We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster - NOT 4 star hotel”
Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disaster - NOT 4 star hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for one night only before switching to a different hotel. Be warned, this IS NOT a 4 star hotel as described in Thomas Cooke brochure. Room not to appropriate standard. Hotel smelled. Dirty, stained carpets and furniture. Food disgusting, e.g. eggs cooked for breakfast at 6 am and kept under warming lamps for hours on end. Fruit overripe and rotting. Masses of pasta and fried potatoes. No freshly prepared dishes. Took many photographs and complained to Thomas Cooke on return to UK. Unsatisfactory resolution so WILL NOT be using Thomas Cooke for our holiday bookings in future.

Room Tip: This hotel is not as represented in Thomas Cooke's advertising. No rooms can be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are very sorry about all the inconvinience. But also we can not agree that eggs were cooked for breakfast at 6 am, becouse breakfast starts at 7.30 am and the kitchen doas not open earlier. We have also show cooking, where the cooks are prepering food in front of customers, fresh. Every lunch and dinner is served in buffet form and we are very sorry, that you could not find anything in your taste. This review was written in march and the hotel was closed since october and we had a lot of time to improve some things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    354
    196
    61
    30
See reviews for
82
631
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed here 13th-20th Oct. The Hotel was very nice and clean and the staff were friendly too. The entertainment wasn't great and only 2 nights out of 7 whiich was a little disappointing. Although the Hotel was closing for the season a few days after we left, we had paid a lot for the week all inclusive with it being the school holidays in glasgow area so you would at least expect the same service as earlier in the season. That is possibly more a complaint of Thomas Cook than the hotel I guess. The view from room wasnt great however we had asked for a room nearby the lift and we we given this so we were not particularily bothered about the view. The meals on the whole were okay although at times there seemed to be a problem with small flies around the salad dishes which was a bit off putting. We liked the fact that the bed was a proper double and not the usual 2 singles put together. I thought a point that was obviously missing was a balcony light for sitting outside in the evening. The all inclusive drinks, as previously mentioned by others, were stopped at exactly 11pm which is earlier than most other hotels. We had a great holiday though and hired a car and went out and about all over Majorca most days. Places in particular worth a mention were Soller in the west, Andratx in the south, Caves of Drach and Cala Millor on the east coast. Estellencs is spectacular and beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 32Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hi Folks
My wife and I stayed here from Oct 6th-Oct 20th 2012 on a half board basis,
Last holidayed in Cala D'or 20 years ago
This is a really nicely appointed Hotel with lovely Reception areas and a well layed out Bar/Lounge. The pool area is also very well layed out with plenty of good quality sunbeds and a nice pool bar area with plenty of tables and chairs.Rooms were of a good standard but choose position carefully (we were 335) on the pool facing side. Some rooms even on this side were blocked from any views, even of the pool. by dense tree cover from the gardens. Fridge and A/Con included and a repair to balcony door lock was carried out within the hour .Entertainment is practically none existent with 3 acts the first week (2 were quite good and the other terrible) and only 1 act the second week which was not advertised in reception, resulting in very few people turning up to watch.Background music was played on other nights.
Drinks in the Hotel were in our opinion very expensive costing 6.5 euros for a gin and a bottle of Nordic Mist tonic. Nice upmarket restaurant across the road charged 3.5 euros for same drinks. They ran out of bottled tonic and other dirinks as they were closing soon. We payed for the same level of service as was given all season and many people were very unhappy with this.
All inclusive drinks were stopped rigidly at 11 pm and the bar usually emptied very quickly after this time.
However we thought the dining room let the hotel down.
Food is a hit or miss although there is usually a quite large choice it is not very appetising and at times and very repetative. Chairs are straight backed and you cannot relax in them as tables are so narrow that you cannot get your legs between the table legs making sitting at them very uncomfortable. Breakfast was good but evening meals were the problem.We saw many residents eating out when we did.
Waiters are hard working but not very chatty and at times were guilty of clearing your table and drinks whilst you got your next course.
We ate out most of the second week.
Try " Indiana John,s" for great curries and atttentative service (One of the best)
Cala D'Or at the end of the season can only be described as "dead" with lots of restaurants closing around 10 pm or already closed for the winter. Ther are a lot of ice areas around Cala D'OR but don.t expect much exitement. This Hotel is a good one but requires more thought from the management about how and who it is ran for. Bed and breakfast the best option.
Would say this could be a good base but we would not return again to this hotel or indeed Caal D,or

Room Tip: High overlooking pool around about room 335
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely resort - Tucan Hotel clean and rooms adequate - a light on the balcony would be good.
First night we arrived (6 October 2012) soup cold adequate choice of main course and sweets.
Meals first week were passable - second week disgusting - pork joint raw in middle - cook kept putting it back in oven to cook some more - only 12 couples eating in restaurant - everyone else eating elsewhere incuding those on all inclusive - 2.50 Euro for bottle of water - small bottle 2.20 Euro - breakfast OK.
We were on 2nd floor and during the storm our bathroom ceiling was leaking to say the least and could here electric aand water shorting - electrician thought that by pushing the ceiling 3 times with screwdriver would sort it - persuaded him to look closer - he did take down the ceiling and eventully the shorting stopped for a few days - 2 days later another electrician arrived and it appeared the problem was with the hair dryer - never used it - casingg was cracked and glued - did not look to safe. Blankets on corridor and dinind room floor to soak up rain water - believe same thing happened last year hope they fix the roof before too long. Never again.

Room Tip: Get rooms oerlooking swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aberdeentraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We would like to apologise for all the inconvinience. This winter the roof had been fixed and we are hoping not to have this problem during storms. About the empty restaurant, the hotel was closing in October and we did not have much customers at this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Cala d'Or is a beautiful resort. The Tucan Hotel, however leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating. We had stayed here several years ago and thought the 'Adult Only' description would mean a certain amount of peace and quiet, but in reality it meant a much older clientelle and boredom. We had opted for an All Inclusive package but found that the hotel staff were new to this concept and found ourselves made to feel less valued and dismissed. The D'or hotel management need to make up their mind who they are trying to attract.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was quite seriously injured as I got off the shuttle bus. The hotel management were so kind. After a hospital trip to Palma we arrived back at 3am to find food and water in our room along with our cases. I was confined to our room for several days. The hotel staff were very caring and helpful. Yes there was a storm that flooded the hotel. Yes the carpets got wet and smelt a bit. This was out of their control and they worked hard to keep things going. The food is ok- nothing special but we always found something to our taste.
If you are looking for a hotel that cares for its guests then book this one. It may not be the poshest 4 star hotel but it is the kindest. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from 7 nights all inclusive. The hotel did not live up to its reputation as described in the reviews and brochure. On arrival there was no sign outside to identify the hotel. The reception area looked impressive at first sight as did the bar/lounge areas and restauraunt, but there were lights not working and no attempt to put them right all week. The room was on the second floor over looking another hotel. the noise from the hotel and road was not reduced as the doors to the balcony were not double glazed. The room was adequate but the balcony area was not cleaned all week. The shower was very good, but when used partially flooded the bathroom floor despite angling the shower head towards the back of the shower area. The food in the restauraunt was not of the standard I would expect from a 4 star hotel. It was either very salty or very bland. Chicken and turkey was undercooked and the soups changed very little. Staff on the whole were very polite and helpful. The main areas were kept spotless, however the carpets were disgraceful and very dirty. There was a thunderstorm with heavy rain and water cascaded from the roof through the ceilings and partially flooded the hotel from the top to the basement area with carpets becoming waterlogged and water running from light fittings onto the bars and serving areas. This was addressed by placing bed blankets on the floor to soak up the water and became a dangerous hazzard, especially to the more elderly clients who were partially disabled. I spoke to a number of people throughout my stay and in the main all expressed disgust and dismay at the hotel. One lady and her friends have visited the hotel on a number of occassions over the last 8 years and said it had gone down hill each time they visited. They left a few days earlier than they were scheduled to leave. This hotel could be a very good one with the right management team in and a rigorous refurbishment of the premises together with quality chefs and quality products to provide 4 star meals.
I booked through Thomas Cook as it was advertised as one of their 'Adult Style Holidays' but I would suggest they take a long look at it and reconsider their rating. At the moment I would only rate it as a good 2/3 star budget hotel. The service provided by Thomas Cook from Manchester to Palma and the staff on board the aircraft both ways, was first class. The reps in resort were very poor and conspicuous by they're frequent absence. I and some others had to go to the Thomas Cook desk to get help to find our coaches to resort and when found it was left to the driver to take care of all of us. The same applied on the return journey - No Reps!
This was my first holiday alone and I was very disappointed with the hotel. It did not have any comparrison with any 4 star hotels I have stayed in before and I have been to hotels with less rating and found them to be of a better standard. I certainly will not visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time for writing a review. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our management daily strive to offer our customers the most friendly and professional service. We value every feedback that will serve us to understand the customer expectations and continually improve our services.
Unfortunately the weather and the storms did have an impact on the hotel, but through out this period of bad weather our staff tried up most best to make sure that the guests’ holidays weren’t affected and we apologise for any inconvinence this may have caused.
Thomas Cook reps have assigned duty times as they have several hotels. The assigned duty times are available on the Thomas Cook board or books but if they are not available in the hotel, there are always TC telephone numbers on the board as well for guests to contact TC 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#3 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Property: SENTIDO Tucan
Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing