a little bit further off the the main shopping road, larger bottles of water to keep in your apartment for cooking and drinking work out much cheaper but food is about the same price. It's just handier as you get a better selection in one place.

Restaurant recommendations for eating out in Cala Egos are Nevada (just across the roundabout on the main shopping road) which had good special offers, Chicken & Mushroom pie, chips & salad for 4.95 was very tasty, we had this a couple of times. Tony's Bar was also nice, just around the corner but, as with all the restaurants, we thought the prices were very high unless you were able to get a special offer somewhere.

In Cala D'Or we found a restaurant called Cafe Milfar (may not be exact spelling). Again, it was to the end of the main shopping area, on a corner plot before you enter a residential area. The staff there were lovely, the food was home made. A cooked breakfast for example consisted of "proper" sausages instead of cheaper hot dog sausages, and the bacon was crispy and full of meat (not fatty like some non UK brands). The prices were much more reasonable, a main meal for my husband and me (our son shared) plus a drink each, came to 12 euros.

In summary, the holiday was a change of scenery but sadly I wouldn't recommend the Es Bolero apartments. Hopefully the hotel rooms within the Club Martha's section of the resort are of a better standard. If we had paid more than we did for our 1 bedroom apartment, I would have been asking for an alternative room. Take plenty of books, newpapers, travel games with you as the local facilities are limited. There is evening entertainment provided but we didn't attend as the times didn't suit, so can't comment on it.

Room Tip: Select a room in the main hotel, not Es Bolero apartments.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Es Bolero, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We can see you have dedicated a lot of time and effort into your comments concerning your time spent at cala egos/d´or and club resort marthas, and for that we thank you. I am sure it will be extremlely helpful to our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Bolero apartments in the Club Martha complex for 3 nights in april with our 2 children aged 8 and 2. We stayed in a ground floor apartment which we were very pleased with as it was very spacious, nice big living area with little kitchen, nice bathroom and one bedroom which was perfect for putting the kids to bed on a night so we could stay up! Had table n chairs in kitchen area and also some outside but i do prefer a balcony where people cant just walk by you.
We went half board but wished we had gone self catering as food wasnt that good. Tony's bar just around the corner serves lovely english food at great prices! Also the Eroski supermarket just a 5 min walk away is very cheap! 12 500ml cans of san miguel for 6euros and boxes of 4 cornettos for less than a euro! Most other bars/shops were closed as low season.
All 3 pool areas really nice, all kept clean, tons of sunbeds piled up everywhere all day long, however probably as it was low season and not very busy. Downfall was that the pools were ice cold, too cold for the kids to go in :( so the indoor pool was a god send!
The little private beach just 5 mins away is lovely! Made out holiday! Kids loved it :)
My son also enjoyed the rock climbing at the hotel and the basketball.
I would stay here again but would come in high season and stay in the main hotel and go self catering.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Es Bolero, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your very helpful comments concerning the complex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned from an absolutley fantastic week at Club Martha's...so sad to be home!!

Club Martha's is in Cala Egos and not Cala D'Or as it is listed to be but I'm so glad as I much preferred Cala Egos. Before we went, from reading other reviews i was worried we would need a car but we really didn't and done fine without one as Cala Egos had all we needed within a short walk and a beautiful little beach that wasn't overcrowded and perfect for our kids as it has a rocky wall either side and it felt very safe and secluded.

Great selection of restaurants around the main square. Our favourite was Marta's, cheap and cheerful with great tasty food. Tony's was good too and also reasonably priced. There is a great little bar just across the road at the other end of the main street with a kids area. It has go-carts and trampolines and kept our boys amused while we enjoyed a glass of wine.

For any essentials the Eroski supermarket is ideal.... 81 cents for a litre of wine (!!!) 35 cents a can of San Miguel, 19 cents bottles of water ... Stock up for the week!

The complex itself is massive with everything you need for a relaxing break. It is so well maintained and spotlessly clean. Everywhere I turned there was always someone cleaning something. The room we had booked was a 1 bedroom apartment in es bolero apts. The flat was pretty much standard but ticked all the boxes for us. Nice little patio area out the front with tables and chairs and sun beds. Cleaned 3 times in 1 week and the maids did a thorough job. We were bed and breakfast (£205 for a week for all 5 of us booked via Travel Republic, total bargain) and it was a buffet which had a great variety for everyone. A lot of people we spoke to we're all inclusive and I would consider this for our next visit if the price was right.

Cannot fault the facilities of club Martha's. From the pools, to the bars and restaurants to the actual club it was all brilliant. All the staff we encountered were really friendly.

But what made our holiday was the animation team. Each one of them really are brilliant with the kids. The boys loved Molly Club and the Molly Disco. Each day was themed (Pirate Day, Horror Day etc) and the activities were great and well thought out. The 10pm shows were great too (We Will Rock You, Grease, Sister Act etc) and full of fun. So a massive thanks to each of the team: Louise, Stephan, Mariel, Jonathan and Nico for really making our holiday what it was.

So thank you Club Martha's and hopefully see you all again sooner rather than later!!!

The Allan family from Scotland xx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Es Bolero, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

What an excellent review, and we are so glad that the family had such a good time. Many thanks for your time and trouble in writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staff horrible whole place is a dump nowhere to go for young ones there are just no words to describe it isn't worth 4stars more like 1 star my advice too expensive better off going to turkey or Egypt worst holiday I have ever had the only good thing was Tony's bar excellent food and nice staff

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Littlebeltamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Es Bolero, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

My goodness, your experience doesnt seem to have been very positive. Maybe you could drop us a private email and we can talk about why you have such negative comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

5 night stay - with 2 children 12 and 17. Good value - rooms nice - we were at the block at the back (3) no noise - pools nice and clean, entertainment ok for kids (though mine were a little too old) - tv's in restaurant and lounge area (a must if footie is on). Pool tables/table tennis/football pitches and tennis courts.

Town small and quiet (not all open as season not started) - nice stroll (30 mins) to Cala d'Or centre round the port, bus (train for 2E one way) or taxi 5E. Nice beach.

We ate out every day - Tonys bar (good value, good portions and excellent standard). Well worth a cheap last minute deal

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Sea Es Bolero, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Many thanks for your comments and we hope you will consider returning to club marthas resort, some time in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews