We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Hotel D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel D'Or
Ranked #3 of 6 Cala d'Or B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I booked this hotel at the last minute for my daughter (she is 8)and I and I have to say we had a brilliant time in Cala D'Or. The hotel is in a great location just 5 minutes into the bustling nightlife of the town and across the road from a well stocked Spar shop. There are a choice of beaches the nearest (and we thought the nicest) Cala D'Or about 10 minutes walk.
The Hotel is small but this is its attraction. All the staff are helpful and friendly. Take time to talk to Gerry. He is the chef in the morning for the breakfasts (excellent choice and eat as much as you like!!), bar man at night and then night porter. He is a very nice and interesting chap from Mexico.
Our room was small but nicely furnished and had all you would need, including a safe (small charge) and free air conditioning! The cleaning staff are really nice and helpful and change the towels every day (except Saturday).
If I had any adverse comments at all I would say the pool is slightly on the small side, however, it was never full and we had a great time. This is no way affected our enjoyment of the D'Or Hotel. For a last minute booking I thought we were very lucky and will definitley go back if we visit Cala D'Or again.
Just a mention about the nightlife we found three restaurants served excellent food and offered excellent value for money: Restaurant Cheers (Tomato Soup is Fantastic) Cafe Plaza (Huge portions for small costs) and the Dumpling Bar (English maybe, but the fish and chips and Sunday Roasts are excellent). For a drink and entertainment after there is the Tropical Gardens (large outdoor Bar with a different act every night), Hollywood Bar (Karaoke) and a little further afield Walshies (typical english pub with outdoor terraces).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbbazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

Just spent a week a the Hotel d'Or in Cala d'Or. A nice location for a relaxing break. No lager louts and I don't think that they'd be tolerated.
The hotel was adequate with a/c in all rooms. No TVs in rooms but that wasn't an issue for me. The staff were friendly and at all times helpful.
The pool was small but there were always plenty of loungers available. A few extra umbrellas wouldn't go astray.
There's an abundance of restaurants in the centre, mostly serving similar fare. Prices are in line with Ireland e.g. starters, steak, bottle of wine €60 for 2 people. (average)
I would recommend both the Restaurant Tipico and Restaurant Top Tapas, which face each other near the skateboard square.
There are a few small beaches in the area and a large marina. The one thing that I really missed was walking along the seafront promenade because there didn't appear to be one!
The boat trips from the town are OK but select carefully. The one that we took brought us to a remote village and left us there for 2 hours with absolutely nothing to do.
All in all, a nice location for a restful short break.

Thank BronzeTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SusanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank beachbumbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Holidaymad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Squealer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaccTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Or

Address: Avenida Calonge s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $47 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing