We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Great location and friendly staff”
Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good. Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I am just back from a one week break in this wonderful hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the bar staff were excellent. The entertainment was just ok but it had to cater for all ages and as this time of year it is mainly elderly so it may just be me who thinks this. The food was well presented and a good variety to chose from the hotel is very clean but is a older hotel but it is well kept the rooms are cleaned every day and kept to a good standard with a large tv in each room. I will be rebooking this hotel for next year. Overall I found this hotel to be excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank HeatherandJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review about Hotel Tucan. All staff is working hard in order that our guests enjoy the most when they stay between us and your kind words encourage us to keep on working. It is a big plesure for us that you will be rebooking Hotel Tucan for next year. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    354
    196
    61
    30
See reviews for
82
632
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

First time to Cala d'dor, arriving 12 Oct 13 I found the hotels location ideal, in the centre of the resort enabling excellent access to all parts of the town and within easy walking distance of the other beaches and Marina.
I am a single male in my late 50's and anticipated being placed in the usual broom cupboard, however I was given a standard double room that was excellent overlooking the rear of the property. Unfortunately the gent in the room next to me was nocturnal and I was forced to ask for a move after 2 days, the hotel willingly providing a room overlooking the pool. Sleep vastly improved!!
The hotel is clean and the staff without exception are extremely friendly and helpful.
If had had any criticism it would be with the limited restaurant menu in the evenings and that the food was not even warm let alone hot. Breakfast was a different matter and the food excellent.
The bar closes shortly after 11:00pm and therefore you will be in bed before midnight.
I left behind a pair of reading glasses which the hotel forwarded back to England at no cost which I considered extremely commendable.
I had an excellent time as a result of the very good hotel and combined with it's location if it's a 'chill out' holiday you're after, the Tucan's the place.
Tony Derby

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at the rear that are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations, because it is what we aim for. We are glad that your glases have been founded and we could send them back to you. We are looking forward to see you for your next 'chill out' holiday at Tucan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from an "all inclusive" week's holiday, the first time at this hotel which is ideally situated in the small resort of Cala d'or, close to numerous restaurants, bars etc. and within only a few yards from a lovely beach. The hotel is spotlessly clean though some of the carpets are a liitle worn, the food is good and varied and the staff were always courteous, cheerful and helpful - a special mention must be made of the bar staff who were exceptional. Altogether a great holiday and we will certainbly be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilfandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are very pleased to read from your review that you had a great holiday with us. We thank you very much for your recommendation and for your nice words about our staff, service and facilities. We are very pleased that you are planning to come back to us. That will be a plesure for us to welcome you again at Hotel Tucan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked into the hotel and was impressed by the reception and quickly went to our room but were surprised to find it did not have a sea view. We had paid extra for this so we went back to the reception. They were sorry but they did not have one until the next day. The following day we changed rooms and there was our lovely sea view. The room had lovely furniture with lots of drawers and hanging space and plenty of hangers. The beds were very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. We thought the meals were very good and great hot plates for hot meals. The bar staff were very pleasant and helpful. We always go all inclusive and were very pleased with everything. We expected a kettle in the room and it wasn't there. We were told the day we were coming home that they had been taken out because they were being stolen and we could have had one for 20 euros deposit returnable on departure. Maybe we could have been told this when we arrived. I also would have liked a bath in the room but most hotels are changing them for showers so we have to change with the times. Overall we had a very pleasant holiday, the weather was very good in October which was a bonus. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us and you will come back to us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction. About the kettels we have them at the reception and our guests can get one by leaving deposit, that they will get back at the end. Again, our most sincere thanks for your recommendation. We are looking forward to greeting you again at Hotel Tucan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited this hotel in June 2013 on all inclusive deal. Excellent hotel in centre of town. Friendly staff throughout. The bar staff very friendly without exception, especially if you tried out spanish they really helped and had a laugh together. The bar was well stocked with a large selection of drinks. Choose quieter times for meals for a more enjoyable experience. Really good selection of food for all sittings, with again very hard working staff, no restiction of drinks. Take time to talk to the chef to ask after your favourite meal, they are willing to discuss the dish.
Our room was at back of hotel and overlooked a noisy hotel next door, garden/pool room would have been a better option. Room clean and modern with safe in room.
Glad to find restriction to when sunbeds could be claimed. Doors open at 8.30 am. We were fortunate to have a quiet week with clients all being respectful and no one being noisy or causing a problem. Take a break from the sun in the air conditioned gym, or whirlpool.
Evening entertainment was limited.
Large sitting area to take timeout.
Resort really good, with plenty of walking to nearby coves and cafes. Marina at night is a must and a great selection of restaurants and bars. Buses leave from stop 50m from hotel gate, local novelty train is a good way to see more of the resort.

We have been to Cala d'or 4 times and will be happy to return again

Room Tip: Look for garden/pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManxCats2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations. I have passed on your positive comments to our staff, good feedback from clients certainly makes our job a lot easier and more enjoyable! Only one small thing that I have to highlight, the rooms doeas not have safes. The safes at the moment are still at the reception. One more time thank you very much for taking your time to write this rewiev about us. We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Hotel Tucan as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Two week holiday in September 2013, half board.
The location of the hotel is excellent, close to the main beach, town centre, bars restaurants and shops.
Rooms at the back of the hotel are quite noisy due to the hotel next door, noisy up to midnight and a generator humming most of the day (avoid rooms 1st and 2nd floor 30 to 44 ish) had to change room due to the noise. Rooms at the front (poolside) and roadside are reasonably quiet.
The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Cleaned daily, very good staff. Aircon is very good and quiet, managed to sleep through with it on.
There is plenty of choices of food at mealtime and good quality, but it could be warmer, there are no microwaves available for those who like their food hotter.
The bar is well stocked, though on the expensive side if you're not all inclusive. Entertainment is three evenings a week, if you prefer to stay in.
The pool area can get a little congested. The lifeguard is one of the best I've seen, cleaning, tidying and assisting where needed. Nothing was to much for him.
Plenty of people we spoke to are repeat visitors to this hotel. My first time and all things considered I would go again. Despite the few negative points.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside and roadside of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is a plesure for us to know that you would like to come back to us in the feature. We will try our to give you still better service than this year. Your review will for sure help us to better our service. One more time thnak you for taking your time to write about us. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future at Hotel Tucan as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited this hotel in September 2013 on an all inclusive deal. Good points - very good location for beach and shops etc, food in hotel was mostly ok but the quality did vary from day to day. The hotel is very clean and the majority of staff are fine, the one exception is the miserable he was a shocker.
The problem with the hotel is, (and I think they do it on purpose) the entertainment or should I say the lack of it they were appalling some even pretended to play their instruments.
The resort of cal dior is quite expensive for drinks and food and be warned we went for a indian meal in Indiana Johns and they tried to over charge us, because there were 8 of us they actually added on more meals than we had, when I spotted the con the owner said oh I thought it wasn't right (still tried to overcharge us). Shame really because the food was ok. Best place to go is I think it's called the garden they have entertainment most nights our favourite was Tommy Jones (the Spanish version...hilarious...not meant to be ) we all wet ourselves laughing.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobby51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your holiday with us at Hotel Tucan.
We value every guest´s opinión, as this helps us to see the issues which we can work on in order to reach improvement on our service and máximum client satisfaction.
Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you in the future at our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Property: SENTIDO Tucan
Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing