We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean hotel well worth the price!”
Review of Hotel Cala Ferrera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel receptionist was rude when we first arrived but fine after. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Food was very good. A lot to choose from. An amazing location couldn't ask for better. Staff were friendly and we're great with children. Was a lot to do. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelAlfiecraig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Rachel,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff, especially with the children . We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future,
kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Gavimar Cala Ferrera Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cala Ferrera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

we stayed for 8 nights all inclusive (7th oct -15th oct 2013). had a great time, staff were very friendly and attentive. the room a bit on the small side for 3 people but acceptable, cleaned everyday and fresh towels daily. food was good, plenty of choice at each meal time. pitty about the germans though, still very rude and ignorant, but didn't let that spoil the holiday. would stay again. cala d'or is a lovely place for families

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Denise,
we thank you very much for the kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff. We are glad that you liked Cala d or and that you would stay again. Refering to the different nationalties in our hotel we would like to point out that there are also a lot of people from France, Italy, The NetherLands,Russia,etc. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
very best regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Ferrera Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed a week (6th - 13th October) and had a lovely holiday. We found the staff to be attentive and friendly. The room was small but the view over the bay from the balcony was amazing! The food was good quality, probably best all inclusive we have experienced so far but not enough choice as this is a relatively small hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back but on a bed and breakfast basis as cala d'or has a wonderful selection of restaurants to sample.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

dear guests,
thank you for your kind review and recommendation. It makes us very happy to thank you for your comment about the friendliness of our staff. we will be passing on your praises to all of them. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
kindest regards from Cala d Or
Gavimar Hotel Cala Ferrera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ok so here's the truth....

Good points: views are breath taking, the hotel is very clean, cala d'or is lovely, great self service on drinks for all inclusive, rooms are more than comfortable.

Bad points: understaffed behind the bar(one washing up whilst the other serves a 15 minute queue!), meals are buffet and is always served barely warm(I wondered on the first day why there was a queue for the microwave).

Really bad point: the snack food was NOT fresh even when it first comes out, usually when you go all inclusive you order a sandwich,toastie or burger and you wait 5-10mins and its ready warm fresh to collect and enjoy, but not here the same food is left out all day and is old chewy and disgusting. Some of the staff could do with being taught some customer service as one impaticular time I asked the women on reception as this is a gavimar hotel can we use facilitys at other gavimar hotels only to be told i don't know, sorry but who do you work for again?

Greg and Elvis try there hardest with the entertainment but they must be working on a shoestring budget, that said kiddies disco at 9pm is a bit late as its aimed towards young kids and the advertised mini games is a single game of musical chairs or statutes!!

The place is understaffed. On the 7th there was a lovely surprise the oktoberfest different beers and some lovely deserts.

This could easily be fantastic just a few too many niggles

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkCtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Mark,
first of all we would like to thank you for your kind remarks about the fantastic location of the Cala Ferrera hotel and the cleanliness. We are grateful for your suggestions in improving food and service which already have been related to the relevant departments. We are glad that you enjoyed the "Oktoberfest" with different beers and deserts. You are always invited to use the facilites of our other Gavimar Hotels , for example Mini- Golf and SPA in our Ariel Hotel, visit our bars and entertainment evenings , and many other offers . We are very sorry that the women in the reception could not give you any informations and apologize for her behaviour. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you again on another occasion.
kindest regards
your Cala Ferrera Hotel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I went with a girl friend on a budget trip and found this. For the price we paid we weren't expecting much therefore we were both pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very basic and quite dated I would say a 3* max. The room had the minimum however I think nearly all have a balcony which is a plus and unless you're planning on staying in your room for the bulk of your holiday then this is not a problem.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on an all inclusive basis. The food was fine and the alcohol was good although as a vegetarian the evening meal wasn't catered well for us non meat eaters and a hot veggie option was not always offered at the buffet. We caught 2 evenings of entertainment, one night was karaoke, singing and dancing. The one thing I did disapprove of was the use of snakes for entertainment. Reptiles do not belong in a hotel!!
There is a small pool area. The selling point of this hotel would be the location. It is situated right on the harbour and there is a small beach 5 minutes away. The views of the sea from the pool area is breathtaking. We went early October and the weather was gorgeous mid 20's although this did feel like it was +30 sitting in it. Cala d'Or is a beautiful part of Majorca and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322 (I think this is the south side) are quite noisy until late into the night as...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Kay,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. It makes us happy to read that you and your girl friend enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated very much the good location of our hotel. your suggestions in improving the hot food for vegetarians have been noted and have been communicated to the Chef of our Gavimar Hotels. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. Our best wishes and regards from Cala d Or
your Cala Ferrera Hotel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

went here in September with a friend for a restful holiday it was fine for us and spotless. door not too secure and plus sockets loose. Beds comfy and all in all we were very happy. The hotel staff were very friendly and we arrived just before midnight and were welcome to have drinks and food as we were all inclusive.
food was fresh ,well presented and very nice choices, entertainment was ok, the beach was just in front so lovely as the pool area was shady. went to caves of drack which was fab, would recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Jennifer,
thanks for your very kind review and recommendation. We are really happy that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us . You mention the lovely access to the beach and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff. We will not hesitate to pass on your praises to them.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Majorca
your Cala Ferrera Hotel team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

went here in October 2012 loved location. food good in restaurant ok in pool bar. staff very friendly and do best they can rooms a little dated but clean and tidy. took my son for 18th birthday and struggled to find a cake so asked at reception they were glad to make 1 for about £5 it was very good and great value for money. all in all a very good holiday

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulwilsonzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavimar_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cala Ferrera, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you for your very kind review . We are happy that you came to our hotel to celebrate your sons 18th birthday and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing on your praises to our staff. We leave you with the hope that we will be able to have the privilege of welcoming you once again to our hotels.
our very best regards from Cala d Or
your Gavimar Cala Ferrera Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Ferrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Ferrera

Address: Avenida Felanitx s/n, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $57 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Ferrera 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cala Ferrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Ferrera Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala Ferrera d Or
Hotel Cala Ferrera Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing