We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but some minor let downs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
South England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but some minor let downs.”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel:
The hotel was great. Friendly staff on reception, nice clean rooms, and a decent pool area. There are 2 pools and a small kids pool. Both were very clean, with a nice water feature connecting the two main pools. Supermarket on hotel was reasonably priced and stocked everything you needed. Mini golf pizzeria on the hotel served great food also. The location is superb, set on a little cove where you can go into some deeper water and hand feed some of the marine wildlife there. Plus the beach on the Esmeralda. One poor thng was the hotel bar. Rarely ever open. Sometimes only from 6pm-11pm or 8pm-11pm, sometimes not at all. I find this hard to understand, as a hotel bar should be open more and slighly later, especially as the Mini Golf Pizzeria also closes at this time and the pool bar alot earlier.

Resort/Restaurants:
In general the resort was very nice. Most of the restaurants served good food. El Patio Steak House and Indiana Johns two of the best. The Florida Centre Bar situtated near the hotel is a must visit. Great bar atmosphere at night, plus 3 pool tables and games in a seperate area. The drinks served from there are ice cold and reasonsably priced. It also serves food which is fantastic. The Duke Of Devonshire has rude staff, despite some good food. La Fontanella was a major disappointment in some aspects, again with some poor staff attitude, although food generally.

Entertainment:
A bit of a let down. A few activites were organised but not many, not very well advertised also. One of the entertainers from Sweden (Joakim) Also liked to make teams unfair in sports in order to make people from Sweden win. He also shows an extremely biased attitude to anyone from Sweden, including jumping up and down cheering when anyone from Sweden wins or scores in water polo, but ignores the people from England and Germany after if they beat a team full of Swedes. I find an entertainer behaving like this very poor and was a big factor in some of us failing to participate in many future activites. The others seemed fine though. Didn't watch any of the shows to comment.

All in all a decent enough place, but needs a few improvements to the bar and entertainment and acivities. The food and resort was a plus, apart from the mentioned restaurants where staff attitude was poor. I would consider coming back if these changes were implemented. Also we know where to eat and where our custom is appreciated. 7/10 on the whole.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back rather than the pool, are very quiet and much more relaxing. This backs ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHU1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    345
    58
    14
    7
See reviews for
641
209
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

On the positive the hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly and the fruit was nice!
However the negatives were that the pools were relatively small for the number of guests and as mentioned in previous reviews the sunloungers were frequently taken by early in the morning and were all packed together. We did try the beach as an alterntive on the first day but due to the geography of the coastline the beaches are beautiful yet small sandy coves which literally get packed with people so there is no chance of relaxing in peace.
The local town had a similar feel of being whilst a pretty place a place where every availble inch of space has been used, and left us feeling slighly claustraphobic.
For families there are some great enteratinment spots though with our 2 year old particularly loving 'Mallocalandia' which had a giant bouncy castle within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.
Overall we didn't have a particulrly awful time but we wouldn't return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great hotel, location and staff. Stayed in room F113 from Sat 3/9/11 to Sat 10/9/11. This room has a sea view. We were just yards / metres from the waters edge. South view, we could see the sun rise in the morning. Food was lovely, plentiful and loads of choice. Buffet style restaurant. All staff very polite, friendly and nothing too much trouble. 4 star service in a 3 star hotel. Thursday evening the hotel manager greeted us in the entrance to the restaurant with a glass of cava (Spanish Champaigne) and asked our opinions if anything could be improved in any way regarding the hotel etc. Entertainment every night in hotel lounge. Activities every day for children and adults. We did football, lollyball (Spanish game with sort of bat and soft ball), water polo and shooting using a airgun, all free. Very clean hotel, chambermaids cleaning all day, rooms, communal areas etc. Painters touching up the hotel white walls etc. Pool clean and tidy. No problem getting sun loungers etc. We stayed at the Cala Azul Park, one of 4 hotels on the site, you can use all the facilities of any of the hotels (all part of the Inturotel group) Would reccomend to family and friends. To sum up "nice place, nice people).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Superwoman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

not good hard plastic
non adjustable sun beds

no view of sea at the gardens
new rep for thomas cook Kirsty very nivce and helpful but could not get us to rooms originall booked , will not book with thomas cook again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzydrippin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I went to Cala Azul Park at the end of August with my wife and two children (3 and 5). I read numerous reviews beforehand and mostly were middle of the road neither great or very poor so i thought i'd try and help form an opinion. The thing is it is just ok. The accomodation is ok, food is ok (especially if you like German meats and sausages etc.) and the location is ok.

Cala D'or itself is a very pleasant surprise as the centre (which is a 10 minute walk with two prams) is bustling with literally hundreds of bars and restaurants focused around a pedestrian area. It is actually one of the busiest resorts i have been to. There are lots of English and Irish bars showing sport and xfactor etc. and lots of restaurants from indians and chinese to steakhouses to tapas. There is also a great marina again with lots of lovely bars and restaurants with great views of the millionaires boats we all wish we owned.

The beaches are not great, they are very small coves with people cramped on like sardines, no sunbeds and everyone getting sand kicked in their face as people and kids run past. For great beaches Alcudia cannot be beat.

Back to the Cala Azul Park, we stayed in the park (after they tried to move us to different accomodation, an all too common trick i believe) and it was ok except there are no lifts and we had two buggys and a 3 flight climb every night but we levelled this out against our great sea and pool view ( Room B313). The pool and sunbed situation was a nightmare and as i hate sunbed wars we just casually got up whenever and crossed the road (next to San Francisco Spar) and went into Cala Azul Gardens which is a miles nicer pool and sunbeds always available.

The hotels are about 3/4 Germans i'd say and the food reflects this and the entertainment at the Esmeralda Gardens too although to be fair they are polite and not pushy or rude (but they do love a sunbed!)

There is also a nice train that stops outside the hotel on the hour (every hour) but it is always full unless you get on the 9.00 or 16.00 train. I'd do this early as it takes you around the whole resort and helps you get your bearings.

Other Tips:
Don't go to Sanatanyi on bus we went and there was nothing there and the return bus is every 5 hours, 30 mins was enough.
Do go to Porto Cristo on Bus, great beach, lots of shops and bars and return buses every hour when had enough.
If eating in Esmeralda Gardens and then going into town turn left after coming out of reception (or behind park) and you come out halfway into town.
Definitely use Cala Azul Gardens Pool
Eden Gardens and Tropical Gardens have great tribute acts on (lady Gaga, Robbie Willliams, Elvis, etc.)
There are two huge play parks with the most amazing bouncy castles ever plus trampolines and race cars etc. one is in Cala Ferrer (just down road from Cala Azul and one opposite Eden Gardens. 3Euro for all night bouncy castle was a godsend.
The most amazing ice creams opposite Tropical Gardens with unbelievable flavours for 1E90c, you have to try one.

All in all you will not be disappointed with Cala Azul or Cala D'or especially as there is something for everyone.
(I will upload maps of the resort when i get chance)

Room Tip: No lifts so if yiou are with kids ask for ground floor (Odd numbers face pool and sea, even numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

stayed with my two children aged 8 and 10 at the cala azul park.hotel very clean and tidy, swimming pools lovely and clean with lifeguard cover. animacion entertainment team excellent for children and adults, with daytime and evening entertainment.
hotel situated in great location for bars and restaraunts and childrens entertainment such as crazy golf and go karts.
planning on returning in a couple of years as enjoyed it so much. a real family hotel with a safe atmosphere. staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runcornMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I, and one of our friend stayed her for one week last of July 2011.

Hotel absolute fantastic very nice and clean we stayed in Building A where the reception is present, and we have room at the pool area on 2th floor. It was a very pleasant room with a large bedroom and living room with at small kitchen, large balcony where we enjoy sitting and having at drink in the evening. The cleaning staffs were very nice and friendly and there was clean everywhere in and outside the hotel area, also in the town.
Breakfast we have ordered breakfast on the hotel, and that was also a very pleasant experience, very large buffet with all you can imagine, bread, fresh fruit, also nice English breakfast, absolute perfect.
Beach waoou its fantastic, crystal blue water in a little lagoon with calm water, is wonderful, the kids an adult love it. And we have rent a car in the airport and we drive a lot around on the island and there a many of these small beaches, you should try the Playa Romantica very near Cala Dór and Es Trenc 35min from Cala Dór in car. (But the sun chairs are very expensive 15 Euro for to sun chairs and on umbrella on Es Trenc.)
It’s so nice that it’s possible to go shopping in Cala Dór and all other places on the island without being chased of eager salesman, that’s so relaxing, try to learn some Spanish word it really open up for extra god service
All in All we recommend visiting this hotel and area it’s so relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kermitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.6 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
#6 of 46 in Cala d'Or
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inturotel Cala Azul Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Cala Azul Park

Property: Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Address: Carrer Calo des Corral 1 | Urb. Cala Esmeralda, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inturotel Cala Azul Park 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south-east coast of Mallorca, the complex boasts an excellent location right on the sea front, facing Cala Azul and only 50m away from the beautiful beach of Cala Esmeralda. Offering a wide and interesting range of complementary services nearby and just 1Km away from the shopping and tourist centre of Cala D'Or. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Inturotel Cala Azul Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Cala Azul Park Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing