We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Holiday at the Rocamarina!”
Review of Hotel Rocamarina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala d'Or
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rocamarina
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent two weeks at this hotel, 18th August - 1st September. Excellent Hotel. Very good variety of food; hotel and rooms spotlessly clean, and the air conditioning in the rooms was very welcome. We didn't encounter the problems with the Sun Loungers as we went to the beach most days. However, the problems at this hotel are very similar to what I have experienced in many hotels across Europe - it's certainly not alone.
The pool at the Tennis Club was nice and relaxing, but I thought hotel guests should qualify for a better discount than what is offered. All in all though, a terrific holiday, would certainly go back, and would certainly recommend it. Bye the way it's not all "oldies" - in the main ranged from 30-60. Think you are more likely to get the older customers at "off peak" times of the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marion_amato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rocamarina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed from 23rd August up until yesterday . Hotel could not be faulted . Clean , friendly staff, Reps fantastic no complaints at all. SUNBEDS however were hellish to get a hold of this did spoil things a little. They have a thirty minute rule that no one follows so seemed pointless. Reps kept us busy all day and were nice and helpful we played lots of games and had quizzez too ( dont win or you will be cursed by regular guests lol ). Over all brilliant but I hate to fight for a sunbed . A very relaxing time and a mixture of ages x

Room Tip: 26, 27, 28 ground floor quiet private balcony for a drink in the afternoon x
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing break at the Rocomarina, lovely hotel! Rooms were huge and spotless, maid service was excellent. Food was varied enough, lots of choice, well organised and always enjoyed. Hotel staff all were very helpful and friendly. Sunbed race is amusing but you have to join in to get one! I understand why people complain but I don't see how else the hotel could manage it? The only thing I agree is that the 2nd pool sunbeds should be be free as owned by the hotel? Hotel clientele is probably a bit different to our age range but all very friendly. We got involved in bingo and listened to the entertainment every night! This wasn't Vegas standard but just right for the location. Hotel provided a courtesy room for us to shower in on day of departure free of charge, very useful.

Nearby is a small beach, we couldn't swim as too many jellyfish, buyt nearby beaches were jelly-free. Beautiful marina nearby, Cala D'or is also nice, didn't venture anywhere else as too busy relaxing.

Would definitely return for a relaxing holiday to the Rocomarina!

Room Tip: Twin rooms seemed larger than doubles
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moosimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Travelling with elderly grandparents was a bit nerve racking, but the hotel catered for us amazingly. The staff were always helpful.The hotel was all air conned and the rooms comfortable. So when you wanted to get away from the heat you could do so.

The pool- clean and medium sized pool-never too busy. The sun lounger race in the morning was ridiculous however, there was literally a race in the morning when they opening the gate with people actually running!!!

The room- nothing exciting but a nice size and very comfortable. Lovely bathroom.

The entertainment- great! This was the advantage of having no children, it all catered to adults. They had a lot of bingo but that was a laugh. It was a bit of a mixed bag but it was interesting to watch the car crash performances or find a real gem of a show.

The food- absolutely stunning. Real quality and a lot of variety. Also lots of healthy options which was good. Only problem was you had to tell them when you were going to eat which was annoying as it was always quite busy.

Overall, a good quality hotel and it was lovely having no children there for the week!!! I would especially recommend for older customers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and myself stayed here in july of this year we had a two week break and had a wonderful time here. as it was a wedding aniversary we booked a superior room. after the first week my wife received a phone call to our room to say that we would have to vacate our room by 12pm on the last day of our holiday because our room had been allocated to new arrivals on that day and the late checkout we had booked we would be given a standard room. we complained to thomson rep at the hotel who then gave us our money back after he did his best to try to keep us in our room. in away it did spoil our holiday.i would not recommend booking a superior room with a late checkout if this sort of practice goes on.Hotel staff said priority is given to new arrivals who have booked superior rooms which must be ready for them when they arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

All make for a great place to stay and those are what my husband and I found at the Hotel Rocamarina. During our two week stay (Aug 12-26) the level of service we received from staff in reception, the dining room and housekeeping; the quality and variety of the food buffet at both breakfast and dinner; and the lovely pool and terrace area all contributed to creating a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday for us. So much so that we did not want to leave! We became especially fond of having lunch down at the beach bar where Sonia and Diego (as well as two other wait staff whose names I didn't catch) were attentive and kindly put up with my attempts at speaking Spanish.

There was some great entertainment every evening. We especially liked the 4 Tops tribute group as well as the 3 Tenors tribute group (Ankora?). The Thompson Gold production of West End songs was also great.

We booked several excursions for our first week that included the Son Amar dinner and show, the Pirates Adventure dinner and show, The Orange Blossom Trail, and day trip (with sightseeing bus) to Palma de Mallorca. All of which we thoroughly enjoyed. I think our favorite (out of the shows) was the Son Amar dinner and show (we booked the Platinum package) where the food was excellent and the show amazing. My husband commented that he felt as if he had seen a "proper Las Vegas dinner show".

All in all, we had a fantastic time and hope to return next year!

Thank you again to all the staff at Hotel Rocamarina for a memorable stay! Hasta luego!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel room a bit small, and view of another building, very dissapointing for a fortnights stay. We asked to be upgraded to a superior room when we arrived, as we had been told by the travel agent we could do this, but the receptionist told us it could only be done by the travel agent in England. We were VERY dissapointed by this.
Staff absolutely brilliant, especially Renate, all very efficient and cheerful all the time. The sunbed issue was dreadful. We all expect to be able to use a sunbed as and when we want to when we are on holiday in the sun, but not so at the Rocamarina. You have to queue up by 8.50 am to get into the rush to grab a sunbed. Not a pleasant holiday experience. NOT ENOUGH sunbeds for the amount of people wanting to use them. Why should we pay for the holiday and then have to go over the road and pay for a sunbed. We did do this, but were not happy about it. Food was OK not brilliant, and much too english, not enough Spanish dishes on offer. All in all not the best holiday experience, and would not go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room before you go if you want a pool view, and tea and coffee making facilities.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavendergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort
AluaSoul Mallorca Resort
#16 of 46 in Cala d'Or
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#23 of 46 in Cala d'Or
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamarina

Address: Avenida Forti 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#18 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rocamarina 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Also Known As:
Rocamarina Cala d Or
Rocamarina Hotel Cala d Or
Hotel Rocamarina Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing