We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday due to location and security of apartments.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday due to location and security of apartments.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed with 10 year old daughter. Apartment was ideal size for the three of us. Very clean and cleaned every two or three days. All appliances required for self catering were present. Signs on hallway walls requesting to respect people's peace and quiet after 11.30pm. Entertainment most evenings. All you can eat bbq with free drink for 36 euro and similar evenings for the three of us.
Aparthotel is located at end of the street only 5 min walk to beach and main shopping and restaurant area. Nearest grocery shop is 200 yds away as are bars and restaurants and mini racing cars and kids funparks.
Swimming pool is only 1.3 metres at its deepest and is a good size, suitable for all levels of swimmers. Plenty of Sun loungers.
I could not find any faults with this aparthotel. So impressed we have asked friends to come with us next year. Can't wait to go back.
Cala dor is a lovely area and everything is within walking distance. Starfish glass boat trip is a must.
Great place for families. Huge mix of nationalities.
If you choose this aparthotel you won't regret it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank corribsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    262
    70
    12
    10
See reviews for
536
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from our third trip to Cala D'Or Playa and can only say it gets better each time. Some of the rooms have been updated, not that the older ones have anything wrong with them, but the new shower was fab!! These apartments are perfect for families, especially with younger children. The pool is very safe and just the right size. It is in a great location, just a five minute walk from the main town so nice & quiet with no passing traffic and a small beach also just a five minute walk away too. The entertainment staff are fantastic, not too pushy but put on some great activities for the little ones and adults too. All round great value money in my eyes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just got back week here (June 2013). Complex and apartment very good, clean and well maintained; we were in 316, main block, which faces west, balcony gets sun from noon till sunset, very quiet - would definitely recommend rooms 317, 316 and 315 (317 probably best as at end of row so only neighbours on one side). Only real drawback was no safe in room - safes available behind reception. Took weeks wifi access, which was fast and reliable, for €24. Can't comment on food or bar as didn't use them, pool area looked fine but will be very busy in high summer.

Two beaches, Cala Esmerelda and Cala Gran 5 mins walk away, resort center max 10 min walk away. Small hotel car park but plenty of on street nearby, staff helpful.

Would happily return ( especially to rooms mentioned).

Room Tip: For quiet rooms with good views go for 317, 316, 315.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nogbadthebadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you have kids this is the place too stop - if you are looking for a quiet couples holiday or a lads do !!! Don't come here, this is a kids family type place and they do it very well.

Second time here and loved it both times - 20 euros a night for the pool view upgrade which I didn't think was too bad - bit of a way from the airport so try and get some sort of transport as it will sting you for 70 euros each way in the taxi, which I didn't expect!!!

Yes lovely clean place, pool side snack bar for lunch is good, entertainment team very hard working.

Room Tip: 103 but be prepared to pay a bit more for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ray k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned from the Cala D'or Playa (me, my 10 year old daughter and my mum) and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it. The apartments are really nice and in a peaceful location easily located between the 2 beaches with a 5/10 minute walk into the centre. I didn't find the walk back there intimidating and the road was lit at night. We had a 3rd floor apartment in block A which faced the road up to the Hotel (not superior) which was plenty big enough for us, the balcony was spacious and went across the whole apartment . Although it wasn't a superior room, it was very comfortable and clean - maid service every other day and they leave you toilet rolls! (unlike some other self catering I've been in). The bathroom was very nice with a powerful shower and a bath and spotlighting which made it seem that bit more expensive! You also get left a washing up cloth and tea towel -small but appreciated touches. Beds are comfortable according to my mum and daughter - the pillows are not!!!, I had the sofa in the lounge area and didn't find it uncomfortable. We had free air conditioning and a flat screen TV with ITV and BBC (although BBC only lasted 1 day!) which was nice to watch in an evening to catch up on Corrie!!! Note to parents - it picks up CBBC which my daughter was ecstatic about, the excessive watching of it being the cause of our main arguments! I can't say as we found it noisy (we had no one above us as top floor), yes you hear the odd scraping of furniture but who doesn't do that at some point? I never heard any noise from the neighbours, only if we were outside
The pool area is very clean as is the pool and there were plenty of sunbeds. There is a kids pool and a Jacuzzi pool which functions every half hr as does the splash area which my daughter used. As the week went on it did get busier so It may be very busy in peak season. My only slight gripe was that there were only a few large communal umberellas which meant it was difficult to find shade unless you had a prime spot and most of the time the umberellas were down anyway. The kids club staff were very energetic but my daughter deemed herself too old for most of the activities (a downside to it not being school hols as it was mainly under fives)!!!
We ate at the pool bar and food was reasonably priced and fine for lunch purposes, didn't eat there at night. The centre restaurants are plentiful (some of the steak houses in the very centre were more expensive than those further down the road). We ate at Barventera (?) a few nights, lovely food, good choice and reasonable. Having avoided the Marina at night as I read meals were expensive, I found out from a friend at the end of our week that actually they were not - they recommended Zoccolas! Cala D'Or itself is a lovely resort, quite peaceful but lively with plenty of shops. Supermarkets are not overly cheap although beer is at £2.75 for a 6 pack of San Miguel! There is a supermarket at the end of the road which had a small bakery and the bagguettes were lovely and freshly baked throughout the day. We went on both main beaches but preferred Cala Esmerelda where it was less busy and had a lovely breeze. The tourist train is a good way to find your way around the resort and it calls at the Marina which is lovely (I would advise to go at night as it was very quiet in the day) - we had serious boat envy!!
All in all we had a lovely break, we booked with Jet 2 although most seemed to be with Thomsons and I would not rule out going there again.

Room Tip: Some of the lowest floor apartments were almost underground and must get no light. 3rd floor apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Cala D'or Playa for a week at the beginning of June. Our party ranged from 7 months old - 60 years old and we all had a great time.

Our apartments were in block b 226-228. All had a garden view and were lovely and clean inside. Our shower was slightly faulty but not a big enough problem for us to complain about. However this was obviously noticed by the cleaner because the shower head was changed without us asking. I would advise you email in advance and ask not to be out in rooms 001-007 as these rooms are underground level and face a white wall. Same with 101-107, balcony faces wall.

Apartments well equipped with hob, microwave, fridge/freezer etc. Our balcony was the most spacious I have even been on.

Pool area is great for food, breakfast and snacks resasonbly priced. Buffet breakfast definitely recommended for €8 inc drinks. Plenty of sunbeds available when we went so no getting up at 7am for a bed!

Handful of bars/restaurants at the end of the street, main tourist area around 10 mins away and its a lovely resort. Definitely recommend indiana johns for food and Aloha cocktail bar for drinks. Live entertainment in Tropical Bar good most nights with exception of Grease night.

All in all a great holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauragriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Shabby Chic apartments are looking more shabby than chic these days, but it was clean and and well equipped, with plenty of space. The balcony is large with table and chairs and an airer to dry towels etc.
However, this is not the ideal place to stay for the more mature couple, the poolside is fine with plenty of sunbeds but there are a lot of children being well catered for by the kids club staff, so we didn't sunbathe there much.
Noise carries throughout the complex, conversations can be heard in the bathroom!! People moving around above you and scraping chairs.
There are some things that have to be paid for on top of the apartment itself, WiFi is €24 a week and only one device can connect at a time, safety deposit box in reception area €15 a week. These are usually free in hotels on mainland Spain.
We didn't eat here but the prices seemed on a par with restaurants and bars in the area of which there are plenty of nearby.
There are 3 small beaches within easy walking distance Cala Dor, Esmaralda, Cala Gran they all get incredibly busy and crowded, sunbeds are between €4.50 and €5.50 each and parasols extra if you get there early enough.

Room Tip: Don't think there's much in it. We were to the left of reception as you come out of the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#9 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Property: Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Address: Avenida Punta Grossa 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala d'Or Playa Aparthotel is in a quiet residential area in Cala d'Or. It is located between Cala Gran beach and Cala Esmeralda beach (both are around 350 metres from the Aparthotel), and is only a few minutes' walk to the central shopping area.Ideal for families with children, it has areas specially designed for kids, as well as entertainment for children and special events.The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. You will be able to relax on your terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or the gardens, making your holiday unforgettable.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, 32 of which have been totally renewed in 2013. It has 2 blocks, with 4 and 3 floors respectively; both buildings have lifts. Surrounded by gardens, it has a large swimming-pool with a playground for children, an outdoor Jacuzzi and a water SPLASH PARK.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, all of them are spacious, comfortable and the decoration is of Mediterranean style. All the apartments are 35 m2 with a terrace or balcony (15 m2). They are for a maximum of four people, and there is enough space to put a cot in the bedroom. Unfortunately, we do not have apartments with two bedrooms. We have 3 types of apartments, depending on the location in the complex and the booked facilities. - STANDARD APARTMENTS: One double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a bathtub, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, two electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Clear views. - PLUS APARTMENTS: High-Standard. Totally renewed at the beginning of 2013. They have one double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a shower, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. 32" Led-Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Open views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Cala d`Or Playa Hotel Cala d`Or
Playa Apartments Cala d Or
Playa Apartments Hotel
Apartamentos Cala D'Or Playa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing