We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and clean”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in the Cala Gran II apartments from the 29th May for one week. Two adults and two young children. We chose half board basis. The apartment was quite small and we were up three flights of stairs which wasn't very easy with a buggy. The bedroom was a decent size with a good size wardrobe but the living room was a bit cramped. The rooms were clean and towels were changed every day if you wished. Rubbish was taken every day. The meals were good value and kids can choose off a childrens menu on an evening if there is nothing on the bufffet they like. Although we were given a card with a sitting time for the evening meal, no one seemed to pay much attention to this and the staff never checked it so you could pretty much turn up whatever time you wanted. The pools around the complex were ok but not enough sun loungers and there was not much space around them to put extra ones. We went to the beach most days so we weren't too bothered. My daughter who is five went to the kids club twice but even though it was half tern there were not many kids there. The kids entertainment staff were good and the mini disco at 9pm was enjoyed by our two children. The small play area was run down however and did not have much in it.
The resort is lovely and this is the second time we've been. We went to the Cala Mondrago area on the public bus and that was really pretty. Cala D'or Beach is great too which is a bit smaller than the Cala Gran where this hotel was.

Room Tip: Lots of steps to Cala Gran II apts. Noise from Tropicana Bar until about midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guests,
it makes us very happy to thank you for your comments valuing the good position and the cleanliness. All of the other suggestions in improving our hotel/apartments have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. kindest regards
your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    593
    394
    93
    74
See reviews for
720
488
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile


Just stayed at Cala Gran for 7 nights, and overall, it was good.

Cala d'Or is a lovely quiet resort and the hotel is in a good spot very close to Cala Gran beach.

We stayed self catering and are very glad we did. There are so many nice places to eat and drink in the area. The hotel wanted an extra 28 Euro each per night to upgrade! We would not have got our moneys worth, even though we like a beer or three.

The only one thing that really made us angry is that selfish guests threw their towels on the sunbeds and left them there all day meaning others could not use them! Often, they never even returned! We only got a sunbed once because we refused to do this.

The hotel needs to put up signs stating towels will be removed like some others do.

Other than that, nice pools, hard working and efficient cleaners and a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrpaul100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guests,
we thank you for your kind review and are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have made a note of your comments regarding towels on the sunbeds and are going to check it with our technical staff. There are already signs indicating that it is not allowed to reserve sunbeds but it is difficult to make some clientes respect these rules.
Maybe we can take the delight of seeing you again in one of our GAVIMAR hotels where wou will be most welcome.
kind regards from all of us
your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

returned on the 5th June from this Hotel. The Hotel is very dated and is in need of some serious renovation. Our room was where the restaurant was based and my word it smelt all week of burnt fish. The food was extremely poor and so we had to eat out in the end. Some of the staff were brilliant especially Joy,Kelli and Chocolate!!! but they have also got some very rude staff. We could not get by the pools as they were so packed and very cramped so that people were lying so close to each other. Also two of the pools were full of gunge and I would not allow my son to go in them. The best thing about this hotel is the location its right on the beach and in the centre of the resort. Although the hotel wasn't the best we still had a fab holiday on the beach and in the resort itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time to rate our hotel so profoundly. We have made a note of your comments and will not hesitate to relate them to the departments concerned. Regarding the food we would like to point out that we are trying very hard to cater for the tase of so many different nationalities.
you mention the space around the pool and we just would like to add that there are 3 other pools in the Cala Gran complex. It makes us very happy that you mention the friendliness of Joy, Kelly and Chocolate and will pass on your praises to them.
Maybe we can take the delight of seeing you and your family again in one of our Gavimar hotels where you will be most welcome.
kind regards
your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala d'Or hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 5 years and are going again next week. The hotel and staff are great, food is ok and the location of the hotel is second to none. Ignore all the negative reviews, some people are never happy!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ggm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
dear guests,
we thank you for taking your time for evaluating our hotel. We are happy to know that your stay in our hotel has been to your satisfaction. We will pass on your praises to our staff.
We thank you for your faithfulness and are looking foward to welcome you again with us next week.
in the meantime we remain with kindest regards from all of us
your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you want a basic no frills hotel this fits the bill.The room we were allocated 2304 was right in the corner of the hotel and was very small,the bathroom was not big enough to swing the proverbial cat round in, you have to reverse in to use the loo and there is only a 3/4 length bath and every time you had a shower the shower curtain wrapped itself around you. I was surprised that you have to pay extra for the TV not that you spend much time in your room but its nice to be able to catch up on a bit of news, also there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room or hair driers. Having said all that the hotel itself is OK but not luxurious the food was fairly good. Hotel was ideally situated for the beach. The entertainment was average.(I won the shooting contest and won a free drink) big deal I was all inclusive anyway. We were in the Costa Del Sur part of the hotel so I don't know what the rooms are like in the actual Cala Gran. Pool areas are not very big and if you want a sun bed, well I don't know what time you have to get up to get one as we never managed it.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the other rooms but I would avoid 2304
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
dear guests,
we thank you for your comments valuing the good position and the cleanliness of our hotel. All of the other suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kind regards,
your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of May, the good bits are The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the beach. The beach is fantastic.
The hotel has 3 separate buildings and some of these are quite a treck from the reception, the costa sur mer Always smells of fish, the maintenance and upkeep in some of these areas is in need of big TLC, the room we had was very dated with numerous issues that we had to report during the week , including the main door frame to our room was loose, there was a set of extra taps in the bathroom on the wall, where I assume the shower used to be, this is ok part from they leak water constantly down the wall in line with the plug socket. The noise from other rooms and the hallways while people return to their room at night is very disturbing. Having to pay 15 euros for the tv remote and 15 euros for the safe is a con. The bed sheets and blankets ( yes blankets and not quilts) where not changed all week we stayed. This is definitely a 2 star hotel. other people have said you get what you pay for, we'll to that I would say next time spend the extra and get something better. If you order a drink at the bar it comes in a plastic cup, a red wine or gin and tonic just does not have the same appeal in a plastic cup, yet order as a pay as you go customer and you get a glass every time, why? Have we as all inclusive guests not already paid up front, yet treated a s second class citizens.
The location is great and half the staff are friendly the other half just rude. Would I recommend this hotel, no, albeit the location yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to rate our hotel so profoundly.
We are taking very seriously your advise and we are going to check the level of quality in all the different departments with our employees.
We are convinced that you will notice the improvements in your next holidays at our hotel.
kind regards

your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned after a lovely week at Cala Gran. Ignore all not very good reviews, this hotel is very good. The interior is a little dated but very charming, bedrooms adequate but who lives in their bedroom on holiday? Food is good plenty of choice and very well presented. Staff, well they work extremely hard, I'd like to know when they sleep, pleasant and well mannered, The animation team do a very good job, just not my bag. All in all we had a lovely chilled out week and would definitely return some day. Well done Cala Gran and all Staff...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie16172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guests,
we thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.

Kind regards from all of us

your GAVIMAR Cala Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Property: Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Address: Avda. Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing