We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel D'Or
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sentido Tucan(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Antares(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Dor(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal Leo D'or(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Chico(Cala d'Or)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
99
112
43
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
112
43
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon leoneair conpool arearooms are basicbars and restaurantsfirst floortown centresmall roomstar hotelspar supermarketbar snacksboiled eggschanged everydaybed and breakfast basismet some lovely peoplesun loungersvisited this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 288 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and myself both stayed here for 4 nights on the 21st of August and we both thought the hotel was perfect for what we needed!!

The hotel is a 2 star and without sounding like a snob I would normally not have booked a 2 star but we were only looking for a quick break away. My partner knows Cala D'or really well and knew were the hotel was on the map but knew nothing about the hotel itself other than what we had read on here!

Rooms
Basic but very clean and has everything you need, we stayed in room 406 which was pretty much right by the pool side with a little terrace leading onto the pool area. One thing I will say is that when we were there it was 35 degrees during the day and high 20's in the evening and the air con in the room was the BEST air con I have ever experienced.

Pool
Not a very big pool but ample for the amount of people in the hotel. Never had to worry about getting a sun bed even although the hotel was full and the biggest bonus was all the lilos that other people had bought were left in the children's part of the pool (very few children at the hotel) and everyone could just take turns at having a go before putting them back!!

Breakfast
Would say it was ample at best, toast, cheese, bacon, hot dog sausages, eggs, tomatoes, some fruit (fresh and tinned) and the usual cereals etc!! We only had breakfast twice while we stayed but this was not because of the food in the hotel we just wanted to try other places!

Bar
Good selection of drinks and I though it was very well priced as a pint and a half pint of lager was just shy of 5 euros! They dis serve hot snacks at the bar during the day but never tried these so can't comment.

Location
By far the best thing going for this hotel!! 5/10 mins walk to Cala Gran or Cala D'or beach and the same to the beautiful Marina. Few mins walk to all of the bars, shops and restaurants and very quiet when we returned to our room at night.

Hotel/staff
Massive well done to everyone for running such a great little hotel.

Next time we get the opportunity to nip back to Cala D'or for a few nights we will not be looking at booking anywhere else other than this fantastic 2 star hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoso1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We returned on Monday and really enjoyed our stay!! Yes there was a festival in the main square which is just behind the hotel and yes the music was loud it finished on Sunday at midnight with a fabulous firework display!!!!

The hotel was spotless the rooms are cleaned every day except Wed - the breakfast was lovely - finishes 10 on the button!!! My children loved the pool - there is no kids club - (the basement area coud be very handy for this purpose - its signed as a TV Saloon but evey room had their own TV) no entertainment - with the exception of Mondays when there is live music -

The beauty of this hotel is its location - It is near to the centre and the beach and its resonably priced!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realtabeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just got back from Hotel D'or after 14 nights. Hotel is a delight yes the rooms are basic and need a face lift (especially bathrooms) but for the price it has to be expected as it is not a 4 star. Cleaners work so hard they made me feel tired. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and treated you like a person unlike larger hotels. Food was good and a good breakfast up until 10am. no problem with sunloungers or parasols. Pool was clean and the bar area really nice and restful.
The hotel is minutes from the centre with loads of bars and shops. We went half board as it was very well priced and we were amazed at what we had, yes it was a limited choice but a three course meal which you could have a starter for the main. You can as we did a couple of times order from the main menu and you get 40% discount off the food. Food was served at a restuarant Don Leone's and was very popular and staff were friendly and efficient. Initially the head waiter seems abrupt but he isnt its his manner and we had a laugh with him as the more we went.
Just a note on Thomson's no rep joined us on the coach to the hotel, no welcome pack of advice, no rep visited in time we there and no rep on coach on the way back found the folder in the hotel after a few days saying rep next door at Sa Marina each morning if you want to walk round , but then it is a 4 star obviously not worthy to visit a 2 star.... not on Thomsons.

Just to say there was a festival on from friday the 10th in the square right by the hotel and very , very, loud music and people shouting on microphones went on until 4.30 am then turned down to 5am on the friday and again on the Saturday night un til 3am sleep was difficult as the glass was shaking in the door to the balcony it did upset quite a few so be aware if you go at this time, but not the hotel fault at all.

Overall well done to all the staff at Hotel D'or and Don Leone's for a fantastic holiday thank you.
We will definitly be back at some point.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms which are on the right hand side of the hotel as it has a night club.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunlover70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a fantastic week stay here July. Room was lovely with free aircon. Breakfast was fantastic with a good choice and plenty. Great pool and pool side bar with tv and pool table.The town centre with all the bars and restaurants was only 5 mins away with some very very good choices and a fantastic atmosphere,The harbour was pretty and only 10 mins walk away. Boat trips were great and got to swim in the sea off the back of the boat. All in all a lovely place to go for everyone. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loupaulali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Recently returned from 7 night break with my 9 y/o son. Was great hotel. Staff really helpful and friendly, especially Christina, rooms clean, great location (5 mins to town centre one way, 5 mins to marina the other, 10 mins max to beach). Breakfast was as good as you'd hope, bar food was fine.
We had a great time, and met some lovely people.
Only thing I would say is that there was nothing in the way of entertainment (apart from Mondays).
Also, there were few children there while we were...not a problem for all of course, and presumably not always the case.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felixh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews