We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”
Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at the Hotel Tucan. Where to start, the hotel is fantastic, very clean, friendly staff, lovely rooms with great views, plenty of sun loungers for everyone, food was excellent plenty of choice, very friendly and relaxing atmosphere. We felt very welcome and really enjoyed the fact that this hotel has no children. The outside pool area is very private for the hotel residents and is not able to be viewed from out on the street. The lifeguard was one of the most helpful we have ever seen, he advised on sun cream people should be using, he moved loungers and parasols to keep people comfortable and happy, he was also very entertaining - very nice man. I would recommend the Tucan to everyone, if you want a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valandpaul63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

On behalf of all our staff I would like to thank you for your review and you recommendation. Reviews like yours are making our work much easier and are keeping us motivated. One more time thank you and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future at Hotel Tucan one more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Tucan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 962 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked our holiday at the very last minute and were delighted with this hotel. Centrally situated for all of Calle D'Or. The pool area was lovely and the 'Adults only' status made it quiet despite being during school holidays. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean. We chose 'All Inclusive' for the first time and found the choice and quality of food to be very good. The balcony was a good size and rooms comfortable. The only negatives for us were that other guests put towels on the sun loungers early every morning and we found it hard to find space at times. Carpets in the upstairs hallways also look tired.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side on a higher floor if you want quiet. The Hotel behind had music until midnight eve...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you vey much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us! We like so much when our guests are getting exactly what they want. Thank you so much for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we booked our holiday to cala d or in January after coming home I went to look at hotel at the reviews the postives out weighed the negatives which was very reassuring
the staff was amazing from the reception staff/restaurant/pool snack bar/to the cleaners I can not express how very friendly and helpful there were
the hotel room we stayed in was great lovely and clean as was the entire hotel
the food was amazing something for everyone so okay the entertainment wasn't on everynight however the hotel is two minutes from the center of cala d or so you can go and find entertainment if you so wished
the bedrooms have a fridge in and hairdryer and the showers in the rooms are amazing the air conditioning was great and if you didn't want it on you had a huge ceiling fan the whole ten days was awesome thank you tucan for making our first holiday on our own special and we will be back next yr

Room Tip: well we had pool side view which was great but im told so is the other side the rooms are all the sa...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank leslie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first holidays on your own with us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel and we are so glad to read that we made it possible. We are looking forward to greeting you next year at Hotel Tucan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After reading very negative reviews we were very concerned about our holiday at the " Tucan " We go away several times a year and always believe that until you get to your destination / hotel, do not panic or worry.

On arrival we were greeted by reception, keys etc given. Rooms were close together which we asked for. Rooms were lovely, with walk in shower, hairdryer, fridge and a lovely balcony.

The dining room was lovely and clean with a great assortment of food, something to suit everyone.
There was also the pool bar for snacks throughout the day, which we really enjoyed.

The pool area was spotless with plenty of sun beds and with " Enrique " on hand if there were any problems what more could you ask for.

Last but not least the staff were wonderful so friendly and polite. The cleaning staff, bar staff and dining room staff are a credit to the "Tucan" well done.

Izabela, hopefully we will be back next year to see you all at the "Tucan". Thank you all for a lovely, relaxing and wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask at reception for a change of room. I am sure they will oblig...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kwilliams1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time for sharing with us your experience in Hotel Tucan. It has been a really detailed comment! Our main priority is that our guests have a quiet relaxing holiday and we are really glad to hear that we are making it possible. I hope to see you next year at Hotel Tucan enjoying your holidays in the sun! Thank you one more time for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I got married in Mallorca last week and we chose to stay at the d'Or Tucan as one of only a few adults only 4* hotels in Cala d'Or. When sending out invitations we mentioned this to our guests and eventually had 48 of us all staying here for between 3 - 7 nights.

WOW - what a hotel! The staff, the cleanliness, the rooms, the food, the pool area, the hotel's location! It was all fantastic and they really went out of their way to ensure that both we and our guests had a great experience and after speaking to our guests, no one had a complaint at all! Pleasing 48 people can be hard at the best of times so I am extremely pleased that we chose this hotel.

We had a lot of email contact before arriving and had made a few requests to the reception for twin bedded rooms, high floor rooms with views etc and they put the majority of our party on the top floor so everyone had a good view. We were given the "honeymoon" suit which was very special with 2 balconies and beautiful views...

Rooms are big enough with a fridge and hairdryer and the bathrooms are lovely - a huge modern walk in shower so no horrid shower curtain like you usually get and a rain shower head. The beds were extremely comfy with extra pillows in your room and they are actual doubles rather than 2 singles pushed together. The rooms were spotlessly clean and it was very quiet at night so we slept great.

The pool area is very clean and tidy with plenty of beds and parasols and a very helpful lifeguard willing to help if you need anything moving or if you cannot find a parasol. The beach is a 1 minute walk away and well worth a visit – it was busy but the water was lovely and clear!

The bar was never very busy and there is no limit on how many drinks you can order per person which makes a change! Good choice of drinks and you had glasses in the evening which made a nice change to some hotels we have stayed in. There are also snacks that you can order at the bar from 11am - 5pm which was handy if you didn’t fancy going to the main dining room for lunch.
All meals were excellent and the food was very good indeed - plenty of choice with lots of meat and fish along with veg and salad. You also got bottles of water, wine and soft drinks with dinner which was a nice touch.

The location is perfect – right in the middle of all the great restaurants and shops so plenty of places to walk to in the evening.

The hotel has a spa which is well worth booking - most members of our party had something done and we all raved about how good the lady was! It is very reasonable too.

I cannot praise this hotel enough or its lovely staff – THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: It is definitely worth requesting a high floor with pool or sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LucyL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing Hotel Tucan for you and your family and friends invited to your weeding party! It was a big pleasure for us having you here.
We are looking forward to see you next year at Hotel Tucan celebrating your first weeding anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and its the first time I've been to an adult only hotel. Couldn't believe how friendly the staff were - all of them. The lifeguard "Enrique" was excellent making sure everyone was happy and had everything they wanted. The food was amazing, good choice and plenty of it. The happy relaxed atmosphere was very welcome and I wish we had stayed for longer. The hotel is too big to become unfriendly. The only criticism I have is that there should be some form of entertainment each night, even background music. But apart from that its a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location. I will certainly return. Mags

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool, its the best side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us! We will comment it to all Tucan´s staff. That always help us to keep working hard to do our best! And we really hope to see you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from the Tucan and share most of the positive views put forward by the majority of reviewers over the last few weeks. Now that the season is in full swing and the early season problems have been ironed out, the hotel is performing at a very high standard.
The main reason for this in my opinion, is the performance of the staff. In our party of five, none of us have come across a more friendlier group of hotel workers. Not only did they carry out their duties very well but they went out of their way to smile, converse and help the guests at every opportunity.
An earlier reviewer was highly critical of them, which brought a swift response from the hotel director, who felt that there was a lack of truth in what had been written. From our experience last week, we have to agree with the hotel director. The staff were all fabulous and certainly enhanced our holiday.
The restaurant manager took the bulk of the criticism. Well, while we were there , there were two large groups in the hotel for weddings and they never seemed to have a problem in sitting together. We were a group of five and were always directed to a suitable table, while one of us, who has walking difficulties was always provided with a more suitable chair that helped his mobility whenever he left the table to choose his different food choices.
In fact the restaurant was one of the most pleasant we have come across. There were never queues, it was relatively quiet and exceptionally clean. It was a credit to the restaurant manager and all those who work there.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Tucan and hope to make a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lankyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

On behalf of all our staff I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review and your recommendation. It is a plesure for us and we will tell it to all the staff in order to keep us motivated to carry on! We hope to be able to welcome you again in the Hotel Tucan as soon as possible! Thank you one more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $125 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing