We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant week away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Cala Gran, Costa del Sur. Staff were fantastic as was the food and our room. Normally don't go back to the same place more than once, but would love to go back here if I had the chance! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Laniscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled on a last minute booking and got a great deal on an all inclusive stay. The transfer from Palma de Mallorca was simple and relatively quick (about an hour and a half)

Service
From a swift and efficient check in to a simple check out the service was brilliant. As always there are wide ranging characters amongst the staff but even the waiter nicknamed grumpy was helpful and pleasant. The staff nearly all spoke brilliant English with most of them having good German and passable French (to my ear anyway).

The entertainment staff were great, a scary German sounding lady who was brilliant with the kids (although to an adult ear sounded a little bossy) and another lady who seemed to do most of the evening entertainment and always got the kids involved in the mini disco.

Room

We booked a triple room and it was the first time we have stayed with the little one in the same room as us. In future we will definitely be booking apartments or suites as this didn't work well for us personally but the room itself was great. We paid for a sea view and got exactly that.. a great view from room 307 over the pool, the beach and into the bay. Sunrise and sunset were incredible from the adequate balcony. If you want quiet at night don't go for this room though as you can heart everything from the games room below and the music / chatter from the bar and terrace. This was OK for us as we aren't early to bed. In addition from this room you can get poolside in seconds :)

The shower didn't give a consistent temperature but it was never freezing or too hot, just varied between warm and tepid a little..

There aren't facilities you might expect like a hairdryer or coffee making equipment, but all inclusive runs from 8am to midnight so it isn't a big trek to get coffee made for you whenever you need it and a little travel hairdryer doesn't take up much room in a case.

The room was cleaned and serviced (bathroom and floor cleaned, beds made and fresh towels) every day, even the days we left it in a little bit of a mess.

Location

you really can't beat the location. If you want to stay in Cala D'or there really can't be a better place. The beach is less than a minutes walk down the steps past the heated pool and out the front of the hotel you are in amongst the bars and lovely shops in less than double that. We picked the very last week of the season and lots of the hotels and shops were closing around us or seemed to be working shorter hours but there are plenty of opportunities to pick up essentials or souvenirs. The beach is pretty clean for a tourist resourt and there are staff from the hotels around the cove bumpbling about during the day and keeping things ship shape. The Starfish boat also stops here.. although I'm not sure this is something you will want to use (I will review that later!)

The main bus stop for Cala D'or centre where all the excursions seemed to go from was very close to the hotel entrance (in fact on the bridge taht crosses the path to the beach).

Amenities

As I mentioned, we visited in the last week of the season and a lot of things were running down, in addition there was obvioulsy not full capacity in the hotel. That being said there was a choice of pools (only 1 heated though :) ) and bars.

The resturarant was lovely and busy, Meals are buffet style as mentioned in other reviews. There was nearly always a great choice with more than one dish that I wanted to try and the service at meal times was also great.

Poolside was great although at times it was an inconvenience having to get dried before going to the bar. In the summer there is an outside bar though so that shouldn't be a problem when it really is pool weather.

Communal guest areas were well furnished and comfortable. Some areas are well laid out for meeting new people and socialising with existing friends. There are TV's that are on some of the time (the fomula 1 seemed popular) and usually some background music.

Liked best

The atmosphere was fantastic, other guests all seemed to be families like us and there was ample opportunity provided by the hotel to socialise. We met some lovely people and with any luck we will bump into them again on our travels. We also spoke ot a lot of regular visitors to this hotel who seem to come back year after year.. what better reccomendation for a hotel can you get than that anyway

Liked least

The mini club.. although the staff were great and all the kids loved it, the facility itself felt a little like a dungeon.. it was also tucked away from the main hotel a little and seemed a bit of a trek to get to it.. although in the morning the staff collect you from reception..

Room Tip: The sea view is worth the small extra cost but if you aren't happy with noise in the late evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived back Nov.2nd and wish i was back there! Good room, cleaned almost every day and decent food for a 3 star. Excellent service from friendly staff in restaurant and bars! All inclusive well worth it i'd say...never went hungry or thirsty! I'd love to go back...even had good weather which i didnt expect...had a lovely time!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i read the reviews a few months before we went ourselves and i was so disappointed at the negatives but it made me weery and confused having spent alot on our first holiday abroad in 6 years , getting there was easy and stepping into the lovely old fashioned hotel was just beautiful, people just expect modern and fancy but where is the character in plain white walls? lol.
My 12year old son and my 7 year old daughter was pleased as punch when we got to our lovely hotel room with 3 beds we was delighted with the amazing shower and balcony views so we was definately happy, the food was lush and the kids overdosed on the puddings which made them sleep well so no complaints and no sickness haha over all any parents with young children would gladly have a lovely time here the staff was there to help 24/7 and the room service was amazing new fresh linen and towels every day i was happy 10/10 gna book to go soon :)

Room Tip: any room would be good in my view and the lift is there for the buggys or older people or the drunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned for Cala D'or and can only say what a wonderful holiday we have just had again after our visit, we visit this hotel at least twice a year and have never come home disappointed.

The photo you have of the CalaGran IS NOT THE CalaGran, Cala D'or

Room Tip: This is a great little SPANISH hotel, I've been there twenty times now and am already booked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I'd give this hotel 9 out of 10.
Having stayed in many hotels around the world I can't believe all the negative comments regarding the standard of the Cala Gran Costa del Sur. This hotel is one of the oldest in the resort, there's a black & white picture in reception showing that the Cala Gran was one of the first in the resort - it has been updated and added to in this time but is still worthy of staying in. Yes, a few tiles are broken here and there but this is Spain and no worse than the standard of the pavements outside and around the resort .

The food throughout was first class - I stayed half board all food was buffet style, breakfast served between 8:00 am and 10:00am, and on arrival I was given a card stating my meal time for dinner, either 6:30 - 7:30pm or 7:45 - 9:00pm. I was told to show the card on arrival, and that sittings changed on a Monday, No one ever asked for the card so we ate at the same time every day. All inclusive upgrade at the hotel from HB to AI is 15 euro per day per person I didn't think we'd drink or eat £50 per day so didn't bother.A snack from the pool bar was only 4 euro if you wanted to stay by the pool- We went to spar, and also had a car so drove to the larger Eroski on the Island on the main road into Cala d'or and bought bread and meat and made a cheap lunchtime snack. San Miguel 2.05 (bottle) local beer pint 2.75

Rooms
When I booked via Travel Republic I asked for a sea view, I was amazed that we got one - room 2228 in the Costa del sur part of the hotel was on the corner of the road and overlooked the sea, you could hear the bar at night but nothing to put us off - great room spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 children.
We would have welcomed a fridge to keep water and fruit cool, the air con worked well. we didnt bother with the TV, after reading other reports, we did however rent the safe. 15 euro for the week with 5 euro returnable deposit. Beds are hard !The balcony doors didn't lock but the balcony was high enough for me not to be overly worried about my childrens safety. The room was cleaned everyday.

Location.
As before the hotel is right on the beach, steps down from the hotel lead to a path under the road direct to the beach, there are a couple of swings for the children here (one for smaller children)- much better than the ones on site (I'll upload some photos here later). The sea is unbelieveably clear and I recommend purchasing a snorkel and mask to admire the fish swimming around you- I did see some small jellyfish on one day however, but I'm glad to say I didn't get bit. Pedalos are available to hire for 15 euros an hour, didn't hire a bed so can't comment

Entertainment.
The kids club for 3 hours a day for 10 euro was good value although mostly aimed at German children- the children painted t -shirts and in the evening there was a mini disco at 9:00pm daily however this was repetative and was only about 5-6 songs but they loved it, three nights the hotel had a group on after the disco in the bar area by the pool. Archery, walking tours and cycling is also arranged.

There is a small play area which could do with being refurbished, and would be a welcome addition, plus a couple of pool slides, other than that it is OK.

Overall
We had a great stay made better by excellent weather for October half term, we hired a car because it was cheaper than transfers but used it very little - drove to Caves of Drac which was amazing - much cheaper than an organised trip advertised at 42 euro each plus 28 for children. If you go there yourself Under 7's are free and its 13.50 euros for Adults!
Make sure if you book a car search for a FULL to FULL option ortherwise you'll get stung for 85 euros for fuel, we had if for a week drove from Palma to Cala d'or, Porto Cristo/ Cala Millor and back and used 25 euros of fuel only !

I can imagine the resort is very busy in the summer but October was great for us, things still open with enough to keep us all entertained.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if in Costa del sur part - rooms 2229,2228, 3229,3228
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sherwood2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Cala Gran on about 4 occasions the most recent Oct 2012, the hotel is good value property in an ideal central location in Cala Dor, the complex has a wide range of pools and sports facilites and there is always a nice quite corner to sunbathe if you want some peace and quiet, the hotel also boasts direct access to Cala Gran beach. Rooms are a wee bit basic but Tv easy to operate even without remote control and very very well kept and clean accommodation.

Food and dining service very good, which is often lacking in 3* propertys

In all very good accommodation

Room Tip: The hotel Costa Del Sur has a few rooms with good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daytrippergla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $62 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing