We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful and very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aparthotel Roc Las Rocas
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We rented this apartment of holiday lettings, from someone in Ireland.
The apartments were dated and smelt, also the entertainment started at 9am and went on till midnight and was very loud.
Should also be mentioned this is a French holiday resort !
My advice pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked a weeks holiday in a private apartment through hotelbookings.com and only stayed 2 nights. We arrived on a Sunday which is obviously a night off for the hotel's entertainment staff, as all was quiet. However on the next night, when the hotel's entertainment started, the music was so loud, even with the windows and curtains closed, we couldn't hear each other talk. The thumping music started at 9pm and didn't finish till gone midnight. This meant our 5 year daughter couldn't sleep and even though we spoke to the DJ to turn down the volume, he looked at us blankly, as the resort is prodominantly geared up for French holiday makers. To the extent that all the signs are in French, the kids club staff will not talk to in any language apart from French so we didn't even bother to try the restuarant...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was recently on a family vacation with my 8 French cousins/spouses and 92 year old aunt. The resort is very well situated on the cliffs above the Mediterranean with beautiful views. The 4 pools are well taken care of. The apartments need updating and air conditioning or fans for when it's very hot. Luckily for us, we only suffered with the heat one night. The loud music, entertainment and loud guests are problems that go unchecked. Most of the staff speaks French, but not all. We had problems with the restaurant manager all week who refused to accommodate our table requests (that had been made at our booking) for the 15 of us to eat together. He was always very nasty. The food at each meal was varied but don't expect a 4-5 star restaurant. One of the women working the front desk needs a refresher course on manners. The pastry chef is super. We celebrated my aunt's birthday and asked him if he would take a piece of the cake he was making that night and put it on a separate tray for us. He did a fabulous job! Another drawback were the flights from Brest. We arrived at the hotel at 1:00 AM and had to leave for the airport at 1:00 PM on the day of departure. We lost 2 days of vacation. We found the beach (a 5 minute walk) to be pleasant except for the little pinching fish in the water and the jellyfish that rode in on the waves following a storm. I don't think I would recommend this resort in season. However, off season is calmer since the kids are back in school.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main pool and entertainment area. It's loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We recently spent 1 week at this complex. We have three kids 5, 7 and 10. We nooked direct on a holiday site so were a bit apprehensive as this was the first time of doing it. How ever we were pleaseantly surprised by a lovely apartment with outstanding views over the pool and out to sea. This is a frontline complex and its fantastic. All pools are very clean as is the restaurant. It also offers all inclusive at very very cheap rates.
All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauls186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

First of all, I would never recommend this hotel to a family with young children. It is very loud place, with a randy French tourist all over. You can't even read the signs around, neither menus, because they are in French as is apx. half of the stuff. I do speak Spanish and English, but it was for nothing here.
Second thing was, that this is not a 3star+, not even in anyones dreams. We coudn't unpack our clothes, because the wardrobes stunk so much, we coudn't put anything inside. It stayed as it was build, and my estimation is 25 years.
We've requested a ground floor, because we were 2 women, 3 kids, 2 strollers and lot of baggage, but as you guess, we got 1st floor, 20 steps 1m wide. Mission impossible!
But unfortunately, we've had no choice but made it.
Please also mind, that the hotels states, that it is air conditioned, and yes it is, but only the front desk and the restaurant. There is no single room with the A/C!!!
And like a cherry on the cake was the "all inclusive". We lived apx. 300m and across the road from the bar and the restaurant. And since you can't put any drinks in the bottle, we practically dind't have the opportunity to use the service during the day or evening. We've had the meals, but we had to buy the water and the drinks in the town, since we couldn't leave our children alone.
Last thing is the beach. It is apx. 10min walking dist. from the hotel, it is apx. 50m wide and instead of send you can find a lot of cigarette butts, plastic bags and nasty and a slack water.
I have just experienced the worst vacation in my life! God protect those, who doesn't use Tripadvisor and shame on me, that I din't listen!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jitka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Booked apartment via holiday lettings.co.uk.Apartment tired as was the complex- needs a good lick of paint. Tried a days all inclusive for 13 euros per adult- but not a patch on a four star all inclusive- cheap local wine, repetative menu, not a meal more like a snack bar.Apartment had fabulous pool and direct sea views. However,,constant loud activities for the all inclusive French tourists. Gym a joke.
Car a distinct advantage to escape to the beautiful coves in surrounding area.
Try Cala Mondrago for a great day trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

My family stayed here for the first two weeks in August and were very impressed with the facilities. We have two young children ages 3 and 7 and they had a ball. The apartment itself we booked directly with the owner on ownersdirect.co.uk and found it to be very clean , well furnished and well equiped.
The complex itself has four pools, kiddies club,playground, tennis court,crazy golf and all other outher activities to keep the kids occupied and is only 5 minutes walk from the town centre.
The staff at the complex all spkoe english and were very friendly. There are more french/dutch people here than english but we still found enough english people to mix with without it being too much like home.
Had a great time overall and heading out there (hopefully) next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank freightlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Parque Mar
Apartamentos Parque Mar
#20 of 46 in Cala d'Or
215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Roc Las Rocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Roc Las Rocas

Address: Avenida Forti 107, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Club Marmara Roc Las Rocas)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $171 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Roc Las Rocas 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Roc Las Rocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marmara Roc Las Rocas Hotel Cala d`Or
Apartamentos Roc Las Rocas Hotel
Aparthotel Roc Las Rocas Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing