We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of SENTIDO Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Tucan
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from our second stay in ten weeks at the Hotel Tucan, 29/09/2012 - 06/10/2012, hotel and room clean, maid service excellent. All the hotel staff were very polite and helpful, particularly the reception staff who arranged for a bowl of fruit to be delivered to our room to welcome us back.
only negative is the food which was cool/cold most of the time, need to find a better way to keep food warm. please keep hotel adults only, very relaxing and excellent location. We will be back, Jacqui & Paul room 137.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's a really pleasure to have opinion from people who has been in our hotel before. We are really pleased to know that we are going on the right way. Thank you very much again, and hope to see you back soon on your third time in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 980 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

just returned from 7nights at hotel tucan 2-10-12 to 9-10-12 and had a great time, hotel staff always there to help, food was excellent and room was clean and had everthing we needed. if i had to make a negative comment it would be the evening entertainment, had 3 entertainers on the week we were there, they were ok but nothing on friday and saturday night so you had to listen to the entertainment from the hotel next door. would go back if more entertainment.

Room Tip: higher floors for better view and sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your review, for the positive comments that our staff took into consideration, and measures were taken to improve the situation. We appreciate client feedback as this allows us to better the service and make our guests' stay as enjoyable as it can be. We look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from 7 nights at the Tucan and had a great holiday. Prior to booking we had some reservations given some of the reviews however on balance the Hotel and it's staff in particular the reception staff are excellent.
On arrival (1pm) our room was available however as non-smokers we found the room had a stale smell of smoke and after reporting this to reception a further spraying of a particular product by the cleaning staff seemed to overcome the problem (No thought from the previous clients as to the effects of smoke on fabric etc). The room itself was funtional with twin beds, a small fridge for storing canned drinks or water, a wall mounted TV and plenty of storage space but no safe in the room.
The shower was excellent and yes the design does allow some water to spill on to the floor, one major concern is there is a need for a grab handle for anyone who may find accessing the shower difficult.
Our holiday was on a half board basis which is what we normally buy though we did choose the Tucan based on "Adult Only" clientes.
The food was typical of most Spanish hotels we have visited with plenty of variety and dishes which included certain sauces which may have tested some palletes, the quality of some dishes (Lamb Cutlets, Fish) was not the best though the veal was excellent.
The Restaurante itself whilst large enough to cope with the peak times is in need of upgrading as it is dour in appearance.Location of the Tucan is a major plus point being close to the local amenities and two inlet beaches. On balence we would return at some point to the Tucan.

Room Tip: Telephone 1 week prior to departure and request a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeLiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your honest and balanced review! We appreciate all the comments which really help us to improve our services and to give our guests better experience while staying with us. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on another occasion in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent last week at the Tucan and had a very lovley holiday. Unlike some reviews we found the room clean, the food very very nice something for everyone and the staff friendly.

Yes you had to be quick to get a lounger but the pool area has lots of tables and chairs to sit at.

If I had to make a negative comment It would be the shower, the floor always got very wet but was easy cleaned up.

We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We had room 219 overlooking the pool. The entertainment stopped at 11pm so very quiet after that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations, because it is what we aim for. Hope to see you again in Hotel Tucan, we will be very pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have just returned from a week at the Tucan. I had no issues at all with the Hotel. The room was big, clean and had plenty of storage space. The Hotel was clean and bright throughout. The food was fine, plenty of choice whatever meal ( they even did an early breakfast on my day of departure). Never a problem getting a sunbed. Staff were friendly and service was excellent. I travelled on my own and the hotel was just what I was looking for to relax in for a week. Met some lovely people (A& B you know who you are) for evening company. Would not hesitate in returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JanWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel. We do appreciate your comments. Again, our most sincere thanks. Looking forward to greeting you in the future at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Tucan. The hotel was lovely and we were all inclusive and we had no complaints. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The food was good and the snacks at the bar were very good especially the toasted sandwiches. We had entertainment for 5 nights out of the 7 and we thought it was very good . The room was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us. We will tell it to all the staff in order to keep us motivated to carry on!
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the Hotel Tucan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Tucan for a week from September 11th to 18th and although it was mostly positive I do have a couple of minor gripes.

Firstly, my wife and I are vegetarians and there was no vegetarian option in the restaurant - except for a tasteless slimy spinach thing on the first Tuesday and an equally tasteless, slimy spinach thing later in the week. One item marked as vegetarian actually had meat in in it and the tomato sauce for pasta also had some meat in it. Even the salad had either ham, tuna or shrimps in it. Why not put these next to the salad in a bowl so you can add them yourself? What we did eat was okay - nothing special.

Secondly - sun loungers. Why say you can't reserve a lounger and then take no action to stop it? The pool area was very crowed in the afternoon and there were insufficient shades available - which was quite annoying as it got very hot during the afternoon.

Our first room was No.22 - right above the kitchen and tiny. The sound of the extractors and deliveries was loud enough to disturb our sleep but the staff were very helpful and moved us to another room away from the noise - room 54, on the beach end of the hotel.

The room was clean and the staff very helpful and courteous. One big plus was no noisy children.

The hotel is in an excellent location for the beach and the resort amenities. We stayed half-board and had lunch at the Cafe Plazza most days we were in the resort. I'm not in to hotel 'Entertainment' and spent most evenings out. Neptunos was our favourite evening location.

Room Tip: Avoid even numbered rooms - especially the low numbered ones - as they are noisy due to proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at SENTIDO Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for writing a review, we take on board the negative comments as well as the positive, as this helps us focus on improvement in the needed areas. Thank you very much for your honest feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Tucan

Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $94 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
SENTIDO Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing