We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For old people dot com”
Review of Sentido Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentido Tucan
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Initially me and my girlfriend are both 19 and stayed in this hotel for a week, we found that it was in a good location, close to the beach, shops and 'night life' if you want to call it that. The horrid thing every morning was some leaf blowing guy that would come out at like 7am and happily use his noisy machine for 30 minutes every morning! The food had a good range but gets a little repetitive and isn't even close to a 4* hotel range of food, but you can say the staff were very nice and helped whenever they could, however there seemed not to be quite enough of them. Anyway also we were quite shocked to find that when we arrived the safety deposit box wasnt in our room! And was behind the reception In a tiny room that easily got full. The air con majority of the time worked but was very loud. There were a lot of sun lounges but as always early bird folks decide to put their towels on them. I mean to que up at like 7:15 and wait for management to open the doors. The evening entertainment was very boring and seemed that they got joe bloggs off the street and put him on stage, really the nightlife was just very expensive cocktail bars or very expensive restaurants. They literally were quite ALOT of people in this hotel, it seemed that if you coughed or spoke loud they stared at you like you were a parasite. I would recommend coming back here if you're middle aged or young and wanted a break from chaos for a while because it was perfect for that however I think next time ill be going to Magaluf.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tich183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for writing a review, we take on board the negative comments as well as the positive, as this helps us focus on improvement in the needed areas. Hotel Tucan as adults only is for people they are looking for a nice, quiet and relaxing break in the sun. Cala D´or is a pretty small and quiet village. There are some bars and clubs but if somebody is looking for a party all holiday long is really better to choose Magalluf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 986 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just came back from the Tucan Hotel. We were quite worried before we went because of bad reviews, however we had a brilliant holiday, hotel was spotlessly clean, staff at reception, bar staff, waiting on staff, pool attendant and even the cleaners were all very friendly and helpful making our stay even more enjoyable. Pool area was great with plenty of sunbeds. The food was good and location was excellent. There was only one thing that let the hotel down which was the lack of entertainment, just three acts in ten nights, however because of the location there was plenty of places to go for entertainment. We would recommend this hotel and will be returning ourselves. ,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank samriley-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Hotel Tucan. Again, our most sincere thanks. And we are looking forward to greeting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another lovely time at the Tucan Cala D'or. Once again the reception staff were most efficient and check in was speedy. We had requested a room that we have had before, and even though we arrived early this was ready for us to go straight to after checking in. Having read all the bad reviews prior to arriving we were very surprised as the Tucan is exactly the same as it always has been. Clean, well run and staffed by extremely hard working staff who cannot do enough to help you enjoy your stay. Whilst we get to lounge around all day, the staff work very hard behind the scenes in sometimes sweltering heat and always maintain a smile for guests. Our air conditioned room was cleaned every day,towels changed and beds made. The pool area is always kept clean. Enrique the life guard is around all day checking on guests, cleaning up and helping move beds or sunshades around. The restaurant has a good range of different foods for breakfast, lunch and evening dinner, although we preferred to eat out several times over the two weeks as it does get busy at evening dinner time. I have a few issues with the morning sunbed rush as some people will start queuing at 7.30 am, rush out to put towels on beds and then go out for the day,returning at 4pm for an hour in the sun, and then dashing off to be first at dinner. These are invariably the same people every day. We had a great holiday again at the Tucan, and will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LOOMS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations, because it is what we aim for. I have passed on your positive comments to our staff, good feedback from clients certainly makes our job a lot easier and more enjoyable!
We are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Hotel Tucan as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My new wife and me went to the Tucan on our honeymoon, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

We went half board, breakfast and evening meal.

Breakfast is buffet style but we never had anything we didn't like. If you like scrambled egg, you will love them there!!

Evening meal is also buffet style, and although there are chips there every night (not complaining) there is plenty of variety of food available. Usually 3-4 styles of meat, 2-3 styles of fish, plenty of different potatoes, veg, rice, roasted veg, salads, breads, pastas, and the deserts are very good too.

Rooms are nice, big double bed, plenty of wardrobe space and draws, dressing table, balcony, air con was included in the price, walk in shower, big mirror in the bathroom. Rooms were very clean and beds are comfortable!

Public areas are very clean and very nice looking. Polished floors and well presented.

Pool area is clean and quiet (no kids at the hotel helped) so if your a Sun worshipper who likes a dip in the pool, it's perfect. There is plenty of shade round the edges and parasoles if you want that too.

Bar area is very clean with comfortable seating.

Perfect location too, on a quiet road, about 5 minutes walk to the beach (maximum) and about 1 minute walk to the bars, restaurants, and shops. The bars turn down the music at 12pm so don't cause any sound problems.

The WiFi is free at the hotel but they don't advertise this, but there is free WiFi in most the bars and cafe's, so you can have a Facebook fix.

A couple of suggestions for the hotel.

Make the guests know the WiFi is free by giving them the password on their arrival as when you try to log on, it gives a user / password option and then a price list, get better hand driers in the toilets, sort the leaking shower trays, and get hooks on the balcony's to dry wet towels.

Overall, an excellent hotel in an excellent spot!

Room Tip: Sea views are best from the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice and useful comments! And also thank you for choosing our hotel for your honey moon! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Hotel Tucan as our main aim is to fulfill our guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked the Hotel on the recommendation of my travel agent and then read reviews, I am so glad I ignored them, we were a party of 3 couples in our mid 50's we booked fully inclusive and it was the best holiday ever, the hotel was very clean, staff very friendly, there was a selection of around 10 dishes on the menu on each sitting with everyone of them edible, wine and beer flowed on your dinner table, the drinks were named brands and there were no limits on the amount you wanted to consume. The location was spectacular with a road between the hotel and the large square with alfresco dining, bars, tropical gardens and shops, in the other direction 5 minutes walk took you to a beautiful cove where the beach was busy but you always managed to get a space supervised by lifeguards . Turn left then right from the hotel took you to a wonderful marina with yatchts and boats and where a lobster meal cost 18 Euros and where you could people watch to late in the night. Would we go again, too right we would shame it ended so quickly.

Room Tip: We were located overlooking the garden and the tranquil sound of the fountain, others opted for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel. We do appreciate your comments. Again, our most sincere thanks. And we are looking forward to greeting you in the future at Hotel Tucan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Returned 30th June 2013 from the tucan hotel, I must say having read the reviews I was very worried, I didn't need to worry, firstly can I thank Barbara Barchello ( hope I spelled your name correctly) I emailed the hotel prior to our departure telling them my husband uses a walking stick and could we have a room central to ameneties, I received a reply (which I have to say is unusual) stating they would do there best and this they certainly did, it was perfect, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the food was excellent and the staff efficient. hard working and pleasant.
If I had any complaints it would be a microwave in the dineing room would be an advantage as we brits like our food hotter than on the continent.
And as for the comments about the carpet and décor, if that's all people have to find fault with they have had a pretty good deal.
I will certainly be going back

Room Tip: If you have any special requests just send an email before you go, I had a reply from Barbara saying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biglil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing about us. Barbara would like to thank you, she was special congratulated. We always write a replay for customers requests and also we are trying our best every time. Thank you one more time for your recommendation. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you one more time at Tucan Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff are very friendly here and are willing to help you with anything. The lifeguard works hard around the pool running around after everyone, collecting glasses, cups, chatting to guests. There is a nice atmosphere here and great if you don't like screaming children around the pool!
The hotel is very clean, the carpet colour choice is bad because it shows up the slightest stain.
We loved the food, plenty to choose from perhaps too much veal on certain days but there are plenty more dishes to try and lots of fresh salad.

The pool area was fine to start off with but as we left it got very crowded and hardly any room or sunbeds left. All the guests do the towel run at around 8:am or you don't get a bed. We used the gym and spa, the gym is nice and cool, the Jacuzzi is great, I even booked a massage on the last day.

This hotel is perfect for its location near the beach, shops and bars. The entertainment is not on each evening and when it is it's dreadful so we bought some playing cards. You have to pay for beach towels, no safe in the room but the reception has a deposit box. I would not rate this a 4* hotel. However, we loved the resort and I wish I was back there! If you can get a good price then I'd say book it.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms have a pool view, some have a sea view and the rest are land view. The balcony for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAWNR746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Firstly, thank you for choosing us for your holiday and for taking your time to post your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Tucan. We are happy to hear you enjoyed a positive experience with our friendly staff. Our management makes all effort to offer the best service and to satisfy customer expectations. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on another occasion in the near future at Hotel Tucan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Tucan

Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $86 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentido Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sentido Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
Sentido Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing