We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location appartment”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at these appartments from 9th June for one week and booked direct with the hotel on their website. We went as a family of four, 2 boys 7yrs and 5yrs.This appartment was recommended to us by family and we are glad they did. The beach is about 5-10 minutes walk from the back of the appartment gardens. The nearest shops are 5 minutes walk. The pool was fairly big with a small pool for toddlers and a jacuzzi. The water splash play area was a bonus for children. There was plenty of sun loungers. The appartments were cleaned and towels changed daily, which I didn't think was necessary really. We were located in block B, facing the gardens, on a quiet location. We didn't use the bar so can't comment, although it served simple light bite snacks. There was activities on everyday such as water polo, aquaerobics and special party or bbq nights throughout the week. Entertainment staff were brilliant and always made you feel welcome. We will definitely return if we visit cala d'or again. I will recommend for families who want good value for money, clean and an excellent location!

Room Tip: For quiet rooms ask for Block 8, facing gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SKW1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    270
    70
    12
    11
See reviews for
560
144
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My partner and I have just come back from a week in these apartments which were well kept spacious and comfortable. Always plenty of sunbeds available.and nice pool. We thought the poolside bar was poor though (especially the coffee!) and quite expensive and food was only available only during certain times which was a bit restrictive.
Several small beaches in walking distance but get there early if you want a sunbed as many are reserved for the week.
The best restaurant by a mile was the Coco Lounge which was absolutely first class in every way. We went there every night once we discovered it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoHulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just stayed at Cala D'or Playa for 10 nights during June 2012. We travelled with a 3 year old and 6 month old. So many positive things have been said about the good apartments, great balconies rooms, cleanliness of the whole site & fantastic staff and they are all true.

The pool area is great with plenty to keep the children occupied. One big bonus was the pool itself was really warm with our 3 year old regularly staying in for nearly 2 hours without getting cold. Throughout the day, although busy, you could always get a sunbed albeit not with shade. There was a little bit of sunbed 'reserving' apparent but certainly nothing like we have experienced before.

We stayed in Room 311 which was on the top (4th floor) at the front of the hotel and facing towards the hills in the distance. The balconies on these top floor apartments are not covered so great if you want to sunbathe on them. I didn't see any apartments in what I could call a poor location although those adjacent to the road leading to the front entrance may experience some noise.

The entertainment staff were fantastic, particularly Monica & Laura, who were great with our 3 year old. Even though she wasn't old enough to officially attend the children's club, they always made an effort to include her in activities. The t-shirt painting is great for the kids and well worth 8 euros. Great mini-disco at 8.30pm each night except Saturday

Not much has been previous written about the restaurant - probably because its not used alot for dinner which is a real shame. We chose half board and most evenings, there was only one other family dining. Dinner was great though. Most nights it was a 4 course meal with waiter service. During breakfast on the relevant mornings, you are handed a menu and for that evening you chose from 2 starters, 2 first courses, 3 second courses and 3 desserts. On 3 days a week, there is a buffet on the theme nights - Monday is Spanish night with delicious paella, salads and a few meat dishes. Wednesday is children's party night with salads, meats & pastas. Friday is BBQ night. All food at dinner was really good quality, well prepared and as good as most restaurants on the outside. Breakfast each day was a buffet featuring a good choice including English breakfasts, bread, cereals, pastries, donuts, ham, cheese etc. A few more guests stayed for breakfast. Again, very good. All the bar & waiting staff were excellent, without exception, especially Manolo & Marga in the evenings.

There wasn't entertainment each night although there was some excellent Spanish dancers on the Spanish night and also a Brazilian dance night. Apart from that all fairly low key. On the children's night each Wednesday, there is a bouncy castle & games which are good fun for the kids.

The complex is in a good location. Its located in a dead end so no passing traffic. Its only 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Cala D'or with both Cala Gran & Cala Esmerelda beaches less than 10 minutes walk away (best accessed through the rear entrance by the pool area). Cala Ferrera Beach is less than 15 minutes walk away and the marina about 20 minutes. For the children, there are 2 fun parks with go-karts, bouncy castles, trampolines etc all within a few minutes walk from the front entrance.

Conflicting information has been reported about paying for air conditioning & cots. We didn't have to pay for either. We booked directly with the hotel so not sure if it varies if booked through a broker or on a package holiday.

Overall, a great place and highly recommended. Can't fault anything about the place and Cala D'or as a whole

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarkT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just arrived back from the Cala D'or Playa Apartments yesterday and I have to say it is one of the best places we have stayed in.We have a little 3 year old and also had an 8 and 6 year old away with us.The area was so child friendly,bouncy castles, games and nearly every restaurant and bar had games for kids so you can relax and enjoy your meal. The staff at the apartments were fantastic, Monica, Edwin and Laura went out of their way to entertainment the kids.The food was lovely in the pool side bar and we ate a couple of nights there too, there was Spanish and BBQ nites which was lovely.The only downside is the head receptionist Romana who was extremely rude to everyone in our party at different occasions, and we also heard other guests complaining about her. She left me standing at the desk for 5 minutes before she even acknowledged I was there, she was busy checking her e-mails.Its disappointing for the hotel as she is not a good representative and could do with a course in customer service.We will definitely be back next year, looking forward to it already...

Room Tip: I heard there were ground floor rooms that had a little garden in the back, if you e-mail the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Galvo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed (again) but this time in June. The hotel appeared quite full, but still beds at the pool. Annoying to go to the pool in the morning and see towels there all day with no-one on them. Some people leave them and go for brekafast, which is fair enough, but all day..... The hotel management have doone a lot of work out of season and have replaced some if not all of the patios doors in the rooms. If you have been there before you will understand. The htoel is still very clean and well maintained. We did not stay in for the entertainment any of the nights, but the bar was empty when we came back in the evening. There were a lot of toddlers here and this may account for same.

This years we went out on Sea Riders 1, a speed boat trip up the coast and swimming the the sea. Nice trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are just back from a week in Playa Cala d'Or.My wife and I and our daugther and two grandchildren.We all had a brilliant time there.The hotel is in a great location,spotlessly clean all round , great pool area for kids and adults. Very good breakfast and lunch menu at the poolside resturant.All staff are very friendly and great with the kids.Could not fault this hotel for anything.

The resort of Cala d'Or is lovely,nice size , nice beaches and very good variety of resturants..We ate at Indiana Johns three times and each time it was perfect.Great food and service.Would highly recommend.....We also ate at Zocalo's down at the marina,and it was also a great experience....Great food and really nice view of marina.

Overall I would highly recommend Playa Cala d'Or for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Block B 1st and 2nd floors nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoopsLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Overall we had a really good time. The kids entertainment was good enough to keep them entertained. The rooms were basic but clean and the pool facilities and play area were good( although some holes in floor in play area!) The food was quick and easy at lunch but they only had a buffet in the eve and it was quite limited and mostly the same each night. Edwin from entertainment was so good with the kids and the girls were really friendly as well. We didn't get such a warm greeting from Romana on reception when we arrived bit maybe we caught her on a bad day. Apart from that we had a fantastic holiday in Cala d'or and would recommend Cala Gran beach as it is easier with a buggy. Also a.fantastic Italian restaurant called la fontanella just down the little street with the steps going into town. Will also mention that you have to pay for a cot (€21 pw) and also air con (€25 pw) which I found absolutely disgusting for a hotel that markets itself as family friendly. Sort those few issues out and a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal77793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa

Property: Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Address: Avenida Punta Grossa 1, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala d'Or Playa Aparthotel is in a quiet residential area in Cala d'Or. It is located between Cala Gran beach and Cala Esmeralda beach (both are around 350 metres from the Aparthotel), and is only a few minutes' walk to the central shopping area.Ideal for families with children, it has areas specially designed for kids, as well as entertainment for children and special events.The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. You will be able to relax on your terrace or balcony overlooking the pool or the gardens, making your holiday unforgettable.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, 32 of which have been totally renewed in 2013. It has 2 blocks, with 4 and 3 floors respectively; both buildings have lifts. Surrounded by gardens, it has a large swimming-pool with a playground for children, an outdoor Jacuzzi and a water SPLASH PARK.The Aparthotel has 116 apartments, all of them are spacious, comfortable and the decoration is of Mediterranean style. All the apartments are 35 m2 with a terrace or balcony (15 m2). They are for a maximum of four people, and there is enough space to put a cot in the bedroom. Unfortunately, we do not have apartments with two bedrooms. We have 3 types of apartments, depending on the location in the complex and the booked facilities. - STANDARD APARTMENTS: One double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a bathtub, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, two electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Clear views. - PLUS APARTMENTS: High-Standard. Totally renewed at the beginning of 2013. They have one double-bedroom (two 190 cm x 90 cm beds), one fully furnished bathroom with a shower, lounge with two sofa-beds, a terrace or balcony, and a kitchenette with a fridge, 2 electric cooking rings, microwave, electric coffee-machine, kettle, toaster and basic cooking utensils. 32" Led-Tv with international channels, telephone and hair-dryer. Air Conditioning. Open views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Cala d`Or Playa Hotel Cala d`Or
Playa Apartments Cala d Or
Playa Apartments Hotel
Apartamentos Cala D'Or Playa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing