We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cala Gran Cala D'Or”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped here in early October after booking a last minute holiday to Cala D'Or. Have been to Cala D'Or on previous occasions so knew the town but not this hotel. The hotel is quite old and would benefit from some modernisation. The hotel is located very close to Cala Gran beach in fact there is direct access to the beach from the hotel garden. The rooms are quiet old fashioned and small but functional. The beds are very firm as are the pillows but we slept reasonable well. The room is provided with air conditioning but this didn't work too well and I can imagine it being insufficient is the peak summer months. The bathroom was clean and the shower over the bath worked well but no bath mat is provided so beware slippery baths. The room was equipped with a basic TV but no remote control (extra charge from reception), safe box is provided (extra charge made for this - 3 euros per day), no hairdryer in room (a few are available from reception after paying deposit).

The hotel has three swimming pool areas (the best being near the apartments) but they were all quite cold. Each pool area has sun beds but the space is quite limited and I can imagine it being very busy in summer. The two pools at the front of the hotel definitely needed cleaning as there was green algae around the edges of the pool (not very pleasant).

The hotel has one dinning room and operates two sittings (6:30pm to 7:45pm and 8:00pm till 9:15pm) and does get quite busy at certain times. All meals are a buffet basis. The cold salads were very good but the hot food was not particularly well presented and fairly basic. Breakfast was buffet as well and generally good. The restaurant staff were very good and always polite.

We booked half board basis and was offered an upgrade to all inclusive but there are plenty of nice restaurants in Cala Dor only 5 mins from the hotel so I was very glad we didn't upgrade. There is entertainment in the hotel most nights but again its better to go in the town.

On our last day we weren't leaving until the evening but the hotel wanted to charge us an extra £30 to keep our room, despite the hotel being half empty. We declined as we felt this was unreasonable.

Good points: Very close to beach and town
Bad points: basic rooms, basic food, basic hotel

Probably wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Cala Gran is actually two hotel building joined by a bridge. The reception is in the Cala Gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Tim,
We thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel.
Your suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments. There is no extra charge for the remote control, you have to pay a deposit which will be returned at the end of your holidays. Refering to your last day : of course we would have prefered to give you a room until the last moment,of your stay , but our hotel is still fully booked ... fortunately not half empty . We leave you with the hope that we will be able to have the privilege of welcoming you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards,
your Gavimar Hotel Cala Gran team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

After reading the reviews I was really concerned about this hotel, however I should not have worried. It is true that you can't please everybody.
My family (2 Adults & 2 kids) stayed in an one bedroom apartment (B7)for 7 nights All Inclusive.
As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel complex is made up of 2 hotels and 2 apartment blocks. We were in the Cala Gran II apartments. It was more than we expected for a 3 star room.
When we arrived at 8:20pm, we were welcomed with a drink at the reception which was a nice touch. Paco was very pleasent and informed us about the hotel and our board arrangements. He advised us to go to the dining room as soon as possibly as it closed at 9pm, which we did.
The hotel location is perfect for the beach as you simply walk a few hundred yards, under a road bridge to the shore. A very safe route for children and the elderly.
The food was good and we found something to eat every night. Plenty options and a kids buffet, which a lot of the adults ate. Yes there was food that wasn't to our taste but the hotel has to cater for a huge number of people from different countries, so I feel they do their best. There are 2 sittings for dinner and we were allocated a red sitting but we didnt really stick to it as it depended on what we did that day, and nobody complained.
Food was also available in the bar area, ranging from chips, fish, burgers, salads, so there are options for you. Soft drinks are freely available by self sevice in the bar which is handy for the kids. Ice cream is also part of the All Inclusive, along with cocktails, wine and Sangria. We made good use of these and the local beer.
There are 4 pools in the complex and yes the main pools are busy, but we were happy at our quieter pool and able to find a sun bed.
Entertainment was on every night which included a kids party type disco and an act or activity such as an Abba tribute, Bingo, etc. The entertainment staff worked so hard and were always cheery and welcoming. A special mention goes to Simone as she was really good with the kids and my daughter enjoyed the kids club painting t-shirts.
I would wish to raise awareness of the number of steps in the complex purely due to it location and that infirm person would need to take note. Some reviews mentioned cockroaches but we never saw any during our visit. The apartments could do with some repair work and a lick of paint but generally it was good.
The main thing that made our holiday was the staff. They were all very cheery and helpful, rushing about at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and making an appearance at the bar between then and in the evenings. They all work very hard and it was appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RABruce68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear guests,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and to our entertainment team with Simone. We leave you with the hope that we will be able to have the privilege of welcoming you and your family once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

First the positives, it has a superb location close to the centre of Cala Dor, it is close to the the beach, it was clean and the staff were friendly, the breakfast was plentiful (we did not eat in during the evening so cannot comment on the restaurant service), breakfast was available for early leavers (something not provided by many hotels in Spain).

However there were too many negative so push the rating for this hotel higher. After booking in and going to our room we had a knock on the door from the maintenance man who had come to fix a problem with the water in the bathroom (why wait until we had taken up occupation before this and why were we not informed of a problem by reception?). There is no hair dryer provided (not a problem for me but a major issue for my wife). The bathroom provided no shower/bath gel - not a huge problem but an inconvenience meaning a trip to the local supermarket. Although the breakfast was copious it was not of great quality (eg fruit juice from machine was so thin and tasteless it was horrible). The television was old, had no remote control and did not work on switched on (we didn't bother to report this as we had no intention of watching tv during our stay). The balcony was good but had no lighting making it of limited use during the evenings.

We believe the 3* boasted by the hotel is incorrect and should not be more than a 2*. We would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. It makes us happy to thank you for your comments about the excellent location of the Cala Gran and the friendliness of our staff. All other points that are mentioned we are taking into great consideration.
The repair in the bathroom could not be done earlier because the clients who were in your room before informed the recepction very late, just before leaving for the airport.
You get an hairdryer and the remote control for television in the recepcion after paying a deposit which will be returned at the end of your holidays. Shower and bath gel are provided in 4 star hotels, (see our 4-star hotel Cala d Or) but not in 3-star-hotels like our Cala Gran.
We leave you with the hope that we will be able to have the privilege of welcoming you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Cala Gran Hotel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here in early September for 2 weeks with my partner and family, 9 of us in total with ages from 6 to 40, I'll start with the good points first, as people have mentioned the hotel is directly on the beach just a minute walk under an overpass, the beach is definitely the best in cala'dor and we were lucky enough to have the spanish beach volly ball tour play there over a few day period which was great, the water is warm and crystal clear and snorkeling is a must! ,
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk to the resort centre with loads of shops and restaurants, even though we're all inclusive we ate out quite a lot, places we found the best was "taste of texas", and pirates" , the room we were in was D1 a ground floor apartment , quite roomy for 2 people but if you have children you will struggle for space our apartments had its own nice size swimming pool and enough sunbeds for everyone, in the apartment was a hairdryer, tv (you need to leave a deposit for the remote control to get the thing on but you get your money back on check out, you have to pay for the safe which is a rip off cant belive they would charge people for this when people have already paid a for their holiday ,the cleaning lady was very nice and works so hard and still has time to stop and say hello, , the beds were comfortable and I had no problems sleeping, the bathroom was ok and shower and bath were fine, we also got an iron from reception free of charge, the aircon done the job and having the fridge was good, the swimming pool wasn't heated but who cares when its 30°c it was nice to cool down a bit,the food was great a lot of choice over a 7 day period and with theme nights, plenty of breads, fruits, desserts. It was also nice having drinks served ot your table at meal times (breakfast was self serve with juices and hot drinks) which was no problem, and again a huge choice for beakfasts and catered for loads of nationalitys, only gripe there is "please use back bacon" it would complete the full english!
The staff never stop during these busy breaky,lunch and dinner times and are always pleasant and helpfull,
The drinks are nice with cruzcampo being the all-inc beer, brandy,vodka,whiskey much better than previous holidays and they do some nice cocktails, get the bar price list as it tels you what you are entitled to on the all-inc, so that way you can make your own cocktails up by just going back to the bar a few times and making them at your table, and soft drinks are all coca-cola brand so that a plus,
The rest of the hotel is spotless with loads of sit down places with comfortable seating, have a good walk around to get your bearings,

Some bad points are
First the entertainment is poor although the animation team do try! it varied from night to night, but karaoke git boring listening to the 1 person who dared or was to drunk enough to get up, quiz night, some tribute acts, this is done outside in the pool area ( I dont know how no one fell in lol ) with a hut in the corner, my advice would be to fill that pool in get more tables and chairs and out,abd put a big canopy over the top corner with some lights ect to live'in it up a bit more, they do have daytime activities but you will have to just do them and not moan when you are bored! Lol, Jerome and the german lady were great and tried so hard but no one wanted to get up and join in with activities, ( we did) and my sister and her partner won a free upgrade to all-inclucive plus, which entitled them to branded spirits and better cocktails a realy good prize, so Take part; it might be worth it !!,

The staff make this place and apart from the 1 not so happy barmaid(not sure of her name, dark curly/wavey hair masculine looking)all the rest were fantastic, Kelly, Joy, santi, were amazing!!!

Sooo had a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend a visit, i will be back but not for another couple of years and I hope the improve some of my points raised

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank deanc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guest,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are very happy that you and your partner and family had fantastic holidays in Cala d Or and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff. We will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff with Kelly, Joy, Santi and to the entertainment team with Lol, Jerome and Simone. We thank you for your suggestions in improving our hotel which you certainly will notice in your next holidays with us.
kindest regards from the Gavimar Cala Gran team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely holiday at this hotel, but it was the friends I was with rather than the hotel that made the trip so good.

Our rooms were in the Costa del Sur side of the complex and mine was particularly hot all the time, the air conditioning did not seem to be working so well. Only one pillow was provided and it was very hard, so we ended up sleeping with blankets under the pillow!

On the second day a very large cockroach found its way to our bathroom. Reception promised to send someone to deal with it but never did, I had to ask the cleaner instead, who was quick to sort it our. However every day there were other cockroaches in the hallway and then just this morning whilst getting ready to leave, another large one in our room! On the third day there was no hot water, again reception promised to send someone and didn't, however on speaking with other guests it seemed everyone was without hot water that evening.

The cleaner was a bit hit and miss too although the room was not dirty, and the public areas seemed clean if a bit tired and dated. Beds were not made one day, and she left us without a bath mat for 3 days. Also refused to remove any cups from the room. But she did get rid of the cockroach.

The food was varied and plentiful, but just average as they try to cater for the international guests. Some of the breaded fish was clearly cooked from frozen. However the food on Majorcan night was fabulous - fresh seafood and salads, very tasty.

It must be noted that whilst all of the staff were pleasant, Mary on the bar in the Costa del Sur side and Santi at the pool bar on the Cala Gran side were outstanding. Great service from them both.

The entertainment was not really our kind of thing, especially the karaoke, but the team worked hard.

For an all inclusive, there was a surprising amount NOT included. No pool towels unless you left a €6 deposit, hairdryers €10, and the list goes on. Even filling a water bottle would cost you €4. There's even a pricelist in the restaurant if you wanted to leave with any food and drinks!

So overall very average, and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyShiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. It makes us happy to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff (especially Mary in bar Costa del Sur and Santi in pool bar Cala Gran) and will be passing on your praises to all of them.
For getting more or other quality of pillows please dont hesitate to contact the recepction or our housekeeper. We are very sorry that you found cockroaches in your room . It is a problem in the south of Europe and especially due to the fact that the temperatures are still unusual high for this time of the year.
It is not our intention to make people pay an extra for food or drinks we just kindly ask you not to take it out of the dining room. We leave you with the hope that we will be able to have the privilege of welcoming you and your friends once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Cala Gran Hotel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

14 October 2013
Just returned from Cala Gran Hotel , Cala D`Or, Majorca ,
Enjoyable, clean, well organise run hotel
The hotel location is second to none, next to the centre, amongst main shops and restaurants
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist “Toni “with a refreshing glass of Cava’s bubbly sparkling wine
We found the reception staff to be friendly, very efficient and obliging. We request to be moved into another room, and this was not a problem
Chambermaid service was daily, efficient and clean
Our room was spacious with comfortable beds, private balcony with table and chairs
The Hotel beach is close at hand, accessible by the swimming pools area, via a private passage that takes you directly to a wonderful little sandy bay, with lots of private bars and restaurants
The Hotel restaurant is spotlessly clean, brilliantly run by professionals headed by a first class Restaurant manager "Damien" .Never to much trouble
Food is plentiful with sufficient variation of dishes that should satisfy even the most discerning guest
The hotel enjoys two very nice swimming pools, next to the bar and snacks area, adjacent to the beach
As a whole we had a wonderful week and we will return in the future, nevertheless I have few points that in my opium the hotel management should improve upon:
1) For obvious reasons the telephone in the rooms without guidance are useless and insecure therefore should clearly display: Emergency call & Reception Desk Dial N9. ( This was not the case, unfortunately I had a problem but did not know what number to ring and I had to walk to reception )
2) Most rooms have bulky and old fashion television sets “without remote control “
3) For the benefit of the English guest the Sky News Channel should be made to work correctly avoiding annoying interference every 60 seconds
4) All inclusive guests are discriminate by given plastic glasses to drink from the bar .This way of drinking is not very enjoyable and the standard should be improved, probably by give and take ie: continue to use plastic glasses for soft drinks and children drinks ,but give proper glasses for the rest of the drinks .The hotel management should not categorize between guests beside the all inclusive guests have already paid for theirs drinks in advance at the point of booking the holiday

All in all I believe that the hotel location, the staff, the food and the area are the makings of a nice holiday to remember,and we will definably go back again

Mario Albertini

Room Tip: Our room was 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 495mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mario,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to return in the future to our Cala Gran hotel. You mention the friendliness of our staff (especially Damian in the restaraunt and Toni in recepction ) and will be passing on your praises to all of them .
Your comments regarding telefon instructions for emergency calls, calls to the recepcion, etc. have already been communicated to our management .
You will get the remote control for television in recepcion after paying a deposit of 5 Euro and we thank you for your advise about the quality of the Sky News Channel. For safety reasons plastic glasses are given to all guests, not just for "all inlusive " , on terraces and pool area. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again. In the meantime we remain with our best regards from Cala d Or
your Cala Gran Hotel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a family holiday at the Cala Gran Hotel, myself, daughter and two grand children ages 10 & 6. What a fantastic time we all had, the hotel is huge with several choices of pools to keep the children entertained. The restuarant Manager Damien is first class at his job and does not miss a customers needs, ensuring Gluten free products were available for myself,,nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they could not have been more helpful, Delightful place to stay and cannot wait to return next year...Margaret K and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Margaret,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. It makes us happy to read that you with your daughter and grandchildren had a fantastic time at our Cala Gran hotel and that you mention the friendliness of our staff. We will be passing on your praises to all of them and especially to Damian in the restaurant. We are glad that you would like to return next year and are looking forward to seeing you and your family again. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Hotel Cala Gran team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $71 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing