We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It was alright”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I went to Cala Azul Park at the end of August with my wife and two children (3 and 5). I read numerous reviews beforehand and mostly were middle of the road neither great or very poor so i thought i'd try and help form an opinion. The thing is it is just ok. The accomodation is ok, food is ok (especially if you like German meats and sausages etc.) and the location is ok.

Cala D'or itself is a very pleasant surprise as the centre (which is a 10 minute walk with two prams) is bustling with literally hundreds of bars and restaurants focused around a pedestrian area. It is actually one of the busiest resorts i have been to. There are lots of English and Irish bars showing sport and xfactor etc. and lots of restaurants from indians and chinese to steakhouses to tapas. There is also a great marina again with lots of lovely bars and restaurants with great views of the millionaires boats we all wish we owned.

The beaches are not great, they are very small coves with people cramped on like sardines, no sunbeds and everyone getting sand kicked in their face as people and kids run past. For great beaches Alcudia cannot be beat.

Back to the Cala Azul Park, we stayed in the park (after they tried to move us to different accomodation, an all too common trick i believe) and it was ok except there are no lifts and we had two buggys and a 3 flight climb every night but we levelled this out against our great sea and pool view ( Room B313). The pool and sunbed situation was a nightmare and as i hate sunbed wars we just casually got up whenever and crossed the road (next to San Francisco Spar) and went into Cala Azul Gardens which is a miles nicer pool and sunbeds always available.

The hotels are about 3/4 Germans i'd say and the food reflects this and the entertainment at the Esmeralda Gardens too although to be fair they are polite and not pushy or rude (but they do love a sunbed!)

There is also a nice train that stops outside the hotel on the hour (every hour) but it is always full unless you get on the 9.00 or 16.00 train. I'd do this early as it takes you around the whole resort and helps you get your bearings.

Other Tips:
Don't go to Sanatanyi on bus we went and there was nothing there and the return bus is every 5 hours, 30 mins was enough.
Do go to Porto Cristo on Bus, great beach, lots of shops and bars and return buses every hour when had enough.
If eating in Esmeralda Gardens and then going into town turn left after coming out of reception (or behind park) and you come out halfway into town.
Definitely use Cala Azul Gardens Pool
Eden Gardens and Tropical Gardens have great tribute acts on (lady Gaga, Robbie Willliams, Elvis, etc.)
There are two huge play parks with the most amazing bouncy castles ever plus trampolines and race cars etc. one is in Cala Ferrer (just down road from Cala Azul and one opposite Eden Gardens. 3Euro for all night bouncy castle was a godsend.
The most amazing ice creams opposite Tropical Gardens with unbelievable flavours for 1E90c, you have to try one.

All in all you will not be disappointed with Cala Azul or Cala D'or especially as there is something for everyone.
(I will upload maps of the resort when i get chance)

Room Tip: No lifts so if yiou are with kids ask for ground floor (Odd numbers face pool and sea, even numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    346
    58
    14
    7
See reviews for
642
209
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malvern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

stayed with my two children aged 8 and 10 at the cala azul park.hotel very clean and tidy, swimming pools lovely and clean with lifeguard cover. animacion entertainment team excellent for children and adults, with daytime and evening entertainment.
hotel situated in great location for bars and restaraunts and childrens entertainment such as crazy golf and go karts.
planning on returning in a couple of years as enjoyed it so much. a real family hotel with a safe atmosphere. staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runcornMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I, and one of our friend stayed her for one week last of July 2011.

Hotel absolute fantastic very nice and clean we stayed in Building A where the reception is present, and we have room at the pool area on 2th floor. It was a very pleasant room with a large bedroom and living room with at small kitchen, large balcony where we enjoy sitting and having at drink in the evening. The cleaning staffs were very nice and friendly and there was clean everywhere in and outside the hotel area, also in the town.
Breakfast we have ordered breakfast on the hotel, and that was also a very pleasant experience, very large buffet with all you can imagine, bread, fresh fruit, also nice English breakfast, absolute perfect.
Beach waoou its fantastic, crystal blue water in a little lagoon with calm water, is wonderful, the kids an adult love it. And we have rent a car in the airport and we drive a lot around on the island and there a many of these small beaches, you should try the Playa Romantica very near Cala Dór and Es Trenc 35min from Cala Dór in car. (But the sun chairs are very expensive 15 Euro for to sun chairs and on umbrella on Es Trenc.)
It’s so nice that it’s possible to go shopping in Cala Dór and all other places on the island without being chased of eager salesman, that’s so relaxing, try to learn some Spanish word it really open up for extra god service
All in All we recommend visiting this hotel and area it’s so relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kermitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were originaly booked into the Inturotel Ezmerelda Gardens but were upgraded on arrival and given a free Breakfast and dinner voucher for our troubles. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a peicful garden, which was just what we wanted. The rooms were very clean and tidy, and the maid service came round daily with clean sheets and towels provided every other day. The food in the restraunt was plentiful and we were spoiled for choice. The only critisism I had was it seemed a bit unorganised, and not clear where to get items such has tea coffee milk and butter.
Being in a self catering apparment we only used the restraunt on 2 occassions, eating out in Cala D'or most nights, were there are plenty of good , medium priced restraunts to choose from.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Inturotel Cala Azul Gardens and Park are standard clean and well maintained. Cala A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gunniebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a room in block E (205) and the view was lovely overlooking the cove, (best blocks for sea views are E F and G, though some rooms may be obscured by the trees). Rooms in the other blocks do have pool and seaviews but some are overlooking the carpark.Rooms are really clean, kitchen is very basic (no electric kettle or microwave).Air conditioning was great it was always on.A safe can be hired for 3 euros a day.The food is buffet style and we could not fault it, it was always hot and good selection (We didnt think it catered for mainly germans as some people have said). There is a lack of sunbeds as always but you didnt have to get up until 7.30 to 7.45 to get one round pool, by 8.30 they are all gone. Lifeguard did come round and take towels off but it was very random. We always had someone stay with ours and went to breakfast in relays. (we didnt find this a problem).There are many coves nearby and are great for snorkeling. The Esmerelda has a larger pool but is very cramped, the cala azul gardens has a big pool and seemed less busy though sunbeds were not as good. We could not fault the hotel, it was immaculately clean and the gardens were well maintained and beautiful. The Resort itself is the usual mix of souvenir shops and bars.Overall we had a great holiday and would not hesitate to recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Block E F and G are the best blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunworshipper186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Cala Azul Hotel with my Husband & two Children 8 & 4 years. We stayed in B306 which looked onto the road, which could be nosiy in the mornings, but it didn't bother us. The apartment was very spacious with a nice big bathroom, sitting area, bedroom & small kitchen area enough for making small snacks/meals, big balcony with chairs & table, also a dryer rail. We pushed the sofas together at night for the children to sleep on, which they were fine. The room was cleaned 6 out of 7 days with bedding & towels changed. There was two pools & a toddler pool, the usual no sun loungers as all reserved with towels, but we did manage to get some on a couple of afternoons, but you could leave your things on a chair on the wall near the pool. You can also use all the facilities of the complex, which includes the Cala Gardens, Esmeralda Hotel & Esmeralda Gardens. The Gardens looked the most quitest places to stay. The hotel itself was very clean, the staff very friendly & helpful. We didn't try the food as we were self catering, but did have the choice to upgrade to full board, which would have been cheaper than doing it through the travel agent. If I had to have a moan, then it would only be about the air conditioning as it didn't seem to work very well in our room & it was a staggering 38 outside some days! Also it could do with a small play area for children, about otherwise everything was good. I would recommend eating at the Bon Sol which has great food & well portioned @ a cheap price & a pint only 2.20e, with a friendly & quick service, aslo the Duke of Devonshire is only 2e a pint! We also went to the tropical gardens where every night there are tribute acts, we watched Ian James as Robbie Williams & he was great, Also the Eden Paradise where we watched Elvis & Rod Stewert, who were also very good., There are lots & lots of shops, bars/resturants in the area to chose from. There are two big childrens play areas, with bouncy castles, cars, bungy jumping, etc, but you do have to pay for these, we didn't try them, so don't know the prices. There are lots of small coves with lovely beaches with clear blue water & very clean. We also hired a car from a place just around the corner from the hotel @ Auto's D'Oar Rent a Car which was a good price & very nice new cars, also the German man in the shop was very friendly & helpful. Talking of Germans, there are a LOT of them in the resort/island, but that didn't effect us. We also met the very talked about Tripadvisor Thomas Cook rep Niasha, we first met her @ the airport barking out info, I nicknamed her Nasher! She conducted our welcome meeting where she barked on for about 20 mins then sat @ her desk where you had to go & see her if you wanted anything. To be honest we had no other dealings with her, but we did find her not very good with connecting with her clients, she didn't have a joke or give you a friendly welcome, not like the experience we have had with other travel reps in the past. This is the first time I have booked with Thomas Cook & wasn't overly impressed @ Palma airport, as when we came out of baggage reclaim all the other travel reps were stood outside, but no TC reps to be seen, so we followed some other passengers of our flight & found all the TC reps @ the other end of the airport near the coaches, who all seemed like headless chickens & even pointed us to the wrong coach, but did gives us the correct coach number, also we had no rep on the coach with us, just Niasha barking out info again & then disappearing again. Also on the return trip we had no rep, where's every other holiday company I have been with, we have always had rep with us. I must admit, there were a lot of TC flights that had turned up all close together, so maybe there was not enough reps. Also I booked my pre-flight seats with TC which was paid extra for, we got out seats on the way over, but ended up quite away from our original seats on the way back or though we were still sat together. Over all we had a great holiday & would def go back & would recommed this place/area to anyone! (-:

Room Tip: If you want peace & quite then I would recommend asking for a pool or seaview room or go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rockeydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Hotel was very clean , maids everyday, pool areas well maintained and lovely small beach area which is quieter when you just want to relax on your sunbed. Plenty of shops, resturants, bars to choose from, and in walking distance of the hotel.
Beaches were clean , but rather overcrowded as they small coves rather than along sandy beach.
On the whole very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogers1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.6 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
#7 of 46 in Cala d'Or
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inturotel Cala Azul Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Cala Azul Park

Property: Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Address: Carrer Calo des Corral 1 | Urb. Cala Esmeralda, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inturotel Cala Azul Park 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south-east coast of Mallorca, the complex boasts an excellent location right on the sea front, facing Cala Azul and only 50m away from the beautiful beach of Cala Esmeralda. Offering a wide and interesting range of complementary services nearby and just 1Km away from the shopping and tourist centre of Cala D'Or. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Inturotel Cala Azul Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Cala Azul Park Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing