We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very loud” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Hostal

San Francisco Hostal
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Francisco Hostal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

hostel is ok, as expected for that price range..it is just sooo loud at that area, there is no way you can sleep. no ac so cant close windows,even if you do it is still very loud. far from expected sound of sea and birds..can only hear motor bikes, and ppl screaming as it is main road.

Room Tip: bring your ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkoDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location, next to everything, close to the beach. Very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful!
Clean rooms, well maintained. Wonderful stay in Cala D'or! Special thanx to Antonia! Breakfast is good. Very good price for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The staff at the san francisco hostel were friendly and helpful and the room and ensuite were Basic which we expected and really nice and clean with a Balcony.
The breakfast was really nice and filling and consisted of a buffet of bacon, Eggs, cheese, ham and fresh bread, Croissants and preserves and fresh fruit juice and coffee and tea.
The accomadation is in a fantastic location in the centre of cala d'or 5 mins from 2 of the main beaches and it has fantastic restuarants and bars on the doorstep (definately try the restuarant Barlovento, the food was fantastic and really good value for money).
We had no problems whilst we were staying here and had an amazing holiday.
It can be quite noisy at night if you are staying at the front of the hotel which wasnt a massive issue however i wouldnt advise people with young children to stay here because of this reason, it is great for couples and singles who want a cheap pleasant friendly place to stay and we have no complaints and will hopefully be going back for a 2 week stay next year as the hostel was great and cala d'or is beautiful and a lovely place to holiday.
I would 100% recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pumpkin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

Just returned yesterday from a 6 night stay at the Hostal San Francisco in Cala D'or. We wanted a cheap getaway as we had already had our main holiday earlier in the year and we were on a tight budget. I saw this hotel coming up at a cheap price and we decided to take a gamble and go for it. As the hostal is only rated ar a 1* I was very worried about what we were going to get but I was pleasantly surprised!
Underneath the hostal there is a travel agency and this doubles up as a reception where we collected our key on arrival. The lady who works in there is one of the most friendly and helpful people ever! They offer excursions, airport transfers and a bureau de change and I would recommend this agency for any extras that you may want to book.
Our room was on the first floor over looking similar properties at the back. We had a small balcony with chairs. In the room there are twin beds, a dressing table, wardrobe and bathroom with shower. The bathroom was very clean & quite modern. The room itself wasn't massive but larger than I expected and again clean. Plenty of hanging space in wardrobe. The mattress on my bed was slightly hard but this did not stop me sleeping! The cleaner made our beds on a daily basis and we even got clean towels every day! The towels were a bit hard a worn but always clean so this wasn't really a problem.
There is no lift but the hostal is only 2 floors so not too much of a problem. There is a drinks machine on the first floor. Also fans and fridges can be hired which I would recommend as it was very hot in the room on a night!
Breakfast was included and served from 8 till 10. It consisted of bread, cheese, bacon, ham, fried eggs and water melon! Also juices and hot drinks. The breakfast was fine.
The hostal is situated right on one of the main streets in Cala D'or. As we were at the back it wasn't too noisy but I would recommend taking ear plugs in case you are in one of the front rooms which I imagine are a bit noisier. Shops and restaurants are immediately outside and it is only a 5 minute walk to Cala Gran & Cala D'or beaches.
I would probably stay here again as we had a good experience and the location is very central. Don't be expecting 4 or 5* luxury because it quite simply is not. The accommodation is very basic but clean. As long as you bear this in mind the San Francisco is ideal for a cheap break.
Vicky Stokell

  • Liked — Great location and excellent price!
  • Disliked — No pool but not a major problem!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VickySNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

Wanted an inexpensive break abroad as weather in England had been depressing this summer. Found this accommodation and took a gamble. Only rated 1 star, what would we get?

Well en-suite facilities, bath and shower, although no plug for basin or bath! 2 hand towels,2 bath towels - a bit hard. Twin beds also fairly firm, but beds made each day and towels, linen changed once during the week.

We also had breakfast included which consisted of eggs,bacon, little sausages, ham, cheese, bread, croissants, jams, juice, tea/coffee.

Location was literaly just across the road from main shops and restaurants. Couple of minutes walk to 2 beaches. Quite small but lawned areas to sunbathe on as well as sand. Lifeguards on duty on larger beach - Cala Gran. Plenty of low key night life and great marina with boat trips.

Good atmosphere for family holiday, but no lift in Hostel so not too young child friendly.

  • Liked — very central
  • Disliked — no plugs for bath/basin
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heliona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#34 of 47 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
27.5 mi away
Galaxia
Galaxia
#28 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hostal

Property: San Francisco Hostal
Address: Avenida Tagomago 18-20, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — San Francisco Hostal 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your San Francisco Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hostal Hotel Cala d`Or
San Francisco Hostal Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing