We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & well run hotel”
Review of Hotel Rocamarina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala d'Or
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rocamarina
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly & well run hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

1st time here, on rec. of our friends who had been in July, & whom accompanied us this time (no, they weren't our carers!); 3-10 Oct, lovely hotel, friendly, helpful, courteous & efficient staff; room (221) was very pleasant, spacious, good shower with solid shower screen (better than those shower curtains which just wrap themselves round you!); room was on ground floor which was actually not a problem reall, garden outlook at opposite side to pool, got sun late afternoon, which was pleasant to sit in; dining facilities were fine, once you got used to the system, made 'friends' with maitre'd Juan, who looked after us well, changing our table & sitting (there are 2 sittings) to fit in with our busy evening schedule one night; we asked for & were allocated a table outside overlooking pool (the weather was still warm enough to sit out most evenings), handy for the evening entertainment which used the outdoor stage (go 2nd sitting & get this type of table to ensure a good position for the rest of the evening); weather cooled a little last 2 x nights & some rain, entertainment was brought inside, which meant things became a little cramped & not quite sufficient seating for everyone, so 2nd sitting diners had very little chance to get a table inside...not really a great problem but slightly annoying. Most coped with this.
Food was good, albeit predictable, varied, something for all tastes, puddings were superb, waiters/waitresses very attentive & polite, lovely Polish girl who spoke many languages, put us to shame really! Thompson staff/reps busy & helpful, entertainment was varied & reasonable standard, no complaints really, comedian was superb; hotel was very clean, rooms were cleaned & tidied every day, spotless, thank you house-keeping team, very efficient & always a cheery greeting in the corridor. This hotel is well run & has a lovely atmosphere, most guests were friendly too & not clicky (unlike our previous holiday earlier in July at similar type Thompson Los Gigantes Hotel, Tenerife);
Have I said Rocamarina had a lovely atmosphere, oh yes, well I'll say it again...!
Not a criticism but we were the youngest here (we are early 50's) although the age range is usually broader than just >60yrs, we were informed...we had to laugh at the 9am race for the best sun beds, which was amusing to say the least, some impressive 'sprints' by seniors to achieve the ultimate goal - we English do this so well, sadly (embarrassingly well, actually), why, oh why, oh why, do you need to do this? I noted beds with towels on unused throughout the day - it really is pathetic! Varied locations for catching the sun within the hotel grounds, loved the decking sun area above the pool, which seemed popular & very quiet, if you wished to chill & relax you could, if you wanted to play games, etc, you could (we didn't ....enough of that at home). If you want outside bars & places to eat there are plenty, locally & in cala'dor & porto petra. Weather (early Oct) was still nice & warm, actually unusually high humidity 1st 2 x days, some rain on 2 x evenings, quite a bit of cloud most days, which was not unexpected for this time of the year, really. We enjoyed exploring the countryside, picking fresh almonds & figs.
Hotel is handy for local beach & is only a short, pleasant stroll around the bay away from Cala D'or. Would we go back? Most certainly, but probably in June/July to ensure better/hotter weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    335
    107
    31
    15
See reviews for
131
817
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is our 2nd time at Rocamarina,the Hotel is excellent&very well kept by the Housekeeping Staff.
The Food is superb, with puddings "to die for " all the staff are very helpful & friendly
It is in a nice quiet location but handy for the Beach & Shops. The entertainment is good the Resident Duo were really very good as was Richard the Entertainment Rep.
We will certainly be going back again next year. Top Class !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

What can I say, this hotel is perfect in every way, food superb, hotel staff very helpful, room was comfy and clean, entertainment excellent, a week was not long enough so would stay longer if we went again which is most likely. Love Izzy and Mike, two very lovely bubbly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue412013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've been to this hotel four times over recent years, and just returned from our second visit this year. We love everything about this hotel, including food, staff, and location. It's situated in Cala Egos which is quite a low key resort with shops, bars and restaurants - perfect for customers who like peace and quiet whilst on holiday. It's a short walk from the marina, which is stunning, and a thirty minute walk from it's neighbour, Cala D'Or. A short bus ride away, or if feeling energetic an hours walk away is the beautiful beach situated at Cala Mondrago which is set in a Natural Park, it is total peace and tranquillity, but you do need to be there early to ensure you get a bed, in the height of summer it is very popular and gets busy quite quickly. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

It had been just over a year since our previous visit to this gem of a hotel and we were going at the end of the season. October is also the start of the rainy season for the area. However any worries or doubts we had were gone as soon as we landed at Palma airport. The weather was glorious the Thomson reps were ready and waiting with clear instructions and clear guidance on where to go for connecting shuttles. No sign of weariness or lack lustre performances so far.
On arrival at the hotel it was as we remembered it, immaculate from the outside and even more so on the inside. A warm welcome was given by the on duty reception team and when we enquired about an upgrade on our room this was done in seconds without fuss or delay. Up to our room we went (a superior room number 252 on the second floor) and three doors along from our old room on our previous stay.
The room was immaculate as usual with a well appointed bathroom and a large very comfy bed. The air conditioning was whisper quite when placed onto low and so efficient that, that was the only setting we needed. The balcony which is in all honesty not the biggest we have ever been on, but suitable and spacious enough for the table, two chairs and a bit spare. This looked over the pool, deck area and entertainment zone. Sadly due to the number of residents dwindling due to it being the tail end of the season the decision was made to move all night entertainment indoors. This had the benefit of making the atmosphere more intimate and immediate. The entertainment team worked very hard despite the small number of residents and did a cracking job and never lost enthusiasm or energy. The resident duo "Vegas" were a class act with Chris's powerful and smooth voice perfectly complimented by Wendy's keyboard, bass and other instrument playing (at the same time). They played/sang a massive variety of songs and all were preceded by Chris explaining the history and background to it, which was very interesting and informative. The other guest acts were a mixture with some that were outstanding and a couple that were cheesy, but entertaining in a guilty pleasure sort of way.
Thanks to the limited number, sun beds were not a problem and whilst before we frequented the tennis club (100 metres away, pay for the beds and parasol at reception for a better price) we did not need to do so this time around. Towels were also available to hire from reception at 3€ each (deposit) and they could be changed every three days. The beach is also very close only 150 metres away and you can purchase tickets from reception at a reduced rate, but this can get pretty crowded.
The food at Rocamarina was stunning, with a huge variety of different food types each sitting. Juan the dining room manager runs a very slick team and it was nice chatting to him again, he has the uncanny knack of remembering people, perhaps not by name but he does recognise you again. The bar staff are effective and smooth, with a wide knowledge of their products and are able to recommend drinks to suit any occasion or requirement.
When we did venture into town after walking around the marina we found a lovely restaurant "Can Trompe" this was about 50 metres on the left hand side of the street after taking the first left hand junction after walking up from the Marina (go past Rizzo hairdresser on your right and the Bens Gym on your left). The Paella in this eatery was the best we tasted on the island and there was plenty of it.
The Orange Blossom Trail tour was superb, a coach trip to the Monastary at Lluc which is glorious. the drive up the windy (snake pass) is not for the faint hearted or those of a nervous disposition. The guides knowledge was superb, informative and fun. We walked around and then sampled some delicious home baking from the cafe there (Almond cake and Carob cake is stunning). We then had a short drive to the fishing port of Soller, after an hour browsing and eating we then took a wooden tram ride to the railway station and from there a wooden train to Palma.
Sadly the week passed far too quickly and we were soon on our way back to Blighty just in time for the predicted storms. Overall, Rocamarina delivers what we want, quality time, quality food, quality entertainment in a quality package. The highlight for this visit was for us "Vegas" if Thomson play their cards right they will keep them for another season as they were superb.
We will definitely be back to this beautiful hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank YorkshireTony121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not sure where travelledartist stayed but the rocamarina is a four star hotel, but in my opinion deserves a five star rating. Onto our holiday, what a great week, weather, food (which was excellent with the porridge being the best i have had for a long time), entertainment, staff (both hotel staff and thomson staff) all made the holiday perfect. Izzy and Mike were great, not too in your face but friendly and come across as perfect entertainers and looked after us all very well. My only moan is the steps, into the hotel, down to the pool and we could not get to the solarium to use those beds are far too many steps, (must have been about 30) and they are fire escape type so did not feel safe using them. However this did not spoil my holiday and if it had not been for work commitments we would have stayed another week. The hotel was spotless and surely the beds are down to preference if you like a hard or soft bed, you will never suit everyone with this. I remeber richard and julie they were a smashing couple and joined in alot of the games. We did find it difficult to walk down to the marina but we went on the little train which is only 3.5 euros for a round trip or 2 euros if you want to get off. Beware though the germans from the hotel opposite the train stop do not queue and simply push to the front they were very rude, one lady and her little girl were the first in the queue but she did not even get on as they were pushing her little girl and she was getting frightened. I would still rather be courteous to other people than have a reputation of being rude. If you read this richard and julie hello i am the one you gave the trolley coin to

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the Rocamarina 13th – 20th October.

Hotel is in Cala Egos which has enough shops, bars and restaurants to suit most visitors although I cant recommend any as didn’t use them. If you fancy a change of scenery the harbour is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel then a further 20 minutes or so to the town centre of Cala D’or. You can also walk to Puerto Pedro in around 45 minutes.
The local buses seemed plentiful and reasonably cheap. There is also a little tourist train that takes you from Cala Egos to Cala D’or for 2 Euro although this does get very full at peak times. We saw no anti social behaviour anywhere in the resort and also no looky looky men or timeshare touts were to be seen.
As for the hotel itself we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay there. I must point out that this was our 1st visit to the Rocamarina but we are regular Thomson Gold visitors so knew beforehand what the food, entertainment and client base would most likely be.
We had a superior room at one end of the hotel with a partial sea view through a palm tree. The balcony was pretty large and had reclining chairs, a table and a clothes airer.
Room was equipped with a large bathroom which was lovely and clean, toiletries supplied, a fridge, kettle, cups and tea and coffee. The air conditioning worked as it should and cooled the room quickly when needed. The rooms are opened/locked with a key not a card. Room cleaning was to a good standard and the maids were friendly and always had a smile and a cheery hola. The only problem we had, and it was a very minor one, was that the kettle wouldn’t stay on unless you held the on button down. A quick visit to reception and they gave us another one which worked perfectly. We found the reception very polite, friendly and there was always someone there whatever the time of day or night. The safety deposit boxes were situated just off the reception area, im not sure of the cost as we had one free as we were in a superior room. You pay a deposit of 6 Euros for the key and also 6 Euros for your pool towels which you get back when you check out. You can purchase brand new Thomson Gold towels to take home with you for 3 Euros per towel which we though was a good price so we bought two.
You are given a table in the restaurant for all of your meals. You can request indoor or outdoor tables and also change to a different table if you ask the head waiter/Maitre D. The hotel was only around ½ full when we were there so cant say if all requests could be accommodated in the main summer months. The food was good, all the usual choices at the buffet breakfast. Dinner was also buffet style and a chef was on hand to cook 3 or 4 items to order each night, usually 2 meats and 2 fish. There was also a different curry each night. The waiters and waitresses were friendly enough, some chatty and some quiet but they were all efficient and soon cleared tables and fetched any drinks which were ordered. You pay for your restaurant drinks during your meal not on the way out. Prices were typical Thomson Gold hotel prices with water coming in at the usual 2.50 Euros a bottle.
The daytime games were fun although not that many of us participated but the hotel wasn’t anywhere near full and was actually becoming emptier each day as people left with not many new arrivals to replace them. Mike and Yzzy (a couple) did the games and were well suited to the job. They are moving to the Coronas Playa for the winter months.
Night-time entertainment was the usual Thomson Gold standard. With early evening quizzes, a resident duo, pick of the six lottery/bingo type game then a main act. During our week they had Elvis, Phil Collins, Bee Gees, The Sundaes, Celtic Nights and the Thomson production team. I must state that they weren’t the real Elvis, Phil Collins or the Bee Gees !!!! Drinks prices were not much different from local bars, a pint of local lager was 3.20 Euros, glass of Sangria 3.20 Euros and soft drinks were 2 Euros. If you were there the same time as we were I was on the stage playing who wants to be a millionaire.
The Thomson rep was Bianca who was approachable and friendly. We didn’t have any problems so didn’t need her services but I asked a few general things which she soon found out for me. We also attended the welcome meeting with another couple, yes only 4 of us there ! To be fair only 6 people had arrived the previous day anyways.
Now onto the subject everyone wants to know about, the transfers. We definitely “dropped on” as on arrival we had a people carrier type taxi with another couple (who were staying in a different hotel in Cala D’or) straight to the Rocamarina and coming home had a minibus straight to the airport. The journeys were around 45 minutes. I did hear of other guests who had a wait on a coach followed by an island tour so guess its pot luck on the transfer front.
The flights both ways were on time and only took 2 hours. Going out was smooth but coming back to Birmingham the pilot seemed to come in a little too quick which resulted in a few nervy moments upon landing. The seats were comfortable with plenty of room. . . . . . alright I admit it . . we had the extra space exit row seats. Thomson do also advertise extra legroom seats giving you an extra 5 or 6 inches as opposed to the normal seating but we couldn’t see any of these seats on the plane, only normal seats and the emergency exit row seats
Finally the weather was great all week
Richard + Julie.

Room Tip: Hotel is only a couple or stories high,we sayed in a superior room on the first floor and would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jacksonracingteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,028 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamarina

Property: Hotel Rocamarina
Address: Avenida Forti 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rocamarina 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Rocamarina Cala d Or
Rocamarina Hotel Cala d Or
Hotel Rocamarina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing