We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but nice”
Review of Hotel D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D'Or
Ranked #3 of 6 Cala d'Or B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2008

we were a little surprised when the rep put us on the bus at airport and let the driver take us on his own to the hotel dor cala dor .its about and hour from airport on the bus but nice scenery on route .first impressions on hotel are very small place small reception and we got a very small room about the size of a very smal box room in normal house .the staff becky ,kathy ,and gerry all make up for the rather inadequate space of some of the rooms ..we have been told bigger rooms can be requested next time ..rooms cleaned 6 days week and very well i must say ..no toileteries are left except 2 soap so take shampoo etc .our room was facing THE SQUARE this is a stones throw away from all the pubs and resturants .we were there at fiesta time and it was NOISY for one night very late 5am no sleep .we had a marvellous fireworks display and as i say the staff are fantastic ..when we arrived i was dissapointed but by the time we left i was already chatting becky at the hotelabout return trip.this is a very relaxing and freindly spot ..n0 tvs or anything like a kettle in rom but all can be rented at a cost from reception . a great SPAR is acrooss the road and free internet all day in bar area which is great..happy hour 4/5 each day and the lunch specials are great around 4.90 including large beer or mineral...weather fantastic but husband got really bad jelly fish sting on face in the sea while swimming a lot of people were getting stung ! hope this helps enjoy x

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Hotel D'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 275 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2008

Three things to remember before I say the good stuff:

1. The nightclub is very loud
2. The nightclub is VERY loud
3. The nightclub is VERY LOUD!

Having said that, the hotel isn´t to blame for the noise but the other reviews fail to actually tell you just how loud it is. If you turn your radio in your car to about the three quarter full volume point and close the windows, then stand outside, that´s exactly how loud it is until 4 a.m. on the dot, night after night. Now if you are like me and my wife, enjoy a wine/beer or three and are fairly chilled then all is well, but this could be a real holiday maker or breaker and we saw people complain and ask to be moved during out stay and it just isnt for the faint hearted. It certainly didnt ruin our holiday at all but there is simply no way you can have a good nights sleep and if you have children, well, you take your risks....

Having got off my soapbox, the hotel itself gets a rating of 4 from us as the rooms are exactly what you expect, in fact, for a three star, more. They are cleaned daily, new towels, air con works 24 hours.

The pool area is superb, pool plenty big enough for the number of rooms and we only found one day where the sunbeds were all taken, so no problem there.

The breakfast is exactly what you would expect and the staff are friendly and willing to help you.

The location is superb (again other than for the nightclub).

Nothing bad to say about the hotel at all. It gets its 2/3 star rating and earns it. You won´t find a bevy of naked beauties fanning you on your sunbed, but it isnt 5 star. Well to be recommended.

If the nightclub closed and they threw a fridge and tv in then in my eyes it would get a further star.

Enjoy and rave on! and remember earplugs.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andystone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We have just come back from Cala d'or after a very enjoyable 10 days at the Hotel D'or. After reading the reviews we were a little worried but the hotel exceeded our expectations. Yes the hotel is small but fulfilled our needs and the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Becky, Katy and Jerry. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday except Wednesdays. There was also air con in all rooms which was a god send. Some of the reviews mention a lot of noise coming from the night club at the back of the hotel. Our room backed onto the club and we didn't hear a thing.
The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Cala d'or where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. The best place to eat is Marfil (past Jungle Restaurant, left at the bottom, opposite Spar). A typical meal for 4 people plus drinks about 30 euros. Don't bother with the Don Leone restaurant. We waited an hour for our food, luke warm, small portions and cost 62 euros! We would also recommend the Cafeteria Plaza too (opposite Jungle Restaurant). Similar price to Marfil's.
All in all a very enjoyable holiday, would recommend Cala d'or and wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Hotel D'or.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ManchesterMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

This hotel is in a perfect location, just a few steps away from the beach. The staff were pretty friendly although you had to ask about everything. Nobody was very forthcoming with information. For instance we were given one key card upon check in and this is also used for the air conditioning. Little did we know until day 3 that the air conditioning is actually turned off at night time...this was after 2 sleepless nights due to the heat. Apparently you are supposed to leave one key card in all day so the room is cool thorughout the night. Was nice to be informed about this when we checked in! Another disappointment was our room...overall it was fine and there was nothing to complain about except for the fact we paid extra for a sea view room.... Well we got a sea view but when you sat on the balcony on the chairs all you could see was the balcony wall in front of you. This was pretty sad as we had looked forward to spending the evening watching the sunset from our balcony with a nice bottle of champagne. I asked the first morning if possible to change and was informed that all the balconies were the same. Found out that this was not the case there are rooms where you can sit with a view of the sea. It was disappointing as we paid quite a bit extra for this.
The room was very clean and the spacious so no complaints there and once we got a second key card it was cooler at night time. Breakfast was ok but not much variation but overall it was fine. The pool is relatively small but while we were there it never got overcrowed. We spent most of our time at the beach and travelling around anyway. We were there the last week in July and the first 4 days of Aug and you could notice the difference in the numbers of people during our last couple of days. I would not recommed travelling in August as its very busy everywhere. After seeing quiet a lot of the island and other resorts Cala d'Or is definately one of the nicest. Cala Ratjada is also very nice but is predominately German, whereas Cala d'Or has a nice mixture.
We paid an additional €30 to keep our room on the last day as we were being collected at 6pm for the airport. It would have been nice to have been provided with fresh towels to shower after having paid the additional charge.
Overall the staff were pleasant but beware and always check your bar bills...we had several occassions where there were a lot more drinks added to the bill than we actually had. I'm sure it was a genuine mistake but just beware of it and check the bill.

Overall a pleasant stay and I woudl recommend the hotel and Cala D'Or for a nice break away in the sun

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I booked this hotel at the last minute for my daughter (she is 8)and I and I have to say we had a brilliant time in Cala D'Or. The hotel is in a great location just 5 minutes into the bustling nightlife of the town and across the road from a well stocked Spar shop. There are a choice of beaches the nearest (and we thought the nicest) Cala D'Or about 10 minutes walk.
The Hotel is small but this is its attraction. All the staff are helpful and friendly. Take time to talk to Gerry. He is the chef in the morning for the breakfasts (excellent choice and eat as much as you like!!), bar man at night and then night porter. He is a very nice and interesting chap from Mexico.
Our room was small but nicely furnished and had all you would need, including a safe (small charge) and free air conditioning! The cleaning staff are really nice and helpful and change the towels every day (except Saturday).
If I had any adverse comments at all I would say the pool is slightly on the small side, however, it was never full and we had a great time. This is no way affected our enjoyment of the D'Or Hotel. For a last minute booking I thought we were very lucky and will definitley go back if we visit Cala D'Or again.
Just a mention about the nightlife we found three restaurants served excellent food and offered excellent value for money: Restaurant Cheers (Tomato Soup is Fantastic) Cafe Plaza (Huge portions for small costs) and the Dumpling Bar (English maybe, but the fish and chips and Sunday Roasts are excellent). For a drink and entertainment after there is the Tropical Gardens (large outdoor Bar with a different act every night), Hollywood Bar (Karaoke) and a little further afield Walshies (typical english pub with outdoor terraces).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbbazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Just spent a week a the Hotel d'Or in Cala d'Or. A nice location for a relaxing break. No lager louts and I don't think that they'd be tolerated.
The hotel was adequate with a/c in all rooms. No TVs in rooms but that wasn't an issue for me. The staff were friendly and at all times helpful.
The pool was small but there were always plenty of loungers available. A few extra umbrellas wouldn't go astray.
There's an abundance of restaurants in the centre, mostly serving similar fare. Prices are in line with Ireland e.g. starters, steak, bottle of wine €60 for 2 people. (average)
I would recommend both the Restaurant Tipico and Restaurant Top Tapas, which face each other near the skateboard square.
There are a few small beaches in the area and a large marina. The one thing that I really missed was walking along the seafront promenade because there didn't appear to be one!
The boat trips from the town are OK but select carefully. The one that we took brought us to a remote village and left us there for 2 hours with absolutely nothing to do.
All in all, a nice location for a restful short break.

Thank BronzeTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SusanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Or

Address: Avenida Calonge s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $44 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing