We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable & relaxing holiday”
Review of Sentido Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentido Tucan
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Hotel Tucan is a really nice hotel, which on arrival was a relief having read some of the reviews on here prior to going - as this holiday was a surprise for a birthday celebration.
Yes I agree with the previous reviewers about the cleaniness of hotel, size of the rooms & room facilities, the maid service etc and the surroundings of the hotel were all very good.
The reception staff were most welcoming & always very helpful, this also applies to the bar staff around the pool who attend to your needs when required and even with a little banter now & then lol - special mention to a little blonde waitress who always did her role with a huge smile on her face - and lit up the bar & pool area. The majority of the restuarant staff were always very pleasant and on the go.
The pool area was a very relaxing & calm place to spend your day, with a good size pool, seperate jacuzzi & sauna area. where you could also work out in the small modern gym or spoil yourself with massage & treatments, you could even have a game of darts or table tennis if you felt like it lol. While we chose to not get involved with the morning raid for the sunbeds (the 8:00 am dash), no matter what time of day there was always a couple of beds available maybe not directly around the pool, but a foot or two away from it.
Our first meal in Tucan Hotel restuarant was on the Saturday evening, where we warmly greeted & room checked, then it was a help yourself to the food & your table - which for a 4 star hotel was somewhat disappointing. The majority of the food for breakfast & evening meal was very good with lots of choice - & you could watch people walk around myself included wondering what to have each day lol.

Like I have mentioned earlier I really nice hotel with a diverse mixture of nationalities, and age range - early 20's to retirement that enjoyed themselves.

Now for the negatives - please do not view this as moaning, its purely observation.
1) I was very disappointed in the school canteen style of the restuarant and with the attitude of one or two of the restaurant staff who seemed to view you as bothering them as they walked around clearing tables, and even had watch an agrument between two of them while eating our meal one evening - not very professional.
2) The evening entertainment - was truely awful with renee & renato style singers, and smooth cheesy cooners - who would make the acts on Peter Kay's Phoenix Nights look like stadium/arena fillers.

We really enjoyed our 10 days (half board) here and would recommend it for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a sea view room as this is very limited due to other hotels and trees, I would sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adib1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and also thank you for taking your time for sharing your experiences with us. We hope to see you again in Tucan Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 985 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am writing this review because i was really nervous before arriving due to a high number of negative reviews about this hotel. Arriving home I now realise alot of people only write reviews to complain! .
I have no complaints. We have just returned from a 10 day stay AI. We really made the most of it - resulting in an extra half a stone on my waist :) The staff are friendly, helpful and did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
Our room was fab, room 50. HUGE bed, flatscreen TV, bathroom was clean with rain shower, clean towels everyday, balcony overlooking another hotel which made for some interesting and very entertaining listening to karaoke and music at night! hilarious!
The AI buffet was amazing! I think we we ate out twice but were afraid of what we were missing at the buffet for free. Breakfast was my fav. Cooked selection every day along with usual continental selection also. Dinner was also fab, large selection of cold and hot meats, vegs, breads, salads etc. AI luch buffet is also available downstairs but we did'nt really avail from this just ate poolside for most of the time we were there.
Poolside food on the AI menu was hamburgers, cheeseburgers, tuna salad(which they do with cheese instead if u ask) chips, hotdogs, ham and cheese toastie. DONT FORGET to look in the all inclusive fridge! The staff didnt make this known to us but there are a selection of cold sandwiches, cobs, fruit, cakes, ice-cream etc that you can help yourself to whenever you want :)
Other perks are, gym, jacuzzi, sauna, no children (I'm a teacher so was grateful for this) and best of all free alcohol!
Ppl have complained recently about the smell in the corridors, grubby carpets....I don't go on holidays to look for these things as it would'nt directly affect the quality of my holiday so i don't get it. Sunbeds were another thing i was dreading but not once did we have a problem getting a sun-lounger in our whole 10 day stay whether we appeared at 11am, 1pm or 3pm.
If you are looking for a complete relaxation holiday of doing very little, eating loads and just having a good time then this is a great hotel to stay in. After all, it is what you make it. Thank you D'or Tucan and to all the staff who made our holiday fantastic. Keep up the hard work :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned from our first holiday without our children and we loved this place. After having previously been to Cal D'Or, we'd had our eye on the place but as it is over 18s only we've only just managed to book it. As said in previous reviews, the rooms are a good size and very clean with maid service (fresh towels etc) daily. The shower is great but the water does get all over the floor (easily absorbed by bath mat). Hairdryers, soap, shampoo and shower gel are all provided so there's less things to pack to bring with you. We put our towels out on the sunbeds at approx 8.45am and had the same spot the whole week with a mattress and brolly so no mad rush for beds. We were half board and the food was great, good choices and plenty of it. We perhaps should've gone all inclusive as I think we would've scored especially on the drinks side as the costs soon mount up. However, the hotel provides a fridge in the room and we stocked up with juice and water from the local Shop. We had a good walk about everyday and found some lovely coves and views. We liked to have a dip in the sea at the Cala D'Or beach rather than the nearer Cala Gran. The Cala D'Or beach is only 5 mins further up the main street. The Hotel facilities were great, free jaccuzi & sauna & my husband enjoyed the small gym. There are also treatments available around the pool ie massages, facials etc if you're feeling indulgent. We thought the entertainment was ok but as we always went out on an evening, we didn't really see much of it. As we are non smokers, our only criticism is that the beds are quite close and you may find yourself between heavy smokers. One solution may be to have a designated smoking area around the pool, however we did have different people beside us every day so it was pot luck. Overall an excellent hotel / holiday we will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Martyxke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and also thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us. We hope to see you again in Tucan Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from an all inclusive week at the Tucan, Cala D'or. The hotel is spotlessly clean and no complaints with any of the food, there is something for everyones taste and plenty of it. It is very quiet, no music around the pool so ideal if you are getting away from a busy lifestyle but personally we would have liked to have had something to listen to. The nigth entertainment to be honest is nothing to write home about but the hotel is on the doorstep of lively bars and restaurants if you wanted to go out and have a drink or a wander.
The beach Cala Gran, opposie the hotel, is gorgeous, but extemely busy.
There are lots of sunbeds around the pool and you do not have to join the queue at 7.45 am to get one. We still got two at 10.30 am. Once that sun drifts over the hotel around 10.30 am it is there all day until at least 6.30, no real shady spots, so it does not matter where you get a sunbed.
There is a spa area, jacuzzi and gym. If you want a bit of pampering go and see Barbara in the spa. An absolute gem. My husband and I both had a bit of pampering in the form of pedicure, massage, eyebrow/eyelash tint and pluck. She is well worth the money and much better than any beautician I have ever been to in the UK.
Cala D'or is a lovely resort with quiet and lively areas to visit and the Tucan compliments the resort well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations, because it is what we aim for. Hope to see you again in Hotel Tucan, we will be very pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from a week @ the tucan hotel very nice’ very peaceful had a very relaxing holiday would have liked a bit of back ground music around the pool. Entertainment not very good none on Saturday night .we was half board’ food was very good lots to choose from. If you fancy a meal out I can recommend Indiana jones restaurant never seen a’t/bone steak so big. The other steaks was also very good.my daughter tried the unlimited ribs I can tell you she really enjoyed them we had too meals out and went there both times. There are plenty of shops .the beach is a little cove but you would have to get there early to get a sun bed. We did not go to the beach, staying around the pool was very nice also’ we did not have to race for sun beds.

Room Tip: try to get rooms from 1st to 3rd floors over looking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike20116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We work hard in order that our guests enjoy they stay between us and your words encourage us to keep on working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I, along with my mum and dad have recently returned from a great two weeks in Majorca. We stayed at the Hotel Tucan in Cala d'Or.
The hotel, staff and the surrounding areas were all lovely. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with maids coming in everyday to clean your room. The rooms were air conditioned, roomy, with a large bathroom, and excellent shower but water did get all over the floor as the screen didn't seem to come far enough over. (Minor issue)
The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We stayed all inclusive and I can say the food and drinks were very good, always hot and plenty to choose from. (One of the chefs originally from England)
One small point the air conditioning round the bar area and resturant wasn't great got very warm.
Pool area very nice and no 6am towel rush, doors opened at 8am, so always got a sunbed. Some background music would of been good as some days were alittle quiet.
We had a laugh and an excellent time, met some great people. Thank to Dave and Sarah. (Baby Dave enjoyed his week)
Would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheri1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementTucan, Izabela Janowicz Relaciones Publicas at Sentido Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments, it is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations, because it is what we aim for. Hope to see you again, we will be very pleased!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the D'or Tucan. The hotel is perfectly situated in Cala d'Or centre and literally across the road from Cala Grand beach.

We were delighted with our room which had a sea view and was clean, light and airy. The shower was exceptionally good and the beds comfortable. It had an emply fridge, a large TV, quiet air con and black out curtains. The hotel has a 4* feel about it's decor. We particularly liked the design of the bar and foyer areas. There was a TV in the foyer (handy for the Olympics!) but it was in a different part of the public lounge areas so did not infringe on the bar area. The pool is one of the nicest that I have enjoyed in that it is big (great for swimming lengths) and was fresh and clean. The temperature was perfect.

For us, it suited us being an adults only hotel. We stayed all inclusive which was great. There was a buffet served in the main restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus bar/pool snacks also on the all inclusive tariff. The serving times were very extensive (7.30am - 10.30am breakfast; 1pm - 3.30pm lunch; 7pm - 10pm dinner) which was perfect if you wanted to be flexible with your day plans. We thought the food was very good - a good choice, plentiful and constantly being refreshed by the chefs. It is a shame that the restaurant does not have external views, however this did not deter our enjoyment of dining in it. Drinks were all inclusive and included a range of cocktails, spirits, liquers, wines, softies and tea/coffee throughout the day. Wine was served by the bottle at lunch and dinner and stored away until your next meal (if you had any left!). The wine was very good and there was no limit on how much you chose to enjoy! We used the safely deposit box facility during our stay (3 euros a day), however I would have expected a room safe for a 4* hotel. There is a gym, sauna, spa and jacuzzi nicely situated next to the pool. Overall we had a very enjoyable experience at this hotel and would highly recommend it.

It was actually the clientelle of the hotel that was the only disappointing element for us. The hotel website and the leaflet presented to all guests on arrival asks that "beds are not reserved with your towel or other objects" and "requires that guests dress correctly for dinner (men please wear long trousers)". Nearly all of the beds had been reserved with towels (with no occupants) by the time myself and my husband arrived at the pool after our breakfast (one day we could not get a lounger at all even though many beds still had no people on them - just towels!) and the majority of male guests wore scruffy t-shirts, shorts/trunks and flip flops for dinner!! We always look forward to dressing for dinner and expected standards to be more strictly controlled for a 4* hotel (and for guests to expect a dress code for a 4* staff hotel).

Cala d'Or is very pretty. The cove beaches along the coastline are stunning and easity accessible if you head a little off the beaten track. We took a boat trip ('Seariders') from the Marina that took you to other coves which was very enjoyable. The Marina is worth an evening spent there if only to marvel at the incredible boats moored there. There is also a little train (Cala d'Or Express) that takes you to different parts of the resort so you can visit the different cove beaches that make up the area as a whole.

All in all though - we had a great time and would recommend this hotel to adult visitors travelling to Cala d'Or!

Room Tip: Lots of the rooms have a sea view, however some have a pool or town view so it is worth requesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USSEnterprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#20 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentido Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Tucan

Address: Carrer Boulevard 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: $71 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentido Tucan 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Tucan is situated in Cala D'or, in a beautiful and pintoresque Ibiza stile village, with all its white houses in the South of Mallorca and 60 km away from the airport. Ideal to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the sun as much as possible or delightful walks. "Adults Only" Hotel. No reservations accepted for clients under 16 years old. Situated by Cala Gran beach with its crystal blue waters, this homely hotel offers the clients an ideal place to relax and enjoy unforgettable holidays. Enjoy a relaxing day in our Spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. SENTIDO Tucan has been refurbished during winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sentido Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Cala d Or
Gran Hotel d Or Tucan
Sentido Tucan Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing