We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed August 25, 2013

returned on the 15th Aug. After a lovely holiday at this hotel last year decided to go again this year and was not disappointed. Staff from cleaner to hotel staff to reception staff work very long hours but stay cheerful, polite and helpful. Food is not gourmet cooking but there is always something there to eat be it dining room or buffet at the bar. This hotel is not 5* and does not advertise it is a 5* hotel so if you want 5* book somewhere else. Rooms are clean and comfortable. If I was to give any low marks it would be the entertainment, ditch bingo every nite and ditch the quizz takes to long with having to repeat in so many different languages put on more disco time for the kids. Hope to go again next year with our grandchildren. Hotel is no more than a few minute walk to beach, shops bars etc. We got a good room and was given champagne. Tip book excursions at local car hire and star fish boat trips at the beach its a bit cheaper

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your kind review . We are happy that you stayed with us a second time and that your holidays has been to your satisfaction. We will pass on your praises to our staff. We thank you for your faithfulness and are looking forward to welcome you and your husband with your grandchildren in 2014. Your suggestions in improving the entertainment programme have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant department.
our very best regards
your Hotel Cala Gran team
HOTELES GAVIMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I and 2 children stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in June 2013. This was our 2nd time - the location couldn't be better, we loved cooking in the kitchen, nice clean apartment with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool - the beach just 2 minutes walk, the pools are gorgeous and ideally situated in the heart of Cala D'or with plenty of entertainment in the evening. Best holiday ever !!! We are trying to re-book for 2014 but are having trouble locating which agent we can book a 2 bedroom through. Please can someone at Gavimar confirm which agent to do this through many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Amanda,
thanks a lot for your kind review . We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and want to visit us again. For reservation please contact :booking@gavimar-hotels.com .
We are looking forward to welcome you once more at our Cala Gran hotel in 2014. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful., we loved the food, perfect location, rooms clean, pools cleaned ever day, we met some lovely people. There isn't one thing negative that I can say as we've had such a lovely time. We have booked today to come back next year and we are counting the says.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Denise,
thanks a lot for your kind review. We are really very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you once again next year with us. kindest regards from all of us, your Cala Gran Team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just back from the Cala Gran-Arrived late evening was through into a dump hole of an apartment-smelt and was filthy to say the least-they seem to overbook and do not cope.Next morning when moving our cases they lost my husbands case. Food was the best at the poolside from 10.30am to 5.00pm everyday. As a lot of people have said their restuarant food was very disappointing-they say they cater for many nationalaties but they certainly dont cater for the british or people who dont like fish or certain meats!!!!We ate out most nights. I think they only give the champagne to the guests that they have to put into hell hole rooms until they get the room that the guest has booked ready from overbooking. Would def NOT go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Carol,
It makes us very happy to thank you for your comments valuing the good location of our hotel. All of the other suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments . We are convinced that you will notice these improvements in your next holidays at one of our Gavimar- Hotels.
kindest regards
your Hotel Cala Gran team
HOTELES GAVIMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just got back from a 10 night stay at the Cala Gran. Clean, comfortable and a great location. If your after a basic 3* hotel/apartment then this is an ideal base. We stayed all inclusive breakfast was good so was the lunch/snack bar. The evening menu was varied 3 times a week, Mexican, Chinese and Spanish. The restaurant however is allocated down a number of steps although there is a stair lift for the elderly. The smell of the various foods can be a put off,although the other members of my family thought I was being way too fussy! Drinks were OK and we knew that not all drinks would be on the all inclusive menu, if you would like a bottle of wine then you have to purchase it from the restaurant and then take it to the outdoor entertainment area. The entertainment at the hotel was a severe let down, the acts that are rolled in on a weekly rota lack any sort of excitement. As a family we felt that the entertainment was not entertaining in the slightest bit! For this reason we went out to eat and walked around Cala D'or Marina and town a couple of nights. Recommended the glass bottom Starfish boat and a walk to the Marina. Overall a great base with fab pools! The entertainment needs to be seriously updated to get this lovely hotel up to date!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Sofie,
Thanks a lot for your opinion which is really very important for us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you apreciated the good location of our Cala Gran hotel.
Your suggestions in improving the entertainment programme have been noted and communicated to the relevant department. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I have been to this hotel several times in last 5 years. Whilst I totally agree that the food served in the evenings is very poor (I am extremely fussy about food) my husband could always find something to eat. If I cannot face the smell of the restaurant or the slop on offer then we eat out - even though we book half-board. We know what to expect from this hotel and we are very happy with everything apart from evening meals, so we choose to eat out a few nights. We have never encountered a rude member of staff - everyone has always been most courteous and helpful. Our rooms have always been spotless and ready on our arrival. On our last visit the restaurant manager came over to shake our hands and welcome us back as he recognised us from previous visits.and other members of staff would greet us with a cheery "Ola".The location of the hotel is perfect, the beautiful surroundings cannot be beaten and the hotel grounds are very well kept. and staff are continually cleaning tables etc around the pool area. Maybe, because we work so hard for our holidays in the sun we can often be a bit too critical if things aren't absolutely spot on in all departments all of the time. My husband and I take things for what they are and this hotel suits our needs. In fact we are going back in a couple of weeks, so the hotel staff should prepare for the return of the Blaizes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sashmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you for haven taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed once again your stay with us. You mention the friendliness of the staff and that the head waiter and others recognized you , they should do after 5 visits to the Cala Gran!!!
We thank you for your faithfulness and are looking forward to welcome you again in a couple of weeks. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from all of us
your Cala Gran Hotel team
HOTELES GAVIMAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Was a bit apprehensive as it was somewhere new but turned out i was worrying for nothing; The hotel was bright,airy and clean.The staff were polite,friendly and helpful. Pool area`s were clean and tidy as were the bar area`s and various seating area`s around the hotel.My room was basic(tha`ts what i paid for though),it was clean and tidy when i arrived and was kept clean every day by the friendly,helpful cleaner who worked extremely hard. Air con worked perfectly,and you needed it,very hot week.. Restaurant was also very clean and tidy,waiter/waitress service for drinks,they were also polite,friendly and helpful as well as extremely hard working keeping the tables cleared and tidy,food was good(3*,you get what you pay for)my fussy daughter always had something she enjoyed,even me and i can be picky sometimes,food in bar snack bar area`s also very good,bars sold good standard alcohol on all inc,beach 1 to 2 min walk and a very good clean tidy beach,very good lifeguard service,sea clear and warm,good sun beds and enough about so you don`t have to get up at crack of dawn to get one,cafe`s on edge of beach good quality food and reasonable prices.Local town Cala D`or very clean and tidy,plenty of shops for papers,groceries etc,restaurants aplenty with lots of choice.Entertainment during day very good for kids and teenagers alike but other hotels in the area owned by same company can be used also if on all inc,inc, meals too but to be honest food at this hotel was good...i would go back to this hotel again...no problem and would happily recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear guests,
thanks a lot for your kind review and recommendation. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff. We leave you with the hope that we will be able to have the privilege of welcoming you once again to our hotel.
our best regards from Cala d Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#8 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $57 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing